Paranautical Activity Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Paranautical Activity combines the classic FPS action of games like Doom and Quake, with the randomness and difficulty of modern roguelikes like Binding of Isaac and Spelunky.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    75
    Paranautical Activity is a game that tries to mix FPS and Rogue-like mechanics. There is a constant support from the developers, and the peculiar random maps give the game a potentially unlimited longevity. If this type of support will be maintained even after the official release, at the launch we will face a quality product that will do nothing but improve with time.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    Love this fast paced shooter, for the price this game is completely worth it. Hours of fun to be had and updates with new guns, enemies, rooms, levels and passive upgrades all the time. Really worth picking up if you like the old school shooter with arena style gameplay. Can't wait to see whats to come from this game! Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    this game is a awesome rogue like/ fps with nice pixel art graphic it a little like the binding of isaac but with guns... if you like rogue like games you cant go wrong with this one. Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    This game is a fast-paced retro style first person shooter and it is AMAZING. I can't remember the time i had this much fun playing a video game and right now its only $5.99! It is a nice challenge and a very addicting one at that, and it thoroughly deserves a 10 out of 10 from me. If you are even a little interested in this game pick it up, you wont be disappointed! Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    I have really enjoyed this game because of its style and music and for a game in beta it really works well. The reason it is 9 not 10 is because I think it is repetitive after playing many runs but this could be easily fixed in an upcoming patch with new weapons enemies and rooms. Collapse
  5. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    I picked up this game in the recent humble bundle, and I have to say I'm really pleased! The voxel-style FPS is really unique, and the controls are fluent and easy to use. I know this game is currently in development, and it does show in some places.

    Pros:
    -Easy to pick up and have fun with
    -Great graphics
    -Great controls
    -10/10 soundtrack

    Cons:
    -Enemies and gameplay get very repetitive after a while.

    I give this a 9/10, because I know the game is in development, and new stuff is being added and fixed. Never the less, this is a super fun, challenging, rougelike, voxel based, FPS!
    Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2013
    3
    I was excited when I heard this was like an FPS version of Binding of Isaac; but unfortunately, I got three floors in and got super-board. I was hoping for an at least mildly-entertaining roguelike: lots of cool powerups that work together in various ways, a large variety of enemies that require different strategies to defeat, etc. Instead, every room of every floor is the same: strafe in circles and shoot every enemy. The variety of enemies is also extremely small (at least on the first three floors). If you enjoyed Hard Reset or the original Quake, you might enjoy this game; but if you prefer the deeper, more strategical FPS games like Half Life or Deus Ex, you'll probably want to look elsewhere. Expand
  7. May 22, 2014
    0
    When I first saw this, I was excited. Then I bought it for myself and a friend because the devs promised co-op. Now they've backed out of it saying it won't work out, even though they specifically said it was coming and advertised it as multiplayer in many pieces. Devs have been deleting all negative posts on steam, and have been very rude to the audience. Not to mention the game shows a lot of potential, but it will never be reached. The devs have said the next update is the last; all they've shown is garbage. Right now it is bland and repetitive, and the few updates that are 'coming' (if they even come...) are crap. On top of all that, many of the sounds they use in game are licensed on soundcloud under different copyrights, some being that they have to be credited, others being they can't be used at all. The dev doesn't credit any of them and claims they are all entirely legal, which is very clearly false if you look at the discussions page's post about copyright infringement. Ugh.
    TL:DR; Devs are rude, lie, and infringe copyrights. Bland game, likes to leech.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews