Payday: The Heist PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 452 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 452

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2013
    7
    I just purchased this game and its been a long while since the game or any DLC dropped and I found it quite worth 20 bucks. Its similar to left for dead some people argue to similar. Well whats funny about that is I actually am one of the few people who hated L4D and have never even touched lf4d 2 and I love payday. I guess its because of the heisting and fighting police instead of zombiesI just purchased this game and its been a long while since the game or any DLC dropped and I found it quite worth 20 bucks. Its similar to left for dead some people argue to similar. Well whats funny about that is I actually am one of the few people who hated L4D and have never even touched lf4d 2 and I love payday. I guess its because of the heisting and fighting police instead of zombies and super zombies. Now there are special police units but they are rare and only 1 of them is silly the bulldozers. The game is fast paced and fun especially with other people and probably a blast playing with people you actually know which sadly I have not yet to experience. The game has a level up perk system that rewards new weapons and passive perks for the 3 categories. This is a good incentive to keep playing to reach level cap and get all the weapons and upgrades. You can also earn new masks.

    Every game has a downside. For me yes sometimes the cops are way too precise and numerous at the same time. When you have super troopers, swat breathing down your neck and they seem to never miss unless your completely behind cover it can be quite unrealistic and frustrating. By the end of the day you slay waves and waves hundreds of cops which is kind of dumb. Theres only 2 missions where finesse can even be applied and without perfection you will still end up fighting for your life.

    Another thing that bothers me is the lack of missions. There is 7 by default and the 7th is inspired by left for dead and is about stealing blood and breaking into the icu which is weird. The other missions are run and gun or hold the fort heists about hacking or stowing gold.

    The only actual heist mission is the first world bank where you actually rob a bank and then escape.

    There actually are not that many weapons either. Shotgun, mini shotgun, 3 pistols, a rifle, an full auto rifle, a heavy machine gun and trip mines.

    The dlc adds a new class and weapons and upgrades and more levels but its ten dollars just for 2 more heists and some more levels so I do not feel that its worth it especially with the low online population for the game at this current time.

    Of course the sequel is right around the corner and promises to deliver x 10 more and be what the original should be. Despite that this first payday is a fun co op experience that requires teamwork to outlast those dang police trying to halt your payday and put you into custody.

    You can trade hostages for captured team mates which is great but the police always try to rescue hostages so you cannot and you cant take hostages with you you can only tie them down with limited cable ties and hostages cannot be used for anything else like delaying a police assault.
    Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    7
    Enjoyable but really fun when multiplaying. Otherwise, bots are RETARDED and make you fail a heist because of their stupidities. Very frustrating. Without multiplayer capability, this game would suck. However, it's one of those few games that is filled with hidden objectives and prices so there are good chances that you'll discover something new you missed every time you redo a heist. InEnjoyable but really fun when multiplaying. Otherwise, bots are RETARDED and make you fail a heist because of their stupidities. Very frustrating. Without multiplayer capability, this game would suck. However, it's one of those few games that is filled with hidden objectives and prices so there are good chances that you'll discover something new you missed every time you redo a heist. In that sense, this game has one of the highest replay values I've ever seen. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    It's definitely a fun game, and for only 20 bucks, it seems worth price. The action is fast-paced and definitely requires teamwork to complete the heists. There are some cons in my opinion, which are keeping me from giving the game a higher score. One is the multiplayer aspect and how it's set up. It's archaic. There are no dedicated servers, so every game is hosted by a user. ThisIt's definitely a fun game, and for only 20 bucks, it seems worth price. The action is fast-paced and definitely requires teamwork to complete the heists. There are some cons in my opinion, which are keeping me from giving the game a higher score. One is the multiplayer aspect and how it's set up. It's archaic. There are no dedicated servers, so every game is hosted by a user. This can be frustrating as the host can just decide to kick you out whenever they feel like, and if the hosts quits/loses internet connection, the game is over. This also means that you cannot join a game in progress. There are some comparisons to Left 4 Dead in this game, but the way multiplayer server/hosting is set up really bothers me. The other thing that irks me a bit is that there is six heists. Ok not bad, but some of them can only be played on normal/hard/overkill. Only two maps can be played on easy, which you almost have to play starting because you have little skills/upgrades. I have a heck of time finding an easy game to jump into (since I am still low rank), and once you find if someone does like your name or rank they can just kick you before you the game even starts. The last con for me is the graphics options. Game really feels like a console port if you look here...there are none. No advanced options to speak of, so if you do have a low end or high end pc, good luck with the settings. OVERALL though I give the game a seven, because it is a fun game. I recommend it, just wish they had dedicated servers and more graphic options. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2011
    7
    If you dig crime, this game is fun and well put together. Purely online, the single player mode is weaaaak. Nonetheless, playing out your fantasies of robberies and whatnot without the 20 years in the slammer hanging over your head is fun. Can't beat the price for a well put together game. There is a leveling system that gets you to play more, I'm not saying this game is on caliber withIf you dig crime, this game is fun and well put together. Purely online, the single player mode is weaaaak. Nonetheless, playing out your fantasies of robberies and whatnot without the 20 years in the slammer hanging over your head is fun. Can't beat the price for a well put together game. There is a leveling system that gets you to play more, I'm not saying this game is on caliber with other triple-A titles, but damn if I didn't have fun shooting hundreds of cops. A solid happy 7 for a great price. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2012
    7
    It was fun on my first runthrough of each campaign, however at the end, I found I couldn't replay the missions because the leveling system was boring.
  6. Dec 14, 2011
    7
    This is a fun but casual co-op game, basacally you start on a map and have to complete several objectives and survive waves of law enforcement, theres no real story or plot, and there shouldnt be one, you can play this game for hours, or just quickly play a game or 2 before going tro work, this game does however need more content, the few available maps are not quite enough to stayThis is a fun but casual co-op game, basacally you start on a map and have to complete several objectives and survive waves of law enforcement, theres no real story or plot, and there shouldnt be one, you can play this game for hours, or just quickly play a game or 2 before going tro work, this game does however need more content, the few available maps are not quite enough to stay intresting for too long and replayabillity would be higher if there was more. Expand
  7. Apz
    Dec 23, 2011
    5
    I'll start off by saying the game is fun with friends. The problem is that just about ANY game is fun with friends, and it shouldn't be used as a crutch for the score. The screen shaking/"jelly"/red tint effects are really obnoxious and annoy the piss out of me. It feels like I should be taking the game a little more slowly and tactically, ala SWAT 4, but it is far more rewarding to justI'll start off by saying the game is fun with friends. The problem is that just about ANY game is fun with friends, and it shouldn't be used as a crutch for the score. The screen shaking/"jelly"/red tint effects are really obnoxious and annoy the piss out of me. It feels like I should be taking the game a little more slowly and tactically, ala SWAT 4, but it is far more rewarding to just rush a stage down. I think the perks system is nice, but any EXP system that insists on restricting your vertical growth (leveling up one job) to promote horizontal growth (leveling up multiple jobs) sucks ass, even if it is minuscule. Picking up team mates who are bleeding out should restrict others from trying to assist the same person. Some of the map objectives feel extremely tedious and grating, like Heat Street. Expand
  8. Mar 4, 2012
    5
    I played the game on a free 2 play weekend on steam, and from my experience everything seemed to work alright except there was one major flaw, the enemy ai. The main complaint I have with the game is that 50% of the time the enemies will function in a typical fashion, the other 50% of the time they will just sit there doing nothing. Sometimes waves of enemies will shoot at you, otherI played the game on a free 2 play weekend on steam, and from my experience everything seemed to work alright except there was one major flaw, the enemy ai. The main complaint I have with the game is that 50% of the time the enemies will function in a typical fashion, the other 50% of the time they will just sit there doing nothing. Sometimes waves of enemies will shoot at you, other times they just remain in a passive state after spawning, sometimes entire rooms will be full of brain-dead enemies just sitting there, and when you shoot at them they still remain unresponsive. This really killed it for me. When everything works, the game is decent, but from my experience, that was only half of the time. I cannot recommend the game because of this, regardless of price. Expand
  9. Oct 27, 2011
    7
    Payday: The Heist is a great game with a good replayability however the single player of the game is pretty bad while the AI on the game are bad sometimes they pretty much let you die. The online of the game is fairly good but does get boring after some gameplay and sometimes I would rather be playing with bots other then some people online.
  10. Mar 3, 2012
    5
    a very generic 4player coop shooter like l4d. However you will be shooting cops and robbing banks. The devs put extra effort in it by adding another layer of progression system. I do say it an upgraded version of kane and lynch bank heist. However i just prefer the appoarch kane and lynch2 did with its over and down system.
  11. Mar 4, 2012
    7
    Great game!

    But not enough Levels or actions. For example, you can see the AI climbing fences, sliding under cars and even using railings to climb down high floors... Why can't we do that? The game is basically Left 4 Dead but with a huge horde of police, love the way you can take people and police hostage. Overall sweet game play and Nice
    Great game!

    But not enough Levels or actions. For example, you can see the AI climbing fences, sliding under cars and even using railings to climb down high floors... Why can't we do that?

    The game is basically Left 4 Dead but with a huge horde of police, love the way you can take people and police hostage.

    Overall sweet game play and Nice graphics also a good selection of perks and weapons.
    Improvements could be the extra actions/levels maybe more realistic hostage situations and more realistic police tactics?
    Expand
  12. Jul 21, 2013
    6
    The concept of the game is awsome, but poorly executed. The game feels like an eternal cop killing with some techinical flaws. But its still fun to play with friends.
  13. Feb 20, 2012
    6
    Dull. For the first few hours I thought something interesting might happen but I found it to play out like a gaming version of a low budget made for TV movie.
  14. Jan 4, 2012
    6
    I'm hesitant to rate this, because I feel it's more a WIP then a full release, which could be attributed to executive meddling for fear of Fox News' take on a game where you kill cops. But it will always have a higher rating then MW2, for the exact reason that you still aren't allowed to kill civilians. And the cops are American. Let me say that again; a game where you're killingI'm hesitant to rate this, because I feel it's more a WIP then a full release, which could be attributed to executive meddling for fear of Fox News' take on a game where you kill cops. But it will always have a higher rating then MW2, for the exact reason that you still aren't allowed to kill civilians. And the cops are American. Let me say that again; a game where you're killing AMERICANS. Seems there's still hope for the game industry's maturing. But back to the game; some aspects do get in the way of a smooth experience for me. The gunplay seems a bit iffy, or hit-or-miss at best, the screen effects tend to get annoying, such as blood from a melee kill being mistaken for being wounded/directional damage/etc., and other things I just don't understand how to use. Once you take a hostage, what do you do with them? Leave them there? If you've got a group of decent players, nobody will be captured so there's no need to bargain. If you could take the hostages with you, that'd add to the dynamic. Other things, like the ability to take hostages, a quick command/spotting mechanic, multiple enemies, perks, the heist, dialog, and the very fact you're involved in a frigg'n heist (how awesome is that?!) make it worth playing, but I'm on the fence about calling it a good game. It's decent, but still has a few small issues to work out. Expand
  15. Oct 28, 2011
    5
    Alright take this with a grain of salt as I am unable to play coop. I think its a good idea with poor execution. I was looking for something akin to Kane and Lynch bank mode but this is pretty far from it. Alright here come my gripes. The controls feel loose and floaty, there is no bullet penetration, theres only one path to take, you cant pick up or use weapons you didnt enter aAlright take this with a grain of salt as I am unable to play coop. I think its a good idea with poor execution. I was looking for something akin to Kane and Lynch bank mode but this is pretty far from it. Alright here come my gripes. The controls feel loose and floaty, there is no bullet penetration, theres only one path to take, you cant pick up or use weapons you didnt enter a mission with, and the AI is far from intelligent. I got bored restarting this or that eight times in a row just to stretch out a mission. On the plus side there is huge potential for multiplayer fun, the unique units add something different aspects to standard shooting, and it was only 20 bucks so i dont feel like I lost too much. Overall I wouldnt recommend unless your just looking for L4D in tighter spaces with worse spawns but like I said I never did get to play multiplayer. Expand
  16. Oct 22, 2012
    5
    It's mediocre. Only a handful of missions and none of them really feel different or inspired, strange gameplay mechanics - you kill cops but can't hurt civilians, and you are bank robbers. I personally found the aiming on the assault rifle to be terrible - specifically the iron sights (I see no option to turn it off either) which blocks pretty much everything your shooting at with your ownIt's mediocre. Only a handful of missions and none of them really feel different or inspired, strange gameplay mechanics - you kill cops but can't hurt civilians, and you are bank robbers. I personally found the aiming on the assault rifle to be terrible - specifically the iron sights (I see no option to turn it off either) which blocks pretty much everything your shooting at with your own gun. I've played other games with iron sights that didn't feel like this. You spend most of the time waiting and fighting off hordes of cops. There are better options for less or no money. Expand
  17. Oct 20, 2012
    5
    I'm really not sure why everyone is so ecstatic about this game, it's one of the most boring and fairly unimaginative games I've ever played. It's described as "executing dynamic heists", but you're not "executing" anything; the heist is merely the backdrop, a story to an on-rails shooter where you shoot wave after wave cops and security personal in the head(or waste ammo on weakerI'm really not sure why everyone is so ecstatic about this game, it's one of the most boring and fairly unimaginative games I've ever played. It's described as "executing dynamic heists", but you're not "executing" anything; the heist is merely the backdrop, a story to an on-rails shooter where you shoot wave after wave cops and security personal in the head(or waste ammo on weaker hit-boxes). And that's what you do, move shooting guys in the head, stop, shoot more guys, move again shooting guys. Someone was right to describe it as left 4 dead, but with a different theme, but l4d's single player and coop bored me after I'd done everything on expert, but at least that backdrop was compelling, as were the characters, and the scenery and graphics interesting. This has no real interesting story or narrative or characters on rails that makes you want to play for that, and the gameplay is pretty dumb for a game these days. The hitboxes are simply and easy, and it takes a while to unlock any interesting weapons, which don't change the game much, except like the grenade launcher maybe make the game stupid easy, and this game doesn't need anymore brain dead elements. My friends gushed over it during the last free weekend (before the one at the time of me writing this) when I played it, and was bored before we were done the first run through, so I don't see the "endless replay" value they boast. But I guess any sense of a real game is gone from this generation. Just so you know what kind of gamers were talking about here, they have some of the most hours on l4d games, but complained about lack of "realism" in l4d2 (huh? who cares?) and despise the multiplayer...probably because they are so bad at it. So yeah, if you like games with no real variety or challenge, that you could probably finish smashing your face on the keyboard (what I was eventually doing for the weekend I was roped into playing this with those friends) Payday might be the game for you. Expand
  18. Mar 19, 2012
    6
    After my first impression on that game it develops towards a nice sparetime killer for a round or two -- nothing I could play for weeks!
    +++
    Some issues still remain: [a] AI in terms of civilian behavior, running in your line of fire while the cops seem to be able to shoot right through them without penalties, using them as human shield, [b] AI in terms of escorting behavior, forcing you
    After my first impression on that game it develops towards a nice sparetime killer for a round or two -- nothing I could play for weeks!
    +++
    Some issues still remain:
    [a] AI in terms of civilian behavior, running in your line of fire while the cops seem to be able to shoot right through them without penalties, using them as human shield, [b] AI in terms of escorting behavior, forcing you to push those characters forward in two-second-shouts or loosing those characters 1.000 bullets behind, probably doing the just survived assault once again, [c] AI in terms of companion behavior, reviving before clearing a zone or reviving NPCs first while all players go to custody and thereby failing the mission, and
    [d] SWAT-clown-cars flooding the streets with cops even if no assault is going on, so you never know if to hold a position until a moment of rest or push forward until you are moments from death.
    +++
    BUT after all the game is fun and learning and knowing levels is the goal to handle challenges, offering you a real flow in the game, while in other games the sweet-spot is when you still have something to explore. The game might be dead after a month of playing but surely come up every once in a while anything else is overplayed. Once the AI would get fixed this game was really good!
    Expand
  19. Jul 20, 2012
    7
    Gets old very quickly but it was worth the 5 bucks it cost on steam for summer sale
  20. Jul 2, 2014
    5
    While the core game is solid enough and enjoyable, it becomes very repetitive and after your first couple of heists it becomes predictable and bland. If your just looking for pure action blasting away at things worth a go.
  21. AWG
    Aug 2, 2013
    6
    There are games out there I just don't understand. I may like them, but I still don't understand them. Payday is one of these.
    Why are there are no instructions about what I have to knowdo?
    Why am I allowed to slaughter an entire Army, but I get penalized if I kill just one civilian? Why does it take 10 seconds for us to open a not locked door? I feel like this game is only really
    There are games out there I just don't understand. I may like them, but I still don't understand them. Payday is one of these.
    Why are there are no instructions about what I have to knowdo?
    Why am I allowed to slaughter an entire Army, but I get penalized if I kill just one civilian?
    Why does it take 10 seconds for us to open a not locked door?
    I feel like this game is only really enjoyable if you dedicate dozens and dozens of hours just to understand its aspects, otherwise it's just a dull "KILL TEH COPZ"-fest for the casual player.
    And to this end, again, some instructiondeep tutorial would be really useful.
    Expand
  22. Mar 29, 2013
    7
    A well crafted and very fun multiplayer. Much like Team Fortress 2 or Left 4 Dead 2, it manages to keep its charm for a very long time, and the upgrade system helps that out. The graphics are lacking a little, and a good deal of the animations are stale, but that doesn't bog down the game too much. The whole bank robbing/criminal atmosphere of the game is presented extremely well, and isA well crafted and very fun multiplayer. Much like Team Fortress 2 or Left 4 Dead 2, it manages to keep its charm for a very long time, and the upgrade system helps that out. The graphics are lacking a little, and a good deal of the animations are stale, but that doesn't bog down the game too much. The whole bank robbing/criminal atmosphere of the game is presented extremely well, and is capable of sucking you into the experience. It may not be the best or most addicting multiplayer out there, but it's worth the money and it's still fun as hell. Can't wait for Payday 2 to come out. Expand
  23. Sep 5, 2013
    7
    Although the idea sounds much better than it's executed, it still manages to be tense, fun, and rewarding. The difficulty level is high, and successful heists give the player a true sense of accomplishment. Weapon and item variety is limited, but the progressive upgrades and unlocks system is quite good.
  24. Nov 28, 2014
    7
    Great co-op game ! Possible to play pleasant even with bots. Unfortunately, there are quite a few heists and the same randomness of events, doing the same action several times can quickly get bored. Rescue for boredom is a lot of difficulty levels, gaining achievements and upgrading characters.
  25. Aug 20, 2013
    7
    nice game although it is bad as a single player but the only way to play this gane is co op multiplayer graphics are good sound and music are awesome
  26. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    OK, let's get one thing straight, This PC port is abysmal. The game has frame stutter at times, and looks amazingly awful for a Pc game, especially of 2011. However it's an amazingly fun Co-Op and Multiplayer game, with a solid singleplayer, and it's slightly more addictive than crack-cocaine. Go get it. It's very fun.
  27. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    I like the game. Even though it has small amount of weapons, and skill tree is lacking, not a bad game. The game was remastered and improved in Payday 2. And supposedly, the movie with the same name will be released in the year 2014!

    I would rate this 7/10.
  28. Aug 16, 2013
    7
    Chains! The drill, it's bloody broken!
    ------Hoxton

    Yeah this game is actually amazing, some of the best parts of the game is when something goes out of control or wrong.

    8/10!
  29. Aug 24, 2013
    6
    Buenos gráficos, buena jugabilidad, pero llega en algunos puntos a ser aburrido. No es un juego para jugar horas como otros FPS, pero es interesante la idea del juego y la cantidad de tiros que reparte.
  30. Dec 7, 2013
    7
    Let's start with this: This game is meant for co-op, and nothing else. I tried my first mission with NPC's, and it was terrible. It was all on me to grab the c4's, or load up the money bags, or plant the bombs, or really anything that requires holding a button down. The NPC's can fight pretty well, though, and I've actually been saved quite a few times by the accurate covering fire theyLet's start with this: This game is meant for co-op, and nothing else. I tried my first mission with NPC's, and it was terrible. It was all on me to grab the c4's, or load up the money bags, or plant the bombs, or really anything that requires holding a button down. The NPC's can fight pretty well, though, and I've actually been saved quite a few times by the accurate covering fire they can lay out for you. The gunplay is pretty fun, but let's get to the real good stuff: the co-op. It's a good game, that feels similar to L4D2 when your playing co-op,a so let's finish this review with a nice 7. Expand
  31. Nov 27, 2014
    7
    PAYDAY: The Heist is a great game, but the thing is that it gets repetitive really quickly. PAYDAY 2 also suffers the same fate. PAYDAY: The Heist is a great game to play with friends and a bit mediocre when playing with random people on the internet.

    PAYDAY: The Heist is about four heisters, all with unique stories which is great, that get involved in various heists such as a bank
    PAYDAY: The Heist is a great game, but the thing is that it gets repetitive really quickly. PAYDAY 2 also suffers the same fate. PAYDAY: The Heist is a great game to play with friends and a bit mediocre when playing with random people on the internet.

    PAYDAY: The Heist is about four heisters, all with unique stories which is great, that get involved in various heists such as a bank heist, diamond heist, drug house bust and taking money from a counterfeit money creator. Dallas is the main heister as he is the leader. Dallas is American, Hoxton is British, Wolf is Swedish and Chains is African-American.

    PAYDAY: The Heist's guns don't feel very good for me as the animation makes it seem that the guns are simple toy guns and have no recoil. It just doesn't feel good when you get a kill or even just shoot it normally. Combat is also pretty much Left 4 Dead with cops, as many people have already stated. PAYDAY 2 improved on that as it added stealth and less extreme waves of police enforcers.

    One of the best things about PAYDAY: The Heist is it's heists. They are all very unique, have fun and unique objectives (Except for waiting for drills) and all make you feel accomplished when you successfully finish it.

    I am not saying that PAYDAY: The Heist is necessarily a bad game, but it can get repetitive very quickly, even if you are playing with friends. If you buy this game, do not expect to be playing it for very long. At least you can enjoy the amount of time where you are not bored with your friends.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 70
    Entertaining cooperative multiplayer is why you should try this unconventional shooter. Technical issues and obsolete visuals prevent a higher rating. [Jan 2012]
  2. Dec 22, 2011
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    71
    Payday is the most exciting parts of your favorite movies cobbled together, swapping the brains for extra bullets. [Jan 2012, p.67]