Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1325 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime rampage. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything fromPAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime rampage. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything from small-time store rips, cyber-crime or major bank vaults for that lucrative PAYDAY. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    95
    Payday 2 is a Co Op game. While it might have benefitted with a cool story arc for a single player mode the game offers a great outing with 3 other friends for an experience that will keep having you come back for more. Payday is simply put the improved, polished and closest experience you’ll find to robbing an actual bank. It’s just legal.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    86
    The many missions and unlockables also offer plenty of food for many hours raid pleasure.
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    83
    As it stands right now, Payday 2, while it won’t be for everyone, is a lot of fun. Although the stealth mechanics are basic, there’s enough strategic depth and teamwork required so that stealthing missions can be challenging, and extremely satisfying when successful.
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    If you have some friends to play a shooter with, this is a great choice. It's not perfect, but is bigger and better than the previous one, which means even more fun.
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    80
    The bottom line is that I’m complaining because the action, the gunplay, the visuals, the demanding teamwork, the ultimate sense of gratification from leveling up and mastering the levels are all pretty much unparalleled, even if they could have been situated into a better gameplay structure. Payday 2 is a wonderful shooter that stands alone in a genre full of me-toos, wanna-bes, and coulda-beens.
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    79
    Smart co-op shooting slightly undermined by poor stealth mechanics and dogged insistence on withholding the best toys.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    50
    The disappointing Payday 2 is a sequel in the loosest sense of the word, with minor and unsuccessful updates to the gameplay, hindered with uninspired scenarios and terrible AI.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 366
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    So much fun coop. Huge improvement on the first one and the replay value is insane with the map changing geometry, I got 40 hours clocked upSo much fun coop. Huge improvement on the first one and the replay value is insane with the map changing geometry, I got 40 hours clocked up on just the 6 heists that are in the beta! For the price you pay you cant go wrong! Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Excellent game. 10/10
    Payday 2 is a massive improvement in every way over it's predecessor. This game is an absolute thrill when played
    Excellent game. 10/10
    Payday 2 is a massive improvement in every way over it's predecessor. This game is an absolute thrill when played cooperatively, with loads of content, especially when you consider it's reduced price tag. Make no mistake, this game is in NO WAY a single player game, and it doesn't even warrant to be reviewed as such.
    Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    It seems as though this game received many negative user reviews due to poor connection or just bad computer parts. This game is a beautifulIt seems as though this game received many negative user reviews due to poor connection or just bad computer parts. This game is a beautiful improvement from payday the heist, which did not have many options for customization. In payday 2, you can choose your guns, attachments, customize masks, choose equipment, and choose skills from skill trees, such as the ability to carry more zip ties or carry and throw bags of loot faster and farther. The Payday 2 community on steam also plays a huge role in the game, as there are community items (free DLC) in the game like masks, weapons, and missions. They constantly add new heists, so the updates are worth your while. I would have paid $50 for this game, but I got it during the summer sale and only paid $7.49 so I have no problem buying additional DLCs. All in all, great game and I'm not even sure how it could be improved, except for AI having the ability to carry bags on solo heists. I do, however, like the challenge of having to carry all of the bags myself, and wish I could tell the AI to stay in the jewelry store so I can run the bags to the van and come back without them getting in my way. Still, this game would be a 9.6/10 Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    8
    Payday 2 is the sequel to Payday: The Heist by Overkill Software. Payday 2 overall brings back the intense bank robbery feel from the firstPayday 2 is the sequel to Payday: The Heist by Overkill Software. Payday 2 overall brings back the intense bank robbery feel from the first instalment, but triples the fun. With features such as mask/weapon customization and the card rewards system, payday 2 becomes a very addicting and enjoyable experience. Payday 2 is meant to be played with friends. Yes, the game does offer single player bots, but they are very frustrating and, in most circumstances, useless. If you have a group of 2-3 friends to play with, this game is a blast, if you like playing single player I don't recommend it. The newly released DLC "Payday 2: Armoured Transport" adds a lot more content to the game, such as new heists, masks and weapons (plus extra customization options). The new dlc brings faith to the buyer that content for this game is still coming, and in big chunks. Overall i highly recommend payday 2, it is an action packed rollercoaster of a game that will bring you and your friends hours of cop killing joy. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    A great, fun, enjoyable game. Everything runs smoothly. I've been playing for a while now.

    + gameplay + guns + skills + levels -
    A great, fun, enjoyable game. Everything runs smoothly. I've been playing for a while now.

    + gameplay
    + guns
    + skills
    + levels

    - friendly ai
    - graphics could be improved
    - stealth

    Some minor fixes will make the game a solid 9.
    Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2014
    6
    It could be such a good game, but there are two big problems it has: At fist, the DLCs. The game has about 6 DLCs wich only add 3 or 4 newIt could be such a good game, but there are two big problems it has: At fist, the DLCs. The game has about 6 DLCs wich only add 3 or 4 new weapons and some opticla items. And they cost 5$ each! And the other problem is, there are MANY cheaters. Mainly they have only max level, max skills and unlimited money cheats, but often they also have invincibility and unlimited ammo. With these cheaters the game pretty sucks! Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2015
    0
    i got this in a sale but i still feel ripped off as the ai is a joke, the grapihcs are ugly and half the weapons in the game are behind a 100i got this in a sale but i still feel ripped off as the ai is a joke, the grapihcs are ugly and half the weapons in the game are behind a 100 dollar dlc paywall.
    i will never buy a overkill game again, this is a scam of a game.
    maybe it would have been a ok game if it had been released 10 years ago but it is ugly with boring gameplay and uncreative maps.
    every map is same thing - just place a drill and fix it when it jams and drill cops until it finishes and most of the maps in the game have the same reused assets.
    terrible game, would never recommend to anyone.
    Expand

See all 366 User Reviews