Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1194 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Path of Exile is an online Action RPG set in the dark fantasy world of Wraeclast. They're a small independent team of hardcore gamers based in New Zealand and have created Path of Exile as the game that they'd want to play themselves. It is designed around a strong barter-based online item economy, deep character customisation, competitive PvP and ladder races. The game is completely free and will never be "pay to win". [Grinding Gear Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. May 9, 2014
    100
    Grinding Gear Games has created something special here, and given it gratis to the world.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    94
    For a free title, knocked together by a small team, it's stunning just how much it blows the opposition away. They have taken what was wrong with the genre and fixed it; what was right, they have made even better.
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    90
    Considering that Path of Exile costs you nothing beyond some Internet bandwidth, it provides an embarrassment of pleasures.
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    85
    If Path of Exile were a priced game, it would have been very, very good. But it's beyond any expectations: fun, addictive, completely free to play and worth every penny Grinding Gear Games is not asking.
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    85
    Hack’n Slay as its best. First you’ll think “this is just another diablo-copy”, but when you begin to get into the game deeper, you’ll be surprised. It has the most powerful and individual character-system you’ll ever see in an action-rpg so far. Moreover, all game-content is 100% free to play, no hidden “pay2win” in the shop.
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    Path of Exile surprises in many aspects. Speaking of an action Diablo-style RPG, it's considered a chestnut. However, the New Zealand developers pleased us with complexity, ideas, and especially with unique gameplay.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    70
    I can't say what their future holds as I'm not much of an economist (nor am I really a magpie). But I can say I've had many, many hours of fun in a game that still has much more to show me and which all of us, right now, can play for nothing at all. We're being spoiled.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 310
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    POE is the deepest aRPG slasher ever made. It uses some tested ideas while introducing highly innovative systems and end-game mechanics. To put it straight
    Path of Exile is AAA+ game FREE of charge. No pay to win. Grind to win!

    The game is quite polished already future announcements make you connected to Wreaclast even more. Devs give their best, the rapport is great and from what i've seen in the past year the were 25+ patches, constant tweaking with the mechanics, skill tree* and skills.
    Dedication is the way Grinding Gear works. They way they introduce changes clearly shows how they care.
    *The sheer size of the skill tree is a guarantee jaw drop if seen for the first time
    Collapse
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    ARPG done right. It gets things right on a lot of fronts. Game depth, mechanics, character building, environment, mobs variety, even the F2P model helps not breaks. Recommend to any ARPG lovers! Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    One of the best ARPGs I have ever played. Complex passive tree, deep combat, many variations, polished graphics, amazing developers. It's everything you could possibly ever want from this sort of game and it's ALL F2P. Expand
  4. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    What d3 should have been.. and it's free.

    Exile is but a beautifully crafted story that is compelling and immersive embellished with
    intriguing and well crafted dialogue. Appreciatively on my part, you'll find no irrelevant "go fetch 20 carrots" or "fritter away 5 minutes of your life by running between locations to collect bottles of goo" for no apparent reason quests we've become accustomed to from our RPG dosage. Instead, each mission is both thoughtful and purposeful, and drives along the story at a gratifyingly pace.

    The gameplay mechanics are somewhat innovative especially in terms of character development and offer a grand scope of possibilities. The music compliments to it's eerie atmosphere.

    My only qualm with Path of Exile is the fleetness of its existence, that leaves you pining for just a little bit more. Perhaps though this is the best legacy for what is a good solid and memorable RPG.
    Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    Path of Exile is a dreamsend for the cerebral ARPG player. However, the drawback of having the decisions you make during character building matter in combat is: the decisions you make during character build matter in combat. If you want to just dive into PoE and proceed directly to the slaying, the game will punish your subpar build mercilessly, perhaps not by repeated deaths but instead the boredom of an accidentally self-imposed lack of combat options, leading to static and boring play.

    Which means: PoE is a brilliant game for a niche audience, very similar to Dark Souls, but not well-suited for the casual audience, and thus decidedly not for everyone.

    Pros:
    Amazing systems for meaningful choice in creating builds and maximizing skill effectiveness
    Innovative "goldless" currency and crafting system
    A variety of play modes, from hardcore to 4-month ladder to PvP to 1-hour race events
    Lore and music are simultaneously excellent and non-invasive
    Astonishing replay value due to a variety of viable options
    Cons:
    The game demands commitment from players to achieve even moderate success
    Failure usually leads to long periods of boredom before eventual, often equally boring death
    Lackluster netcode leads to desyncs
    Lack on in-game trading tools leads to reliance on forums and third-party sites
    Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2014
    7
    Path of Exile is an online action role playing game set in a fantasy world called Wraeclast. The game is developed in New Zealand by a small developer group - Grinding Gear Games. The game itself is free to play, with an option to purchase cosmetics or extra stash tabs through microtransactions. It should be noted that players, who plan to stay in Wraeclast for a while (level 70+) will likely end up buying the stash tabs, because the four default tabs do not provide enough space for late game farming.

    PROS:
    + Fun and addictive combat
    + Great depth and variety in character builds
    + Several innovative and welcome features
    + More complexity than in similar games
    + Free to play
    + Constant patches and content updates
    + Regular races with cool prizes

    CONS:
    - The story, music and dialogs are lackluster, but that's obviously, not the main reason why people play this game;
    - Graphics are overall acceptable, but feel dated in some areas. Animations could use more variety.
    - Trading is not great. Trade chat is very inconvenient, because it encourages spamming. I have NEVER sold anything in the trade chat. There is always someone trying to sell something in global chat, which is a testament to how useless the trade chat is.
    - Desync. You will die to desync. Period. At least once, it will happen. It's also one of the most frustrating things you will ever experience in video games. Losing 10% XP at high levels means losing countless hours of grinding. And the worst part is, almost nothing is being done to fix it by the devs. There are certain skills that are not used in HC simply because they cause too much desync.
    - The loot that you get from monster drops is disappointing most of the time. You have to be extremely patient and extremely lucky to find something valuable, because 99,99% of the time, the stuff that you find is worthless. The best items are so rare, that you may spend months farming items, and never find anything particularly valuable. That exciting feeling of finding epic loot is simply absent from this game. Instead we have soulless currency farming, which you collect until you have enough to trade for the item you wanted. It just doesn't feel as exciting and satisfying.
    - The crafting system is gambling. There's a currency item called "Orb of Chance". In reality, all of the currency items are orbs of chance. You can spend countless hours of farming currency, only to spend it all on an item and never even get the roll you wanted. It leaves a bitter feeling of wasted time and effort.
    - Once you finish the mostly bland story, where you kill stuff and get rewards from NPCs, you are left with end-game maps, where you kill more stuff, but this time there are no NPCs or rewards. It's basically a huge farming and grinding fest. Unfortunately, the map drop rates are atrocious. I have had periods of bad runs where I spend all my currency on improving the maps and still have almost no drops. It leaves you with an option of joining public map parties (often requires paying a fee) or farming currency until you're able to afford purchasing maps in bulk and hoping that you can sustain them further. In my experience, that is rarely the case.

    Path of Exile seems fun at first, but ultimately is unsatisfying and unrewarding. The most fun thing about this game is the process of planning and building your character. Once all your passives are in place, your gear acquired and skills leveled, there is little incentive to continue playing, as the map system is far from a satisfying and fun experience. POE is still a fun game overall, definitely a must-play for any hardcore ARPG fan, but because of the aforementioned flaws, it doesn't deserve more than 7 in my book.
    Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    0
    I installed this game building new comp for my friend, and as I played games for last 30 years, its just biggest disappointment. This game is boring, I needed couple of cups of coffee to carry on playing, and I will never return to this game again. Diablo 2 is excellent game, Torchlight 2 is great, Diablo 3 has its flaws but this????
    As I played witch game relies on spamming your skills...no cooldowns and checking your mana stat.
    I have to give some credit to guys from New Zealand for their passion to make this game but definitely "this is not Diablo 2" successor its just boring game as hell
    Expand

See all 310 User Reviews