Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 370 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players will embark on a spectacular crime spree of six heart stopping heists, including blasting their way through a downtown bank vault robbery, managing hostages in an armored car hijacking and even a midnight infiltration of a top-secret, high-security facility. Additionally, PAYDAY: The Heist challenges players with dynamic environments and adaptive enemy tactics - meaning no scenario will ever play out the same way twice. Teamwork is essential to ensure crew members provide cover under fire, guard key access points, break through various security measures and keep civilians in check. Survive wave after wave of the best that law enforcement can deploy as they shift strategies in response to player actions and gameplay style. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    85
    One of the best ways to spend 20 bucks. Incredibly strong and fascinating online action. [December 2011, p.83]
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    84
    Payday: The Heist is maybe Left 4 Cops, but still a very good interpretation with nice own ideas. Continous, massive cop slaughtering could use some tweaking, as it gets somewhat monotonous. [Nov 2011]
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    Payday: The Heist is one of the biggest surprises of this hot autumn market, marked by triple-A titles of absolute value. If you have 2 or 3 friends to play with, the title Overkill is a highly recommended purchase. Our congratulations to the developers for the insight: we hope to continue to support their creature with new additional missions and already we dream a sequel with an advanced AI and techinal sector. A must for lovers of the co-op.
  4. Nov 3, 2011
    78
    Bottom line, it might not have all the bells and whistles that the blockbuster FPS games that are being released, but it doesn't have the same price tag, either. And you'll definitely get a lot of bang for your buck with this game.
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    73
    Payday is already better than other low-budget multiplayer shooters (Lead and Gold, Killing Floor). It serves as a nice distraction after a hard day's work.
  6. 70
    Entertaining cooperative multiplayer is why you should try this unconventional shooter. Technical issues and obsolete visuals prevent a higher rating. [Jan 2012]
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    50
    Payday: The Heist has a brilliant concept at its heart, and that's further rounded out by some great art direction and some solid level design that makes a few of the missions real fun to play. Unfortunately, though, budget production values are evident in the graphics and limited selection of levels, and these factors inevitably come into conflict with a higher-than-expected price point.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 135
  1. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    hahaha iu luv dis game fk hatres anyone hoo a8ts dis game is gayyyyyy lolololololololollololol i just think dis game deserves less bad reviews lulz haha Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    Gladio77

    the idea of the game its to rob no to kill random people, i anderstand that you think its unrealistic but if they dont make those
    limits the game will change a lot. Expand
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 to offset the IDIOTS that think ANY game, no matter how bad, deserves a 0 (as they did for the PS3 review). In actuality, the game is about an 8.5. It has solid graphics (not the best, but clean), and great gameplay. Most heists are a huge challenge on normal, and I can't even imagine playing them on the higher difficulties yet. Decide what to unlock by pressing tab then numbers 1-3 ingame, and you get additional skills and unlocks. The downside to it is some of the sound work and lack of direction on some of the heists. Do NOT play single player, multiplayer is where it's at. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2012
    9
    I just bought this off of Steam on sale for $5. The single player really is quite boring, but the bots are smarter than the bots they put in Left 4 Dead and Left 4 Dead 2. The co-op is just plain out FUN I haven't had this much fun with co-op. The missions I must admit are HARD. I can't even survive Normal. If your looking for a thrilling game that will keep your heart beating rapidly as you try to escape the police, this game is for you. For the PC the controls are a little quirky which gets kind of annoying. After you play this game you will feel that you want to rob a bank, trust me. If your getting this for $20 (which is it's retail price), then it's totally worth it. This is a MAJOR break from Old, Boring, Call of Duty. This game is also very fast paced so you need some quick reactions, now I don't mean Call of Duty quick reactions like dropshooting or anything like that just plain out REAL reactions. This game is fabulous. I HIGHLY recommend this game! Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    I'm really not a fan of games where you don't need any shooting skills (guns without recoil and stuff like that). But Payday is AWESOME game!!!

    Gameplay score is pure 10!!! I'm giving 8 only because bad graphics and too less maps which make game repetitive. Don't be fooled with bad graphics! This game is deserved to be played!
    Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    It's definitely a fun game, and for only 20 bucks, it seems worth price. The action is fast-paced and definitely requires teamwork to complete the heists. There are some cons in my opinion, which are keeping me from giving the game a higher score. One is the multiplayer aspect and how it's set up. It's archaic. There are no dedicated servers, so every game is hosted by a user. This can be frustrating as the host can just decide to kick you out whenever they feel like, and if the hosts quits/loses internet connection, the game is over. This also means that you cannot join a game in progress. There are some comparisons to Left 4 Dead in this game, but the way multiplayer server/hosting is set up really bothers me. The other thing that irks me a bit is that there is six heists. Ok not bad, but some of them can only be played on normal/hard/overkill. Only two maps can be played on easy, which you almost have to play starting because you have little skills/upgrades. I have a heck of time finding an easy game to jump into (since I am still low rank), and once you find if someone does like your name or rank they can just kick you before you the game even starts. The last con for me is the graphics options. Game really feels like a console port if you look here...there are none. No advanced options to speak of, so if you do have a low end or high end pc, good luck with the settings. OVERALL though I give the game a seven, because it is a fun game. I recommend it, just wish they had dedicated servers and more graphic options. Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2013
    0
    Think of "Left 4 Dead", but with cops and robbers instead and about a million times harder. I don't know why the developers thought it'd be a good idea to make the game so fricking hard, but I won't be spending money on the second one. Collapse

See all 135 User Reviews