Penumbra: Black Plague PC

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 171
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    Nothing is as exciting as looking forward playing through a horror game on a rainy night with a buddy. That's what i did, someday i will replay them alone but playing it with company is a great way since you can figure out puzzles twice as fast. With the same game atmosphere as Overture, Black Plague goes even scarier and a bigger experience. Totally worth playing. The atmosphere will getNothing is as exciting as looking forward playing through a horror game on a rainy night with a buddy. That's what i did, someday i will replay them alone but playing it with company is a great way since you can figure out puzzles twice as fast. With the same game atmosphere as Overture, Black Plague goes even scarier and a bigger experience. Totally worth playing. The atmosphere will get sort of ruined in the end of the game, more than that i cant say. Expand
  2. LeeW
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    Penumbra: Black Plague picks up where Overture left off, which I will not spoil, so play it first you fucks. I must say Penumbra: Black Plague's story is not as exciting, but is still amazingly written, with more characters than its episodic predecessor (an amazing one that you actually meet in Overture), none of them feel as darling as Red, but no one can ever again. The story Penumbra: Black Plague picks up where Overture left off, which I will not spoil, so play it first you fucks. I must say Penumbra: Black Plague's story is not as exciting, but is still amazingly written, with more characters than its episodic predecessor (an amazing one that you actually meet in Overture), none of them feel as darling as Red, but no one can ever again. The story actually seems more coherent in this sequel, and the characters are certainly amazing, even so that you have trouble deciding whether or not to actually trust them, whether or not they're insane. Unlike in Overture, the gameplay is even better. Since the developers got a bunch of complaints about Overture's combat from misunderstanding critics, they completely left it out. That and the fact that enemies are one million, nine hundred eighty-four thousand, one hundred forty-seven times uglier than Overture's dogs make this game both far more brave and HOLY SHIT at the same time. I believe it seems to be a bit shorter than Overture, but both together allocate to about twelve hours of gameplay. With the lesser amount of combat (nada), the only thing Phillip can do is hide, and in some cases, run like Indiana Jones as he does from one of those cascading boulders. Some of the puzzles are also a tad more challenging than Overture's, but that actually makes them even better. Buy the whole package on Steam or something. It's amazingly cheap and while a bit short, it is an experience you will not soon forget. And remember: Overture first. Expand
  3. TomS
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    The greatest horror game I've ever played. Compelling from beginning to end with some great twists in both narrative and gameplay. It's no Crysis but the graphics are fine... it's almost depressing how lowly this game has been rated by the games press.
  4. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    Three years after I buy this game and I still play it. Wouldn't mind seeing a Penumbra Episode 4 in the slightest. Fantastic game Frictional! Keep up the good work with Amnesia!
  5. Dec 2, 2012
    8
    And the series just keeps moving upward. Overture is a very good game, but Black Plague is a few steps up. The clever writing, characters, scares and atmosphere is still there. The puzzles are still well done. Anyone who enjoyed Overture has no reason to not enjoy this one.
  6. Jan 3, 2012
    7
    Penumbra: Black Plague is quite simply, a continuation of Penumbra: Overture. It might as well be considered one single game. The engine seems to be the same used in the first game, and most mechanics are identical. The atmosphere continues to be dark and creepy, with the addition of some new surprises that surface throughout. Everything is basically the same, with only the plot andPenumbra: Black Plague is quite simply, a continuation of Penumbra: Overture. It might as well be considered one single game. The engine seems to be the same used in the first game, and most mechanics are identical. The atmosphere continues to be dark and creepy, with the addition of some new surprises that surface throughout. Everything is basically the same, with only the plot and storyline developing further. The one major improvement in comparison to Overture is the amount of thrills found in this iteration. There seems to be more action and more atmosphere overall, which makes the game more enjoyable, more creepy and a bit more scary. The story progression isn't as interesting or original as in the first game, but at least it has much more detail and much more depth. The voice acting also continues its high quality performances. Loading times are atrocious and much longer than in the first game, which tests patience. Some of the puzzles included in this game aren't as logical as in the first. The unintuitive puzzles are more complicated and mostly involve trial and error during a particular segment of the adventure. There are also more absurdly hidden items and mechanisms, which makes this game much more difficult in terms of its playability as an adventure game. There is also more interaction between the player and other characters in the story, which quickly dissolves the feeling of being a solitary person in a creepy and scary locale. The developers decided to get rid of the melee combat instances completely (found in the first game), which I agree is for the best and makes the game more tense and more fluid. There are way too many interruptions for plot development voice acting. Without ruining the experience with spoilers, I will say that these voice acting pauses occur almost at any given time, without a focus on storyline turning points. They can get a bit distracting at times. Not having the ability to engage your enemies in melee combat makes the game so much more tense and exciting. The ending is very good and adds to the story rather well. Penumbra: Black Plague is better than Penumbra: Overture in every way, as it corrected some of the developers' mistakes and made the gaming experience more enjoyable as a whole. This is clearly the best adventure game I have ever played; totally exceeding Penumbra: Overture. Once again, the game runs a little bit short, but I suppose it is of adequate length after all, since it is an adventure game with lots of theme and mood. I am now looking forward to the third part in the series. It took me about 8 hours to complete. Expand
  7. CarlV
    Sep 7, 2009
    9
    I had already said great things about the first game, Penumbra Overture. So the second blew me away. Black Plague did everything Overture had accomplished and made it better, tweaking all the flaws from the first like the incredibly awkward combat. It also more then triples the scare factor of the game, replacing simple animals that were already dreadful with a horrifying new breed of I had already said great things about the first game, Penumbra Overture. So the second blew me away. Black Plague did everything Overture had accomplished and made it better, tweaking all the flaws from the first like the incredibly awkward combat. It also more then triples the scare factor of the game, replacing simple animals that were already dreadful with a horrifying new breed of danger. The game's story isn't going to win it an award by itself, and some people complain about the ending. I on the other hand, perhaps being a bit more flexible with plot, found the story memorable and thought provoking. Coupled with an atmosphere that is so dark, chilling and gripping that the game demands to be played fully emersed; at night, lights off. The graphics aren't amazing, but as the name of the series hints *Penumbra: The small area of light surrounded by darkness* , this is not so much about graphics as the lighting. The shadows easily hide the sins of the outdated graphics and while the lighting is amazing, it is rarely reassuring in the gritty, claustrophobic environment that is "The Shelter". Coupled with some underrated script and voice acting, not to mention immersive sound that leaves you jumping at every little noise that goes "bump", the game becomes a very frightening world for your character to explore, run and hide in. I bought this game for 5 dollars when it was on sale. Best 5 dollars ever spent. If you're a fan of horror, do not miss this game. The only reason I gave it a 9 out of 10 instead of a full out 10 is because the game isn't for everyone and it didn't smash down the definitions of adventure/puzzle games and set them anew. But it excels at what it sets out to do and creates not so much a game as more an experience, if not an utterly terrifying one. It's simply an amazing hidden gem in a sea of games. Not everyone will find it or even appreciate it, but that makes it all the more savoring for people like me who have discovered it. Expand
  8. DalekC
    Jun 6, 2009
    8
    Very fun game! I have not completed it yet but heck. The graphics are good - I am not much into adventure games but this must be my favourite First Person Adventure horror game of all time. It requires quite a bit of thinking, good story-line, and it is scary at times.
  9. GabrielK
    Dec 7, 2008
    8
    This game has a lot of fear, is not like other horror games. I have to say I never feeled this kind of fear before, its really scary so if you like horror games well you will be satisfied by this title for sure. The storyline is great but the bad thing is too short. For me finish the game was 4 or 5 hours and thats all. I give it 8 because the graphics are not so good and for the fact This game has a lot of fear, is not like other horror games. I have to say I never feeled this kind of fear before, its really scary so if you like horror games well you will be satisfied by this title for sure. The storyline is great but the bad thing is too short. For me finish the game was 4 or 5 hours and thats all. I give it 8 because the graphics are not so good and for the fact there is no weapons in the game, you only interact with objects and thats kinda boring sometimes. Expand
  10. RW
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    I can't see how this game got a reasonably low rating of 78. In my eyes it is one of the most entertaining games I have played in a while. Considering it was near enough a 2 man team.

    Whilst playing it the game always kept me on edge, especially with the eary music to add to it.
    Only £17 on steam, definatly worth a purchase.
  11. O.C.H
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best horror games for the PC. The puzzles are clever, the story is amazing, and it is very scary. Highly recommended for Overture lovers, and you should get Requiem after this. Did I mention it was scary? ;)
  12. ncloud
    Jun 6, 2009
    9
    I bought the Penumbra pack this morning and finished Overture by 1 PM. The intensity is like a drug, you just have to see what's behind one... more... door... Black Plague is a bit harder, because nothing is a weapon and you have to think quickly on your feet. The sheer nail biting factor of these games is worth far more than the selling price. It reminds me of the first time I I bought the Penumbra pack this morning and finished Overture by 1 PM. The intensity is like a drug, you just have to see what's behind one... more... door... Black Plague is a bit harder, because nothing is a weapon and you have to think quickly on your feet. The sheer nail biting factor of these games is worth far more than the selling price. It reminds me of the first time I played System Shock 2 -- creepy noises, bloodstained walls, and creatures of the night all peeking over your shoulder ready for a snack. Marvelous. Expand
  13. [Anonymous]
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    Awesome game ! Loved it till the end. MUST HAVE!!!!
  14. MichaelT.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    Terrific game with a well thought out story. Dark and scary as hell. Game developers please play this and system shock2 for a week before you make your generic shoot 10000 bad guys and 500 aliens (in the later levels) in order to save earth from doom. It might spare us all from the same old tripe we've had since doom was released. Oh and why no reader comments showing for this game yet?
  15. Hackney
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    This is a very good idea for a game. Keeps you playing with lots on innovation. More like this please.
  16. KeeganB.
    Mar 7, 2008
    8
    GFX are outdated and the game is very short. But talk about something you find out of nowhere that makes you just "go WOW this is awesome". The story is pretty decent and the fact that you have no weapons the entire game makes monsters coming after you all the more scary. The puzzles are quit well done, enough to make you actually feel smart sometimes for figuring it out. Definitely worth GFX are outdated and the game is very short. But talk about something you find out of nowhere that makes you just "go WOW this is awesome". The story is pretty decent and the fact that you have no weapons the entire game makes monsters coming after you all the more scary. The puzzles are quit well done, enough to make you actually feel smart sometimes for figuring it out. Definitely worth checking the game out you might really like it too. Expand
  17. Greg
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    The people complaining about the graphics in this game seem to be missing the point. The models and textures look just fine for small-budget episodic game, while the lighting is top-notch. The upside to these graphics is that you can actually play this game if you don't have a high-end GPU. As for the gameplay itself, the interface is great, and the way your character interacts with The people complaining about the graphics in this game seem to be missing the point. The models and textures look just fine for small-budget episodic game, while the lighting is top-notch. The upside to these graphics is that you can actually play this game if you don't have a high-end GPU. As for the gameplay itself, the interface is great, and the way your character interacts with the environment is very immersive. More importantly, though, is the atmosphere of the game. I have yet to play a game this scary. I almost couldn't finish it at certain points because I was so creeped out by it. The pacing is fantastic and though the plot is predictable you end the game feeling very fulfilled. Buy this game! Expand
  18. MrBigs
    Feb 7, 2009
    9
    This game is massively immersive, emotive, and well-written. This game is actually frightening to play, given the atmosphere, and the fact that you've nothing to defend youself with while enemies are charging in your direction. In a mass of flashy and empty blockbuster games that fill the shelves nowadays, this game brings gaming back to the day where games were deep and innovative. This game is massively immersive, emotive, and well-written. This game is actually frightening to play, given the atmosphere, and the fact that you've nothing to defend youself with while enemies are charging in your direction. In a mass of flashy and empty blockbuster games that fill the shelves nowadays, this game brings gaming back to the day where games were deep and innovative. It is quite short, however. I took my time throughout the game, and finished a wee under 5 hours playing time. It is also by no means a technical achievement. While the graphics do well on their own, there's some parts where the lack of budget seems to show through. My only other complaint is that some of the puzzles are generic in the fact that they follow the overly used formula of conveniently placing needed items in the vicinity of a puzzle for you to find. Small complaints aside, this is one of those games that will leave a lasting impression on you, which is the kind of magic many high-budget titles have been failing to do over the last few years. Expand
  19. AnonymousMC
    Apr 23, 2009
    10
    No game I've ever played before scared and compelled me like Black Plague did. I had the opportunity of playing it with a Novint Falcon peripheral, where the realistic motions become physical movements. Black Plague is the best game in the Penumbra trilogy by far. The atmosphere is all-around creepy, and game ambiance will make you jump with every scrape or distant thud, and theNo game I've ever played before scared and compelled me like Black Plague did. I had the opportunity of playing it with a Novint Falcon peripheral, where the realistic motions become physical movements. Black Plague is the best game in the Penumbra trilogy by far. The atmosphere is all-around creepy, and game ambiance will make you jump with every scrape or distant thud, and the integration of global lighting for shadows is superb. Hiding in a dark corner in an underground facility while an ominous grotesque figure down a hall walks toward you... terrifying. No way to fight, only to hide. Some moments near the end are truly unrivaled in suspense and terror. The graphics may be somewhat sub-par by today's standards, but any game developer that can inspire this kind of fear despite the graphics is a master of the art form. I really can't do it justice with words, so just play it. Any fan of horror games, or even someone looking for a scare will thoroughly enjoy this game. Just be ready for it. Expand
  20. [anonymous]
    Jun 7, 2009
    8
    Big improvement over Overture as far as combat and gameplay, only a few minor bugs get in the way but it is a great indie game with substance.
  21. HenryJ.
    Feb 18, 2008
    9
    Penumbra is dark, original and inspired. Gameplay has been thought way beyond the typical 'get new gun, shoot more enemies and win' formula. An original idea in gamin. It doesn't happen often and when it is this well executed you owe it to yourself to buy it.
  22. TomR
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    When I bought my Novint Falcon I got Overture with it. I first tried out some games and then I started up the game. Well, I have to confess, I was way to frightened to continue playing after the first dog so I invited two of my friends over. We screamed in fear many times and laughed after it, we fell in love with the game, it's scary moments, it's atmosphere, the physics and When I bought my Novint Falcon I got Overture with it. I first tried out some games and then I started up the game. Well, I have to confess, I was way to frightened to continue playing after the first dog so I invited two of my friends over. We screamed in fear many times and laughed after it, we fell in love with the game, it's scary moments, it's atmosphere, the physics and the fantastic story. When we finally finished it we had to continue playing, so we bought Black Plauge. Black Plauge was so much more scary than Overture (that had been extremely scary itself) that sometimes we just took a pause to play CoD: WaW and get some breathing. We screamed, we laughed and we somewhat cried. We had experienced the best horror game created so far. We had experienced the fullest of the Novint Falcon. We had experienced real fear... Buy this game if you like puzzles or horror but to get the most out of it get the Novint Falcon too. Expand
  23. PedroR
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Must give it a ten. Best story ever. The terror is awesome and the psychology scary.
  24. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    As the Spiritual Prequel to Amnesia, Bravo I say, Bravo!
    Whilst Amnesia was a Flawed game, this game has it's flaws too.
    The Combat is sticky, and a bit **** up. The... Subtley of it makes me want to turn off my PC and ahve a Breather-In. But it's a Survival Horror, it's supposed to be tense and with terrible combat! Amnesia tried to capture what was so great about Penumbra, but
    As the Spiritual Prequel to Amnesia, Bravo I say, Bravo!
    Whilst Amnesia was a Flawed game, this game has it's flaws too.

    The Combat is sticky, and a bit **** up.
    The... Subtley of it makes me want to turn off my PC and ahve a Breather-In.
    But it's a Survival Horror, it's supposed to be tense and with terrible combat!

    Amnesia tried to capture what was so great about Penumbra, but Frictional failed.
    Sure Amnesia had it's great moments and was VERY Scary, but it just doesn't live up to it's spiritual Prequel.

    *Ahem* @Frictional Games : Thank you for saving Horror from the monstrous **** it was sailing to.
    You jamp on the boat and got everyone into safety on the life-Boat.

    Too bad Resident Evil, and Silent Hill didn't make it, but you saved us from Mediocre Survival Horror after mediocre Survival Horror.

    RIP Silent Hill

    Go **** yourself Resident Evil

    Thank you Frictional. Thank you!
    Expand
  25. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    Black Plague is the second game in the Penumbra series. Admittedly I have not played the first game (Overture), but Black Plague picked up right away and did not leave me confused. The game's most notable feature perhaps is its incredibly effective spooky atmosphere and suspense. The dark, derelict areas, as well as the ambient music really do manage to absorb the player. Just as with oneBlack Plague is the second game in the Penumbra series. Admittedly I have not played the first game (Overture), but Black Plague picked up right away and did not leave me confused. The game's most notable feature perhaps is its incredibly effective spooky atmosphere and suspense. The dark, derelict areas, as well as the ambient music really do manage to absorb the player. Just as with one other game by this developer, Amnesia, there is no combat system, i.e. the player cannot attack the monsters in the game at all. The only means of survival are running and hiding. This greatly adds to the horror element and also makes it more realistic. The monsters themselves are somewhat scary-looking. To compensate for the lack of combat system, the interactivity with the items and environments is very good. The storyline is very interesting, and the main character's alter ego, Clarence, is in my opinion a very nice touch. I personally really enjoyed the puzzles too, in particular the final puzzle. Together with the philosophical message it tried to convey, it had a huge positive impression on me. Really well done. And the ending was simply amazing, perhaps even somewhat unexpected. Despite all these positive points, Black Plague's main con perhaps is that it is very short, and it's not like the game has much of a replay value either. This is pretty much the only reason that stops me from giving this game a 9. Otherwise I'd highly advise any horror fan to try it out, at least once. Expand
  26. Nov 4, 2015
    8
    Played all three parts. Can definitely say - this game is not for anybody or anytime. You really need to be in the right mood and dedicate proper amount of time to engage fully into the atmosphere of the setting - and that is what this game is all about - atmosphere! You creep in darkness, discover pages of someone's diaries written in the style of H.P. Lovecraft, explore mysteriousPlayed all three parts. Can definitely say - this game is not for anybody or anytime. You really need to be in the right mood and dedicate proper amount of time to engage fully into the atmosphere of the setting - and that is what this game is all about - atmosphere! You creep in darkness, discover pages of someone's diaries written in the style of H.P. Lovecraft, explore mysterious forsaken mines, and holding your breath brave the next corner while crapping your pants at every screech you hear! Awesomeness of horror! :)) Expand
  27. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    This, as a sequel, did an amazing job to improve on the down sides of the previous game and brilliantly follow the story on! I definitely recommend this game to anyone wanting a dark, atmospheric game to pay that isn't typical like Doom 3 or Dead Space is! An only major downside is that puzzles can be extremely difficult to complete and there are a lot of them but otherwise, a great game!This, as a sequel, did an amazing job to improve on the down sides of the previous game and brilliantly follow the story on! I definitely recommend this game to anyone wanting a dark, atmospheric game to pay that isn't typical like Doom 3 or Dead Space is! An only major downside is that puzzles can be extremely difficult to complete and there are a lot of them but otherwise, a great game! What makes it better is the DLC it comes with, Penumbra: Requiem which I have barely started and hope to enjoy as much as the full game counterpart. Expand
  28. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Penumbra Overture was a flawed masterpiece which demonstrated Frictional's knack at creating an unsettling atmosphere and well-done pacing. In Black Plague, Frictional immediately shows signs of learning from Overture: the combat has been fixed i.e. removed; the writing and storytelling are both well-executed and heighten the sense of solitude and terror. The game starts off a bit rough, but once it gets going, Black Plague has a very effective atmosphere which is helped, not hindered, by the story elements. Long written notes have been removed and replaced with environmental storytelling, ensuring the game maintains a more effective flow than Overture. The story has also been improved, with a particular sequence near the end which proved to be one of the most effective twists I've seen in a game. Overall, despite losing some of its predecessor's subtleties and a rocky opening, Black Plague is a vast improvement for the Penumbra series and will keep you engaged right until its concluding moments. Expand
  29. Oct 20, 2011
    8
    This game starts where Overture finishes and the game was a lot better than the first one. We now have creatures and people lying around and the imersion it creates scares me a bit, also the puzzles are a lot more harder now but also funny. Frictional Games really did a very good job in this game, bring it to a higher level where people could enjoy fun and scary moments.
  30. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Bought this game in the Steam sale for a pittance and loved it. Found the pace to be just right, and enjoyed the level of puzzles. It scared the beejezus out of me a few times as well. The control interface was non-intrusive and easy to use. Highly recommended.
  31. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    The game is still lacking in the graphics department when compared to Overture and once again, while the sound effects are used well, they don't sound very realistic. I guess this is somewhat understandable due to Frictional's relatively low budget, but the game''s initial presentation still could've been improved with some more polish. Otherwise, this game can be regarded as a straightThe game is still lacking in the graphics department when compared to Overture and once again, while the sound effects are used well, they don't sound very realistic. I guess this is somewhat understandable due to Frictional's relatively low budget, but the game''s initial presentation still could've been improved with some more polish. Otherwise, this game can be regarded as a straight upgrade from Overture, because combat is gone and the tension and suspense is heightened to a whole new level. This is probably one of the scariest games I've played and in terms of gameplay, it's quite a thrilling experience. Expand
  32. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Fun - 9/10
    Gameplay - 7/10
    Controls - 10/10
    Graphics Design - 9/10
    Story - 10/10
    All Time Graphics - 8/10
    Sound - 7/10
    Music - 10/10
    Replayability - 6/10
    Graphics for its time - 6/10
    82/100
  33. May 22, 2012
    10
    I just got this game yesterday, and I've been playing it constantly. Really fun, really scary, and a creative use of a physics engine. You can manually pull open containers, pick up and manipulate items, etc. It runs well, so most pcs should have no trouble handling it. There's a hint of madness in this game. (Okay, maybe more than a hint.) If a psychotic voice inside your headI just got this game yesterday, and I've been playing it constantly. Really fun, really scary, and a creative use of a physics engine. You can manually pull open containers, pick up and manipulate items, etc. It runs well, so most pcs should have no trouble handling it. There's a hint of madness in this game. (Okay, maybe more than a hint.) If a psychotic voice inside your head begging the monsters chasing you to "embrace me" sounds like fun, this is a great game for you. Expand
  34. Feb 20, 2013
    9
    All I can say is that I enjoyed this game a lot. Nice atmosphere, and quiet suspenseful gameplay. Recommended.
  35. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    My favourite part of the series, Black Plague really tops everything presented in Overture. The highlight for me were the surreal sequences, especially the one towards the end, which represents a dramatic turn of events and makes the story a lot better. The character now has to deal with a threat from inside himself: is he going insane? You should play Overture first, though, before BlackMy favourite part of the series, Black Plague really tops everything presented in Overture. The highlight for me were the surreal sequences, especially the one towards the end, which represents a dramatic turn of events and makes the story a lot better. The character now has to deal with a threat from inside himself: is he going insane? You should play Overture first, though, before Black Plague will take your breath away. Highly recommend the Penumbra series if you like horror survival with puzzle elements. Expand
  36. Apr 17, 2013
    7
    Overall a really good experience I'd play this over a bland, brown triple A FPS any day. The puzzles were clever and tricky, but not so illogical that I had to spend my whole time reading a walkthrough. There were also a lot of things fixed from the first game, but also a bunch of new issues. Not sure if it was my linux copy, or the game itself, but there were more than one graphical bug,Overall a really good experience I'd play this over a bland, brown triple A FPS any day. The puzzles were clever and tricky, but not so illogical that I had to spend my whole time reading a walkthrough. There were also a lot of things fixed from the first game, but also a bunch of new issues. Not sure if it was my linux copy, or the game itself, but there were more than one graphical bug, such as missing textures etc.

    But my major complaint is the voice of Clarence. In fact I'm surprised it's not mentioned more often. Typically voice acting is something I would leave as a "splitting hairs" complaint, but the voice of this very fundamental character is so utterly wrong it almost ruined the experience for me. He sounds more like a character from a Warner Brothers cartoon from the 1950s than what his character is really supposed to be. Any time I began to really feel immersed in the otherwise intoxicating atmosphere, his voice would chime in, sounding like an anthropomorphic dog with a cigar hanging out of his mouth, and the entire illusion would be shattered.

    Additionally I would like to add that that the AI could have been better. Now, I don't deliberately go into a horror game looking for all the strings and ruining the illusion, but when I'm supposed to be terrified of a monster that's supposedly looking for me but is instead stood stationary in a corner pointing it's flashlight at the wall, the fear very quickly subsides.

    Even so, there were enough genuinely terrifying moments, and sumpteous creepy atmosphere to make up for this.
    Expand
  37. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    This is definitely the best entry in the Penumbra series! The horror elements are better refined than the predecessor, and the monsters are more intelligent to force you to use your wits to survive! Artistically, the atmosphere, storytelling, music, and sound effects are phenomenal giving you little respite between horror and suspenseful events! The puzzles in this game are also someThis is definitely the best entry in the Penumbra series! The horror elements are better refined than the predecessor, and the monsters are more intelligent to force you to use your wits to survive! Artistically, the atmosphere, storytelling, music, and sound effects are phenomenal giving you little respite between horror and suspenseful events! The puzzles in this game are also some of the most intricate and well-planned out of any computer game I've ever played you'd better have a notebook handy when you play through this game or you'll be stuck for hours! Expand
  38. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    So basically this gets the beginning right from the end of the first chapter. Everything is better: puzzles, atmosphere, the plot unveils more and it is scarier. I liked it more than the first. I haven't played requiem yet, but IMHO the ending of this Black Plague can be the end of the series. I know that Requiem goes on but that it didn't get the same popularity as the first two...I willSo basically this gets the beginning right from the end of the first chapter. Everything is better: puzzles, atmosphere, the plot unveils more and it is scarier. I liked it more than the first. I haven't played requiem yet, but IMHO the ending of this Black Plague can be the end of the series. I know that Requiem goes on but that it didn't get the same popularity as the first two...I will play it anyway and see if I like it, but for me, a player could stop at Black Plague, the ending is no cliffhanger ending. Expand
  39. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    The game carry's on from where you left off from the game before Overture. The game has a brilliant story, very very scary. There are new monsters and there not dogs there harder to get away. They look a bit like the Amnesia monster. When the game ends it makes you want to play the sequel right away to see what happens next.
  40. Nov 1, 2014
    8
    Good survival game. Really added well to the story of Overture with some great twists and atmosphere. Some puzzles were a bit hard but this was a solid game nonetheless especially since its its only $10 for over 5 hours of gameplay
  41. Jan 4, 2016
    9
    Aún más terrorifico que Overture. La historia va tomando más forma a medida que vas avanzando en el juego y cuando lo terminas, te vas a quedar con ganas de pasar al episodio Requiem, pero éste último fué un desastre...
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 77
    Without the awkward combat of Overture, Black Plague is a smoother experience where the clumsiness of the physics and control systems are exposed far less frequently.
  2. Short but entertaining, Penumbra: Black Plague is enjoyable, a bit challenging at times, but worth the journey.
  3. The gameplay saw some nice improvements from the previous title and they only added to the fear factor.