OutRun 2006: Coast 2 Coast PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanH.
    Jul 8, 2006
    5
    the game was alright. There wasnt as much entertainment as something like Need for Speed Most Wanted. Can get repetitive after a while, and also boring. The graphics were a bit to drawn out or cartoonish, and not really realistic. Overall..its average.
  2. JoshR
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    Arcade racers are one of my favorite types of games and this one is fantastic! It is not a serious game at all. Drifting is stupid easy to and necessary to win. The music is hilariously cheesy, but it goes along well with the game. This game is like a cross between the original outrun and crazy taxi. If that sounds good, then you should definitely pick it up
  3. AlanD.
    May 18, 2007
    8
    You can't compare this one to other racing games out there. Dan's comment is correct if you haven't played the original Outrun - the game will seem a little 'cartoony' as he put it. Since it's done in arcade style, the emphasis is on fun, not realism. But Sega are doing exactly the right thing, paying homage to the original with the same goofy feel that made You can't compare this one to other racing games out there. Dan's comment is correct if you haven't played the original Outrun - the game will seem a little 'cartoony' as he put it. Since it's done in arcade style, the emphasis is on fun, not realism. But Sega are doing exactly the right thing, paying homage to the original with the same goofy feel that made it so much fun. For anyone who remembers the original, they will love it. I would have given it 9 if the menu control system wasn't so clunky. Expand
  4. DaveC
    Mar 28, 2008
    9
    As someone who grew up in the 80s and loved the original Out Run Arcade game this is a wonderful update, ok it may not have the graphics or sound to rival the latest games but what it lacks in that department it sure makes up for in gameplay. The unlockable tunes and cars plus all the different arcade modes make for the most fun I have had in a racing game for years.
  5. PaulM
    Sep 19, 2009
    0
    I, like many Racing game likers, have played and enjoyed the NFS series. This game is about 1 hyperbollilionth of the fun that the last NFS game gave me. the modes of racing this gives you are both boring and the one where you have to drive around with your virtual girlfriend shouting in your ear about your bad driving. overall: the only reason i actually layed it is that it came free I, like many Racing game likers, have played and enjoyed the NFS series. This game is about 1 hyperbollilionth of the fun that the last NFS game gave me. the modes of racing this gives you are both boring and the one where you have to drive around with your virtual girlfriend shouting in your ear about your bad driving. overall: the only reason i actually layed it is that it came free with my pre-order of Football Manager 2010, a hopefully much better game. Expand
  6. SamF.
    Jul 11, 2006
    8
    Growing up in the 80's really makes you ejoy this title so much more. It may not have the best graphics like NFS or the destructable envirements but its alot of fun to play.
  7. ScottD
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt my favorite racing game of all time. Out of all the ports of this game, the PC version is hands down the best.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. games(TM)
    80
    It’s unabashedly repetitive, cartoony and not as pretty as many would like, but it’s still the most beautiful journey yet. [Mar 2006, p.96]
  2. By simply making sure that absolutely everything in the game is designed to remove the usual restrictions on fun, Sumo's created something that practically transcends rivals like PGR3 and Burnout before you even done anything.
  3. An exceptional title; pure, simple, fun, brilliant - I simply can't lay enough superlatives around the game.