User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshC
    Sep 14, 2008
    4
    This game is bad, plain and simple. To sum it up in three words: tedious, buggy, and problematic. A great possibility for a fun MMO is entirely wasted on this game. Truly subpar graphics, poorly written dialogue, confusing controls, bland quests, and the big brother that is Disney watching over you. The only saving grace is the mediocre ship combat ripped almost entirely from Sid This game is bad, plain and simple. To sum it up in three words: tedious, buggy, and problematic. A great possibility for a fun MMO is entirely wasted on this game. Truly subpar graphics, poorly written dialogue, confusing controls, bland quests, and the big brother that is Disney watching over you. The only saving grace is the mediocre ship combat ripped almost entirely from Sid Meier's Pirates! The bugs in this game are truly fun killers, including everything from server crashes, graphics clipping, freezing/stuttering, NPC warping, and my personal favorite "ship not available" when trying to board my own vessels. There are far better MMO's out there, even free ones. I do hope to see a truly great MMO based in the Age of Sails someday, but this is not that game. Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    8
    Really awesome, pirates of the Caribbean based, and really fun. The graphics however aren't impressive. The ship battles are super exciting especially when you can get a crew of 3 or more people. Boarding ships and killing the passengers is super fun. The missions are cool and a bit of a variety but some are not great and many are "kill x number of *insert monster here*" Doesn't take longReally awesome, pirates of the Caribbean based, and really fun. The graphics however aren't impressive. The ship battles are super exciting especially when you can get a crew of 3 or more people. Boarding ships and killing the passengers is super fun. The missions are cool and a bit of a variety but some are not great and many are "kill x number of *insert monster here*" Doesn't take long to load things. The ground fighting is fun and there are a variety of weapons and ammo. The controls aren't complicated and are easy to learn. The game has fun features like pvp and pvp ship battles. It has improved over the years as they have added more weapons, ships, and also more things that free players can do, which is always good. there are a few bugs tho, a lot of times npc's disappear and reappear, and they also warp around from time to time. Good overall. 8 out of 10 Expand
  3. DavidJ.
    Nov 8, 2007
    7
    Is a pretty good game, but there are still a few bugs, sometimes it stops between scenes and the screen pauses during battle. The biggest problem for me is getting other players to crew my ship, but when they do you can kick Pirate but.
  4. JulioM
    Mar 21, 2008
    8
    A really basic mmo, but easy to play and enjoy for the hole family.
  5. May 16, 2012
    2
    It's obvious that Disney created this MMO to milk the last remaining dollars out of the hugely popular Pirates of the Caribbean Series. The movies themselves are excellent, but the game...not so much. After playing the game for about three days, all quests and skills are locked up until you buy the subscription. Until you hand over your money Disney only let's you engage in basic shipIt's obvious that Disney created this MMO to milk the last remaining dollars out of the hugely popular Pirates of the Caribbean Series. The movies themselves are excellent, but the game...not so much. After playing the game for about three days, all quests and skills are locked up until you buy the subscription. Until you hand over your money Disney only let's you engage in basic ship battles. When that's all an entire MMO is reduced to, it's time to find a new game. Not to mention that it is extremely buggy and not well thought out. Most quests follow the same format of kill a bunch of certain types of enemies then return to the person who gave you the quest. This game either needs more dedication from the makers or shouldn't be a game at all. Expand
  6. JohnDoe
    May 9, 2006
    8
    While we can't see the gameplay or even a few beta screenshot what I can comprehend is that this game is promising to the last extent. The only part I wish to talk about is what relevance this will have to do with the movie at all. Disney could have made a pirate game nice, but to include a movie in which has nothing to do with the rest of the world? Fine fine, there are pirates andWhile we can't see the gameplay or even a few beta screenshot what I can comprehend is that this game is promising to the last extent. The only part I wish to talk about is what relevance this will have to do with the movie at all. Disney could have made a pirate game nice, but to include a movie in which has nothing to do with the rest of the world? Fine fine, there are pirates and treasure. But how can there be an MMO with just an ocean? And how can there be an MMO with Johnny Depp running around being better than anybody! As awesome as the idea grasps into my head, I just don't see it becoming a successful MMO at this point. More coverage from Disney would be greatly appriciated and, even, wanted. Expand
  7. DodongoSweetcheeks
    Jan 10, 2008
    5
    The quests are horribly tedious "errand boy" and "scavenger hunt" affairs. The graphics are choppy, there are bugs galore, and Disney is watching over you every step of the way to make sure you don't swear. That said, the ship combat is really fun and really addictive especially if you can get six other friends to join you on a ship. One person steers and barks orders while the The quests are horribly tedious "errand boy" and "scavenger hunt" affairs. The graphics are choppy, there are bugs galore, and Disney is watching over you every step of the way to make sure you don't swear. That said, the ship combat is really fun and really addictive especially if you can get six other friends to join you on a ship. One person steers and barks orders while the others man the cannons. Some ships you can cripple and then board to take down the enemy crew melee style. Other than that (and blackjack and poker) the game is a grind. Expand
  8. chris
    Feb 6, 2008
    5
    Its a very very fun game until you hit level 8 and then you start getting pop ups for unlimited access because you can't level up without it....which is 10 bucks a month (not worth it) needs ALOT of improvement constant lag, constant loading, the quests are average graphics are OK but not really that great. , the word dictionary is bad, overall i give this an 5. Play it if you like Its a very very fun game until you hit level 8 and then you start getting pop ups for unlimited access because you can't level up without it....which is 10 bucks a month (not worth it) needs ALOT of improvement constant lag, constant loading, the quests are average graphics are OK but not really that great. , the word dictionary is bad, overall i give this an 5. Play it if you like the movies but i recommend skipping to another game after level 8-10 because your just gonna get nagging screens to get unlimited access. If your gonna pay 10 bucks a month mine as well play world of warcraft Expand
  9. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    I admit, Disney watching over you to make sure you don't curse is annoying. The quests may be tedious, but this game is made of gold, diamonds, emeralds, rubies, and sapphires compared to the total **** fest it closed for, Club ****face, I mean, uh, Crap ****tin', I mean, Club Penguin
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Although it has a lot of fun parts, they don't fit together as nicely as they could. But the game complements the movies and offers a family-oriented online gaming experience free of charge, although the optional subscription has strong benefits. It just needs a little more time to grow.
  2. Whimsical, lighthearted, and youngster-friendly, Pirates of the Caribbean online can be an enjoyable swashbuckling diversion for the entire family, especially if you’re planning to plunder the seas together as a crew.
  3. PC Gamer
    50
    Pirates of the Caribbean Online is only good for those who want to feel tangentially connected to the movies. [Feb 2008, p.82]