Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Path of Exile is an online Action RPG set in the dark fantasy world of Wraeclast. They're a small independent team of hardcore gamers based in New Zealand and have created Path of Exile as the game that they'd want to play themselves. It is designed around a strong barter-based online item economy, deep character customisation, competitive PvP and ladder races. The game is completely free and will never be "pay to win". [Grinding Gear Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    100
    Once you get a hang of the numerous systems, Path of Exile becomes one of the best action-RPG experiences you can have. [December 2013, p.88]
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    90
    Probably the best action gdr out there, much deeper than Diablo 3 and completely free. You can't miss this one.
  3. Dec 19, 2013
    90
    The world has a grimy, grungy, uncomfortable feel to it that constantly makes the player feel slightly off just for inhabiting it, which is appropriate given what goes on. Every person and object looks like it's at its lowest point.
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    For once, free-to-play means free to play. A solid experience that can be completed, and enjoyed, without spending a penny. Above all, a promising community hints at an even more promising future.
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    84
    An exceptionally generous free-to-play action-rPG. What it lacks in punch it makes up for in depth and value for money.
  6. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    A very solid ARPG that brings some of the genre's best elements together mashing them up into a melting pot of free to play goodness.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    70
    I can't say what their future holds as I'm not much of an economist (nor am I really a magpie). But I can say I've had many, many hours of fun in a game that still has much more to show me and which all of us, right now, can play for nothing at all. We're being spoiled.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 298
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    POE is the deepest aRPG slasher ever made. It uses some tested ideas while introducing highly innovative systems and end-game mechanics. To put it straight
    Path of Exile is AAA+ game FREE of charge. No pay to win. Grind to win!

    The game is quite polished already future announcements make you connected to Wreaclast even more. Devs give their best, the rapport is great and from what i've seen in the past year the were 25+ patches, constant tweaking with the mechanics, skill tree* and skills.
    Dedication is the way Grinding Gear works. They way they introduce changes clearly shows how they care.
    *The sheer size of the skill tree is a guarantee jaw drop if seen for the first time
    Collapse
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Path of Exile is a game made by Grinding Gear Games. A developer of old hardcore Diablo 2 players. These guys (and gals) decided enough was enough and went out to make a game they wanted to play. The End result is a Hardcore Action RPG with unlimited depth with its Skill grid, socketable skills gems, flasks, crafting, insane amount of currencies that double as resources... i could go on and on.

    At the start of the game you have the choice of selecting seven classes. The Marauder, Templar, Witch, Duelist, Shadow, Ranger and Scion (complete game on normal to unlock). Once you select your class you are tossed into a harsh world that consists over three acts across over thirty sprawling zones, hundreds of monster types and Dozens of bosses.

    To keep things fresh GGG offer the player a choice of game modes and challenge leagues. You have your standard league (softcore) and Hardcore league then two others Domination and Nemesis the last two are four month duration leagues with slightly different core rules. PoE also offers PVP arena, Capture the flag and a variety of racing seasons over the course of the games life.

    The player has enough here to keep them busy for a long while. GGG has created something special with POE and its easily my favorite ARPG since Diablo 2... well done folks, well done.
    Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    One of the best ARPGs I have ever played. Complex passive tree, deep combat, many variations, polished graphics, amazing developers. It's everything you could possibly ever want from this sort of game and it's ALL F2P. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    9
    Diverging from most of the online micro-transaction games you find these days, Path of Exile takes a refreshing turn and opts to have a pay system that is purely "Pay to Awesome" rather than "Pay to Win". That is the real money market is all about cosmetic upgrades and a few utility upgrades (such as increased storage and the like). It is refreshing to find that there is such an attitude in the online gaming community. That being said the game itself has a few issues. Most notably is the ability to connect and stay connected to the servers. I routinely have found myself "timed out" for no particular reason and then waiting in a queue of anywhere from 200-2000 people trying to get back in. High latency also can be an issue and as it is an ARPG such things can get you killed, this is a really big deal in the higher end Leagues where death is permanent or carries severe penalties. Aside from that is also the issue of graphical optimization. While the game runs great on a current gen PC (anything with 512MB video card and a decent CPU) it suffers on portable systems such as laptops with integrated GPUs (it even ran sluggishly on my laptop with an nVidia GTX 760M with 1GB dedicated RAM). This is only an issue for those who like to play on a mobile unit like a laptop, but the graphics settings are sparse with little in the way of "low quality" for graphical settings (the lowest texture package is medium). It is hard to draw a comparison from this game to Diablo 2 as much of the game seems to be taken straight from Diablo 2, especially the overhead map and Life/Mana bubbles. That aside it has a refreshing progression system that literally has hundreds of possible avenues of progression and with the socketed skill system the customization of a specific character is practically limitless. This alone makes the game endlessly fun. Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    The game is really awesome, lots of things to do, a huge possibilitys of buildings and a well done endgame, and GGG is doing all they can do to make the game even better, the game really deserve a 10/10 but i'll but 9/10 for some persona reasons. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    8
    Path of Exile is a great action RPG. It has one of the best free to play models I have ever seen (The only one it could compare to is DotA 2). I personally don't like farming too much, but Path of Exile makes farming very well. It doesn't take too long, but it isn't too little. Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2014
    0
    this game is overhyped garbage by far. It does alot right, but it does alot oh so wrong. The first complaint I have is the fact that this game forces the character to be a certain sex or character for each class they want to play. the game is a repetitive grindfest from the minute you end up on shore. I fealt like after a few "reskinned" areas, painstakingly messing around with my pretend "unique" character, I fealt like I had already seen the game. the skill tree at face value looks like a innovative potential but a few ten levels and you notice no matter where you build you are going to end up with the same build regardless. there is no freedom in the skill tree. the trade system is piss poor, gold currency was made for a reason. the team finding system is piss poor. nobody answers chat, it is such a hassle to find the correct team. in a game that relies on heavy teamwork this game fails at creating teams. I spent alot of time being bored out of my mind than advancing in the game. what the game does right is blighted out but I will list it anyways. this game does materia and it does it well. even though the combat system is stale and borderline BORING MASH FEST, I find some of the magic fresh towards this stale series. the fact that it is free tells how bad it is, if I had to pay for this game I would be pissed. Expand

See all 298 User Reviews