Orion: Dino Horde PC

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 403 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 5, 2012
    0
    This game is AWFUL, the graphics are poor, the animations even worse, it is completely riddled with bugs. I would really recomend NOT buy this POS. It is not worth the money. The gunplay is poor, as are the sounds, it crashes, have game stopping bugs. It might only be £6 but dont waste your money on this!
  2. Jun 27, 2014
    4
    Got this when it first came out (during alpha phases). Back then my impressions were extremely poor. Now they have slightly improved enough to give it a 4 out of 10. The best way to describe it would be "Its similar to a turok game except remove most turoks gameplay and turn it into a horde mode." Now, I love the turok games on n64, this is nowhere near close to it but... some of theGot this when it first came out (during alpha phases). Back then my impressions were extremely poor. Now they have slightly improved enough to give it a 4 out of 10. The best way to describe it would be "Its similar to a turok game except remove most turoks gameplay and turn it into a horde mode." Now, I love the turok games on n64, this is nowhere near close to it but... some of the weaponry has a turokesque feel, despite it being poorly done. I think the real satisfaction I get, which is the only reason I am giving it a 4, would be decapitating dinosaurs with a bow and arrow. Other than that, it gets boring quickly, has lots of little things that piss me off a bit more than they should, graphics are not up to par for the engine it uses, and it really needed more weapon options/upgrades with persistent ranks and a lot more dinosaur types (only 8 types I encountered). Expand
  3. May 7, 2012
    0
    Words can not even express how bad this game is. I was very excite when I first heard about a coop survival game with dinosaurs and yet when it launch it because a study in aggravation and disappointment.
  4. May 7, 2012
    0
    Steam's worst ever release. UI doesn't work properly, uses other game's sound effects, crashes, bugs everywhere, horrible etc, do i even need to go on? It really is THE worst. I can't believe Valve rejects some games and approved this MESS. Do not buy. Some people are defending this just cause they're indie devs. You know what? Support good indie devs that make good games, like LoneSteam's worst ever release. UI doesn't work properly, uses other game's sound effects, crashes, bugs everywhere, horrible etc, do i even need to go on? It really is THE worst. I can't believe Valve rejects some games and approved this MESS. Do not buy. Some people are defending this just cause they're indie devs. You know what? Support good indie devs that make good games, like Lone survivor and A Valley without wind, NOT THIS! It's not even worth 1 cent. That's how awful it is. Buy anything but this. Expand
  5. May 10, 2012
    1
    There's three problems with this game. 1) It was released in Alpha stage at best but was touted as completed (pre-purchase with BETA access would have been better). 2) It's an indie game but uses the biggest commercial engine out there (UT3). I'm still unsure how I feel about that. 3) It's actually rubbish.

    I'm reluctantly giving it a 1 not a 0 as I did have a solo play game and
    There's three problems with this game. 1) It was released in Alpha stage at best but was touted as completed (pre-purchase with BETA access would have been better). 2) It's an indie game but uses the biggest commercial engine out there (UT3). I'm still unsure how I feel about that. 3) It's actually rubbish.

    I'm reluctantly giving it a 1 not a 0 as I did have a solo play game and flying around with a jetpack was interesting, but nothing more.
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2014
    1
    Believe all the bad reviews that you read. It's all true. I regret the 3eu i paid for this crap. Its utterly unplayable because of bugs, it crashes for no reason, it's boring, there are hardly any servers,and they had the balls to charge 10eu for this? No. This is thievery. This is downright criminal. People should go to jail for getting this out as it is. And the worst part is, they keepBelieve all the bad reviews that you read. It's all true. I regret the 3eu i paid for this crap. Its utterly unplayable because of bugs, it crashes for no reason, it's boring, there are hardly any servers,and they had the balls to charge 10eu for this? No. This is thievery. This is downright criminal. People should go to jail for getting this out as it is. And the worst part is, they keep lying to people, by changing the title every six months or so. First it was dino beatdown, then dino horde, now its some other crap. Do yourself a favor and perform an experiment. Pay attention to the reviewers giving it high grades, check how many reviews they've done, it should give you a good idea of what i mean when i say "criminal". Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2014
    0
    I've seen the developer on the Steam forums telling people the meta score is wrong. The saddest thing I have ever seen on Steam.
    SOOOOOOOOOOO VERY BAD!
  8. May 2, 2013
    0
    I can describe this game in actually two words. This is an example of a "piss-poor" game. Now if you're just a sadist? Buy it. And since this review had to be 150 characters long? All this is, is filler crap. I can't say anything good about this trashy title. And judging by a 36 rating across the board for metacritic? What a crappy title.
  9. Feb 20, 2014
    0
    This is hands down the worst FPS I have ever played. It's a wonder that games like this are even allowed on Steam in the first place. The rebranding and pleading with potential customers on the forums is a sad attempt at reviving this unpolished turd.
  10. Apr 17, 2013
    0
    I'm sure I played this game and hated it.. that's right I did. Why the new name?

    If you don't know what I'm talking about, this game is ORION: Dino Horde. Same game, new name. It's still bad and still has stolen art. http://www.metacritic.com/game/pc/orion-dino-horde
  11. May 11, 2012
    0
    Nope. Don't buy. This game is nowhere near ready to be released. The devs say that a "last minute addition to the game" caused the bugs that are present, but it is hard to believe that could result in the massive amount of fail in this game. The framerate chugs (and I have a higher-end pc), the environments are redundant (you can easily see the pattern in the environments by using yourNope. Don't buy. This game is nowhere near ready to be released. The devs say that a "last minute addition to the game" caused the bugs that are present, but it is hard to believe that could result in the massive amount of fail in this game. The framerate chugs (and I have a higher-end pc), the environments are redundant (you can easily see the pattern in the environments by using your jetpack to get to a high place), the graphics are below average, the enemy AI is extremely retarded (They are rarely able to find their way into a building if you're hiding in one). Fortunately for you, you probably won't have to experience these bugs because more than likely you will not even be able to start up the game or join a server. I have yet to be able to play with my friends because I either mysteriously lose connection, or the server (which is populated by just 1 or 2 of my friends) says that it's full with invisible men that don't really exist. Sure it may be a cheap game but the devs have so far failed to meet their promises of goods in return for my money. It's like I went to Subway and paid the 8 dollars for a meal and they just gave me bread crumbs in return. What do you expect me to do with this? The devs even went so far as to pretty much commit fraudulant advertising for their game. They say you can blow up everything with their destructible environments. No. The only thing you can destroy the in the game are the vehicles, yourself, and dinos. It's class based, but there are only 3 classes so don't get excited. It's suppose to be fast-paced. No. You can hide in the buildings and it will take forever for the dinos to find you. You can kill tons of dinosaurs! No. Sure, there are waves with tons of dinos in them, but there are only three different types (raptors, trex, pterodactyl). They say the dino AI is dynamic. If you consider them running into walls and getting stuck in corners trying to find their way into the building, then sure, it's dynamic. They say you can go anywhere in huge, endless environments. No. The environments are pretty large, but they sure as hell aren't endless. On the steam forums, the developers lock threads where players offer criticisms for the game. They say they are offering ingame incentives because of how badly the game has launched. Uhhh, the large majority of us can't even play the game so how the hell is that going to help us? Bottom line is that if you buy this "game", you will regret it. Save yourself the time and cash and stay far, far away from this title and anything else that happens to come from this piece of trash developer. Expand
  12. Mar 23, 2014
    0
    worst steam purchase ever. game feels like an alpha, and not even a good one. it's just extremely lacking. look up video reviews before buying it, even at $1 it's not worth it imho.
  13. Jul 26, 2012
    1
    Despite good looking screen shots that coax you into buying this game it really is a buggy piece of garbage. I feel ashamed to have this in my steam collection.
  14. May 9, 2012
    1
    This game has had by far one of the worst launch builds i have ever had the opportunity to play. The menus hardly worked, joining/creating multiplayer or solo games was impossible many times, and the few times i did manage to get in the game it felt clunky and horribly unbalanced. The Devs are saying a god patch is coming today that will make everything "better" so hopefully they haveThis game has had by far one of the worst launch builds i have ever had the opportunity to play. The menus hardly worked, joining/creating multiplayer or solo games was impossible many times, and the few times i did manage to get in the game it felt clunky and horribly unbalanced. The Devs are saying a god patch is coming today that will make everything "better" so hopefully they have managed to fix the majority of the bugs. However until more DLC comes out there just isnt enough to this game to keep me really interested only 3 dino types 1 of which can insta kill at long to close range using projectiles and melee, 3 classes of which 2 are suicidal choices unless you camp buildings or vehicles, 3 maps, and no real persistence to the game since you lose all items/upgrades at the end of each match and there is no ranking system. At this point the only thing that would make this game really fun is 5 player co-op but with MP completely broken for most people right now that's not really an option. Hopefully in a month or 2 once the game is properly patched and some DLC has been released the game will be more enjoyable. I just hope that the launch and lack of content doesn't drive away the community. UPDATE: Patch 1 made the server browser and hosting/joining games at least possible for a good number of people. However crashes and bugs are still pretty bad. The patch even brought about a lot of new bugs since once again spiral was in a rush and did not test the patch thoroughly in an attempt to save time. Expand
  15. Jul 17, 2012
    3
    I made the mistake of purchasing this game before checking out any reviews. This was compounded by the fact that I bought a 4-pack, since the game has online coop. Who doesn't love online coop? Well, this game has made me regret that decision. Graphically it is fine, and the dinosaurs look cool, but that's where the good stops. Game breaking bugs, uninspired game play, and a myriad ofI made the mistake of purchasing this game before checking out any reviews. This was compounded by the fact that I bought a 4-pack, since the game has online coop. Who doesn't love online coop? Well, this game has made me regret that decision. Graphically it is fine, and the dinosaurs look cool, but that's where the good stops. Game breaking bugs, uninspired game play, and a myriad of drama-bombs involving the developer should be more than enough to keep you away. Expand
  16. May 10, 2012
    1
    Unpolished, buggy, bad sounds, music that does not fit the "action" on the screen, no environment sounds. That's Dino Beatdown in a nutshell. Sorry, but that's unacceptable for 10â
  17. Oct 22, 2012
    0
    this is the most disappointment you will ever get out of a ten dollar bill.
    there is a lot i could say but i can only tell you that five months post-release they finally turned this game into a beta and removed all of the original content and replaced it two extremely small maps and a whole lot of lip service and they made the game-play so much harder it's sure to make even the finest of
    this is the most disappointment you will ever get out of a ten dollar bill.
    there is a lot i could say but i can only tell you that five months post-release they finally turned this game into a beta and removed all of the original content and replaced it two extremely small maps and a whole lot of lip service and they made the game-play so much harder it's sure to make even the finest of gamers rage-quit. and two months after that, it's still in the same condition. after taking away all the game's content, spiral studios has produced nothing but images of stuff they say they will include but they have yet to actually produce anything new in the game. Dave Prassel, the ceo of spiral studios, is admittedly using this game only to fund his main project and any content that this game receives in the future will only be the leftovers from his main project. dino beatdown is nothing but a testing ground for orion prelude and Prassel does not give a **** about this game.
    DO NOT WASTE TEN DOLLARS ON THIS GAME and if someone gives it to you as a gift, you need to promptly de-friend that person. yes, it's that bad...
    Expand
  18. May 7, 2012
    0
    This game is literally unplayable - it crashes randomly at every occasion, and when it doesn't, you can't connect to any servers. Do not buy it at any circumstances, it's not worth any money and even if it was free, there is still no reason to play. I really have no hope for the creators to release some patches that will actually fix anything, because to release a game that doesn't notThis game is literally unplayable - it crashes randomly at every occasion, and when it doesn't, you can't connect to any servers. Do not buy it at any circumstances, it's not worth any money and even if it was free, there is still no reason to play. I really have no hope for the creators to release some patches that will actually fix anything, because to release a game that doesn't not work at all, that takes some balls. Or a lot of hard drugs. By the way: I've noticed few accounts that rate this game really high (10/10, when even 5/10 is really absurd) that have been created just yesterday. I wonder if the developers have something to do with that. Expand
  19. Sep 3, 2012
    0
    This "game" is a disaster. Obviously unfinished, I'd say it barely looks like they started on it. Enemies with no animation, menus that don't work at all, those are just some of the problems this game has. Not even good enough to be called a proof of concept, just lazy trash.
  20. May 7, 2012
    0
    Horrible, just horrible. This is a money grab, steer away! I wish I could get my money back. This game is the first game I've ever bought on steam and am completely disgusted with.
  21. May 11, 2012
    0
    Putting aside the fact the developers have a .. bad history of stealing content from other games and saying they were legitimate placeholders etc.. the game is plagued with bugs and is definitely something I would not recommend to anyone, even if it was completely stable.
  22. May 4, 2012
    1
    Game is buggy to the point where most of us can't even run it. I honestly can't believe they launched this game in the state it is in. It feels more like an early beta then a full game.
  23. May 5, 2012
    1
    Dino Beatdown is a joke!... nothing on there works at all, have tried it on two high end computers and still no luck. The game might be OK after they fix everything up, but to say they have realised it when it doesn't even load up.. its just funny!.. I am creating games in university and my outcomes are much better than this and I am only just learning HaHa.. Who ever made this shouldDino Beatdown is a joke!... nothing on there works at all, have tried it on two high end computers and still no luck. The game might be OK after they fix everything up, but to say they have realised it when it doesn't even load up.. its just funny!.. I am creating games in university and my outcomes are much better than this and I am only just learning HaHa.. Who ever made this should really look into getting a new job haha funny.. Don't buy at the moment doesn't work it sounds good, and the co-op seemed a cool idea, but un-till it works there's no point in wasting even £6 pounds on this lol! just download unity and make your own game it will be much easier to get working and most probably be much more fun to :/ Expand
  24. May 5, 2012
    0
    I can do Better myself in UDK or even Cryengine, This game doesnt worth anything at all. This game is a joke. and the worst part is i can't even play online, Because server are down. Broken Game upon release, and they already talk about DLC ... Just Stay away from this game
  25. May 6, 2012
    0
    Game is Bugged to all hell. A game should not be released if half the users cant even launch it. Feels more like a Pre-Alpha than an actual Game. Game is way too hard as of now since half the time you get killed by a bugged out T-Rex than from actually failing. Being an Indie Studio and cheap game is not an excuse for release such a poor product.
  26. May 12, 2012
    2
    Dino Beatdown is a survival type game, where humans with high-tech weaponry fight hordes of oncoming dinosaurs. It takes place in vast landscapes, where the player must activate the power generator of one out of four bases and fight the incoming dinos. The game was first released in a rather horrendous state, making it impossible or very difficult to join or make servers, the game wouldDino Beatdown is a survival type game, where humans with high-tech weaponry fight hordes of oncoming dinosaurs. It takes place in vast landscapes, where the player must activate the power generator of one out of four bases and fight the incoming dinos. The game was first released in a rather horrendous state, making it impossible or very difficult to join or make servers, the game would crash often and such. While these issues have (for me) largely been ironed out with the first patch, the game is still full of glitches. Sound breaks down after map switch and the first person gun models don't properly react when you fire (leaving you with a feeling of killing raptors with a potato gun). While these are issues I'm sure will be solved by the developers, the game also suffers from some problems in the design. For one, the assault class seems to be the only to have an easy way of getting out of the way of the larger dinosaurs with the jet pack. The medic especially seems to be in trouble when faced with an angry t-rex, leaving them with the rather boring option of staying in-doors popping out every once in a while to pump a clipload of lead in the big lizard. The dinosaurs can't climb, so the right thing to do is get on top of something and shoot the hordes of dinos who are running around below like it's a free crack handout in a bad neighborhood. It is kind of boring that the smartest thing you can do as an "assault" is to just camp on top of something. When you die you'll have to wait until the other players either kill enough dinosaurs or they die themselves and you lose the game. This might be a very long time since the last player can just take a vehicle and go any old direction. We seem to lose a lot of players who die early after a spawn, because they don't want to sit around for 15 minutes waiting to re-spawn. The game now has an option for buying a new life after dying, but if you can't afford it you'll still have to wait. There are only three types of dinosaurs in the game - T-Rex, Raptor and Rahm. While the rahm (a flying dino that'll pick you up and fly away with you) is an interesting touch, the design hasn't been followed through here either: only the assault class has a way of surviving when dropped by a rahm. The recon and the medic will just spatter on the ground below. Killing these three types of dinos quickly become boring, and the game could really do with some more kinds. The game has a selection of vehicles, but alas, here the design is again lacking. The flying type of vehicle is a game winner - the dinos can hardly hurt you and you get to spend the rest of the game bombing defenseless lizards on the ground (and the terrain is game-from-1999-ugly when seen from above). The vehicle direction controls are mouse based, with is fine for the flying vehicle, but just feels clunky and incomplete for the ground based ones. The game is in a much better state than when it first came out (now it is playable), but that also means that all the design flaws come out. It's fun to exploit some dumb dinos who can't get to you, but it will grow old very soon. Expand
  27. May 8, 2012
    0
    Shocking absolutley shocking. Dave Prassel is a disgrace to the indy scene and Steam are allowing him to moderate one of their forums!!! for the game. Keep in mind guys he's also got staff placing 10 stars but it's their own choice ;) Stay clear of this title and the dev. Can't wait for Steam to refund my purchase. I suggest reviewing the Steam Forum for this game. If purchased go to steamShocking absolutley shocking. Dave Prassel is a disgrace to the indy scene and Steam are allowing him to moderate one of their forums!!! for the game. Keep in mind guys he's also got staff placing 10 stars but it's their own choice ;) Stay clear of this title and the dev. Can't wait for Steam to refund my purchase. I suggest reviewing the Steam Forum for this game. If purchased go to steam and request a refund. The game just does not work. Expand
  28. May 7, 2012
    0
    The game is buggy yes, but I am sure that the game would become better after the next update. And it is already a lot of fun. And c'mon it is just 8,99!
  29. May 7, 2012
    0
    This game is bad, real bad. The makers have acknowledged that the current product, which is the only thing we have to judge right now, is a severely buggy game that should be in beta at best. This is nowhere near a '10' which a few people here seem to think. That is, by definition, putting this game in its current state up there with the greatest games of all time and just flat out sillyThis game is bad, real bad. The makers have acknowledged that the current product, which is the only thing we have to judge right now, is a severely buggy game that should be in beta at best. This is nowhere near a '10' which a few people here seem to think. That is, by definition, putting this game in its current state up there with the greatest games of all time and just flat out silly especially when half of the current '10' reviews note that the game has potential or can be fun if they fix the issues. I'm sorry, but if a game deserves a 10 on any review then there is simply nothing else they need to improve on because the game is perfect. Dino Beatdown is not that game, at least not now. I'd wait for a sale or at the very least wait to see if the developers stick to their word and fix the issues here before buying. Trust me, there are A LOT of issues that need fixing. Best of luck to Spiral Games on both Dino Beatdown and their future projects. Expand
  30. May 7, 2012
    0
    This game is not very good and I was really hoping it would be. One of the worst products I have invested in. Buggy, unresponsive at times and loves to crash. Do yourself a favor and pass on this until they fix it.
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 7 out of 8
  1. May 1, 2013
    35
    It may be fun if we play with friends for a few hours… but it may be not. There are many games fighting in the FPS genre, and it's very hard to find something worth highlighting in this one.
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    45
    While Orion: Dino Horde has potential, it will certainly fall short of even modest expectations. If it weren't for there already being quite the track record of bad Jurassic games, I'd suggest that fighting dinosaurs has never been so dull. A shame, since it's evident that the developers put a lot of time into it... it's just too bad they didn't focus on making it fun.
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    30
    Perhaps I shouldn’t have been surprised that ORION: Dino Horde was such a disappointment. The gaming industry has been rife with rumors about scurrilous behaviour concerning a very similar title, Dino Beatdown. ORION: Dino Horde's rough edges suggest that it has been quickly brought to market and cynically shoveled out to gamers in the vain hope that its over the top premise will bring in a few bucks.