Path of Exile PC

Path of Exile Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1442 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Path of Exile is an online Action RPG set in the dark fantasy world of Wraeclast. They're a small independent team of hardcore gamers based in New Zealand and have created Path of Exile as the game that they'd want to play themselves. It is designed around a strong barter-based online itemPath of Exile is an online Action RPG set in the dark fantasy world of Wraeclast. They're a small independent team of hardcore gamers based in New Zealand and have created Path of Exile as the game that they'd want to play themselves. It is designed around a strong barter-based online item economy, deep character customisation, competitive PvP and ladder races. The game is completely free and will never be "pay to win". [Grinding Gear Games] Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. May 9, 2014
    100
    Grinding Gear Games has created something special here, and given it gratis to the world.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    94
    For a free title, knocked together by a small team, it's stunning just how much it blows the opposition away. They have taken what was wrong with the genre and fixed it; what was right, they have made even better.
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    90
    Considering that Path of Exile costs you nothing beyond some Internet bandwidth, it provides an embarrassment of pleasures.
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    85
    If Path of Exile were a priced game, it would have been very, very good. But it's beyond any expectations: fun, addictive, completely free to play and worth every penny Grinding Gear Games is not asking.
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    85
    Hack’n Slay as its best. First you’ll think “this is just another diablo-copy”, but when you begin to get into the game deeper, you’ll be surprised. It has the most powerful and individual character-system you’ll ever see in an action-rpg so far. Moreover, all game-content is 100% free to play, no hidden “pay2win” in the shop.
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    Path of Exile surprises in many aspects. Speaking of an action Diablo-style RPG, it's considered a chestnut. However, the New Zealand developers pleased us with complexity, ideas, and especially with unique gameplay.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    70
    I can't say what their future holds as I'm not much of an economist (nor am I really a magpie). But I can say I've had many, many hours of fun in a game that still has much more to show me and which all of us, right now, can play for nothing at all. We're being spoiled.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 350
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    POE is the deepest aRPG slasher ever made. It uses some tested ideas while introducing highly innovative systems and end-game mechanics. ToPOE is the deepest aRPG slasher ever made. It uses some tested ideas while introducing highly innovative systems and end-game mechanics. To put it straight
    Path of Exile is AAA+ game FREE of charge. No pay to win. Grind to win!

    The game is quite polished already future announcements make you connected to Wreaclast even more. Devs give their best, the rapport is great and from what i've seen in the past year the were 25+ patches, constant tweaking with the mechanics, skill tree* and skills.
    Dedication is the way Grinding Gear works. They way they introduce changes clearly shows how they care.
    *The sheer size of the skill tree is a guarantee jaw drop if seen for the first time
    Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Since the first time I played this game in early beta, it felt like the game that Diablo 3 should have been. I'm not talking about slickSince the first time I played this game in early beta, it felt like the game that Diablo 3 should have been. I'm not talking about slick graphics.. I'm talking about gameplay. The skill system. The item system. The level design. This game feels like the TRUE heir to the Diablo throne, not that bastardized half-wow monstrosity Blizzard churned out. POE is fun, exciting... and hell... even if you don't like it.. no harm done because it's FREE. Imagine that. A company makes an awesome game, listens to the community, and the game is free. Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Diablo 3 was my first ARPG. For some reason I never tried ARGP games in my long gaming history. I thought that Diablo 3 was already quiteDiablo 3 was my first ARPG. For some reason I never tried ARGP games in my long gaming history. I thought that Diablo 3 was already quite entertaining for the first 100 hours or so, but after that I got extremely bored.

    Then I tried PoE, mainly because people were comparing it with the 'legendary' Diablo 2 all the time. I'm now about 100 hours into the game, but I still have the feeling the I haven't discovered the biggest part of the game. PoE has completely taken me by surprise with its extreme details in gameplay and gamemechanis, its dark gritty atmosphere, and its thrilling (hardcore) gameplay.

    I will not be suprised if I still will be playing this game from time to time after several years. Since only a few games have achieved this in 20 years of PC gaming, this game deserves a 10 rating. I have considered bringing this 10 down to 9 because of the desync problems that occur sometime, but I must admit that all online games I have played had their own specific technical problems. So the desync is more related to the current of technology then the game itself. Therefore the 10 is well deserved.
    Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    PoE is a highly addictive Diablo-style game. Extremely simple at first glance, it has a surprisingly complex skill and item system, whichPoE is a highly addictive Diablo-style game. Extremely simple at first glance, it has a surprisingly complex skill and item system, which makes for hours and hours of fun free gameplay. There is no Pay-To-Win in PoE, as all In-game purchases are almost entirely cosmetic with item stash slots as the exception. I bought them mainly to support the developers.
    Kudos to you guys at Grinding Gear Games!
    Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Great game, one of the best I've played. What really sells it is the company, Grinding Gear Games (GGG). They're very active with theirGreat game, one of the best I've played. What really sells it is the company, Grinding Gear Games (GGG). They're very active with their playerbase and the community, more so than any other company I've seen.

    Path of Exile is what Diablo 3 should have been and could have been. It's a bit daunting at first, due to the complexity of the skill gem system and the HUGE skill tree, but after some practice and getting used to it all it becomes second nature.

    The game caters heavily to hardcore players which is a breath of fresh air. Hardcore is fairly difficult with the different monsters in the game. They also have 4 month leagues that are even harder than the normal leagues for those who enjoy an extra challenge.

    All of this paired with their "race" seasons in which you race to be the highest level in a set amount of time (1hr, 3hrs, 1 week) make an amazing game! I absolutely love it and I never got to experience D2 when it was relevant, but PoE let's me experience that. It pays homage to one of the best games of it's time and strives to be as good as it, and better.

    It's free to play, so it doesn't hurt to give it a try!

    -------------------------

    My reasoning for giving it a 9 instead of 10 is simply because the game has much room to grow. The longer it's out, the more GGG will add to perfect the game. It has a fairly hard learning curve and also, desync can be rather annoying. Besides these things the game is beautifully made.
    Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2015
    8
    [ENGLISH]
    A very good Hack'n'slash, with huge possibilities.
    Nevertheless, a few features make the game a little difficult : - the recipes
    [ENGLISH]
    A very good Hack'n'slash, with huge possibilities.
    Nevertheless, a few features make the game a little difficult :
    - the recipes have to be discovered on the wiki
    - the trade has to use an external site to be efficient
    Globally, this game is better if you spend a lot of time to search in the wiki.
    A very good point is that it can be played virtually infinitely, due to the huge passives tree and the amount of stuff. And it is free. The microtransactions are solely cosmetic.
    Personally, I played thousands of hours on the game and, despite I didn't search a lot to understand all the subtleties of the game.

    [FRENCH]
    Un très bon Hack'n'slash, avec d'énormes possibilités.
    Néanmoins, quelques éléments rendent le jeu plus difficile :
    - les "recettes" de craft ne sont pas indiquées dans le jeu mais doivent être découvertes (elles sont indiquées dans le site wiki du jeu)
    - le commerce nécessite un site externe pour être efficace (connaitre les prix, les offres; le chat interne est trop bavard)
    Globalement, vous profiterez plus de ce jeu si vous y investissez un peu de temps à comprendre tous les mécanismes.
    De plus, il est pratiquement rejouable à l'infini grâce à son arbre de compétences gigantesque (n'ayez pas peur, c'est génial !).
    Personnellement, j'y ai joué des centaines d'heures (vraiment !) malgré le fait que je n'ai pas encore tout compris :-)
    Et il est gratuit : les microtransactions n'apportent que des effets cosmétiques !
    Expand
  7. May 11, 2014
    0
    This game has poor optimization, it's laggy, outdated graphics for a 2013 product and on top of that isn't fun, stopped playing after a littleThis game has poor optimization, it's laggy, outdated graphics for a 2013 product and on top of that isn't fun, stopped playing after a little time.
    Five points only because it is "free" (microtransactions inside).
    Expand

See all 350 User Reviews