Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 16, 2012
    100
    For gamers out there like myself who cut their teeth on R.B.I. Baseball rather than Strat-O-Matic, I highly recommend this as a supplemental experience to today's console baseball titles. It may just supplant them in your imagination, as it's a platform to weave believable baseball tales of any stripe, at whatever speed or level of control you desire.
  2. Aug 15, 2012
    95
    Overall, Out of the Park '13 made a few improvements over its predecessor, but the meat of the game is pretty much the same game, which is actually a good thing. If you already have Out of the Park '12, $39.99 might be too much for a few visual and AI improvements. If you don't have a prior OOTP game, OOTP13, much like last year's game, is an excellent baseball management simulator.
  3. Apr 24, 2012
    87
    This combination brings me to one conclusion: Out of the Park Baseball 13 is the most complete baseball simulation on the market.
  4. May 16, 2012
    86
    OOTP 13 is easily the most realistic baseball simulation that I've ever played, and it's a game that I expect all baseball fans will enjoy.
  5. Jun 7, 2012
    85
    Out of the Park Baseball 13 is the best baseball simulation game out there. The game manages to improve over last year's edition and makes the experience much more realistic.
  6. Aug 12, 2012
    78
    OotP's baseball smarts may be undisputed, but it struggles to capture the passion and sporting flair of the infield. [Sept 2012, p.106]
  7. Jul 16, 2012
    75
    OOTP 13 does exactly what it sets out to do-it provides the hardcore fan with the most detailed front office sim experience possible. Once I got into the ebb and flow of managing my team, it was sheer baseball nerd nirvana, and there's a lot of value in that.
  8. May 13, 2012
    68
    It's a game of stats; it's a game of numbers, and lots of information. It also gives history and quotes from players and baseball personalities throughout the history of the game. If you have a passing interest in the game of baseball this series may not be for you. For those baseball fans, those real baseball fans, if you have not discovered this franchise yet, then you are in for a real treat indeed.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    Ideal game for experienced and detail-oriented gamers. Requires effort to create and manage, but great support from the best modder community in the world, combined with great customer service and development support makes it all worth the effort. The game does not need a graphics engine because it is not a toy. This may turn off younger gamers, but so be it. Great for replays and fictional. Full Review »
  2. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    I have played OOTP baseball since version 3. It gives me by far the most "bang for the buck" than any other computer/video game I've ever owned. If you are a baseball fan, do yourself a favor and at least give the demo a try. Full Review »
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    My favorite thing about this game is (1) the customization available, and (2) the support of the community. It's your game, and you can play it the way that you want to, and if you're looking for something in particular, you can find it on the user forums. It's not going to impress the video game crowd, but after growing up with Strat-o-Matic, APBA, Earl Weaver Baseball, and SherCo, it's a dream come true. Full Review »