Orion: Dino Horde Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 398 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also released as "ORION: Dino Beatdown") ORION: Dino Beatdown is an Open World, Class-Based Cooperative Survival Sci-Fi FPS. The game puts five players together in huge, endless environments in which they must work together to accomplish objectives and survive the devastating Dinosaur(Also released as "ORION: Dino Beatdown") ORION: Dino Beatdown is an Open World, Class-Based Cooperative Survival Sci-Fi FPS. The game puts five players together in huge, endless environments in which they must work together to accomplish objectives and survive the devastating Dinosaur horde.

    Players earn in-game credits which can be used to upgrade their abilities, purchase new weapons, unlock weapon upgrades and call in vehicles in order to ensure survival.

    Experience the future as never before. Make use of Jetpacks, Medic Guns, Cloaking Devices and equip yourself with state-of-the-art weapons ranging from Shotguns, Machine Guns, Rocket Launchers, Laser Rifles. If that isnt enough then simply tear up the environments in a number of vehicles ranging from Hover Bikes, Buggies, Mechs, Tanks and VTOLs.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 7 out of 8
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    A poorly-made, unashamedly dumb game that nevertheless offers equally dumb entertainment. [July 2012, p.69]
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    45
    While Orion: Dino Horde has potential, it will certainly fall short of even modest expectations. If it weren't for there already being quite the track record of bad Jurassic games, I'd suggest that fighting dinosaurs has never been so dull. A shame, since it's evident that the developers put a lot of time into it... it's just too bad they didn't focus on making it fun.
  3. May 1, 2013
    35
    It may be fun if we play with friends for a few hours… but it may be not. There are many games fighting in the FPS genre, and it's very hard to find something worth highlighting in this one.
  4. May 9, 2012
    30
    It's out and it costs money, despite being far from ready for prime time. Even as a quirky indie release with a budget price, Orion asks for too big a leap of faith that it'll eventually work out.
  5. May 24, 2012
    30
    Orion: Dino Beatdown is a disaster. Bugs, glitch and the lack of contents plague the entire production. It is more an alpha version than a finished game.
  6. May 14, 2012
    20
    Apart from the bugs, the game is just so utterly unappealing, aesthetically and from a gameplay perspective, that it feels almost like a tech demo (of tech from 1999), rather than an honest-to-goodness release title. Please don't waste your hard-earned dough on this mutt.
  7. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Orion: Dino Beatdown is an entirely broken FPS. [Sept 2012, p.77]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 193
  1. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    This game proves why critic scores are pretty much useless for judging the value of a game. Play as dino or man, hunter or hunter. Eat orThis game proves why critic scores are pretty much useless for judging the value of a game. Play as dino or man, hunter or hunter. Eat or shoot your prey. Drive your friends off a cliff. Eat raptors for health.

    Buy this and play it with your mates. Solo is fun but co-op is insanely fun.
    Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    This game is so awesome i love to plat it with my friends, it gets better by the update and love to play it !
    sometimes it is laggy but
    This game is so awesome i love to plat it with my friends, it gets better by the update and love to play it !
    sometimes it is laggy but that's not really a problem that can be easly solved :)
    Expand
  3. May 6, 2012
    10
    The game is buggy, but even so I enjoy it as is. The bugs being patched and all of the promised free DLC will be amazing. I am more thanThe game is buggy, but even so I enjoy it as is. The bugs being patched and all of the promised free DLC will be amazing. I am more than patient as the game only costs about 8$ less than that if you buy the 4pack.

    It has room for improvement but I enjoy it as I said. Even with bugs I have figured out ways to play to the best of my ability despite tons of t-rexs coming after me (I hope they allow us to turn on T-Rex swarm in the patches to let us continue this)
    Collapse
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    This game started awfully but as of August 20th (2013) Steam is running it free for 5 days. I've been playing it and it is really fun. FindThis game started awfully but as of August 20th (2013) Steam is running it free for 5 days. I've been playing it and it is really fun. Find some friends and a good group for survival and it's a blast. I haven't run into any bugs since I've been playing. Give the game a chance I've been loving it and will most likely buy it. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2014
    6
    Objectively this game is pretty bad, mainly because of the bad AI and stiff animations, but due to it being co-op, and it's crazy concept &Objectively this game is pretty bad, mainly because of the bad AI and stiff animations, but due to it being co-op, and it's crazy concept & gameplay, it still manages to be loads of fun. The developers still update it, too, and so far every update has added something good. Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2012
    1
    Despite good looking screen shots that coax you into buying this game it really is a buggy piece of garbage. I feel ashamed to have this in myDespite good looking screen shots that coax you into buying this game it really is a buggy piece of garbage. I feel ashamed to have this in my steam collection. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2014
    0
    Me and my friends got this game so that we could have fun on co-op, since we heard from numerous other reviews that the co-op was good on thisMe and my friends got this game so that we could have fun on co-op, since we heard from numerous other reviews that the co-op was good on this game. However I believe that we have been mislead by these said reviews because we did not find the co-op to be any fun at all. Mainly because the matchmaking system in this game is broken, and the constant connection problems prevented us from playing online at all.

    If the multilpayer wasn't broken and nearly unplayable. The gameplay in general of this game is repetitive and boring. The dinosaurs enemies don't seem all that exciting and fun to shoot when their animations were lazily created. The weapon mechanics and the special ability system aren't anything special either that would at least add some interest into this game.

    In the end, I have to say that this game was a waste of money for me and my buddies and probably for you as well if you do decide to get it.
    Expand

See all 193 User Reviews