Path of Exile PC

Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1414 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Path of Exile is an online Action RPG set in the dark fantasy world of Wraeclast. They're a small independent team of hardcore gamers based in New Zealand and have created Path of Exile as the game that they'd want to play themselves. It is designed around a strong barter-based online itemPath of Exile is an online Action RPG set in the dark fantasy world of Wraeclast. They're a small independent team of hardcore gamers based in New Zealand and have created Path of Exile as the game that they'd want to play themselves. It is designed around a strong barter-based online item economy, deep character customisation, competitive PvP and ladder races. The game is completely free and will never be "pay to win". [Grinding Gear Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. May 9, 2014
    100
    Grinding Gear Games has created something special here, and given it gratis to the world.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    94
    For a free title, knocked together by a small team, it's stunning just how much it blows the opposition away. They have taken what was wrong with the genre and fixed it; what was right, they have made even better.
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    90
    Considering that Path of Exile costs you nothing beyond some Internet bandwidth, it provides an embarrassment of pleasures.
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    85
    If Path of Exile were a priced game, it would have been very, very good. But it's beyond any expectations: fun, addictive, completely free to play and worth every penny Grinding Gear Games is not asking.
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    85
    Hack’n Slay as its best. First you’ll think “this is just another diablo-copy”, but when you begin to get into the game deeper, you’ll be surprised. It has the most powerful and individual character-system you’ll ever see in an action-rpg so far. Moreover, all game-content is 100% free to play, no hidden “pay2win” in the shop.
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    Path of Exile surprises in many aspects. Speaking of an action Diablo-style RPG, it's considered a chestnut. However, the New Zealand developers pleased us with complexity, ideas, and especially with unique gameplay.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    70
    I can't say what their future holds as I'm not much of an economist (nor am I really a magpie). But I can say I've had many, many hours of fun in a game that still has much more to show me and which all of us, right now, can play for nothing at all. We're being spoiled.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 345
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    POE is the deepest aRPG slasher ever made. It uses some tested ideas while introducing highly innovative systems and end-game mechanics. ToPOE is the deepest aRPG slasher ever made. It uses some tested ideas while introducing highly innovative systems and end-game mechanics. To put it straight
    Path of Exile is AAA+ game FREE of charge. No pay to win. Grind to win!

    The game is quite polished already future announcements make you connected to Wreaclast even more. Devs give their best, the rapport is great and from what i've seen in the past year the were 25+ patches, constant tweaking with the mechanics, skill tree* and skills.
    Dedication is the way Grinding Gear works. They way they introduce changes clearly shows how they care.
    *The sheer size of the skill tree is a guarantee jaw drop if seen for the first time
    Collapse
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Path of Exile is exactly what the genre needed. I hardcore development team true to the game and it's idea's. Maybe it's just me but DiabloPath of Exile is exactly what the genre needed. I hardcore development team true to the game and it's idea's. Maybe it's just me but Diablo for example seemed to care more about it's revenue model then the game it's self.

    Also i would just like to add for the guy crying about his ATI 6800. I have the exact same card as you 6870 1 GB. Other than during the shadows off (You need to do this in pretty much any game for ATI cards) i have perfect performance. You might want check your system for a virus etc...
    Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This is the first aRPG in a long time that takes some risks and really pushes out some fresh ideas. The currency system, the passive skillThis is the first aRPG in a long time that takes some risks and really pushes out some fresh ideas. The currency system, the passive skill tree, the cosmetic items, the different leagues with different mods, guilds, and a constant barrage of updates from a developer that truly cares about its player base.

    Regardless of your views, there's no arguing that this game is a milestone in free-to-play games as well as aRPG's. Path of Exile is a game to watch out for that will have a player base that will last for years to come.
    Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Wow amazing game and it is free? Are you kidding me, yes that is right, they make money off of the item store sales and that is it. You wouldWow amazing game and it is free? Are you kidding me, yes that is right, they make money off of the item store sales and that is it. You would think that would mean the game is some cheap Chinese junk, well it isn't, this isn't, and it isn't Chinese at all, it is western. Dare I say this game is better than Diablo 3? Yeah I would say it is by a long shot. The graphics, music, and atmosphere is nice, as is the gem skill system. The map randomization is good as well. Is the game 100% perfect, no, but it is good. If you are a Diablo type fan, definitely check this out. You may have a few issues at first getting it to install, some do and don't. Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Just stumbled across this piece of art while checking metacritic.
    Played for several hours now and really enjoy it. It has that great dark
    Just stumbled across this piece of art while checking metacritic.
    Played for several hours now and really enjoy it. It has that great dark feeling, as the setting is really well chosen, interesting and new (to me). I just love being able to game a real badass. (Not someone who got captured and didn't do anything...)

    Hack 'n Slay at it's best.

    Also fine that you're not forced to game it 'multiplayer' (my zombie minions are enough company to me ;))

    So, if you like hack 'n slay, want it diablo-style but diffrerent, you really should give it a try. I mean... hey, it's free.
    Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2015
    8
    É um bom jogo, realmente da pra se diverte com muito prazer proporcionando muitas horas de pura diversão ao jogador, não mais que umas 20 hs,É um bom jogo, realmente da pra se diverte com muito prazer proporcionando muitas horas de pura diversão ao jogador, não mais que umas 20 hs, mas o jogo da o que falar, experimente e comprove, a unica coisa que infelizmente não tem no jogo, é o idioma Brasileiro, não precisaria dublagem, mas só a legenda. afinal nem todos falam inglês. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2015
    0
    This game still favours melee chars. Spell crit is op, especially when the spells are invisible... Sorry but after connection problems,This game still favours melee chars. Spell crit is op, especially when the spells are invisible... Sorry but after connection problems, getting great drops for a char 20 lvls below me, I'm tired of this **** Pulled about 20 maps, rek most and the game is pretty much now about whether you get instagibbed rather than be able to kill stuff, not fun at all. Expand

See all 345 User Reviews