Pinball FX 2 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pinball FX is back, and it is better than ever! Pinball FX2 offers brand new tables and a host of new features and improvements, including a new state-of-the-art physics model that surpasses anything available so far.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 90
    Pinball FX 2 is definitely a PC game that should be experienced by all gamers out there, from the hardcore pinball fanatic to the casual pinball player alike.
  2. May 10, 2013
    88
    It has taken them a while, but Pinball FX2 has finally hitting the PC in full force. This is a great port that features a vastly improved interface and some great community features that should create quite a competitive community on the PC platform. If only I didn’t have to buy all my tables over again.
  3. May 21, 2013
    86
    Pinball FX2 is just good fun if you fancy a quick game of pinball. The ball physics are great, the visuals are top notch and, barring some dodgy voice acting here and there, the audio adds to the experience too.
  4. May 27, 2013
    85
    Even for a relative pinball novice like me, Pinball FX2 has a lot to offer. The feel of real pinball is here, in a game that takes full advantage of its freedom from physical restraints.
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    83
    Pinball FX2 is still pinball, and pinball is still best played on a real pinball table. But this is so good that it takes an extremely close second place. [Oct 2013, p.75]
  6. May 12, 2013
    80
    Suffice to say if you’re going to virtually pinball on the PC, this is the way to do it.
  7. May 28, 2013
    80
    This PC version of Pinball FX 2 is just as great as the others. Its still one of the best digital pinball games out there with superb physics, great table design and good multiplayer features.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Pinball FX 2 is a great game and a great pinball simulation. Hardcore real-world pinball table geeks will find flaws with the simulation, but I think it's safe to say that this is as good as it's gotten. Most of the tables are what are known as "fantasy" tables. That is, they do some things that aren't possible or would be prohibitive with a real table. That said, they're almost all really fun to play. The Steam version comes with a free table that's excellent, so there's no reason not to try it out! Expand
  2. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Reflection: ON 16x Q CSAA: ON under graphics settings and you will have the most beautiful and meticulously crafted set of stunning pinball tables ever made... View:7 and any table I play is fun and full of surprises the more I play the more unexpected things happen and every table is an absolute joy to try and master...

    FANTASTIC!! 10/10
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    what can i say i love pinball and i love the originality of the table designs i have all tables for steam now (44 and counting) and most on PS3 as well but PC steam is where it really shines brightest 1080p, vertical screen mode, it just runs so much better and smoother. PFX2 comes with one good free table sorcerer's lair and its a table for folks to try out Not to complain about them thinking every table should be free because its says free at the steam store page they have to make money some how right. Expand
  4. mgd
    Oct 21, 2013
    9
    Only negative is the flippers have only one "strength" setting. You can't hammer or tap the flippers, reducing some fun as the table becomes predictable over time.
    Great game with *Amazing* demo system. You can infinitely play as many demos of every table as long as you like, once you get past a "demo score limit" you go into sudden death. The demo doesn't allow you to experience all the table has to offer (missions/ multipliers, etc.) but gives you a perfect idea of what the table is about.
    Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    A long awaited port to the PC is what I wanted and I have now got! Pinball FX2 is quite simply the best pinball game I've played because of it's nice interpretation of the game along with good physics and an excellent variety of tables.

    You play against your friends via high scores as you'd imagine but there is also a 'super score' feature that adds all your millions up to a total across all tables which adds to the dynamic but clearly a bid to get you to buy more tables but hey ho, they're a business not charity.

    The fun factor, pick up n play factor and casual set out makes this one of my current favourite additions to my Steam collection. If you're a PC gamer most of your games will probably be serious and competitive, this allows you to have a break and calm down.

    As far as buying this game goes you don't need to, the Steam version comes with a free table...the free table actually being a very good one too, one which so far I've totalled a few hours playing alone. All tables have a try before buy download which is why I'm keeping this review short and sweet, simply because it only takes a steam account to get playing it.

    The only downside to this game is in a sense the tables aren't based on a simulation due to the graphical intervention (you'll see what I mean). There are no simple tables for that matter which whilst I loved when I first got it, sometimes a simple realistic table would make this game more diverse and appeal to the sim lover too.
    Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    I really enjoy the Windows Store version that comes with the Mars table. Being a big fan of the original Pinball that shipped with Windows XP, the game takes the classic to another level with HD graphics, lots of tables, and cool side attractions. My only gripe is the fact you have to pay for other tables vs. an unlocking scheme. The Xbox integration is really good too. Expand
  7. May 14, 2013
    0
    Very average pinball game, lots of DLC to buy though so that's ....er...yeah...don't bother unless you particularly like ruining keyboards and paying for things that should be included in the game Expand

See all 20 User Reviews