Orcs Must Die! 2 PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 507 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 507

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    loved the first, with coop included in the second i couldnt wait, i love setting up everything myself but definitely wanted to experience the game with a friend or two. more of everything you loved in the first, tons more traps, quite a few more weapons, plus if you owned the original they gave you 10 of those maps for coop play in the second. the only real drawback i feel is that now thatloved the first, with coop included in the second i couldnt wait, i love setting up everything myself but definitely wanted to experience the game with a friend or two. more of everything you loved in the first, tons more traps, quite a few more weapons, plus if you owned the original they gave you 10 of those maps for coop play in the second. the only real drawback i feel is that now that it has coop it feel too much like it forces you to play coop due to the increased difficulty much past the first couple levels. i REALLY hope the devs address this, if they do really would be 10/10 in my book also they got rid of controller support which kind of sucks : hope they bring that back Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Just play good and enjoyable. Simply an improvement on the original in everyway, only downside is a sore hand. The banter between characters is hilarious, the gameplay is smooth, solid and extremely enjoyable
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. Played the first one all the way through and this second iteration plays great. The banter between characters is hilarious, the gameplay is smooth, solid and extremely enjoyable. Well worth a play
  4. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    A new twist on the very much loved genre of tower defence. Set your traps and ready your magic/bows/fists! Waves of creatures will come at you and you better be prepared for everything. Very strategic and challenging and all the more fun with another friend with you! Worth getting during the steam sales or/and if you're in the mood for some charming graphics and tantalising strategy fun.
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    I like the game principle. But the tower defense part is to small. In some levels there is not enough time between waves to create a proper tower combination. If the towers were able to kill everything without your hero (e.g. by picking other abilities), i would have liked it more.
  6. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    I enjoy FPS and strategy games. Since the FPS genre is now overrun with cheaters, and I have mastered many of the casual strategy games like Civ 5, I have been looking for a gaming gem. I have been purchasing PC games since 1988 and have been satisfied with about 1 in 15 games. Add this one to the list of top 10 games to own on PC. I played it for 7 hours straight and I wanted more. A rareI enjoy FPS and strategy games. Since the FPS genre is now overrun with cheaters, and I have mastered many of the casual strategy games like Civ 5, I have been looking for a gaming gem. I have been purchasing PC games since 1988 and have been satisfied with about 1 in 15 games. Add this one to the list of top 10 games to own on PC. I played it for 7 hours straight and I wanted more. A rare thing these days. You will NOT be disappointed buying this title. Support these developers because they remembered games are supposed to be about CUSTOMER FUN. Too many big titles these days feel like money sponges. Buy this NOW. Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Major improvement over the original. if you enjoyed the first game you will love the sequel. The Co-op mode is a very welcoming feature. There are some levels which you would better in if you have a friend to help you. The banter between the two characters is amusing during the mayhem of orc slaying. The endless game mode helps you make up for skulls you dint obtain in co-op mode, whichMajor improvement over the original. if you enjoyed the first game you will love the sequel. The Co-op mode is a very welcoming feature. There are some levels which you would better in if you have a friend to help you. The banter between the two characters is amusing during the mayhem of orc slaying. The endless game mode helps you make up for skulls you dint obtain in co-op mode, which allows you to upgrade equipment and retry those levels again.
    One clear improvement is the weapons/traps hotbar, you can now drag and drop items into different slots unlike the first game where you had to deselect all items and pick them in order.
    Expand
  8. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Never played the first but I am enjoying this a ton, 3rd person action tower defense == good times, big time. and for $15 this is very close to a must buy
  9. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    A charmy game in many ways. You can have many strategies in your gameplay, and you have to choose carefully what to bring with you to every track. The only thing bringing this game back a little tiny bit is the lack of classes and that there are few maps. But this game is still a brilliant game, and very much worth the money.
  10. Oct 23, 2012
    8
    I was a big fan of the original Orcs Must Die, and was very excited for the sequel. I am pleased to say, for the most part, this game does not disappoint. It streamlines the experiencing by getting rid of the "Weavers" (For which most people only used the same one) from the original title, and expanding the trap and weapon selection. You get Story Mode, Endless Mode, and for good measureI was a big fan of the original Orcs Must Die, and was very excited for the sequel. I am pleased to say, for the most part, this game does not disappoint. It streamlines the experiencing by getting rid of the "Weavers" (For which most people only used the same one) from the original title, and expanding the trap and weapon selection. You get Story Mode, Endless Mode, and for good measure they even toss in 10 Classic maps from the first game. For added value, Robot entertainment gives you a weekly challenge, which forces you to check out new strategies and traps, which I love. I have officially logged over 150 hours of this game, solo and co-op, and I feel I have a pretty good feel of it. I have 5 skulled (Best possible result) everything on Nightmare difficulty, and have played a good amount of Co-Op. I've also purchased and enjoy both DLC packs which each introduced 3 new maps and new monsters. So why only an 8? I do have a few gripes, though mostly they aren't about the gameplay itself. In no particular order:

    1. Character Balance. Orcs Must Die 2 allows you to play as the hero from the first game, as well as the sorceress, the villain from the first game. This is all well and good, but certain traps are only available to each character, and the Tar Trap, which is basically the best trap in the game, is not available to the Sorceress. I like having individuality, but this balance is frustrating for Sorceress players. Which leads me to #2...

    2. Leaderboards I know they are meaningless, but I like Leaderboards in a game like this to gauge how well I am doing and my strategies. There are a few flaws here. Leaderboards should have been separated by what char you are using (Apprentice or Sorceress), as well as by other criteria. For example, Endless mode only sorts by score - Sorting by Wave would be good here too. This leads me to...

    3. Endless Mode The "Horde Mode" Of Orcs Must Die 2 is a fun inclusion, however it needs some tweaking. To get 5 skulls, you need to get to Wave 40. The monsters get tougher every 10 levels. This leads to a lot of monotony. They could have increased cash per monster, and cut the wave totals in half, making 20 waves what you need. Some Endless waves take 1-2 hours (or more) to complete. This is too long. Also, because the longer you go, damage dealing objects becomes useless which means that basically you HAVE to use the non damage items (Springs, Void Walls, etc) - Which reduces variety and therefore fun. 4. DLC While I am glad Robot put out 2 DLC packs shortly after the games launch, as other people have mentioned - The DLC packs feel a little light. $6 each for 3 maps and a new monster and weapon or two seems weak, compared to the content you get with the title itself. Also, I couldn't help notice that the 2nd DLC didn't include any of the creatures from the first DLC (Not even in the Endless Waves) - Which makes them feel disconnected as opposed to building on eachother. 5. Banter/Story - For whatever reason, the dialogue just isn't as entertaining and funny as it was in the first game, and there doesn't seem to be quite as much of it. 6. Co-Op is OK, but not as much fun as I had hoped. Limited each person to a small amount of traps can be awkward, and having to rely on eachother to play traps in certain places is weird. Similarly, Coin Drops in Co-Op mode should be split by both players.

    So, I've listed several gripes here, but don't let this fool you. This are critical ideas on how to improve a game I love. I've logged 150+ hours, and enjoy the franchise, I still think there are ways to improve.

    Enjoy!
    Expand
  11. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    A near perfect mix of action, strategy, rpg elements, and just pure fun. The difficulty is balanced just right IMHO. This is probably the most enjoyable game I've played in the past year.
  12. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    First of all, I have to admit, that it's generally first game, but with all issues from the first part fixed. Some people may complaint, that Robot Entertainment goes the easy way and just bill us for the same game twice, but for me it's exactly what I wanted. Game is incredibly rewarding, especially on nightmare level, and enjoying it with friend is just so much fun. After basic campaign,First of all, I have to admit, that it's generally first game, but with all issues from the first part fixed. Some people may complaint, that Robot Entertainment goes the easy way and just bill us for the same game twice, but for me it's exactly what I wanted. Game is incredibly rewarding, especially on nightmare level, and enjoying it with friend is just so much fun. After basic campaign, which is very short to bo honest, You have classic levels, nightmare difficulty, endless mode and DLC, so generally there is always something to do. I think it's very important to play with friend, because it's the exact spirit of this game. Another thing I love in this game is how diverse is you weapons arsenal - I was playing with 3 different friends and playing with each of them was entirely new experience. Everybody has own ways to do things in this game, what I find very enjoyable. Expand
  13. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    This game is fun, challenging and very enjoyable. I haven't had so much fun in a co-op game last years. There's a lot of replay-ability in this game with different upgrades, traps, etc. Buy and play this game with a friend, you won't regret it.
  14. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    It's extremely fun, much more fun than the first game. Coop is great! There are so much more upgrades, more weapons and traps, the game is still funny just like the first and it's totally worth full price! Get a friend to play with you!
  15. May 27, 2013
    10
    One huge flaw with OMD1 was that it came without the possibility of Co-Op. Now that there's a co-op implemented this game is top notch fun. Amazing gameplay, amazing characters, awesome new builds and tactics. Whether you're a new player or liked OMD1, OMD2 is a must-have. You'll spend many hours with this one. Thumbs up!
  16. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    I think this is the best $20 I've ever spent, it really is incredibly simple to learn, easy to play, and fun to play. It requires some thinking and uses a great concept of tower defense and 3rd person action, it is a really good game and I am hoping the 3rd one will be out this year.
    The sound quality is average quality, the voice acting has that of Axton from Borderlands 2, the graphics
    I think this is the best $20 I've ever spent, it really is incredibly simple to learn, easy to play, and fun to play. It requires some thinking and uses a great concept of tower defense and 3rd person action, it is a really good game and I am hoping the 3rd one will be out this year.
    The sound quality is average quality, the voice acting has that of Axton from Borderlands 2, the graphics match the atmosphere perfectly. There is a wide variety of weapons, traps, trinkets, and costumes for both characters, and the levels seem to be playtested well, allowing for a variety of strategies to win levels, but never easily. Endless is great fun and a challenge at all levels, there is 3 difficulties in the campaign and there is also endless mode, 3 dlc packs with 3 maps each, and a classic that allows you to play the 10 favorite maps of the first one. It is 20 dollars and worth 60, far more enjoyable with a friend though.
    Expand
  17. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Better then the original.
    New traps, new levels (And also some of the old ones If you have the first game in your Steam library), new enemies, and now Co-op!
    If you haven`t played the first one, it`s basically a trap defense game (Yes, trap defense, NOT TOWER) in which you are trying to stop the Orcs from reaching the exit. I really don`t have any problems with this game. But keep in
    Better then the original.
    New traps, new levels (And also some of the old ones If you have the first game in your Steam library), new enemies, and now Co-op!
    If you haven`t played the first one, it`s basically a trap defense game (Yes, trap defense, NOT TOWER) in which you are trying to stop the Orcs from reaching the exit.
    I really don`t have any problems with this game.
    But keep in mind this game was basically made around Co-op, so be sure to have a friend!
    Anyway a good game.
    All Orcs Must Die!!!
    Expand
  18. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    I think "Orcs Must Die 2" didn't improve on the first "Orcs Must Die" on every aspect: I miss the "Weavers"; I think the "Halls" of the first game were more interesting than the "Dwarven Mines" used as scenario in this new game; I liked the orcs design of the previous game better; and I think the "ragdoll" effects in this new tittle are a little exaggerated...

    Still, there are amazing
    I think "Orcs Must Die 2" didn't improve on the first "Orcs Must Die" on every aspect: I miss the "Weavers"; I think the "Halls" of the first game were more interesting than the "Dwarven Mines" used as scenario in this new game; I liked the orcs design of the previous game better; and I think the "ragdoll" effects in this new tittle are a little exaggerated...

    Still, there are amazing improvements: one more character, better upgrades structure, more weapons and traps and guardians and, the best, the co-op mode.

    Co-op was exactly the major flaw of the first "Orcs Must Die", lots of people started playing "Dungeon Defenders" instead just to play co-op. Still, "Orcs Must Die" single-player manages to be (against all odds) yet more fun than "Dungeon Defenders" multiplayer, and now that we have co-op in "Orcs Must Die 2", well, there are not many reasons to go back to "Dungeon Defenders".

    In the end, I think "Orcs Must Die 2" is as good as the first one (meaning: it's amazing!) and also very cheap. Insanely recommended.
    Expand
  19. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This game is fantastic fun and has plenty of content for only $15. The co-op mode is amazing and there are plenty of levels and game modes to keep any player occupied. I only have two problems with Orcs Must Die! 2. The one-liners, while funny, get repetitive. Secondly, traps sometimes can't be placed in spaces where it seems like they should be able to, especially on the ceiling. OtherThis game is fantastic fun and has plenty of content for only $15. The co-op mode is amazing and there are plenty of levels and game modes to keep any player occupied. I only have two problems with Orcs Must Die! 2. The one-liners, while funny, get repetitive. Secondly, traps sometimes can't be placed in spaces where it seems like they should be able to, especially on the ceiling. Other than these minor issues, this game has an amazing amount of bang for the buck. Get it and play it. Expand
  20. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Just Amazing what i wanted plus more.
  21. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    If you enjoyed the first game, you'll definitely enjoy the second. If you have fun with tower defense games which incorporate FPS elements, you'll enjoy this too. Although I still have four maps to play, I have spent over 20 hours so far with the game, so I feel confident giving my assessment. This game launched at $15 for a single copy or $25 for two. Or, if you got it during theIf you enjoyed the first game, you'll definitely enjoy the second. If you have fun with tower defense games which incorporate FPS elements, you'll enjoy this too. Although I still have four maps to play, I have spent over 20 hours so far with the game, so I feel confident giving my assessment. This game launched at $15 for a single copy or $25 for two. Or, if you got it during the Steam sale, $12.50/$22.50. That's really inexpensive for this quality of game. I definitely recommend picking it up at these prices f you're into this game genre. **Composite Score: 9.125/10** **Entertainment Value: 10/10** Solid excitement mixed with charming humor. I really enjoyed playing solo. Co-operative play really depends on who you're playing with and dealing with network/tech issues. My partner had some microphone and XBOX controller issues, so we had to deal with tech problems at the start. But, after we got those sorted, we had a good time roasting, slicing, and crushing waves of orcs. **Graphics: 9/10** The Vision engine still delivers as good of a product as it did in OMD!. On my SLI GTX 570 setup, I get solid graphics performance and appearance. Anti-aliasing and Anisotropic Filtering are both great. No artifacting at all. Only reason this doesn't get a 10 is that the traps often don't mesh perfectly with the surroundings. And, coins sometimes get lost behind walls. **Sound: 9/10** Solid sound like the first game. Music is lively and entertaining. The surround system works. The orcs still tell silly lines, and now that dwarves have been added, they enhance the humor too. I give this game a 9 instead of the standard 8, because the dialog and music enhance the experience better than most other low-budget games of this style. **Design and Gameplay: 9/10** Gameplay has been tweaked since OMD!. There are more weapons, trinkets, and a new female character, the sorceress. There are new monsters. There are other ways to play such as ENDLESS and Co-op. Also, the way players can upgrade traps and items is distinctly different from the first game.... somewhat more like an RPG than before. Otherwise though, it's still build traps and use your character's powers to defeat the waves of mosters before they exit the map. **Game Length: 9/10** Given the game's low price and its incorporated multiplayer mode, don't think too harshly about it taking me less than three hours to complete the first half of the campaign on War Mage (normal) difficulty. I'm not done with the second half yet, but I've spent a couple of hours doing and redoing the next few maps. Also, I've spent many more hours playing through ENDLESS maps, going for high-scores, and playing through the classic maps using the new trap upgrades and weapons. Therefore, I'm quite happy with the game's length. Expand
  22. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    the ultimate splatter game that succeeds in giving you what a game should: Fun! Graphics are very ok and the physics system and overall feel are just superior to most games. The gameplay is balanced to perfection and I keep replaying this game 'till infinity it seems. One of the better games out there for sure!
  23. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Extremely difficult if played solo, which is a good thing. Very refreshing to play a tower defense game that doesn't let you sleep through the first half of the game.
  24. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    One of the best action strategy games of all-time. The fun of tower defense with the fast pace action of a third person hack and slash. Just plain tremendous. Orcs Must Die was a great game. Orcs Must Die 2 is just the total package.
  25. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There's no way this game can get a score of below 9, it's just brilliant, i do not regret a single bit since the day i pre ordered. It, the game shows a great storyline which intrigued me a lot since the first game, so far, i've only completed it solo, and it was brilliant, so i can't wait untill i can co-op with one of my friends. Also, i love how the game didnt remove anything, they just added and still kept the old maps from the first game and skins as well. New spells, New traps, and more orcs, this game is a must buy if you wish to have a good time with your friends or even on your own, since the humour of the game never stops with so many jokes. Expand
  26. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Super fun and alot of replayability. I have 400 hours logged on this game. Love it! Fryedegg is a noob though. I am in love with Nana however, I was told she makes good muffins.
  27. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    OMD2 just does what OMD1 did, and does more of it-- they don't do anything crazy that ruins the fun of the originally and I still get hours of enjoyment out of this title even months later. I've always liked this genre (what I call "tank defense" or third-person tower defense) and the balancing of the units, player traps, etc. is just about as perfect as you could get. This quality is notOMD2 just does what OMD1 did, and does more of it-- they don't do anything crazy that ruins the fun of the originally and I still get hours of enjoyment out of this title even months later. I've always liked this genre (what I call "tank defense" or third-person tower defense) and the balancing of the units, player traps, etc. is just about as perfect as you could get. This quality is not quite as present in the expansions for OMD2, but the base game itself is great. Expand
  28. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    When the first Orcs Must Die title came out, relatively the same time as Dungeon Defender, I missed out on the first title...my reason being was the lack of Co-Op. I see now, I should've invested on the first title seeing what I've been missing out on. Been playing Orcs Must Die! 2 with a friend and have been having a ball. Lots of action (especially at the harder levels) and really makesWhen the first Orcs Must Die title came out, relatively the same time as Dungeon Defender, I missed out on the first title...my reason being was the lack of Co-Op. I see now, I should've invested on the first title seeing what I've been missing out on. Been playing Orcs Must Die! 2 with a friend and have been having a ball. Lots of action (especially at the harder levels) and really makes you think in optimising your playstyle/build. Great fun. Highly recommend...more so if you've got someone to play the game with 9/10 Expand
  29. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    Everything the first one was, plus more. It has simple things such as key rebinding, which seems trivial, but let OMD1 down, and introduces multiplayer, which many will be happy to see. At its heart though, it's about killing orcs, and it does a damned fine job of doing it, and making it more fun than the first outing whilst it's at it. The addition of a second character is awesome,Everything the first one was, plus more. It has simple things such as key rebinding, which seems trivial, but let OMD1 down, and introduces multiplayer, which many will be happy to see. At its heart though, it's about killing orcs, and it does a damned fine job of doing it, and making it more fun than the first outing whilst it's at it. The addition of a second character is awesome, meaning you can play through the levels, then go back and play again with better traps, then go back again with a whole different character, giving a tonne more replayability. If you want a Tower Defence game with a little more involvement from your character, it's well worth a look Expand
  30. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    cool game you can play online all the cool cool extension Tipo TAVERS defents but you can run shorter cool again is super cool weapons and magic wow cool
  31. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Missing the headshot feature, but other than that...IT'S AWESOME :D
    They improved the spellbook and the upgrades. The mechanics you can do by combining different traps is absolutely amazing.
  32. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    A lot of fun, but pretty short however the levels were creative and interesting. The best part of the game was doing coop with a friend and taking on the nightmare difficulty, but even then we felt like the game ended too quickly. After I discovered the combination for the main (male) character of Dwarven Hammer, Healing Trinket, and Mana Rage Bottle, it pretty much made every wave a joke,A lot of fun, but pretty short however the levels were creative and interesting. The best part of the game was doing coop with a friend and taking on the nightmare difficulty, but even then we felt like the game ended too quickly. After I discovered the combination for the main (male) character of Dwarven Hammer, Healing Trinket, and Mana Rage Bottle, it pretty much made every wave a joke, but still a lot of fun. Expand
  33. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    I bought this game after playing Orcs Must Die 1, which i really enjoyed playing. The Graphics are atmospheric and apply well to the humoric style of the game. This Sequel does everything better than its prequel. A Coop-mode, improved spell book..... and tons of new stuff and traps. The new endless mode is pretty fun too and increases the replayability of the game. All in all for 13,99I bought this game after playing Orcs Must Die 1, which i really enjoyed playing. The Graphics are atmospheric and apply well to the humoric style of the game. This Sequel does everything better than its prequel. A Coop-mode, improved spell book..... and tons of new stuff and traps. The new endless mode is pretty fun too and increases the replayability of the game. All in all for 13,99 this game is worth all its money!
    Grab it!
    Expand
  34. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    I was so happy to hear that a second Orcs Must die was coming out! I was not disappointed at all. The addition of co-op really adds a lot more than I really expected. It loses a point because some of the levels are a little too difficult without a second player around.
  35. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    This game is just plain fun, period.
    It's pretty much the perfect combination of action and strategy - don't think of it as a mere traditional Tower Defense Game. It combines fast-paced 3rd-person shooter gameplay with the ability to create nearly any devious and viciously effective trap system you can think of, with a side of amusing one-liners, often from the orcs themselves.
    THE TRAPS
    This game is just plain fun, period.
    It's pretty much the perfect combination of action and strategy - don't think of it as a mere traditional Tower Defense Game. It combines fast-paced 3rd-person shooter gameplay with the ability to create nearly any devious and viciously effective trap system you can think of, with a side of amusing one-liners, often from the orcs themselves.
    THE TRAPS are varied, interesting, and satisfying to see in action, and the ability to upgrade them several times each (sometimes requiring you choose one ability over another) keeps you playing to get the resources to do so. This is true of weapons and accessories as well.
    THE LEVELS frequently make you think and change tactics in order to win - the maps are different enough for different strategies to be needed on different maps, and that's awesome. Don't listen to the scrubs giving this game a bad score because they think it requires 2 people - it doesn't. You can 5-skull (ace) every map on Nightmare difficulty, you'll just have to be clever.
    THE REPLAY VALUE is definitely here too. It's a 15 dollar game...and I've already put 100 hours into it, and I'm just now getting into coop maps and Endless mode, and they recently announced they'll be posting weekly challenges - special scenarios where you must complete a particular objective, possibly with limited traps/resources/time. Most $60 titles don't offer half the content.
    The game also runs like a dream. Loads quickly, doesn't crash, and I have yet to see a bug. Give it a try. In an age when massive game developers try to milk you for all you;re worth with mediocre, rushed titles, this is a title that got some god-honest love from its developers, and it shows.
    Expand
  36. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Downright enjoyable game.
    I must admit, While i enjoyed the original, I wouldn't have rated it as high as i have this one, Which obviously shows an improvement. Whereas a lot of the reviews i've seen comment on the co-op, I've not played ANY of it on co-op, Instead finishing it on nightmare solo, (So anyone saying it HAS to be played co-op...just do endless some more) Which brings me to
    Downright enjoyable game.
    I must admit, While i enjoyed the original, I wouldn't have rated it as high as i have this one, Which obviously shows an improvement. Whereas a lot of the reviews i've seen comment on the co-op, I've not played ANY of it on co-op, Instead finishing it on nightmare solo, (So anyone saying it HAS to be played co-op...just do endless some more) Which brings me to another point, The replayability, You can spend so long upgrading your characters, while testing new strats, It's great.
    It runs like a dream, The banter is hilarious (Ok, The WARMAGE is hilarious, The sorc frankly terrify s me.)
    All in all, For the price, It's a solid 10.
    Expand
  37. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Orcs Must Die! was a fantastic game i remember pirating the full game and than right after loving it so much that i brought it. Orcs Must Die! 2 is a complete upgrade, they got rid of any possible criticism that i could have given the first and even improved the graphics a little. I must admit i was disappointing by the lack of campaign stages but that was soon to be not a problem at allOrcs Must Die! was a fantastic game i remember pirating the full game and than right after loving it so much that i brought it. Orcs Must Die! 2 is a complete upgrade, they got rid of any possible criticism that i could have given the first and even improved the graphics a little. I must admit i was disappointing by the lack of campaign stages but that was soon to be not a problem at all due to the replayablity and completely different play styles. Expand
  38. Jan 27, 2013
    8
    A fun tower defense game that's great for playing with a friend. I enjoyed the level design and the customization of characters, allowing me to retry the same level with different builds focused on different strategies.

    An actual place to play with random strangers would have been nice, but the gameplay itself is great fun. For the low price of the game it is definitely worth the price
    A fun tower defense game that's great for playing with a friend. I enjoyed the level design and the customization of characters, allowing me to retry the same level with different builds focused on different strategies.

    An actual place to play with random strangers would have been nice, but the gameplay itself is great fun. For the low price of the game it is definitely worth the price for anyone who enjoys tower defense style game.
    Expand
  39. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    I got this not long ago during Steams Black friday week sale. To be honest, I think this has a price:fun ratio thats mighty hard to beat. The game is fairly simple, a of tower defense with a bit of shooter action mixed in. You fight your way thru increasingly difficult waves of Orcs and purchase upgraded weapons and traps to help you along. Genuinely enjoyable gameplay (more so in co-opI got this not long ago during Steams Black friday week sale. To be honest, I think this has a price:fun ratio thats mighty hard to beat. The game is fairly simple, a of tower defense with a bit of shooter action mixed in. You fight your way thru increasingly difficult waves of Orcs and purchase upgraded weapons and traps to help you along. Genuinely enjoyable gameplay (more so in co-op with a friend). I highly recommended this. (A word of warning, if your using a system with ATI GPU, you may encounter some load time and sync issues. Make sure your drivers are up to date and do a fresh install if all else fails. I have 5 systems, 3 are ATI, same issue on each ATI machine :s) Expand
  40. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    What can you say, it´s easily the best Tower Defence game ever made, the only game that comes close is the first game.
    The new upgrade system, more traps, co-op and endless replayability makes it a steal at 12 euro for a new game, I have had more fun with his than 95% of all 60 euro games.
    My only complain is that it feels a bit less polished , I think the orcs looked a little bit
    What can you say, it´s easily the best Tower Defence game ever made, the only game that comes close is the first game.
    The new upgrade system, more traps, co-op and endless replayability makes it a steal at 12 euro for a new game, I have had more fun with his than 95% of all 60 euro games.
    My only complain is that it feels a bit less polished , I think the orcs looked a little bit Better in the first game. I hope they release a texture-pack.
    Expand
  41. Aug 3, 2012
    8
    I actually haven't finished this one but it seems pretty good so far, as good as the first one which was very nice... but it looks like you need the quote "The banter between characters is hilarious, the gameplay is smooth, solid and extremely enjoyable" in your review to get on the front page? So that's kind of odd but there I am.
  42. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Manages to take everything that made the first game fun and silly and turn it to 11. The added ways of getting skulls increases the replayability factor by about 100 as well.
  43. Jan 6, 2013
    8
    Orcs Must Die 2 provides a challenging experience for Tower Defense lovers and brings in a humorous continuation of the first game for fans of the first game. The game also includes a multiplayer experience which was heavily sought after the success from the first game and plays a major role in the popularity of this game. Get this game on steam now with friends as it will be quite aOrcs Must Die 2 provides a challenging experience for Tower Defense lovers and brings in a humorous continuation of the first game for fans of the first game. The game also includes a multiplayer experience which was heavily sought after the success from the first game and plays a major role in the popularity of this game. Get this game on steam now with friends as it will be quite a pleasant experience even for casual gamers. Expand
  44. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Orcs Must Die was a really funny game. But Orcs Must Die 2 made it more enjoyable to play. Of course there are a few things that doesn't feel good. But my only issue is that you have to play it with 2 because single player begins to be boring
  45. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    Not as good as the original, but still quite fun. The biggest problem is the new coop mode, which is clearly the focus of this title, to the point that it degrades the single-player experience. Occasionally, through clever use of barracades, you can balance the levels for single-player; but, when you can't, it results in a lot of running back and forth between where you are and where youNot as good as the original, but still quite fun. The biggest problem is the new coop mode, which is clearly the focus of this title, to the point that it degrades the single-player experience. Occasionally, through clever use of barracades, you can balance the levels for single-player; but, when you can't, it results in a lot of running back and forth between where you are and where you non-existent partner should be, which can be frustrating at times. If you loved the first one, though, this one is well worth the price, especially if you've worn out the maps on the original (which, if you owned it, are available here as well).

    The new character is well done and her charm spell can prove indispensible at times. Between her and the addition of "Endless" mode for any levels that you've completed, there's a lot of replayability here.
    Expand
  46. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    The second edition of Orcs Must Die! iterates on the first game in a welcome manner. Fans of the original will find game play to be largely unchanged (though this is by no means a bad thing). The handful of new traps provides additional entertainment and the new maps are very welcome. Difficulty on the whole has been tweaked to provide a slightly more challenging experience and theThe second edition of Orcs Must Die! iterates on the first game in a welcome manner. Fans of the original will find game play to be largely unchanged (though this is by no means a bad thing). The handful of new traps provides additional entertainment and the new maps are very welcome. Difficulty on the whole has been tweaked to provide a slightly more challenging experience and the addition of a new sorceress character (previously the unseen villain of the piece) provides options for a slightly different play style.

    The true value however lies in the excellent cooperative multiplayer mode which allows 2 players to tackle the entirety of the campaign (and standalone play levels) side by side.

    The game provides ample fun at a very reasonable price regardless but to truly experience this gem, a partner is a must.
    Expand
  47. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    Let's start talking about a big drawback: the campaign is much shorter than the first. Although this has everything that was missing in the first: many enemies, the Co-op and especially more variety in traps and levels. Who could ask for more?
  48. Jan 4, 2013
    9
    Very enjoyable, i liked the traps, weapons, and different levels ( even though there aren't that many )
    but overall a very nice thought out game. 9/10
  49. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    I loved the first game. if you're the kind of person who loves defending waves after waves of orcs and other what not creatures then this is the game for you. The game basically follows the same gameplay concept as the first one. Where you control a war mage who can cast spells and place traps in hopes of repelling the orc invasion. How this game differs from the first is that there areI loved the first game. if you're the kind of person who loves defending waves after waves of orcs and other what not creatures then this is the game for you. The game basically follows the same gameplay concept as the first one. Where you control a war mage who can cast spells and place traps in hopes of repelling the orc invasion. How this game differs from the first is that there are now 2 characters you can choose. Both with unique spells stats and the like. The mechanics of leveling up your spells also changed. Now it is possible to level up every trap and other magic gear you have or buy everything if you're that rich. As a true sequel the story was quite interesting and humor is still present much like the 1st game. There is coop present which basically makes the game a whole lot of fun. But what got me disappointed was that the game has no lobby system to connect different players from who knows where. Instead it allows you to connect with a friend who already owns the game. It would have been quite enjoyable to connect with other people who have the game but you hardly even know. Still the game is quite fun and the voice chat in the game works like a charm. There are loads to do and if you're bored from other games there is always this to keep you company. Expand
  50. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    A fun game whether or not pc is your choice platform. I have to admit I was upset. Having enjoyed the first one on xbox, it was going to take a lot for me to get on steam and buy it. I use steam but xbox is where i feel most at home. I took the advice of my friends and just purchased the pc version. I enjoyed the tower defense game play of the fist and the ease of the mouse and keyboard isA fun game whether or not pc is your choice platform. I have to admit I was upset. Having enjoyed the first one on xbox, it was going to take a lot for me to get on steam and buy it. I use steam but xbox is where i feel most at home. I took the advice of my friends and just purchased the pc version. I enjoyed the tower defense game play of the fist and the ease of the mouse and keyboard is something worth experiencing in orcs must die 2. I wont explain the gameplay but ill tell you that whether your an xbox or pc gamer, buy this game and enjoy it Collapse
  51. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    Esse jogo e o melhor TD no pc que conheço!
    Graficos limpos e bem feitos e o jogo n tem bugs. O modo coop dele é muito bom tabem.
    Otimo jogo mesmo.
  52. Feb 1, 2013
    9
    Fun. Addicting. I'm always looking for games with good multiplayer, and this is one of them. There's something almost cathartic about setting up the traps and mowing down Orcs. My only complaint is that I can't personalize my character as much as I'd like. A small complaint to have.
  53. May 2, 2013
    8
    This is a great game. It is highly entertaining and the co-op mode is great fun. The only issues with it are its limited lifespan and the fact that so much of the game is paid DLC. That said, definitely worth serious consideration for fans of co-op action, defense games and of course, those who like frantic adventuring.
  54. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Orcs Must Die 2 was almost all good. There are many and varied weapons, traps, and in us, mates. Only two problems with the game. A bit ugly graphics, and often only be used for our people, because if you trap, you might as well get into the place because of our effective against ogres. I played this game for a long time, only the last act stuck. But no matter, it is a good game.
  55. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    Just another tower defense? Think again. This game is great, spamable crossbow, hack-and-slash, quick magic spells, orcs torn to pieces, sliced orcs, impailed orcs, burnt orcs, electrocuted orcs, orcs swimming in acid and lava pits, flying orcs, orcs flying into one another because of your catapults. This game is awesome and you can be too if you buy it. The only downside: not enough orcs.
  56. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    Tower defense done right, and it's co-op! There's an endless combination of weapons, traps, and trinkets to suit pretty much any play style. Plus, the 2 main characters have different items so there's enough variety to make every game feel different. The upgrade system is really well done and offers the option to refund all of your points for free so you can try out a completely new buildTower defense done right, and it's co-op! There's an endless combination of weapons, traps, and trinkets to suit pretty much any play style. Plus, the 2 main characters have different items so there's enough variety to make every game feel different. The upgrade system is really well done and offers the option to refund all of your points for free so you can try out a completely new build whenever you want. Sadly, the game seems a little too difficult to play solo and you'll find that the characters' one liners get old pretty quick. Expand
  57. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. I thought it was defiantly better than the first one, but only if you have friends to play it with. The graphics are better, and there's more traps and weapons. I'm a little disappointed that they took out the weavers, but the new skull system is way better than the old one. If you don't have friends to play with you should still get it but it is definitelyI really enjoyed this game. I thought it was defiantly better than the first one, but only if you have friends to play it with. The graphics are better, and there's more traps and weapons. I'm a little disappointed that they took out the weavers, but the new skull system is way better than the old one. If you don't have friends to play with you should still get it but it is definitely better with other people Expand
  58. Aug 10, 2013
    8
    Great game, has alot of content and is a great challenge, the DLC is pretty good, and the fact that teamplay is greatly rewarded is really inspiring. This game is really addictive and is sure to suck up many hours of your time.
  59. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    Game Play[7]
    Controls[6]
    Contactable/Easter Eggs[6]
    Innovation[8]
    Graphics[7]
    Sounds[6]
    replay Value[10]
    Gaming Satisfaction[8]
    Price/Playtime[10]
    Technical Issues[10]
    ------------------------------------
    Over All[7.8]
  60. Nov 27, 2015
    10
    Just as great as the first game. If you've enjoyed Orcs Must Die, you should definitely pick this one up too.

    Most of the gameplay is very much similar. You still have a plethora of traps to use, and lots of orcs in each stage. There are fewer overall stages in the main campaign than there were in the first game, but the game offers some new stuff to make up for it. It now has 2
    Just as great as the first game. If you've enjoyed Orcs Must Die, you should definitely pick this one up too.

    Most of the gameplay is very much similar. You still have a plethora of traps to use, and lots of orcs in each stage. There are fewer overall stages in the main campaign than there were in the first game, but the game offers some new stuff to make up for it. It now has 2 playable characters. Their starting weapons and starting traps are different. Like for example the Apprentice uses a blunderbuss as the main weapon, whereas the sorceress uses a sceptre to shoot small projectiles from. The presence of two playable characters also means the game can be played in co-op.

    In addition to this, some stages also have an endless mode, where you can keep fighting hordes of orcs till you lose all the rift points, and the game also lets you play some of the classic stages from the first game.

    The upgrade mechanic has been improved from the first game. Though the simplicity of it in the first game was nice, it's also great to have a bigger variety of upgrades that this game offers. Now each trap has more than 1 upgrade, and in addition to upgrading your existing traps, you can also buy new traps, weapons, and trinkets for all sorts of benefits, depending on how you prefer to play. Now this also means that it's easier to earn skulls, which are used as upgrade points. You can now gain them in more ways. In the first game you could only get them as a rating for each mission, but now you can also get them as bonuses and random drops, and as rewards for surviving a certain amount of waves in the endless stages.

    Just as with new traps, you also meet some new enemies. We now have some earth elementals which split into two smaller units upon death, some tall, lanky trolls which can take a lot of punishment, and even the regular grunts now have light, medium, and heavy armour varieties.

    There are only a couple of minor things I didn't like. The first one is that I was unable to find an easy way to switch between characters when in the campaign menu. I first played through the whole campaign as the Apprentice, and when I wanted to try out the Sorceress, I couldn't simply pick a stage I've beaten already and to do it with her. Instead I had to create a new character profile with no upgrades or unlocks and to start the campaign all over from the start, which isn't all that great.

    Another thing I didn't like was how the barricades have become virtually useless now. It's possible that maybe I was just unlucky, but on many occasions I noticed that the orcs now seem to prefer to rather smash their way through the barricades rather take an alternate path, even if the alternate path is within their vision. The only time this didn't happen was when I played the classic levels from the first game.

    In conclusion, this is a great 3rd person tower defence game and lives up to the quality of the first one. If you've enjoyed the first one, get this one too. If you've enjoyed this one, get the first one too.
    Expand
  61. Oct 16, 2014
    8
    Orcs Must Die! 2(OMD2) is -how surprising - the sequel to Orcs Must Die! and follows the same mechanism. You have to stop the invading Orcs from reaching a certain point on the map. I think they call this a tower defense game. And it literally is. You defend your castle against the multitude of monsters by placing a selection of traps and troops at critical points and supporting them withOrcs Must Die! 2(OMD2) is -how surprising - the sequel to Orcs Must Die! and follows the same mechanism. You have to stop the invading Orcs from reaching a certain point on the map. I think they call this a tower defense game. And it literally is. You defend your castle against the multitude of monsters by placing a selection of traps and troops at critical points and supporting them with your avatar who can be equipped with various weapon and items..
    Interesting is that OMD2 is not a top down game, but rather a 3 third person game. I
    In OMD 2 there are two playable characters: the War Mage, the male protagonist from OMD and the Sorceress, his female adversary from the same game. Each has unique capabilities, the first is more tuned in to fighting, the second more capable of using magic.
    The War Mage is somewhat easier to play as he can use a trap that is cheap ,is always on and affects all the types of orcs. It slows down them down allowing your other traps and troops to deal with them more easier. The Sorceress only has traps that works at intervals thus making it harder to deal with the mobs.
    There are various modes and levels of difficulty. There is a story mode that takes through various maps and gradually introduces you to new types of orcs and weapons, items, traps and troops. Improvements for these are unlocked by collecting Skulls.
    You can also spend skulls on outfits..if you are bored with your default appearance. The new outfits have no other effect than changing your looks.

    Visual OMD 2 has a comic book like quality. The male avatar is portrayed as a all round cool guy who thinks the world of himself..the female character has a snappy attitude and wears sexy outfits, of course.
    There banter between the two characters is pretty funny and kept as part of this game although now they are competitors working for the same side(or more like, against the orcs in the style: your enemies enemy is my ally) instead of adversaries.

    I find the game fun to play. It combines smooth combat, funny banter, nice graphics and challenging situations. It does what it is supposed to do and it does it well.

    I decided on a 8.5 overall and hesitantly round it down to eight. Judged as a tower defense game it might be a nine. Judged as an overall game.. I decide that it was an eight, basically because of the following considerations: it lacks a gripping story, it becomes repetitive after a while, you can't play the orcs(which would be funny), you can't program what the ai can use against you(why not have sliders with: more trolls, more flyers?)and a character can't select the unique capabilities of the other character.

    A nice game if you can pick it up cheaply.

    .
    Expand
  62. Jun 28, 2014
    8
    A tower-defense game packed with fun and personality. The co-op focus is too much to fully praise the game (it would benefit from a more reasonable single-player experience), but even for a solo-player, the game is quite fun. I hope to see refinement in the next installment, to fully include all play-styles. Still, highly recommended!
  63. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    A fun game. The tower defense portion could be more effective especially when trying to build a path for the orcs to follow. Other than that, a few quirks here and there that are to be expected don't distract from having a fun time.
  64. Jan 4, 2016
    8
    An excellent followup to the original OMD game. The number of maps and traps makes for a very deep game, and you'll find yourself playing them over and over to try and get all 5 skulls (the max rating you can get per map). Multiplayer option is a welcome addition allowing you to partner up with a friend, but the matchmaking is lousy -- there is no pickup games -- you have to have a friendAn excellent followup to the original OMD game. The number of maps and traps makes for a very deep game, and you'll find yourself playing them over and over to try and get all 5 skulls (the max rating you can get per map). Multiplayer option is a welcome addition allowing you to partner up with a friend, but the matchmaking is lousy -- there is no pickup games -- you have to have a friend on your Steam list to play with them, making it a clumsy system.

    New to OMD2 is Endless mode, where you try can literally play forever. This also feels a bit rushed -- there are certainly some balance issues with this. The devs would have been better off making it just 50 or 100 levels. "Endless" mode is never satisfying.

    As a single player game OMD2 excels, but as a multiplayer it feels a underwhelming and the Endless mode, while fun for some, is a tedious experience -- both of which prevents me from giving it a higher score.

    Still, OMD2 is a great experience and with the add-ons it makes for an extremely satisfying game. This game is certainly worth the price of purchase, but I recommend avoiding the Are We There Yeti expansion - it's incredibly difficult and unbalanced -- punishing and unfun in fact.
    Expand
  65. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    A fun game whether or not pc is your choice platform. I have to admit I was upset. Having enjoyed the first one on xbox, it was going to take a lot for me to get on steam and buy it. I use steam but xbox is where i feel most at home. I took the advice of my friends and just purchased the pc version. I enjoyed the tower defense game play of the fist and the ease of the mouse and keyboard isA fun game whether or not pc is your choice platform. I have to admit I was upset. Having enjoyed the first one on xbox, it was going to take a lot for me to get on steam and buy it. I use steam but xbox is where i feel most at home. I took the advice of my friends and just purchased the pc version. I enjoyed the tower defense game play of the fist and the ease of the mouse and keyboard is something worth experiencing in orcs must die 2. I wont explain the gameplay but ill tell you that whether your an xbox or pc gamer, buy this game and enjoy it Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 10, 2012
    80
    Excellent shooter / tower defense mix with many great ideas comes with black humor, cooperative multiplayer, tons of weapons & traps and a gazillions of upgrades. [Sept 2012]
  2. Sep 16, 2012
    80
    In spite of its balance wobbles, Orcs Must Die 2 is a frenetic blast of co-op joy - the ideal 30-minute post-pint pick-me-up, be it a step-change sequel or not. [Oct 2012, p.106]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 16, 2012
    80
    Borrows a little too much from the original game but features some fantastic moment to moment action. [Sept 2012, p.58]