Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 90
    Genuinely good fun, and a true retro rush for people that grew up with classic RPGs.
  2. PC Gamer UK
    Mar 26, 2014
    73
    Paper overcomes these minor quibbles because it's just good fun. [Apr 2014, p.83]
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    73
    Paper Sorcerer looks simple, even primitive at first sight, and it’s definitely not a game for everyone. Yet for some reason it is very addictive.
  4. CD-Action
    Jun 28, 2014
    70
    If you enjoy tinkering with your equipment, skills and stats and you don’t mind some old school silliness, give Paper Sorcerer a chance. [05/2014, p.55]
  5. Jun 25, 2014
    70
    An old school RPG that is simple in its mechanics, yet deep and elaborate. Eventually, the game becomes slightly repetitive, and some bits and pieces would deserve to be debugged. Nevertheless, the game handles everything well at least, and for a $5 price tag it delivers a great deal of fun.
  6. Feb 14, 2014
    70
    Inspired to dungeon crawler classics, it struggles to find its own identity. The entry price is really cheap, so, if you like the genre, you'll probably want to try it for yourself, and chances are high that you find some good in it.
  7. Jan 31, 2014
    70
    It can’t keep up with Legend of Grimrock or the group tactics of Etrian Odyssey. But nonetheless this is a labour of love that will keep fans of retro dungeon crawler happy.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    1
    This game tries to be a mix of some different games. The combination of strategy and RPG is ok, but this game lacks in so many things that itThis game tries to be a mix of some different games. The combination of strategy and RPG is ok, but this game lacks in so many things that it makes no fun, sorry! I am an old fan of RPGs, strategy games and adventures.

    Pro:
    -Low price
    -many different monsters, items and heroes to summon

    Contra:
    -poor level design
    -poor handling
    -poor sound
    -you can't see the items
    -you can't see the equipment on your heroes
    -no journal
    -no named save games
    -no maps
    -no quest log
    -no colors
    -no fun

    I don't regret the 5 bucks for it but there is no need to finish the game because it's boring.

    Grimrock is only 15 bucks but worth 10 times paper sorcerer. Sorry, but that's my 2 cents.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Holeee cow. This game rocked my socks. I randomly stumbled upon it while searching for a good turned based rpg for PC. I was not disappointed.Holeee cow. This game rocked my socks. I randomly stumbled upon it while searching for a good turned based rpg for PC. I was not disappointed. The art style is great. The story isn't over the top. It even appeals to those who don't like games like this because they're too slow or with too much grinding. This game doesn't allow you to grind even if you wanted to. Fully recommend. Full Review »
  3. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    Fantastic game. The art style is unique (I've only seen it in the mobile app "Sword and Glory", though it's executed better here), and theFantastic game. The art style is unique (I've only seen it in the mobile app "Sword and Glory", though it's executed better here), and the play is far more in-depth than what I would expect from a $5 game. The encounters are well thought out and balanced (definitely on the hard side if that's what you got yourself into), and the fights require a decent amount of strategy.

    There are some bugs (the skill trainer does not seem to function properly), and not knowing or being able to effect your chance to hit/dodge abilities infuriates the min/maxer inside of me, but welcome to the 1980s, I guess. Worth twice the price.
    Full Review »