Portal 2 PC

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5993 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    A great game which expands wonderfully on all the originals elements whilst adding some new ones of its own. On top of the fun the main game elements supply, there is also a good deal genuinely humorous dialogue to keeps things interesting which brings me to its main downside - the game does get somewhat repetitive about three quarters of the way through. It is, after all, one puzzleA great game which expands wonderfully on all the originals elements whilst adding some new ones of its own. On top of the fun the main game elements supply, there is also a good deal genuinely humorous dialogue to keeps things interesting which brings me to its main downside - the game does get somewhat repetitive about three quarters of the way through. It is, after all, one puzzle after the next. Still a great though but not a GOTY contender imho. Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Perfectly braingcrash game from very cool developers
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    This is a game that everyone can play, that everyone can enjoy. Portal 2 follows its legacy, only now you can experience the full might of it, and with your friends in co-op. Sure, it probably has half the content of other full-priced games, but it is over twice the fun. I understand that some people can be deceived, but it's really the only game I've played that has really surprised meThis is a game that everyone can play, that everyone can enjoy. Portal 2 follows its legacy, only now you can experience the full might of it, and with your friends in co-op. Sure, it probably has half the content of other full-priced games, but it is over twice the fun. I understand that some people can be deceived, but it's really the only game I've played that has really surprised me (besides the Half-Life series and the first Portal, which you should get too). VALVe said it and VALVe did it again: when we thought we had all the fun we could get, they managed to surprise us once more. Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    8
    well, the sequel is here, and i enjoyed it! its pretty much portal 1, except more of it. new puzzle elements and longer levels are a nice addition, better graphics are a plus, and the new characters are fun. sadly though, i don't think its any better than the first portal. the first was incredibly challenging and mind bending. it took me forever to figure out some of the puzzles in it, andwell, the sequel is here, and i enjoyed it! its pretty much portal 1, except more of it. new puzzle elements and longer levels are a nice addition, better graphics are a plus, and the new characters are fun. sadly though, i don't think its any better than the first portal. the first was incredibly challenging and mind bending. it took me forever to figure out some of the puzzles in it, and thats good! but when i played portal 2 and beat it, i sat and thought, "wait, thats it? no more puzzles? its over?" and the credits rolled. needless to say, i was sort of disappointed. it seemed too easy and too short, despite it being longer. fortunately, i played coop with my buddies, and i found some really creative and challenging puzzles, that took actual COOPERATION to solve, and i think thats the point of coop, right? in general, i thought it was fun, but too easy. but that doesn't mean bad. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    Loved the first game. Loved the characters and the story. The puzzles were fun and just the right difficulty, where you might get stuck for 5-10 mins before realizing what to do. Loved this one!
  6. Aug 20, 2011
    7
    Quite a bit of fun especially in co-op mode, it is a very amusing game with a whimsical performance from Steven Merchant but for a puzzle solving game it wasn't very challenging, which was a little disappointing.
  7. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    Great, just great. Plot is very intriguing, some giant computer is making fun all the time on you and trying to screw you as much as she can.

    I don't know how game is so simple and so much interesting. I don't like maze or "logically" games cos they are for narrowed minded ( no offence but 100% of that type of games are linear), and often non-logical. In this you have no bugs, no
    Great, just great. Plot is very intriguing, some giant computer is making fun all the time on you and trying to screw you as much as she can.

    I don't know how game is so simple and so much interesting. I don't like maze or "logically" games cos they are for narrowed minded ( no offence but 100% of that type of games are linear), and often non-logical.

    In this you have no bugs, no stupid hidden buttons, pappier under camouflaged door step or passage to find. Just riddle and your mind. Clean and provocative.

    GREAT i gave it 10!
    Expand
  8. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    This is an absolutely brilliant game. Everybody should own it, especially since the price dropped to only $30 on steam. The graphics are amazing, and the story was very entertaining.
  9. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 has answered many questions involving the Half-Life universe and really wrapped up the game. It keeps the challenge Portal had and multiplied it by two, creating this new world unseen in the first Portal not to mention Valve's always amazing comic relief
  10. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    best game I have ever played. creative game play, nice puzzle design. plot is pretty good. I think it will make half-life 2 - ep3 difficult to against this game.
  11. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    This is very highly overrated. Its not valve's best game. Nowhere close. The first installment of the series was the best. This though has really slow game play, and the trailers are a load of **** But aside from that, i actually really liked it. You see, overloading a game like portal with possibilities destroys it and makes it really mainstream. The storyline is good, but if you don'tThis is very highly overrated. Its not valve's best game. Nowhere close. The first installment of the series was the best. This though has really slow game play, and the trailers are a load of **** But aside from that, i actually really liked it. You see, overloading a game like portal with possibilities destroys it and makes it really mainstream. The storyline is good, but if you don't play the prime installment of portal, you will get lost in a forest of what the hell and starve to death. Expand
  12. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    I just bought this game a few days ago. I haven't beaten it yet (I know its short), but so far it has won me over. This game, like the first, has such a charm to it that your left flabbergasted at how well put together it is. From the graphics to the voice acting, to the story line and the way its put together to the puzzles. I know I will end up spending hours upon end on this game,I just bought this game a few days ago. I haven't beaten it yet (I know its short), but so far it has won me over. This game, like the first, has such a charm to it that your left flabbergasted at how well put together it is. From the graphics to the voice acting, to the story line and the way its put together to the puzzles. I know I will end up spending hours upon end on this game, probably not only with the main storyline, but also with custom content and MP. Thank you valve, you actually managed to create a game with a proper sense of humor (the reds apparently didn't "get it"). I don't mind that it's short, aslong as those hours spent completing the game are spent with a big-ass smile on my face I am good. With this game I am smiling after I shut it down for the night. Expand
  13. Aug 9, 2011
    5
    Great game for $10 but not much more. It was quite easy to beat the sp version in about 3 hours, just look for the white walls. Co-op is horrible if you don't speak portugese, spanish or german. If you don't have a microphone your games will end abruptly due to the inability to exchange tactics resulting in the other player disconnecting due to frustration. It should have been 3x as longGreat game for $10 but not much more. It was quite easy to beat the sp version in about 3 hours, just look for the white walls. Co-op is horrible if you don't speak portugese, spanish or german. If you don't have a microphone your games will end abruptly due to the inability to exchange tactics resulting in the other player disconnecting due to frustration. It should have been 3x as long to keep my interest and incorporated all the game mechanics in all areas. It seemed divided as if different developers made their own concepts yet did not collaborate to bring the entire experience together. I didn't approve of the negativity and condescending nature of the female voice, after listening to Cave Johnson's commercials. Expand
  14. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is really a masterpiece.When I played it first, I said 'Yes! It's a Valve game'.Because there is no game company which can make a game like this.Graphics,puzzles,gameplay,everything is perfect.Characters are very funny.I mean robots.Dialogues and cinematics are hilarious.I'm sure about that,when you finish this game,there will be a smile on your face.
  15. Aug 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really liked this game. The controls are spot-on, Wheatley is hilarious, and GLaDOS is back and eviler than ever (in the first quarter of the game). Portal starts you off by awakening from cryogenic sleep and meeting Wheatley, an Intelligence Dampening Sphere (as referred to by GLaDOS) that is voiced by Stephen Merchant, who is remarkably funny. As Wheatley takes over Aperture Science, the puzzles tend to get more challenging. The end is spectacular, and left me satisfied. The co-op campaign is also remarkable, straying from the storytelling of the single-player campaign and going for a more entertaining approach. The only thing Portal is missing is the magic and awe of the first game. In the end, Portal 2 is an amazing game and leaves a lasting impression. Expand
  16. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 Is An Amazing Game. The Script Is Hilarious And The Puzzle Aren't To Hard Or To Easy. The Game Is Definitely A Lot Longer Than Portal Was, I Didn't Encounter Many Glitches, And The Only Thing I Was Disappointed With Was The Ending Fight Being A Bit Easy. Overall The Game Is Amazing, And I Highly Recommend It.
  17. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Great game and game design!!!
    It proves that u don't need the latest engine or fastest high resolutions frame rates to make a good game though Mario has pointed this out for years. Though it's within the fps genera this is really a puzzle game with great sarcasm , cake anyone? The puzzle are incremental and few make u think if you have jump strait from portal, though if u haven't there is
    Great game and game design!!!
    It proves that u don't need the latest engine or fastest high resolutions frame rates to make a good game though Mario has pointed this out for years. Though it's within the fps genera this is really a puzzle game with great sarcasm , cake anyone? The puzzle are incremental and few make u think if you have jump strait from portal, though if u haven't there is a small mine numbing moment when u stop walking and start "portal(ing)" your way there!
    Game-play is fantastic and unrivalled Graphics are perfect for its purpose
    Sound is funny beyond belief
    Expand
  18. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    One of the best games that i ever played, so original, you got a first person game that dont need to even shoot a bullet, and its real nice.
    Valve´s games are really innovative so this one.
  19. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Puzzles most amazing and innovative. Audio of the game completely flawless. The thrills and surprises have made the game's story and the end of his predecessor and very originial. Perfect is what I set about this game.
  20. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    Genuine and a great successor to its predecessor. Definitely lived up to the hype although I still consider it short and may not be a fair trade, price-wise. Despite that, it was creative, intriguing, and ultimately satisfying.
  21. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    An already original and fantastic game got a sequel. I instantly knew that I HAD to get this game as soon as possible, because I knew I would love it, since the first one was so great. It turns out I was completely right about that. Portal 2 is much longer than its predecessor, it adds more characters, an actual plot, and it also adds many new puzzle elements to an already fun gameplay,An already original and fantastic game got a sequel. I instantly knew that I HAD to get this game as soon as possible, because I knew I would love it, since the first one was so great. It turns out I was completely right about that. Portal 2 is much longer than its predecessor, it adds more characters, an actual plot, and it also adds many new puzzle elements to an already fun gameplay, things such as excursion funnels, repulsion and propulsion gels, aerial faith plates, etc. The game manages to keep on a similar style of addictive humour as the first one, and it has fantastic voice actors who really have done a brilliant job. This game shouldn't leave you bored, because the puzzles are much more diverse now than in the first game and there are a lot of them. Additionally the game does bring up a huge variety of emotions throughout the story, both happy and sad. Portal 2 really is a complete package, because on top of an incredibly fun single-player story mode, it manages to have gorgeous graphics, a really great in-game music, and even a co-op play. I don't mean to sound like a fanboy, but a game that can challenge you both logically and emotionally is a game really worth trying. Portal 2 gets a golden star from me, no doubt about it. Expand
  22. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is a challenge for the mind, puzzles around ever corner. I thought the game was awesome. My favorite part is the end. This game is a game I didn't want to stop playing the story line is fun. At some points Wheatley gets very annoying and makes me want to mute it. One things for sure you really have to think in chapters 6 to 8. I hated 1 thing majorly Wheatley talking itsPortal 2 is a challenge for the mind, puzzles around ever corner. I thought the game was awesome. My favorite part is the end. This game is a game I didn't want to stop playing the story line is fun. At some points Wheatley gets very annoying and makes me want to mute it. One things for sure you really have to think in chapters 6 to 8. I hated 1 thing majorly Wheatley talking its funny at some points like when he says "I AM NOT A MORON!" but some other stuff he says annoys to hell but it makes up for it at the end. So really if you are thinking of buying it buy it you'll have a blast Expand
  23. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    I was a little worried at first at what would become from the sequel of Portal, for most sequels these days seem to be rushed and not done well. However, I found portal 2 to be an enjoyable experience. The main plot was great, the gameplay and the puzzles were easy at first, but during the game they became more and more difficult, which I liked. The typical valve humor and the easter eggsI was a little worried at first at what would become from the sequel of Portal, for most sequels these days seem to be rushed and not done well. However, I found portal 2 to be an enjoyable experience. The main plot was great, the gameplay and the puzzles were easy at first, but during the game they became more and more difficult, which I liked. The typical valve humor and the easter eggs were also very attractive. After I did the singleplayer, I went to co-op, which was terrific too. I am very sure that, if it will be made, Portal 3 will be a success too. Great work Valve, for making another great game! Expand
  24. Jul 26, 2011
    1
    the game is so easy that to finish it within hours, the game have not bugs that true, but the gameplay is boring and easy, only need to seach points for passing level. i also dislike the voices xD
  25. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is everything great from the original mixed with even greater stuff of its own. The puzzles are the same as always, but there are several new elements such as the repulsion and propulsion gels, the light bridge, and the funnel, that make them seem new again. It's even funnier than the original, with the Stephen Merchant-voiced Wheatley as the comic relief and GLaDOS as alwaysPortal 2 is everything great from the original mixed with even greater stuff of its own. The puzzles are the same as always, but there are several new elements such as the repulsion and propulsion gels, the light bridge, and the funnel, that make them seem new again. It's even funnier than the original, with the Stephen Merchant-voiced Wheatley as the comic relief and GLaDOS as always providing the dark humor. The story delves into what happened before and after Portal and into the history of Aperture Science. It's still a bit short, but with a game like this who really cares? Expand
  26. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    The only people giving this game negative are people being hired from other game companies. But in all actuality Portal 2 is a fantastic addition.

    The first thing you will notice is the massive graphical improvements. Even on medium settings the game looks beautiful and runs smoothly on any computer that can handle most valve games. I was surprised my 2007 machine was able to run it so
    The only people giving this game negative are people being hired from other game companies. But in all actuality Portal 2 is a fantastic addition.

    The first thing you will notice is the massive graphical improvements. Even on medium settings the game looks beautiful and runs smoothly on any computer that can handle most valve games. I was surprised my 2007 machine was able to run it so well. Part of my surprise was how many objects were moving at once. Literally entire levels change shape and don't reduce my framerate. Story wise Portal 2 is very interesting. First you start off trying to take out Glados but when you finally do, a very surprising plot twist occurs. I didn't see it coming, and I am a person who can predict exactly what happens in movies and games within the first few minutes. There are also several easter eggs that reveal more to the story of Portal however some of them are well hidden or are just in places you won't see if you just run through the game. The dialogue is also very entertaining, even better than the first as the characters are more dynamic. The puzzles are, while not mind boggling are much more challenging than the first. You usually won't be playing a level for more than 20 minutes, however the puzzles are on a much larger scale. Sometimes you will even need to backtrack to solve further puzzles. There are also many more puzzle elements than from the first portal. Portal isn't about creating holes and using them to make a box land on a button anymore. It's much more now.

    The Co-Op is pretty fun. You may want to play with people you trust though. Unlike other Co-Op games where one person can still handle everything, Portal 2 Co-Op is IMPOSSIBLE to beat without two people working properly together, and Valve designed the co-op levels specifically so people have to work together. When playing with friends Co-op is a blast, even if you are just goofing around. The only downside to the game is, like with the first portal, it is short. On a casual play through I was able to beat the single player in about 8 hours. However, it's still a lot of fun to replay. I clocked in 30 hours in the first portal and that was a shorter game with a lot less features. I'm sure I will find myself playing portal 2 for a long time.
    Expand
  27. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    This game was a very fun game! To put it simply it was AWESOME! The ending was great too, I never thought it would end the way it did! I recommend buying this game it is worth it!
  28. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is an overall fun experience. Based on how much me and my friends giggled and laughed aloud, it was funny. Portal 2 may not appeal to all Portal fans, but if you can look over some of the changes, the game is great fun for everyone. Pick it up when you can, and have a friend for the Co-op campaign.
  29. Jul 22, 2011
    6
    Portal 2 is a fun experience, but it's really short on content. Firstly, the Portal mechanic works great. Everything looks and plays really well, and it's a very well presented title. Also, the gameplay is very fun. It's around the system of clearing puzzles in order to progress further and further. The puzzles ranged from pretty easy to kind-of tough, but the game never got too hard thatPortal 2 is a fun experience, but it's really short on content. Firstly, the Portal mechanic works great. Everything looks and plays really well, and it's a very well presented title. Also, the gameplay is very fun. It's around the system of clearing puzzles in order to progress further and further. The puzzles ranged from pretty easy to kind-of tough, but the game never got too hard that I got stuck. That being said, the game felt short and lacking any replay content. The main single-player mode can took me 6 hours, and the co-op mode took me 2 hours, totalling at 8 hours. 8 hours of non-replayable content is a bit hard to press for a full priced game, and that's why my score is a 6, because there's not a lot of content to be found. Sure, it is a well crafted game, but it's a delicacy that's over before you want it to be. I didn't feel insanely challenged by this game, and it left me slightly unrewarded. Overall, if you aren't too much of a puzzle fan, this would be a great game for you. If you're wanting a challenge, though, this game doesn't offer too much of one. Expand
  30. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    A very very good puzzle game with a brilliant story, great voices and sounds and a quite good graphic. I really like the portal games for the portals and that breathtaking story.
  31. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    This is a great game. If you are on a Mac be aware that there are two bugs (swinging walls with no passage and portal in another wall that doesn't take) at the beginning of Chapter 5 that prevents moving forward. You need the cheat (contact Steam or get the online cheat commands because they don't know why it is happening) to move through the wall so you can progress further. If you don'tThis is a great game. If you are on a Mac be aware that there are two bugs (swinging walls with no passage and portal in another wall that doesn't take) at the beginning of Chapter 5 that prevents moving forward. You need the cheat (contact Steam or get the online cheat commands because they don't know why it is happening) to move through the wall so you can progress further. If you don't know this can be very frustrating, took me 3 weeks to get past this point. Expand
  32. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    An intriguing sequel to Valve's great experiment, Portal, surpassed the original both graphically and via storytelling. I personally hate games with near linear action, but Portal 2 is something I completed a few times in a row without being bored with.

    What I like: the expansion on events and back-story of the original Portal, the unlikely plot twists (for someone that didn't watch
    An intriguing sequel to Valve's great experiment, Portal, surpassed the original both graphically and via storytelling. I personally hate games with near linear action, but Portal 2 is something I completed a few times in a row without being bored with.

    What I like: the expansion on events and back-story of the original Portal, the unlikely plot twists (for someone that didn't watch spoilers, of course). And, of course, puzzle solving. All done in nearly perfect visual and sonic experience: the look of the game, dialogs, music and sound effects make this a really enjoyable game with large amount of sarcastic humor but also with a pinch of heartwarming gimmicks. After that, I'm still having a though time disabling a sentry turret even though I know it's only purpose in the game is to pack me with bullets.

    And, of course, there's that nice "that was IT?" feel after completing chambers and game chapters, which are reasonably paced and the difficulty level of them increases without making you frustrated about not knowing/finding the solution but rather leaving you curious about what is that something you've missed. There's also a fair amount of fast paced "action" sequences that require your quick thinking but without being extremely difficult though. As in original portal, there's inclusion of achievements - actions you need to perform in-game, some are pretty difficult, the other are funny, several you are given automatically after completing parts of the game.

    The absolute novelty is a very tight cooperation mode which requires interaction of two players. Word of advice: to spare yourself awkwardness, better train with somebody you know, because trying to find your game partner online may result with too much of a difference in experience between both of you - frustrating both ways.

    What I don't like: there's very little not to like, actually. There is some awkwardness in cooperative game such as controlling player gestures or communication, also you have to know that the game can and WILL use your microphone, which may result in awkward situations, unless you switch it to "push to talk" mode first - which I don't think is the default.
    Expand
  33. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    In many ways it's a lot better than the first Portal.. though it does seem a bit easier on certain levels.. The game's story is crazy and fun! ...and once you think the game is gonna be over... its NOT!! :) Humorous characters and gameplay & the cool new mechanics such as the 'crazy fluids' and shifting environments makes this game that much more Fun!! Co-op mode is very fun and at manyIn many ways it's a lot better than the first Portal.. though it does seem a bit easier on certain levels.. The game's story is crazy and fun! ...and once you think the game is gonna be over... its NOT!! :) Humorous characters and gameplay & the cool new mechanics such as the 'crazy fluids' and shifting environments makes this game that much more Fun!! Co-op mode is very fun and at many times very hilarious!! Performance is really smooth! Portal 2 is a QUADRILLION times better & more appropriate than those mindless & primitive shoot-em-up games such as those pointless duke nukems' or left4dead, those kind suck!!!... anyway, A puzzle game which can test cognitive(intellectual) skills is a game much worthwhile!! A++ for Portal 2 ! I really want to see a Portal 3 in about 2 years!!! Expand
  34. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brilliant! Love the Story, Love the Ending, Love the Gameplay. The only thing I don't like are a couple of the Characters (I didn't really like Cave Johnson very much) but apart from that it's the best Game I've ever Played. Portal 2 also comes with an amazing Co-op Feature which makes the Game even better! Everybody should play this amazing Game Expand
  35. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    This game is simply awesome, with the high quality level that Valve always puts on its games. This is a second part, so you MUST have played Portal before trying Portal 2. If you don't, then you'll miss a lot of plot related stuff and obviously the experience will be disappointing. The gameplay is more dynamic than in Portal. It is not a test room after test room journey until reaching theThis game is simply awesome, with the high quality level that Valve always puts on its games. This is a second part, so you MUST have played Portal before trying Portal 2. If you don't, then you'll miss a lot of plot related stuff and obviously the experience will be disappointing. The gameplay is more dynamic than in Portal. It is not a test room after test room journey until reaching the final boss. This time a lot of sudden events will drive you through huge scenarios where you'll have to use the Portal gun to make your way through. Moreover, the portal gun has to be combined with new elements to solve the puzzles. Graphics do their job. Physics related sequences (walls and structures falling apart) look pretty good. Music uses some weird effects to make it easily identified with robots. Sometimes it is a little annoying (specially if you play with headphones). It is a short game (around 6 hours), but you can't make a puzzle based game much longer without boring the player. In exchange, everything is incredibly polished in a nearly obsessive way. In my opinion, one of the best games of this year, but it is mandatory to be a Portal fan in order to properly enjoy it. Don't buy it if it is your first Portal game! Expand
  36. Jul 16, 2011
    7
    To make it fair.... the game is very fun and very well what I expected of the sequel. It's very funny and probably what I liked the best of it and it still keeps the whole Portal essence. However, like other reviewers, I did find it too easy and short for such a huge price and hype. The game is very good, and a must play... but certainly not enough for all the overrated reviews. 88-90/100To make it fair.... the game is very fun and very well what I expected of the sequel. It's very funny and probably what I liked the best of it and it still keeps the whole Portal essence. However, like other reviewers, I did find it too easy and short for such a huge price and hype. The game is very good, and a must play... but certainly not enough for all the overrated reviews. 88-90/100 should be it's real value. Expand
  37. Jul 16, 2011
    4
    I had a great time with the original portal and overall the second has disappointed me a little. At least with the first one there was some skill involved in hitting your portals that you placed, Now you practically get funnelled into the portal. I enjoyed wheatleys comic relief but overall it became a little annoying and personally I think they should have left. I certainly hope thereI had a great time with the original portal and overall the second has disappointed me a little. At least with the first one there was some skill involved in hitting your portals that you placed, Now you practically get funnelled into the portal. I enjoyed wheatleys comic relief but overall it became a little annoying and personally I think they should have left. I certainly hope there are some advanced maps like in portal 1 because some of those were really challenging and I loved the time trials and the take only this many steps part. Expand
  38. Jul 16, 2011
    7
    Definitely not worth the $50 that Valve's been selling it for. Glad I got it during its half-off sale. For the amount of gameplay you get (8 hours for me) and the overall quality of the game, $30 is a more reasonable price. But that's if they didn't then shake you down for co-op robot customization DLC. As others have pointed out, the polish of this game is phenomenal; the models,Definitely not worth the $50 that Valve's been selling it for. Glad I got it during its half-off sale. For the amount of gameplay you get (8 hours for me) and the overall quality of the game, $30 is a more reasonable price. But that's if they didn't then shake you down for co-op robot customization DLC. As others have pointed out, the polish of this game is phenomenal; the models, textures, environments, and animations are all top-notch work and quite believable. The puzzles are generally very good and I liked all the new mechanics that were added. I wish there were a few more puzzles with the gels plus some of the more traditional mechanics, though. The part that bums me out the most about Portal 2 is the story. It's very convoluted and gets rather stale towards the end. Unlike the first Portal, the story breaks into what I think is the main draw of the game, the puzzles, too much. Expand
  39. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is more fun if you haven't played the first one, because you've probably become used to the Portal mechanic, and it feels normal to you, however, even if you have played the first portal, you won't be disappointed by the second. The game was presented in just the right way, we were given just enough of the plot and storyline, the voice acting was flawless, McLain, Merchant andPortal 2 is more fun if you haven't played the first one, because you've probably become used to the Portal mechanic, and it feels normal to you, however, even if you have played the first portal, you won't be disappointed by the second. The game was presented in just the right way, we were given just enough of the plot and storyline, the voice acting was flawless, McLain, Merchant and Simmons can't steal the spotlight, they're all taking 300% of the stage, no one can forget any of them. The game is only 6-7 hours if you're smart, and co-op can vary if you're unsure about the other person's IQ, so thank goodness we can have extra maps and mods, and about to get DLC soon, and with all the gameplay's new mechanics, there is endless replay value. Portal 2 is more than just portals, Valve knows that, and they put so much detail on every corner, it's impossible to hate the game on any part whether it's graphics, plot, characters, or gameplay. Expand
  40. Jul 15, 2011
    8
    This game definitely has a more "pixar" type feel to it than the first game. Still a great game, There are a lot of fun new elements. Co-op is very fun. I loved the storyline, but it is all based on personal preference. Do not listen to the people who say this game is only worth 4-6 hours of gameplay, Personally, i am right around 30 hours so far and i havn't even finished everything. IThis game definitely has a more "pixar" type feel to it than the first game. Still a great game, There are a lot of fun new elements. Co-op is very fun. I loved the storyline, but it is all based on personal preference. Do not listen to the people who say this game is only worth 4-6 hours of gameplay, Personally, i am right around 30 hours so far and i havn't even finished everything. I did dock the game 2 score points because i believe it is a little too easy, like other people have said, "find the white spots, shoot portals". Expand
  41. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    A truly remarkable game, a work of art. The story is excellent, i enjoyed every minute of it. And the puzzles are more interesting than in the first game. Definitely a must buy game !
  42. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The negative reviews of this game are obviously by the fact that Valve added a store like the Mann Co. Store (TF2) into Portal 2. But the items that you buy here are only skins or taunts. However, the singleplayer has a GREAT plot, the best finale in the world, and the multiplayer it's funny to play. Best Game of 2011. Expand
  43. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    Nothing short of Fan-dibby-dabulous.
    I'll try and describe how awesome it is:
    It's so good...

    1) My Dog came back to life
    2) My Rubix Cube solved itself
    3) My water turned into wine
    4) I **** in my pants
    5) It gave me Blowjobs and ice cream
    6) Hitler got his gas bill

    What was I on about, again? The point is it's a damn good game and you should buy it because it's super awesome!
  44. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    This is a great game. Single-player is simply just awsome because if you played portal 1 you see level that you played.Co-op mode is also on great thing. You can play with you're friends and you also can equip so hats, suits, etc. I really appreciated the Gameplay because it not as easy as portal 1 was. I played portal one and It took me around two hours to complete the game. Portal 2This is a great game. Single-player is simply just awsome because if you played portal 1 you see level that you played.Co-op mode is also on great thing. You can play with you're friends and you also can equip so hats, suits, etc. I really appreciated the Gameplay because it not as easy as portal 1 was. I played portal one and It took me around two hours to complete the game. Portal 2 took me around 6 hours. I recommend this game to everyone. 10 out of 10. Expand
  45. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is an another one example of Valve's skill.
    It has so much soul, every pixel is overfilled with it. And the final chapter with aria and GLaDOS' song absolutely awesome, I cried during it, no, seriously. The script is simply amazing, no match to the rest of the modern games.
    Game's atmosphere also supplemented with characters, they are just robots but so humanoid.
    No game had ever made me experience such strong emotions. Thank you, Valve.
    Expand
  46. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    Portal 2's single player campaign is three times as long as the original's, but at only 6-7 hours for a single playthrough it is still a bit short. Thankfully, every moment is packed with enjoyable visuals, sight gags and laugh-out-loud humor, effective audio, interesting puzzles, and a story that is artfully told through interaction with the environment. With the challenges andPortal 2's single player campaign is three times as long as the original's, but at only 6-7 hours for a single playthrough it is still a bit short. Thankfully, every moment is packed with enjoyable visuals, sight gags and laugh-out-loud humor, effective audio, interesting puzzles, and a story that is artfully told through interaction with the environment. With the challenges and multiplayer co-op mode (a campaign unto itself) stacked on top, Portal 2 is like its predecessor easily one of Valve's best titles and a game that redefines the limits of the first person genre. Don't miss it. Expand
  47. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    The only reason this game does not get a 10 is because it has no replay value. As far as difficulty goes, the multiplayer is much harder than the single player and the difficulty of the single player is about on par with Portal. I love the new mechanics, especially the light bridges, and they are used very creatively throughout the game. The art and presentation are amazing as well.The only reason this game does not get a 10 is because it has no replay value. As far as difficulty goes, the multiplayer is much harder than the single player and the difficulty of the single player is about on par with Portal. I love the new mechanics, especially the light bridges, and they are used very creatively throughout the game. The art and presentation are amazing as well. Overall a great game that was worth what it cost me. Expand
  48. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    TL;DR: Game of the year. FREE custom maps and DLC add much more enjoyable time to the game.

    Yes, the original Source engine is old. It's being patched, and not renamed. It's also one of the most stable and moddable engines that I know of (and I am a modder). Yes, there were day-one vanity purchasable items. Let me repeat that, however: there were _vanity_ items, similar to, say, hats in
    TL;DR: Game of the year. FREE custom maps and DLC add much more enjoyable time to the game.

    Yes, the original Source engine is old. It's being patched, and not renamed. It's also one of the most stable and moddable engines that I know of (and I am a modder). Yes, there were day-one vanity purchasable items. Let me repeat that, however: there were _vanity_ items, similar to, say, hats in Team Fortress 2, or clothes in some other game. IT DOES NOT AFFECT GAMEPLAY. Yes, there is DLC that is for only the Razer Hydra, a $140 piece of motion gaming hardware for the PC. The concepts in the DLC will most likely be made through mods and custom maps.

    None of these affect how wonderfully good Portal 2 is. Gamesradar, for example, placed the original Portal at its #1 spot for games of all time. Portal 2 is better. Not only does Portal 2 have its own version of Hammer, the Source map editor, meaning that anyone with the know-how can make custom maps and distribute and play them, but Portal 2 also incorporates a number of features that Portal didn't have (which are in the trailers, I don't want to give out semi-spoilers).

    The voice-acting is wonderful and often hilarious. GLaDOS is as wonderful as she was in Portal. The graphics are top-notch. Don't listen to those who say that it has sub-par graphics; they're probably playing it on a console or with a really old graphics card; my GT130M, which was a low-middle-grade GPU for laptops two years ago, allows me to play Portal 2 at 1080p and full settings while maintaining a steady 30fps minimum.

    Also, all future DLC (for the PC) will be released for free. It's how Valve does things. (Note that the console DLC, notably the XBox 360 DLC, will have only one free DLC. This is due to Microsoft's policies, and has nothing to do with what Valve wants for its customers.)
    Expand
  49. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Definitely worth the money. Excellent sequel to the predecessor. Writing is witty, level design is great, and the fact that the Source Engine can still produce graphics like these is simply outstanding. Loved every moment of playing it.
  50. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    This game is nothing short of excellent. My main concern with the reviews I've seen on here is people calling the game short or "slightly longer than the first Portal." I beg to differ. Portal 1 takes about 45 minutes- 1 hour to beat. Portal 2 takes a good 4-5 hours to beat. I'd say that's a pretty substantial increase. The new puzzles are exponentially more difficult than those inThis game is nothing short of excellent. My main concern with the reviews I've seen on here is people calling the game short or "slightly longer than the first Portal." I beg to differ. Portal 1 takes about 45 minutes- 1 hour to beat. Portal 2 takes a good 4-5 hours to beat. I'd say that's a pretty substantial increase. The new puzzles are exponentially more difficult than those in Portal 1. The new game elements like the gels and faith plates are awesome. They add so much to the game. The storyline is great, and there are a ton of easter eggs that most people skip over (for example, when you're passing the science experiments, the one with the giant plant growing out of it has Chell's name on it). To be honest, the graphics could have been better. When it comes to PC games, console ports don't really cut it. Other than that, I can't find any other real argument with the game. Expand
  51. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    This is an absolute masterpiece. The single player is amazing- featuring new types of puzzles. The story is merged with the adventure. The map design and atmosphere is amazing. I loved the hauntingly old "old Aperture levels"- The hidden areas were great. And the characters and comedy were the best.

    The only complaint was about the price/length of game. That argument is a load. I thought
    This is an absolute masterpiece. The single player is amazing- featuring new types of puzzles. The story is merged with the adventure. The map design and atmosphere is amazing. I loved the hauntingly old "old Aperture levels"- The hidden areas were great. And the characters and comedy were the best.

    The only complaint was about the price/length of game. That argument is a load. I thought the length of the game was fine- as games that drag on lose their appeal to. The single player and co-op make up a great package.
    The ending was spectacular.
    Portal series is something everyone must play.
    Expand
  52. Jul 9, 2011
    9
    The story is absolutely great, and the game play equally as good. The only thing that let me down in this game is that a lot of the "puzzles" weren't really puzzles, just annoying tasks that detracted from the game. The co-op is amazing, the most fun I've had in a game in a very long time. Giving the robots character in the co-op added greatly to the experience, making it one to remember.The story is absolutely great, and the game play equally as good. The only thing that let me down in this game is that a lot of the "puzzles" weren't really puzzles, just annoying tasks that detracted from the game. The co-op is amazing, the most fun I've had in a game in a very long time. Giving the robots character in the co-op added greatly to the experience, making it one to remember. All up, this is a great game with an awesome story (not to mention all the great humor in it), only being flawed by the some of the puzzles later on in the game being more annoying than anything else. Expand
  53. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Buena historia, buenos escenarios. El juego es corto (no tanto como el anterior) pero muy intenso. La IA de los 2 robots tiene mas personalidad que la mayoría de los humanos de otros juegos. No le doy el 10 porque el modo coop tiene muy pocos niveles oficiales y se hace cortísimo.
  54. Jul 7, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is great fun - it really is. The issue that I have is that it's too much, and at the same time too little.
    First the good - it's clever, it's funny, it's got a great story and it's gorgeously designed. Every level is beautiful, everything aspect of the game is polished to a shine.
    But for a full-price game it just doesn't have enough content or replay value. I'm sorry, what it has
    Portal 2 is great fun - it really is. The issue that I have is that it's too much, and at the same time too little.
    First the good - it's clever, it's funny, it's got a great story and it's gorgeously designed. Every level is beautiful, everything aspect of the game is polished to a shine.
    But for a full-price game it just doesn't have enough content or replay value. I'm sorry, what it has is outstanding, but 6-8 hours to play through it does not justify $50. This is not to say that the game should be longer, however, which brings me to my next quibble: as short as it was, it actually felt too long. What was great about Portal was its perfect length and pacing. It was over before you were tired of it. As much fun as Portal 2 is, there's only so much you can do with the concept, and what you can do is make about 4 hours of awesome fun.
    Overall, though, it's a great game, and if you find it for under $40 you couldn't make a better purchase for your money.
    Expand
  55. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    Put it this way... I absolutely hate all puzzle games. I hate them with a passion that burns like your granny's cystitis. I'd rather pull your teeth out then use them to pull my teeth out than play one.... apart from Portal 2. Okay, so it's replayability is precisely zero, but good lord, is it good on the first run or what? The style is amazing, it gets the brain going without making youPut it this way... I absolutely hate all puzzle games. I hate them with a passion that burns like your granny's cystitis. I'd rather pull your teeth out then use them to pull my teeth out than play one.... apart from Portal 2. Okay, so it's replayability is precisely zero, but good lord, is it good on the first run or what? The style is amazing, it gets the brain going without making you want to put your head through a hole in the wall you'd previously made with the head of the game designer, and the compulsion to continue to the next test is likely to cause some seriously bleary eyes at work. Fair enough, if you really can't stomach the idea of a fairly slow moving game that involves more grey cells than it requires to left click then type "lol nub pwnt" (or words to that effect) then avoid this like it's Fukushima Daiichi, but if you want a really unique (excludes the original Portal... obviously), absorbing, and just downright cool game, buy this. 9/10... only due to lack of replayability, the rest is beyond criticism. Expand
  56. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    The combined experience of the singleplayer and multiplayer campaigns is, quite simply, a prime example of why Video Games can be considered a respectable entertainment medium. Delightful, funny, challenging, and rewarding from beginning to end, Portal 2 offers you and a friend an unforgettable journey through the world of Aperture Science.
  57. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is an EXCELLENT GAME.... It starts off where portal 1 ended and the graphics are a slight improvement the game itself runs smooth, I have NOT had a single issue so far with 10 hours of game play. For those who gave this game a bad review shame on you, your style sucks anyway.
  58. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. Good graphics, good history, good controls, good coop, good maps, good custom maps.... I already playing custom coop maps. Games with mod-tools are the best ever!!!
  59. Jul 3, 2011
    6
    Anyone disappointed with this game is just dead and hallow inside, there is so much character and entertainment in this game it is hard to not love it. The ending is one of the most satisfying things (next to portal 1) that I've seen in recent years and figuring out the multitude of puzzles in this game is incredibly rewarding.
  60. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    The sequel "makes the original look like the prototype it was" by expanding the game in gameplay and story. The graphics and sound are superior even though it's on the source engine .Overall it was a worthwhile game but did not live up to the massive amount of hype it created .
  61. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Wow, what can't I say about Portal 2?
    First off its amazing for its humor, game play, and puzzles.
    Oh god the puzzles. I was stumped more than once, but that didn't keep me from playing.
    I like keeping reviews short, so all I have to say is that Portal 2 is one of the first games in a long time that I've really, really wanted.
  62. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    A worthy sequel, that sums it all up. The biggest complaint I have is the humor is more low-brow rather than dark and ironic like Portal 1 was. Still...it's a must-play. Valve has put out an incredibly polished and enjoyable game here. Oh, and Cave Johnson totally steals the show!
  63. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    in Developer's about it so quickly wasted energy. Others were removed 2 Developer's regime is a regime of speed and power mode, Crysis 2 has two modes would have even better. The developers have made one mistake stupid enough protagonist Alcatraz not not say a word as something silly in our time well, it's very small cons of srovneniyu with the advantages of the game such as the positivein Developer's about it so quickly wasted energy. Others were removed 2 Developer's regime is a regime of speed and power mode, Crysis 2 has two modes would have even better. The developers have made one mistake stupid enough protagonist Alcatraz not not say a word as something silly in our time well, it's very small cons of srovneniyu with the advantages of the game such as the positive side of his suit. Types of shooter games have changed the usual shooter shooters such as Call of Duty, Battlefield. So as impurity shooters as Bulletstorm, Duke Nukem. And there are half as stealth stealth already long gone and will take place stealth sex stelae and games such as Crysis 2 and Deus Ex: Human Revolution. Deus Ex came out had not yet left the first game of Crysis 2! Expand
  64. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This game is nothing short of excellent. It is interesting, clever, funny and completely addictive. The duel player co op is fantastic too. Playing portal 1 first is not essential but it would be beneficial to the storyline, its also a fantastic game to start with. I hope there will be a portal 3!
  65. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is smart, funny, has a story, that keeps you interested the whole time and, of course, makes you think. There's no doubt - its a game masterpiece.
  66. Jun 28, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game. I am not a fan of puzzle games in general but this one had enough of a story to keep me engaged. The writing is pretty funny at the start, but gets less and less funny as the game progresses. The puzzles themselves are genuinely challenging, and for someone who hasn't played Portal 1 the learning curve is slow and forgiving, which is a great thing. The worst thing aboutNot a bad game. I am not a fan of puzzle games in general but this one had enough of a story to keep me engaged. The writing is pretty funny at the start, but gets less and less funny as the game progresses. The puzzles themselves are genuinely challenging, and for someone who hasn't played Portal 1 the learning curve is slow and forgiving, which is a great thing. The worst thing about this game is that the camera angles occasionally gave me headaches, and chapters 6-7 in the warehouse were rather boring. The concept itself is VERY original and fun though, I found myself imagining portal moves even during non-gaming hours, Lol. Give this game a shot, it is worth it. Expand
  67. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    This game was just pure genius. The design, the character development, it was all done beautifully. I question why this game doesn't have at LEAST a score of 96. It was different from the first game in some ways, but I liked that. Using the exact same atmosphere of the first game would've just felt like more of an unoriginal repeat. Anyone reading this that enjoys Valve games but hasn'tThis game was just pure genius. The design, the character development, it was all done beautifully. I question why this game doesn't have at LEAST a score of 96. It was different from the first game in some ways, but I liked that. Using the exact same atmosphere of the first game would've just felt like more of an unoriginal repeat. Anyone reading this that enjoys Valve games but hasn't yet played Portal 2... I beg you, buy this game, you will grin from ear to ear till it hurts.

    And even then, you'll just keep grinning anyway.
    Expand
  68. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 was once again a job well done by Valve. The game contained everything from comedy to unique entertainment. It is a very unique game overall and had many new mechanisms compared to the first Portal. I believe they did an excellent job creating the sequel to an awesome game.
  69. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Best game of the decade by far. brilliantly built and presented perfectly. Perfect mix so story humour and puzzles to keep gamers amused for years and years to come. Another 10/10 from valve.
  70. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    I have a few things to say and I will say them in a fashion trolls will understand.
    1: Not 3 hours u mad?
    If you played the game, you would discover its 8-10 hours at the minimum. 2: DLC is optional u mad? Sure, there is a total, in the Robot Enrichment store, of $80 worth of DLC, but it is all optional, the only change to the gameplay experience you get, is a nice hat or a glow trail on
    I have a few things to say and I will say them in a fashion trolls will understand.
    1: Not 3 hours u mad?
    If you played the game, you would discover its 8-10 hours at the minimum.
    2: DLC is optional u mad?
    Sure, there is a total, in the Robot Enrichment store, of $80 worth of DLC, but it is all optional, the only change to the gameplay experience you get, is a nice hat or a glow trail on your robot. And any DLC that actually is created to extend gameplay by VALVe, is free on steam, and about 2 dollars on consoles.
    3: Not a console port u mad?
    Firstly, a console port? Are you Fuc*ing kidding me? VALVe started making games for the PC. The only reason they started making games for consoles is because gamers shifted to consoles. If there were still the number of gamers on the PC as there were in 2002, people would know Fallouts 2 and 1 existed, that VALVe made Left 4 Dead, and that the internet is serious business.
    4: Too expensive u mad?
    first, all videogames these days start at 60 bucks. The last game I saw that released at something that wasn't $60 was Red Dead Redemption, which released at $90. So you are getting a good deal here.
    5: Bad voice acting u mad?
    Bad voice acting? Bad voice Acting?! This has the greatest voice acting I have heard in a recent videogame. Here, I will quote 4 games, then two portal quotes.
    1: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
    "Ramirez, go take down that chopper!"
    2: Call of Duty: Black Ops: Zombies!
    "Dempsey: Kickin' ass and makin' messes!"
    3: Duke Nukem: Forever
    "I'm kickin' ass and chewin' bubblegum, and I'm all outta gum."
    4: Portal 2 quote number one:
    "Well done. Here are the test results: You are a horrible person. I'm serious, that's what it says: A horrible person. We weren't even testing for that. Don't let that "horrible person" thing discourage you. It's just a data point. If it makes you feel any better, science has now validated your birth mother's decision to abandon you on a doorstep." -GLaDOS
    5: Portal 2 quote number 2:
    "When life gives you lemons, don't make lemonade. Make life take the lemons back! Get mad! I don't want your damn lemons, what am I supposed to do with these? Demand to see life's manager! Make life rue the day it thought it could give Cave Johnson lemons! Do you know who I am? I'm the man who's gonna burn your house down! With the lemons! I'm gonna get my engineers to invent a combustible lemon that burns your house down!" -Cave Johnson
    I believe I have just proven my point on voice acting.
    6: Lol bad level design u mad?
    Okay, first of all, at least you have room to move around in this game. In all the other games out today, your either on a flat stretch of land with enemies shooting at you from all sides, or your in a cramped corridor, with enemies shooting at you from all sides.
    7: Trololol shi*ty graphics u mad?
    Who cares if the graphics are aged? Thats the same thing as saying you would, right out of high school, living in a studio apartment, buy the 500,000 dollar brand new, 2012 model car, when it would be practical to buy the 2006 model, 15,000 dollar car. Thats the main reason new games are so expensive and take so long to release. There is alot of work put into the engine, but no work into everything else.
    Cave Johnson were done here.
    Expand
  71. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    The new mechanics introduced in Portal 2 really give it a new angle on puzzles, where sometimes you nearly facepalm after figuring out how simple the puzzle you've been staring at for half an hour really are. Character development of supporting cast is well done, The humor is still there despite the lack of a good meme (near as I can tell). I have not yet done the multiplayer (holding thatThe new mechanics introduced in Portal 2 really give it a new angle on puzzles, where sometimes you nearly facepalm after figuring out how simple the puzzle you've been staring at for half an hour really are. Character development of supporting cast is well done, The humor is still there despite the lack of a good meme (near as I can tell). I have not yet done the multiplayer (holding that so a buddy can get achievement) but this is one of the most entertaining games I've played in a long time. The notable downside is the low replay value, unless you space it out long enough to forget all the solutions and forget the humor. I'd still say this game is totally worth buying, low replay value is the only reason I'm scoring it below a 10. Expand
  72. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    Portal is one of the few games to exist in the industry that contains some genuine science fiction. There is no shortage to games set in a science fiction universe but getting to interact with a portal gun gives us a chance to interact with the science of fiction. Its such and obvious opportunity of games but sadly is missing by most popular titles in the industry whom would rather focusPortal is one of the few games to exist in the industry that contains some genuine science fiction. There is no shortage to games set in a science fiction universe but getting to interact with a portal gun gives us a chance to interact with the science of fiction. Its such and obvious opportunity of games but sadly is missing by most popular titles in the industry whom would rather focus on the immature sensation of violence. Portal 2s focus on good design and puzzle solving rather than the immaturity of violence and 'bad-ass'ness is a big plus making it stand out as intelligent from the dumb gaming crowd. It's pacing is for the most part excellent but not better than the original. There is some filler in portal 2 and although a longer game is what fans (including myself) asked for, a longer game does not make it a better game. The visual design is terrific. The simple robot design, architecture, and visual atmosphere enhances the game play, story and brings something new and original to the bloated science fiction side of video games. A big shout out also goes to the music, its worth listening to just on its own. The character development of GlaDos is fantastic, although in the first Portal she is a simply a funnier copy of the A.I character: Dave from 2001: Space Odyssey, Valve explores GlaDos even more and in a slight different direction making her one of the best characters of video games in years and a terrific villain. Its an achievement to how much we actually CARE about the robots in Portal 2. Portal 2 does however fall into the common video game trap of spoon feeding players where to go, and almost not allowing a player to get stuck for too long and then master the gameplay. I read a lot of over praise to how flawless the puzzles are however I cant feel that they did not made them hard enough (which would have made them better) just to keep the story flowing, it is a puzzle game after all, please make some HARD puzzles. Portal 2 is a satisfying title full of memorable moments, witty laugh out loud humour and a plot with unpredictable surprises and joins the handful of must play titles of this generation. It would have been so easy for most developers to screw up, but Valve pulled it off as well as they could. Its not the perfect 10 that people keep screaming, and its not better than the original which I would almost call a masterpiece but is one of the best games this generation.â Expand
  73. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 follows in the same vein as the first with a slow start progressing into more difficult puzzles with some high-paced portions strewn throughout. The puzzles range from cake (is a lie) to "let's take a step back and think" but I was disappointed they were not more timing-based offerings. The story was predictable, but incredibly well-written and witty; The characters love-able andPortal 2 follows in the same vein as the first with a slow start progressing into more difficult puzzles with some high-paced portions strewn throughout. The puzzles range from cake (is a lie) to "let's take a step back and think" but I was disappointed they were not more timing-based offerings. The story was predictable, but incredibly well-written and witty; The characters love-able and at times, downright hilarious. I really enjoyed the single-player mode and then you find out there's more to do in the co-op mode. 9/10 Expand
  74. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Portal is very very good game and Portal 2? Excellent, you must play it. It's very very good game (and sometimes hard :-) Buy it now, i know what am i saying. Simply good-est game from Valve i ever seen before. My score is 10/10.
  75. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    The most fun game I ever played.Ð
  76. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Incredible game. A single player mode you'll never forget. Co-op is tons of fun with friends and microphones. I highly recommend this game. The puzzles are just right, not too hard, not too easy. I can't wait for the new DLC!!! 10/10
  77. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    portal 2 is very cool as you know it will be. don't trust the bad reviews for this game! trust the good ones! (lazy review with no caps). it has co-op, great story, awesome graphics, awesome futuristic settings, and lots of puzzles that you can expect from the last game. simply one of the best game of 2011. they removed annoying puzzles like the energy orb that forces you to wait untilportal 2 is very cool as you know it will be. don't trust the bad reviews for this game! trust the good ones! (lazy review with no caps). it has co-op, great story, awesome graphics, awesome futuristic settings, and lots of puzzles that you can expect from the last game. simply one of the best game of 2011. they removed annoying puzzles like the energy orb that forces you to wait until it's settled up with the annoying receiver stuff, and add more new elements like the gel that will speed up your character, or jump like almost zero gravity, and even create portals in impossible places! the game also adds cooperative campaign which you and your friend can participate and complete together. the greatest part of the cooperative campaign is that there is 100% team work. it's perfectly executed. but the annoying part is that if your friend is stupid and can't think with portals. now the thing that lacks on this game is the single player is a little short. and it's a puzzle game. once you know how to solve each of every levels in portal 2, i bet you will complete this game in only 4 hours. and you suffer yourself like 12-13 hours to beat this game and if you don't know how to beat the s*** out of the puzzle you will ended up looking on youtube. shamefully, there are no extras in this game. almost no replay value. no interesting secret stuff. and if you start playing it with cheats, you better end the game normally. i guess the only effort ending the game is that you can use cheats later. so that's my review on portal 2. a score of [ 9.6 ] judging all the stuff above that pisses me off Expand
  78. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    This game was the best game I've ever played. I thought I was watching a movie. I thought I was Chell. Why isn't my life this cool? Enough said. Best Game of 2011 right here.
  79. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although I miss GLaDOS's cake obsession and the Aperture Science High Energy Pellet, I understand what happened to them. So regardless Valve's Portal 2 is an extremely well done sequel to, what turned out to become, the best test of a physics system ever. It not only matched it's predecessor, but surpassed it in the way of length, complexity, graphics detail, story depth, and overall gameplay. It is well thought out, well polished, and addictive. As of now, it's still expensive, but it's worth every penny. So, in short. Portal 2, AWESOME GAME!!!
    Nuff said.
    Expand
  80. Jun 21, 2011
    6
    Shallow game play. Uninteresting plot. Sure it's got portals, and a slew of new physics features in it, but you never quite seem them all come together. You go through several chambers exploring a new and interesting technology only to never see them again for the rest of the game.

    The puzzles are simple and short in comparison to the first game. Well done, but certainly not the
    Shallow game play. Uninteresting plot. Sure it's got portals, and a slew of new physics features in it, but you never quite seem them all come together. You go through several chambers exploring a new and interesting technology only to never see them again for the rest of the game.

    The puzzles are simple and short in comparison to the first game. Well done, but certainly not the innovative game that was expected.
    Expand
  81. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Everything is improved from the first game. One of the best games of the year so far. If you liked the first one then you will like this one. This game has no flaws to be honest 10/10
  82. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    One of the best games made on a source engine. Better than first part, but have in mind that first Portal wasn't and standalone title, just small ad-don to Orange Box. This one could be more challengeable, but I know kids on consoles have problem with playing games that makes a challenge. ~8h of playing worth cash I spent on it.
  83. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    If there is such thing as a perfect sequel, this is it. Truly unbelievable. That's all you need to know. I had to add more to fir the 150 character limit, so I'll just quote GLaDOS. Blah, Blah, Blah, Blah, Blah, Blah, Blah, Blah, Blah, Blah, Blah.
  84. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    Great game. Took me ten hours. Some of the puzzles actually ... uhh... puzzled me?Unfortunately, as with all puzzle games, no replay value at all. Didn't get old for me at all, I found it fun all the way through tenth hour. I can't wait to play the co-op part of the game. That should be fun. But i agree that the game is good to rent for a weekend and play co-op but not worth fiftyGreat game. Took me ten hours. Some of the puzzles actually ... uhh... puzzled me?Unfortunately, as with all puzzle games, no replay value at all. Didn't get old for me at all, I found it fun all the way through tenth hour. I can't wait to play the co-op part of the game. That should be fun. But i agree that the game is good to rent for a weekend and play co-op but not worth fifty bucks. GLADOS and Wheatly were... ummm... interesting. Their humor was the kind that you can smile at but not any LOL material there. Needs a level editor where you can make your own puzzles and post them online for others to solve. THAT would make the game worth a lot more than 50 bucks for me. And a question to valve, "Where is HL2EP3??" (that last question did not affect my rating) Expand
  85. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    A beautiful game. I have enjoyed 15hrs of gameplay - singleplayer and co-op a few times with various people. I gave it 9 because they took out time trials D: and some more abstract mind bending puzzles would be nice.

    Props to valve for so quickly releasing the authoring too. Bring on the DLC!
  86. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    I have only 1 complaint, it felt short. Even with the co-op. But it was a joy to play, hilariously funny, and fairly unique (other than the obvious---you know, the portals). Once you've finished it I'd recommend going through the levels and listening to the developer commentary. There are some very interesting tidbits in there. Also, the Final Hours of Portal 2 (on the iPad) sheds aI have only 1 complaint, it felt short. Even with the co-op. But it was a joy to play, hilariously funny, and fairly unique (other than the obvious---you know, the portals). Once you've finished it I'd recommend going through the levels and listening to the developer commentary. There are some very interesting tidbits in there. Also, the Final Hours of Portal 2 (on the iPad) sheds a lot of light on how original game play, new game play elements, and the story came together...almost at the last minute; plus some hints some possible new IP from Value. Expand
  87. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    I loved Portal... I really did. And I love Portal 2 even more! From cynical little english robot to GlaDOS made into a potato. Whoever invented the thing with the liquids should be prasied. I had fun and can say that the CO-OP is the ONLY real co-op in today's games. The need of thinking in team and solve puzzles is just awesome and practically really hard without a voice chat. I applaudI loved Portal... I really did. And I love Portal 2 even more! From cynical little english robot to GlaDOS made into a potato. Whoever invented the thing with the liquids should be prasied. I had fun and can say that the CO-OP is the ONLY real co-op in today's games. The need of thinking in team and solve puzzles is just awesome and practically really hard without a voice chat. I applaud Valve. 10.0 :D


    p.s.: Do not mind that it is a bit overpriced! It is certainly worth the price :)
    Expand
  88. Jun 15, 2011
    7
    It gets an 7 for being unique. But aside from that, it's too similar to Portal 1, and it's too short. The amount of game time you get to play is minimal, a few hours at most before your done. The puzzles are not overly challenging, and it's gets boring after an hour of play or so. The game is unique, but aside from that there's not that much to it.
  89. Jun 14, 2011
    7
    I wish I had paid more for the original Portal. For Portal 2, however, I wish I had paid less (even though I bought it on sale for $30). Maybe Valve has been making "Episodes" for so long they forgot how to make a full-fledged game? Sure Portal 2 is entertaining, funny (Stephen Merchant!) and contains a few head-scratcher puzzles, but in the end it's too short, not difficult enough and hasI wish I had paid more for the original Portal. For Portal 2, however, I wish I had paid less (even though I bought it on sale for $30). Maybe Valve has been making "Episodes" for so long they forgot how to make a full-fledged game? Sure Portal 2 is entertaining, funny (Stephen Merchant!) and contains a few head-scratcher puzzles, but in the end it's too short, not difficult enough and has zero replay value. I hope Valve adds some time challenges, portal challenges or just more plain ol' puzzle levels in the form of DLC. I'd even consider paying for some game-expanding DLC, even though it should have been there in the first place (I'm looking at you, Mafia II). Disappointed? A little. Good game anyway? Absolutely. Expand
  90. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    One of the best games of this year. Interesting plot, realistic characters (excellent voice acting), quite good graphics and music. Only one defect: in my opinion there was not much "thinking by portals" (little too easy riddles). After all it's solid game, which can be played both solo and co-op (together something about 15h of playing). 10/10
  91. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Genial! even above the expectations! really nice the new tools inside the test chambers! Outstanding story!
    I think it's flawless. Really hilarious too. Valve company carried out a great job
    Expand
  92. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Good lord! Its gooooood stuff.

    I have yet to be disappointed with Valve. They seem cheery, good-humoured and understanding. Steam works well and practically gives games away sometimes. The Half-Life series have charm as well as a bit of brains. Left 4 Dead is just stupidly good fun. TF2 is like-wise. Portal is one of the best games ever created. Portal 2 is more of the same. Simply put,
    Good lord! Its gooooood stuff.

    I have yet to be disappointed with Valve. They seem cheery, good-humoured and understanding. Steam works well and practically gives games away sometimes. The Half-Life series have charm as well as a bit of brains. Left 4 Dead is just stupidly good fun. TF2 is like-wise. Portal is one of the best games ever created. Portal 2 is more of the same. Simply put, Valve have tried to scale a massive mountain of possible fan service and bringing over-all quality at the same time. Through flogging beta-testers over and over - According to the Developers Commentary (which is done better in this game by playing along side the main game) - they've shaved and polished everything to a shine. To the point where I swear the game plays better on my piddly little laptop than the original. Single Player is captivating, if not overly taxing on the old brains. I put that down to the fact that I've gone over the last game a few times and gotten rather used to that. People have complained that this game is easy but it might be more because of how well the last game trained you. Vary rarely did anyone I know spend particularly long trying to figure out how to get some where. Like a flying squirrel crossed with an acrobat, people were just flinging themselves in the general direction. Portal 2 actually made me have to stop and figure things out. Not for too long but I still had to stop and think (It could easily have been me being thick as I turned in circles, never really seeing the solution anywhere). A few of the puzzles had me completely stumped but it doesn't quite feel like Portal 2's main aim. Take that how you want but I'm happy with the fact that the game takes you into the absurd backstage of Aperture Science. While Portal Technology is perfectly reasonable for moving things around, they like to use a horribly complicated system of pipelines. Why demolish your previous labs when burying them below your new ones is a much better idea? Valve have placed a greater, eccentric charm on every place it can for the laboratories that brought you a weight-loss pudding that would make food bounce out of your body. Its treat to find all the idiosyncrasies that'll raise a smile or tell a tragic tail.

    Steve Merchant, the best mate of Ricky Gervais, plays Wheatley: a personality core that's bumbling, cheery and has an English accent. He will be your partner as you do battle and science with the re-awakened GlaDos. All characters, limited they maybe, are full of charm and excellent writing. Some of the best lines come from both Wheatley and GlaDos. Co-op has wrongly gotten a lot of stick too. Lets get this out of the way: the hats are optional. The damn are for sale if you truly want them, as well as new flags for the robots and new gestures. If anything, its more of a tip for Valve. If you enjoyed the game, throw them a few quid to say 'thank you'. They could do some good with it. Even if its another 1to 1 scale model of the Engineer's Turret...

    The Robot's are charming. Gromit from 'Wallace and Gromit' kind of charm, if that helps. Both of them are largely mute, communicating through gestures and weird noises. While they do show more personality in the trailers, they are allowed to express their little Laurel and Hardy inspired friendship through the adorable hugs and hi-fives they give them. As for gameplay, the most difficult puzzles lurk here. With two portals, your expected to do more and to do it safely twice. There are two of you trying to get through the course now. While any kind of story gets a massive back seat, mainly because its largely done in the main game, in favour of GlaDos' input and puzzles. It can either cause arguments or it can cement a bond between those playing. Its entertaining and challenging how the game places the safety of one player in the hands and skill of another. You have to work together or you will fail. We also have free DLC heading our way at some point. Its not certain what that DLC will contain but its a nice bit of frosting on an already rich game.
    Expand
  93. Jun 12, 2011
    6
    Too short, too simple, too dumb, too linear. Very irritating. In comparison to Portal 1, there is no improvements at all, menu, settings, graphics, sound, puzzles, story, or way you move, way a portal appear or is controlled are all broken. Even physics is broken. You cannot even kill itself, as there are lots of invisible walls in silly places preventing you from doing this.
  94. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Incredible puzzle game. Humorous, clever, and just plain fun. I read people talking about beating the game in 4 hours: I think they weren't paying attention. The dialog alone takes up several hours, and speeding through this game makes you really miss out on the experience. It took me probably about 9 or so hours to clear the single player, still going through the co-op as I writeIncredible puzzle game. Humorous, clever, and just plain fun. I read people talking about beating the game in 4 hours: I think they weren't paying attention. The dialog alone takes up several hours, and speeding through this game makes you really miss out on the experience. It took me probably about 9 or so hours to clear the single player, still going through the co-op as I write this. Basically, if you liked Portal 1, Portal 2 is the better, longer, and more clever version. Expand
  95. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Probably the best Valve game ever. Simply brilliant. Has all the charm and humor of the original, while adding new elements making the puzzles much more challenging. It took me about 9 hours to finish. 11/10. Simply epic!
  96. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I truly did love this game. Very fun and addictive, but the addiction did not last. The single player campaign had an OK story ,as said before,it was very predictable, and as for the co-op story it was not very entertaining. BUT what truly stood out was the game play, each puzzle in the campaign was fun, rarely challenging, but fun and each puzzle was very different to the next. Co-op was were the real challenge was and it really got you thinking using each of the new, creative aspects the game provided such as Mobility gels. The graphics were beautiful and looked good even in fast motion with barley any blur. And first time Portals players can easily become comfortable with the basic concept of the game which also provides comfortable controls.Good story lines are very important to me and many other gamers which is why i gave this game a solid 8 out of 10. Expand
  97. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This game really is a work of art. Everything from the controls, to the graphics (which I think look fantastic for this kind of game) and even the levels. The levels feel challenging, but not to the point where you may think it's impossible. The VO is absolutely stunning. Everything in this game is amazing! It's also made by Valve who are my favourite video game developers of all time.This game really is a work of art. Everything from the controls, to the graphics (which I think look fantastic for this kind of game) and even the levels. The levels feel challenging, but not to the point where you may think it's impossible. The VO is absolutely stunning. Everything in this game is amazing! It's also made by Valve who are my favourite video game developers of all time. This is an absolute must buy for all ages. Expand
  98. Jun 10, 2011
    7
    Portal 2 is a good game, but just like Portal 1 it's just not great, for me that is. The puzzles are great and well made. The acting is good en well written, the graphics are fine (for a 7 year old engine) but i just get bored after playing for a while. There is no replay value whatsoever after you finished it, except for the coop mode, but I dont care about Coop. I really dont get whyPortal 2 is a good game, but just like Portal 1 it's just not great, for me that is. The puzzles are great and well made. The acting is good en well written, the graphics are fine (for a 7 year old engine) but i just get bored after playing for a while. There is no replay value whatsoever after you finished it, except for the coop mode, but I dont care about Coop. I really dont get why this game is getting these high ratings by the critics, yes it is a unique game and not some run of the mill shooter like all those other shooters out there but that doesnt make it that good. I played the game for about 7 hours and finished it, but after solving all the puzzles replaying would be stupid en boring.
    In my honest opinion valve gets to much credit, this game should not be in the top 10 on metacritic, right up there with Baldur's Gate 2, the best game ever made (and which is over 200 hours of gameplay for the same money) Sorry for my ranting but i just think this game is overrated.....dont shoot me!
    Expand
  99. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is a great sequel to the original game. Sure, it does it all over again: shoot a portal, solve the puzzle, move on... but it does it creatively and manages to surprise and make you lough.
    Not matter how much time you will spend playing, it will be time well spent.

    Great game.
  100. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    It's good, it's very good. I am not a fanboy, I genuinely liked Portal 2. Interesting characters, Clever puzzles, Good graphics, Excellent music, The flow of the gameplay is amazing, not repetitive, has some moments where you go " OH SH%^$% !!". This is what a polished game is. A clear vision/design that was executed flawlessly. Go play it.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 20, 2011
    90
    Almost as good as the first one. Main reasons are lack of cake, unfunny Wheatley and slightly boring one-solution middle-levels. Otherwise Portal 2 is as clever as it is well written. And now Half-Life 2: Ep 3, please. [May 2011]
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    90
    The graphics may not be of the same caliber of other AAA titles, and the story may falter from time to time, but those are paltry excuses not to experience one of the best current generation games around.
  3. PC Format
    Jun 13, 2011
    92
    A hilarious slice of gaming glory. [July 2011, p.92]