Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 91
    Overlord 2 offers a lot of options for customization, be it in the form of minion upgrades, spell specializations, and purely aesthetic options like how to decorate your fortress and which of your mistresses you choose to favor.
  2. Ground-breaking visuals (for real) and tons of new gameplay; bigger worlds, more characters, more management, more tactics and more mistresses! Plus a truly inspired original score and no crap online modes!
  3. It's a very motivating game with brilliantly designed levels, a great fantasy satire. Playing the ultimate evil Overlord again is just as funny as the first time and made us laugh a lot while testing the PC version.
  4. Summing up, Overlord 2 is an excellent action and strategy adventure no fan of the genre should miss. It doesn't have plenty of new features, but even the original fans will find enough charm in this title to be engaged again.
  5. Overall, Overlord II is a great follow-up to the original Overlord title, and it's certainly deserving of being a true sequel.
  6. The dev team of Overlord 2 has focused a lot of its attention and efforts to getting rid of the tearing, clipping and aliasing issues which afflicted the previous game. The result is quite good: very nice environments, characters, effects and sounds. And a real laugh while playing!
  7. Overlord 2 is a giant leap from the first episode thanks to the huge work made by Triumph to fix all the flaws. Various and well devised, Overlord 2 is a guilty pleasure for all the guys who like to be over cynical in a game, and it's impossible not to mention its stunning visuals.
  8. It’s an “A” game saddled with “C” game issues, but it’s still an addicting experience. I routinely found myself playing into the wee hours of the night, butchering gnomes with glee; camera issues (and all sense of morality) be damned.
  9. While essentially unchanged gameplay-wise, Overlord II retains and builds upon the immense character and charm of the original.
  10. Overlord II could do many things better, but its delightfully malicious humor is without compare. Do yourself a favor and buy this game.
  11. Once again the player embodies an evil Overlord and threatens a colorful fantasy world with its destruction. Compared to the prequel, Overlord 2 has been improved in many small details, but none of those big enough to haul the game up to a new level. Still, the mixture of genres like action-adventure, strategy, action and rpg paired with the black humor captures the players attention from the beginning to the end.
  12. Overlord 2 is a solid sequel of the first one, a game that surprised many people thanks to its charm and originality. Now, the surprise factor is gone, but Triumph Games has made wise improvements over the weakest elements of their previous work, which makes this an enjoyable experience and a recommended title.
  13. Overlord II is a fun game to play. The humor is sometimes a little bit over the top, but the minions are very finny. The gameplay brings a lot of different puzzles and we just love the music score. The camera doesn’t always works as it should, but that is also something you can get used to.
  14. Overlord II is a good sequel. There are some nice locations and interesting missions. Overlord II is fun, because it´s good to be bad.
  15. Overlord II has refreshing and well designed levels and the multiplayer modes give the game meat. However, a frustrating camera, unstable framerate and crude humour take away from the experience.
  16. Special mention must go to the game's audio work, with the musical score through to the superb minion voices fitting the tone perfectly.
  17. One of the few console ports we'd recommend this summer, especially to original Overlord fans. [Issue#22, p.52]
  18. It's a tough job balancing action, adventure, puzzles and strategy, but Overlord II managed to juggle all of these disparate pieces and very rarely finds itself dropping a ball.
  19. The game says it best itself in one of its loading screen quotes: “It’s good to be bad, but it’s better to be evil”. In Overlord 2 you are evil indeed and it’s damn good fun all the way through commanding your minions and wreaking havoc upon mankind.
  20. If the humour fits, Overlord II is even better. As a game, it has gotten better but still suffers from repetition. [Aug 2009]
  21. As a full package, Overlord 2 certainly deserves your money if you can get a good deal on it, because it’s still a breath of fresh air in the gaming world of today.
  22. Linear romps of destruction are enjoyable in mid-length spurts. Multiplayer offers a few different modes to play competitively or cooperatively.
  23. Overlord II's brand of guiltless comic villainy is more entertaining than 'true' evil could ever be. [Sept 2009, p.64]
  24. This crueller sequel is bursting with evil potential, but the fun is dragged down by clumsy execution. [Aug 2009, p.80]
  25. The original game allowed us to be a selfless do-gooder; now our actions are determined by purely financial reasons. What is better: kill or enslave villagers? Your fingers itch to roll some heads, but anger is hardly profitable. Kill a person, and you’ll get a soul, a bag of gold and, if you’re lucky, an accessory for your minions. Brainwashed citizens produce resources forever. Forget about looking for gold chests and farming sheep for souls – a thoughtful Overlord 2.0 gets everything on a plate.
  26. Maybe its lack of content makes Overlord II a hard option for those who already have the first game. But those who want to start in the series will have a pleasant time being as evil as they want.
  27. What other game can make clubbing baby seals so much wicked fun? Even with a maddening camera that jumps around a bit, the game is a blast and a half to play.
  28. You can do more fun things with your minions, but Overlord II hasn’t shaken some of the issues which held back the first game.
  29. Still a rather innovative concept, but the sequel doesn't add anything new enough to the mix to make it a must buy. [Aug 2009, p.94]
  30. There's no denying that Overlord II is an enjoyable expansion on the original idea, which will entertain the fans. Unfortunately, the frustrations seem to mount up as you get further into the game, making it plainly obvious that Triumph has failed to really address key issues that thwarted the original.
  31. Legendary evil lord and his minions strike again - more goblins mean more fun. Do not expect any improvements, the sequel is “just” part one, polished & enlarged. [Aug 2009]
  32. 63
    No amount of British wit could bring a smile to my face as I treaded through the tedium that is Overlord II.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. GregP
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    Like a lot of my friends, I had played the first Overlord and expected this to be a similar game. Having the same ups; fairly Like a lot of my friends, I had played the first Overlord and expected this to be a similar game. Having the same ups; fairly straightforward, lots of stuff for completionists, evil fun, and generic childish jokes. This recipee for the first one was a great success but got rather repetative quickly and I stopped playing it. Overlord 2 on the other hand has done away with alot of the boring repatition. You may use the same means to getting the goal (IE possession) but everytime its abit different. Stealth, aggressive, puzzles. This has left me playing this game for hours on end and wanting more. You can really tell how the developers have matured from there previous game and really put something great out. This RPG adventure game is well suited for those that would enjoy some evil humor, single player campaign, and lite puzzle solving. Full Review »
  2. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    I know is not a 10 game at all, but whit those all who put 0 i had no option

    i think is a very great game, you will enjoy as much for a 10$
    I know is not a 10 game at all, but whit those all who put 0 i had no option

    i think is a very great game, you will enjoy as much for a 10$ game can do

    Awesome idea and game, and loved it to continue playing with my Overlord. I don't understand some critics (could have made A LOT better?) and wish they would be somewhat more objective or realistic.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 31, 2010
    6
    This game is unfortunately, terribly mediocre. There are some great element to this game, and some really terrible. The humour in the game isThis game is unfortunately, terribly mediocre. There are some great element to this game, and some really terrible. The humour in the game is not as good as the "professional" reviewers suggest, unless you are very easily amused. Nor is the game by any stretch deep, it is a terribly linear experience with quite monotonous quests.
    The game featured roughly 5 spells to choose from, only one of which was of any use killing things, it was very disappointing to say the least.
    Similarly the animations are horrendously few, there are 3 moves that you can do as the overlord, no combos and nothing exciting, just smash, smash, bigger smash.

    The storyline was a bit lean, very shallow and unengaging. The ending was very dissatisfactory, a game like this is by no means worthy of such a lousy ending.

    The worst things is however the control and camera, you are stuck with xbox/ps3 controls on the PC, which is completely unacceptable. The focus key serves no purpose on a PC, it would've been much better to use the mouse. The camera is locked in an xbox fashion, which is okay, but not preferable on a PC. I was not very surprised to see this very mediocre port, since it is a growing issue in the gaming industry.


    Among the better things is the graphics, which runs very well, I experience no lag whatsoever and it still looks neat. The game is also very stable, I did not experience a single crash whatsoever.
    The game is lengthy relative to its price, and is absolutely worth purchasing at its current price.
    The game gave me 16 quite enjoyable hours of game play, which surpasses that of which mass effect 2 and bioshock 2 were able to provide.

    In conclusion. This game is worth buying, but don't expect miracles and be very patient with its flaws.
    Full Review »