Portal 2 Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 6208 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Valve is working on a full-length sequel to its award-winning, mind-bending puzzle action game for the Xbox 360 and PC.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Portal 2 Co-Op Trailer #2
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 25, 2011
    100
    Portal 2 is a masterpiece, a work of art that you will love for its ingenious story pop-culture, references to logical puzzles and co-op multiplayer. Definitely a candidate for game of the year. [Issue#204]
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    100
    Portal is perfect. Portal 2 is not. It's something better than that. It's human: hot-blooded, silly, poignant, irreverent, base, ingenious and loving. It's never less than a pure video game, but it's often more, and it will no doubt stand as one of the best entertainments in any medium at the end of this year. It's a masterpiece.
  3. Apr 22, 2011
    100
    Sporting some of the best writing and voice work in years (as well as some deviously designed puzzles), Portal 2's single-player campaign is superior to its predecessor in every way. It's the co-op mode, however, that makes this 2011's first must-play game -- even for those gamers that don't like first-person or puzzle games.
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    The game's quality stays consistently outstanding throughout; there isn't a minute of filler content to be found anywhere in single-player or co-op.
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    95
    Portal 2 is the best game I had the opportunity to play this year. It interests the player from the beginning and stays like that to its final minutes. It entertains with great, humorous dialogue, intrigues with compelling puzzles - as a result you keep staring at the screen and forget about the world around you. Valve's newest game is also a well-written product with great attention to detail.
  6. PC Format
    Jun 13, 2011
    92
    A hilarious slice of gaming glory. [July 2011, p.92]
  7. May 2, 2011
    70
    Emancipation complete for Portal, which gets rid of his "bonus game" condition with a second episode that is certainly no revolution but still manages to justify its new status.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Nice game, nice story.At some levels you have to think a lot for the solution, but this is what makes it fun.Graphics are quite goodNice game, nice story.At some levels you have to think a lot for the solution, but this is what makes it fun.Graphics are quite good considering that its working with Source Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Simply the best Valve game ever. It took the brilliance and innovation of Portal and formed it into an actual full fledged title.

    Proof that
    Simply the best Valve game ever. It took the brilliance and innovation of Portal and formed it into an actual full fledged title.

    Proof that Valve still dominates PC gaming and knows how to bring the public high quality titles.
    Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    This was everything I wanted in a Portal sequel. The puzzles, characters, level design, and especially the humor, were all a step above whatThis was everything I wanted in a Portal sequel. The puzzles, characters, level design, and especially the humor, were all a step above what the first portal had achieved. Valve has outdone themselves yet again. Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is an absolute masterpiece. The voice acting is some of the best that I've ever heard, the puzzles are just hard enough, the gamePortal 2 is an absolute masterpiece. The voice acting is some of the best that I've ever heard, the puzzles are just hard enough, the game runs beautifully on my 3 year old PC, and the added co-op is just as enjoyable as the single player. If you've considered buying this game and haven't yet, do it! The only bad part about this game is that, now that I'm finished with it, I can never experience it for the first time again. Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I noticed something reading the reviews: almost every negative review (or negative portion of a review) was just typical PC gamers being whinyI noticed something reading the reviews: almost every negative review (or negative portion of a review) was just typical PC gamers being whiny and entitled, and almost none of them talk about the game itself. I don't know about you but when I am getting a sequel to one of the greatest games of all time, I don't want too much change. If it aint broke, don't fix it, especially when it can be easily ruined... Otherwise this game was AMAZING and if you don't buy it you have no soul. Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    The game is great from pretty much every point of view, and compared to the 1st Portal it has a much better length, especially if we includeThe game is great from pretty much every point of view, and compared to the 1st Portal it has a much better length, especially if we include the co-op mode as well. The only problem is that despite it being longer than the 1st Portal it still left me wanting more.

    Hopefully that will be compensated with user maps and DLC. Mean wile 9/10.
    Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2011
    0
    Basically in Portal 2 you're spending $60 for a poorly done console port. The puzzles aren't horribly challenging and the game engine ValueBasically in Portal 2 you're spending $60 for a poorly done console port. The puzzles aren't horribly challenging and the game engine Value has been using since Half-Life 2 is starting to show its age despite all spit polish the developers have rubbed on it. Graphically it looks remarkably like Left 4 Dead, and I swear they're actually repeating textures used in that game. At best this game is worth $24.99 and not a penny more. Expand

See all 1798 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics

    The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics Image
    Published: May 4, 2011
    The release of Portal 2 exposed a divide between game critics and users. While that title's user scores have rebounded, others haven't. We take a look at the games with the biggest score differentials between professional reviewers and gamers.