Path of Exile PC

Path of Exile Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1559 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Path of Exile is an online Action RPG set in the dark fantasy world of Wraeclast. They're a small independent team of hardcore gamers based in New Zealand and have created Path of Exile as the game that they'd want to play themselves. It is designed around a strong barter-based online itemPath of Exile is an online Action RPG set in the dark fantasy world of Wraeclast. They're a small independent team of hardcore gamers based in New Zealand and have created Path of Exile as the game that they'd want to play themselves. It is designed around a strong barter-based online item economy, deep character customisation, competitive PvP and ladder races. The game is completely free and will never be "pay to win". [Grinding Gear Games] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Path of Exile - Build of the Week: Echoed Raging Spirits
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. May 9, 2014
    100
    Grinding Gear Games has created something special here, and given it gratis to the world.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    94
    For a free title, knocked together by a small team, it's stunning just how much it blows the opposition away. They have taken what was wrong with the genre and fixed it; what was right, they have made even better.
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    90
    Considering that Path of Exile costs you nothing beyond some Internet bandwidth, it provides an embarrassment of pleasures.
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    85
    If Path of Exile were a priced game, it would have been very, very good. But it's beyond any expectations: fun, addictive, completely free to play and worth every penny Grinding Gear Games is not asking.
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    85
    Hack’n Slay as its best. First you’ll think “this is just another diablo-copy”, but when you begin to get into the game deeper, you’ll be surprised. It has the most powerful and individual character-system you’ll ever see in an action-rpg so far. Moreover, all game-content is 100% free to play, no hidden “pay2win” in the shop.
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    Path of Exile surprises in many aspects. Speaking of an action Diablo-style RPG, it's considered a chestnut. However, the New Zealand developers pleased us with complexity, ideas, and especially with unique gameplay.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    70
    I can't say what their future holds as I'm not much of an economist (nor am I really a magpie). But I can say I've had many, many hours of fun in a game that still has much more to show me and which all of us, right now, can play for nothing at all. We're being spoiled.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 364
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    POE is the deepest aRPG slasher ever made. It uses some tested ideas while introducing highly innovative systems and end-game mechanics. ToPOE is the deepest aRPG slasher ever made. It uses some tested ideas while introducing highly innovative systems and end-game mechanics. To put it straight
    Path of Exile is AAA+ game FREE of charge. No pay to win. Grind to win!

    The game is quite polished already future announcements make you connected to Wreaclast even more. Devs give their best, the rapport is great and from what i've seen in the past year the were 25+ patches, constant tweaking with the mechanics, skill tree* and skills.
    Dedication is the way Grinding Gear works. They way they introduce changes clearly shows how they care.
    *The sheer size of the skill tree is a guarantee jaw drop if seen for the first time
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    after just tinkering with the beta and thinking it might be just ok, i have come to see how amazing this game is in every way. There isafter just tinkering with the beta and thinking it might be just ok, i have come to see how amazing this game is in every way. There is nothing you can moan about, graphics are good, sound is good, gameplay is great. I think this game is uderrated when you consider its ftp. There is a ton of gaming to be had. And all for free. I cant believe there are so many negative comments about this game. These developers should be praised for showing how it can be done Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This game deserves to be on the top of all existing Action RPG games.

    The positive signs were there since the beta. The recent final
    This game deserves to be on the top of all existing Action RPG games.

    The positive signs were there since the beta. The recent final release is so polished and balanced that offers a perfect gameplay experience with unlimited options and tricks available to the player. The creators made some very nice choices to differentiate Path of Exile from the ARPG pack. And they were 101% successful on their mission.

    All those nice options combined with perfect dark and moody graphics, excellent music and sound effects and absolutely smooth control and motion.

    Try Path of Exile if you are in this type of games. You will soon forget Diablo III or any other similar game.

    (and all for F R E E How did they manage that?
    Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    Played for some time and loved it all the way. This free game is a must play for everyone. Invite your friends and start slashing. VeryPlayed for some time and loved it all the way. This free game is a must play for everyone. Invite your friends and start slashing. Very complex skill upgrade, many ways to upgrade your character, not very hardware demanding i even played on single processor core machine Thumbs up My score 9 why not 10. Well, sometimes is very repetitive. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    POE is Epic, Actually Best Action RPG. And it's for 100% TRUE free.
    IF you stay 10-20 minutes thinking about your abilities and equipment
    POE is Epic, Actually Best Action RPG. And it's for 100% TRUE free.
    IF you stay 10-20 minutes thinking about your abilities and equipment before continue you have a game that's not only hack and slash but a REAL RPG.

    Lot of abilities and it's always your decision.
    (If you haven't done..look "POE skill tree")
    Supported, big, deeper and with a solid community.
    Lot of equipment, no gold only exchange.
    Big and difficult enough. (Random areas and dungeon)
    Graphic is good, something real style not cartoon.

    If you wanna a RPG game where you have to think, this is the game.

    In a Generation of games made only for profit someone give us a Real Game for gamers.
    Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2015
    7
    Pros:
    + Many ways to build a character
    + Tons of available skills and items to build around + Some very complex and deep game mechanics not
    Pros:
    + Many ways to build a character
    + Tons of available skills and items to build around
    + Some very complex and deep game mechanics not seen in other popular RPG titles
    + The gameplay is fun and gambling with RNG can be very addictive
    + Regular updates with new content, races and cool prizes
    + Free to play

    Cons:
    - Graphics and effects can feel a bit dated compared to some other RPGs
    - Don't expect a breathtaking storyline with interesting dialogues and character development. This game is about building a character and hacking through piles of brainless monsters as efficiently as possible.
    - Playing the same character gets boring after a while - once you acquire your end-game gear and level all your skills gems, there is not much left to do but farm maps and try to acquire more wealth.
    - The level of micro-management and skill that is required in the combat is comparatively low (exceptions are a few end-game bosses).
    - The RNG of drops or crafting luck can sometimes feel unfair
    - Desync problems can be very punishing for some people

    The pros in my opinion outweigh the cons. Definitely a game you should try if you like old school hack and slash RPGs such as Diablo 2 and its various clones. For me it took 2 years of playing to finally get bored and move on to something else.
    Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2016
    0
    Frankly I'm bored of these free to play games. Path of Boredom. Might as well play the classic Diablo 2 if I want to live in the past. Not toFrankly I'm bored of these free to play games. Path of Boredom. Might as well play the classic Diablo 2 if I want to live in the past. Not to mention takes all the fun out when you have to buy the "cool" stuff. Can't believe it got game of the year over at Gamespot. Too many immature annoying people nowadays in multiplayer. Go and buy Pillars of Eternity instead and support a fun single player experience. Expand

See all 364 User Reviews