Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Path of Exile is an online Action RPG set in the dark fantasy world of Wraeclast. They're a small independent team of hardcore gamers based in New Zealand and have created Path of Exile as the game that they'd want to play themselves. It is designed around a strong barter-based online item economy, deep character customisation, competitive PvP and ladder races. The game is completely free and will never be "pay to win". [Grinding Gear Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. May 9, 2014
    100
    Grinding Gear Games has created something special here, and given it gratis to the world.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    94
    For a free title, knocked together by a small team, it's stunning just how much it blows the opposition away. They have taken what was wrong with the genre and fixed it; what was right, they have made even better.
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    90
    Considering that Path of Exile costs you nothing beyond some Internet bandwidth, it provides an embarrassment of pleasures.
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    85
    If Path of Exile were a priced game, it would have been very, very good. But it's beyond any expectations: fun, addictive, completely free to play and worth every penny Grinding Gear Games is not asking.
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    85
    Hack’n Slay as its best. First you’ll think “this is just another diablo-copy”, but when you begin to get into the game deeper, you’ll be surprised. It has the most powerful and individual character-system you’ll ever see in an action-rpg so far. Moreover, all game-content is 100% free to play, no hidden “pay2win” in the shop.
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    Path of Exile surprises in many aspects. Speaking of an action Diablo-style RPG, it's considered a chestnut. However, the New Zealand developers pleased us with complexity, ideas, and especially with unique gameplay.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    70
    I can't say what their future holds as I'm not much of an economist (nor am I really a magpie). But I can say I've had many, many hours of fun in a game that still has much more to show me and which all of us, right now, can play for nothing at all. We're being spoiled.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 313
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    POE is the deepest aRPG slasher ever made. It uses some tested ideas while introducing highly innovative systems and end-game mechanics. To put it straight
    Path of Exile is AAA+ game FREE of charge. No pay to win. Grind to win!

    The game is quite polished already future announcements make you connected to Wreaclast even more. Devs give their best, the rapport is great and from what i've seen in the past year the were 25+ patches, constant tweaking with the mechanics, skill tree* and skills.
    Dedication is the way Grinding Gear works. They way they introduce changes clearly shows how they care.
    *The sheer size of the skill tree is a guarantee jaw drop if seen for the first time
    Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This game is the true successor to Diablo 2. Dark, gritty graphics, old school action, and a phenomenal skill and talent system make this game miles ahead of its competition. Its even free to play! Whats not to love? Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    PoE is the arpg that Blizzard should have made but failed badly with D3. We get the gritty killing and looting that we all expect from an arpg, with great animation, sound effects, background music, etc., PoE has it all. The 7 character classes combined with a passive skill tree with over 1400 nodes ensures an almost infinite number of builds are possible. PoE does take awhile to get comfortable with the pace of client input to server response timing but once you do it quickly becomes intuitive and easy. The concept of using spell gems that socket into gear with links that allow additional support gems to enhance the base gems function makes for wonderful combinations of physical and elemental attacks. This arpg actually has a story to tell (unlike D3 or TL2) that further enhances your total immersion into the world of Wraeclast that you have been exiled to for your crimes. GGG is stating a goal of new minor updates every 2 weeks, major new content every 4 months, and a new act every 9 to 12 months, so long term arpg playing is there in spades. If you got burned out of D3 or hate the cartoony look of TL2 then you owe yourself a favor and should take a serious look at this free to play arpg. Highly recommended for new and old arpg fans alike. Two thumbs up.

    ps. This game can not be judged in only a few weeks of play. The real fun is knowing that this arpg is going to take time to master and the journey you take from newbie to mastering PoE is a major part of the fun. So don't dismiss this arpg jewel after only a few hours of playing. Remember, raw diamonds are unimpressive looking too until they are polished.
    Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Wow amazing game and it is free? Are you kidding me, yes that is right, they make money off of the item store sales and that is it. You would think that would mean the game is some cheap Chinese junk, well it isn't, this isn't, and it isn't Chinese at all, it is western. Dare I say this game is better than Diablo 3? Yeah I would say it is by a long shot. The graphics, music, and atmosphere is nice, as is the gem skill system. The map randomization is good as well. Is the game 100% perfect, no, but it is good. If you are a Diablo type fan, definitely check this out. You may have a few issues at first getting it to install, some do and don't. Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    I don't often play video games. When I do, it's either an RPG, Tetris, or a random indie game that was on sale. I've tried to pick up others, but I'm slow to learn and need my hand held most of the way. The only other aRPG I've ever played is Bastion.

    So yes, I'm a filthy casual, but I feel like I should boost this game's rating anyway because no one I know plays it and I think I'm in love. Really. It's engaging, fast-paced and free-to-play, not to mention addictive! My only quarrel is that it's a bit hard to pick up. There's no help bar as far as I can tell, so you basically have to learn by doing. That's fine as I said, I'm a slow learner, so if I can figure it out, anyone can. Great game thus far, would recommend.
    Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2013
    7
    Quite a good diabloish title with its own unique twist on the genre. The game itself has an enormous amount of depth and due to the way the gem system is implemented it's possible to use any skill in the game on a separate character allowing players to level a character and bring over their skills should they ever want to do so.
    The game also allows a ridiculous amount of customization when it comes to character builds to the point where it's viable to use a ranger to create a 2 handed charging swordsman due to their increased dexterity.
    Unfortunately this game also has some problems firstly it's really hard to understand and get into the game from the start. the passive tree is a huge mess for newcomers which means most likely the first and second character may become throw aways due to bad point distribution and while there are refund orbs it's generally faster and easier to simply recreate a charecter then purchasing enough to reset an entire tree.
    Second the game has no auction house and currency instead it uses different orbs that each have a use in improving equipment as tradable currency this makes it very hard for newbies to effectively trade for what they want without getting scammed or being clueless on the matter as well as making it very difficult for players who don't use fanwebsites to purchase items.
    Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    0
    I installed this game building new comp for my friend, and as I played games for last 30 years, its just biggest disappointment. This game is boring, I needed couple of cups of coffee to carry on playing, and I will never return to this game again. Diablo 2 is excellent game, Torchlight 2 is great, Diablo 3 has its flaws but this????
    As I played witch game relies on spamming your skills...no cooldowns and checking your mana stat.
    I have to give some credit to guys from New Zealand for their passion to make this game but definitely "this is not Diablo 2" successor its just boring game as hell
    Expand

See all 313 User Reviews