Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Startling Developments Detective Agency springs into action as On the Rain-Slick Precipice of Darkness 3 begins, set in motion by a call from a mysterious source. The ever escalating perils on the Rain-Slick Precipice of Darkness will season our tender heroes to their very core!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    90
    At five bucks, it's an easy recommendation for anyone even remotely interested in role-playing games.
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    83
    If you're at all interested in Penny Arcade, retro RPG's, or tranforming into a dinosaur, it's hard to go wrong with this one.
  3. 80
    Devilishly great RPG accessible to everyone – it maybe reminds of the greatest hits back in 90s but its playability is still modern. [Sept 2012]
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    75
    What Penny Arcade's On the Rain-Slick Precipice of Darkness 3 lacks in variety, it makes up for in hilarity.
  5. Aug 8, 2012
    70
    There's a pleasingly wide range of enemies to fight. [Sept 2012, p.110]
  6. Jul 21, 2012
    70
    Intentionally outdated and anachronistic, Rain-Slick 3 may appeal nostalgic jrpg players and fans of the original Penny Arcade strips.
  7. Jun 25, 2012
    65
    At a final length of about six to eight hours, Penny Arcade Episode 3 is a decent value for the money, as long as you keep your expectations in check.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    As a fan of old school Final Fantasy / Dragon Warrior style RPGs, I had a blast with this game... all and all it lasted me about 11 hours ofAs a fan of old school Final Fantasy / Dragon Warrior style RPGs, I had a blast with this game... all and all it lasted me about 11 hours of game play (which is decent for a 5$ game), not a moment of which I didn't enjoy. They took the best aspects of the old games (thinking about what an enemy might be weak against, tweaking classes and equipment, etc) and removed some of the garbage (having to stop and heal after EVERY fight... having to constantly re-purchase consumables... etc).

    Would highly recommend this to anyone who grew up on NES/SNES RPGs. Well worth the price of admission.
    Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    There's something about this game... I just can't stop playing. Retro RPG, funny dialogue, senseless battles... (a dinosaur in a suit, a guyThere's something about this game... I just can't stop playing. Retro RPG, funny dialogue, senseless battles... (a dinosaur in a suit, a guy in a walrus)
    For the price it is, it's a experience you should not miss.
    Collapse
  3. Dec 3, 2014
    10
    I was waiting for decades for a good game that will give me a Final Fantasy 6 feeling.This is it.It has also Cthulhu mythology intergrated.TheI was waiting for decades for a good game that will give me a Final Fantasy 6 feeling.This is it.It has also Cthulhu mythology intergrated.The game is fun.I give it a general score of 95 because I reserve the 100 for penny Arcade 4 which is even better. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    As a big fan of 16bit JRPGs this game brought me a lot of joy. It was really a fantastic entry and featured a lot of cool and unique classesAs a big fan of 16bit JRPGs this game brought me a lot of joy. It was really a fantastic entry and featured a lot of cool and unique classes (jobs for you Final Fantasy players) which can be mixed and matched for a large number of character/class combinations. This game is also entirely independent of the previous 2 episodes and provides a perfect place for jumping in. The classes are each very unique, ranging from a "tank" class which allows a character to taunt and draw aggro from enemies while their allies do massive damage, to a class which allows your character to transform in to various dinosaurs. The characters and enemies are all very well designed as well.

    On to my gripes; the game is insanely easy for the most part. If you know what you're doing then you shouldn't lose to any boss more than once. If you do get stuck however, there is a problem. There is a finite number of battles, which means you can't grind to higher levels and make the game easier for yourself. Another problem, the game is incredibly linear. If you were looking for a Squaresoft-type world map, then you'll be sorely disappointed, the game is pretty much on rails. Because it is so linear, it is also very short, I finished it in under 11 hours.

    That being said, the game is incredibly polished, and if you take it for what it is, it is a fun adventure. The game just got its first DLC (which I have yet to try.) Supposedly the game will continue receiving regular updates, so if you're worried about the short game length, that might change in the coming months. At a 5USD price point, it is well worth it.
    Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    This game is amazing, it's willing to stand out from the crowd and be something different to other games on the market. This game takesThis game is amazing, it's willing to stand out from the crowd and be something different to other games on the market. This game takes everything RPG's have in the modern world and throws it out the window, and instead of what we would expect a modern RPG to be like, it gives us something a whole world better, The only downside to this game is that it can get repetitive, but all RPGs like this do after a while. Yay for indie games Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2012
    8
    For $5 this game is an absolute steal. It comes with two other (very similar) games also. Old-school JRPG fans should find this to be aFor $5 this game is an absolute steal. It comes with two other (very similar) games also. Old-school JRPG fans should find this to be a novel take on the genre. If you are not into JRPG then this may be a bit weird. The writing is freaking HILARIOUS, although at one point in the plot near the end I became utterly lost. Won't spoil anything but there was some kind of twist that I still don't comprehend what happened or why.

    Gameplay-wise, compared to other JRPGs this is especially slow. EVERY fight, even minor ones, seemed to involve tons of build up. Unlike other games, you don't start with a big pool of MP you then use to cast spells. Instead, you start with 0 MP (by default), and earn 1 MP at each round start. So basically you have to save up MP if you want to cast big spells. Interesting system, but it severely slows the early game (beginning of battles I mean) in favor of REALLY INCREDIBLY over-powering you in the end-game (end of each battle). By the time all your preparations in the early game pay off, the fight becomes completely trivial and dull.

    Nevertheless, this game is still better than most modern RPG's in my opinion.

    For the price, I would not pass this up.
    Expand
  7. Sep 3, 2012
    5
    Penny Arcade's On the Rain-Slick Precipice of Darkness franchise has faced problems in the past, add into the fact that the game's developmentPenny Arcade's On the Rain-Slick Precipice of Darkness franchise has faced problems in the past, add into the fact that the game's development has now been passed on to a different company and you have yourself an interesting predicament. The major differences from Penny Arcade's On the Rain-Slick Precipice of Darkness 3 to the rest of the games in the franchise is going from a 3D adventure RPG to classic style, 16-bit era console RPG. Unlike the previous two games, you, as a player do not directly participate as a character, as you did the last two games. The graphics are "good" for the game, anyone knows that at the end of their life span, the Super Nintendo put out some truly mesmerizing 16-bit RPGs, some of the best art I have ever seen in that era of gaming. Unfortunately this game isn't one of them, it's a mix between Final Fantasy 5 and Final Fantasy 6. The art isn't terrible, but it could have been a lot better. It kind of reminds me of those cheap RPG Maker games. The combat is generally slow and tedious, I constantly find myself wishing there was a way to fast-forward though the fights. They try to make it more interesting by adding random rules to some fights, like double damage, or "everyone starts off with 7 mp", but in the end, it doesn't really add to the gameplay.

    The game has shops in this version, but everything is so expensive, you won't find yourself going there very often. Unlike a lot of RPGs in the era they are trying to replicate, there are very few items. Many classic RPGs in the early and late 90's had tons of items to collect, buy and sell. In this one, you get, a dozen, at best.

    There is a class system, but I find myself using the same classes over and over again. They try to be funny and unique with their concept of classes, but a lot of the times, I find myself just asking "why?". A lot of the character classes are really almost non-functional. You level up in this game, but not as the characters. Your base stats stay the same, instead you level up classes as you progress through the game by collecting experience points, this unlocks new skills and abilities. In order to actually enhance base stats at all, you have to collect items, which are few, far between and crazy expensive. It gives the feeling of character growth a very slow and tedious task.

    The game is also really, really linear. There are a very few sparse spots where you can travel off the beaten path, for a few moments, but it all quickly leads back to the main game. I feel like I am being forced at gun point to progress the main story and just get it over with. Does anyone else remember the engrossing games of the 16-bit era with multiple stories, multiple endings, and all of the extra stuff you could do?

    In the end, it's a pretty basic RPG, they try to do some things to spice the game up, but it just isn't doing it for me. In trying to replicate the concept of a classic 16-bit RPG, they actually emulated the bottom of the barrel RPGs, they did a mediocre job and produced a mediocre RPG. They could have done a lot more with it, they just didn't.
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews