• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Primal Carnage is an asymmetrical online-multiplayer class-based game of humans versus dinosaurs. Choose to play as either side and prepare to engage in a heart-pounding, fun, and visceral experience of combat, stealth, strategy, and survival. Hunt and be hunted!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Feb 20, 2013
    80
    Lukewarm Media set out to do one simple thing with Primal Carnage: let people play, as and fight, dinosaurs. They hit that mark and then some. Even with no level progression, I still come back to it just to eat some humans. For $15, you get the closest thing there is to a Jurassic Park multiplayer game, and it also happens to be a lot of fun.
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    76
    It's good, stupid fun no matter which side you play on, although a questionable option to switch sides midmatch occasionally leaves too many players stacked on the dino side.
  3. 70
    The idea is great, but there's not a lot to this game yet.
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    70
    Parkouring dinosaurs, sub-horror moments of Velociraptor terror, and picking up a human as a Pteranodon and dropping them to their death are just a few reasons I love the concept and execution of Primal Carnage. It's just too bad that there's not more here to flesh out the more positive qualities and suppress the negative ones from seeping through.
  5. Feb 7, 2013
    68
    Just fun in a straight-forwarded way. Having dinosaurs is one of the key elements that makes it different and enjoyable, however, we think there's no enough content to keep us playing after a few hours.
  6. Feb 1, 2013
    65
    The result is a Jurassic Park worth visiting once, but not for a long stay. [March 2013, p.73]
  7. 50
    There is no single-player, only a handful of maps, and a relentless focus on deathmatch. There are no modern bells and whistles, no character customization, and no real thought past the concept of dinosaurs vs humans.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 9 out of 46
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this game. It may not have a wide variety of game modes, but it's still pretty addicting. I mean, come on...dinosaurs, lol. You really have to have good team work in order to survive...or kill. In the end you'll be satisfied either way. Just try it out. Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    This game is fun as hell. Each class fits a role, and counters something else. It feels great to see how the classes work together. The levels are gorgeous and well set up. Playing as the humans is a tense experience and who doesn't love dinosaurs. I hope it continues to get support and maintains a healthy population, because I honestly enjoy this more than Team Fortress, Counterstrike or Call of Duty. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Primal Carnage is everything Dino beat down is not.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................. Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    Fun game hands down, great gameplay ,and a solid idea. Needs a few fixes here and there and it will be good to go. If you have 15 dollars its a must buy. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2013
    7
    I previously rated this a 3 due to lack of content but the developers have worked hard and added the new Get to the Chopper mode which has finally added some purpose to the game. The barebones team deathmatch mode was always just a contest to see who could switch to the dinosaur team fastest when one of them got bored and stopped playing, but with Get to the Chopper mode there's a reason to play the human team and actually work together. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2014
    7
    If you love dinosaurs (like me) or you love Jurassic Park by Steven Spielberg (like me) or you have been searching for the perfect dinosaur game (like me), Primal Carnage is the game for you! From it's fantastic graphics, enviromental level design, textures and modelling of the dinosaurs, it is a great game! It's mostly a team deathmatch with Humans v.s. Dinosaurs as I heard that the game does not have so many modes, so if you are thinking of purchasing this game, be warned that the game does not include many modes. But if you want a perfect killing deatmatch dinosaur game, forget Dino D-Day or even ORION: Dino Beatdown and get Primal Carnage, its the better out of all the dinosaur games I know of, a great game to enjoy with yourself and your friends. With all its tense moments, great modelling of dinosaurs and great gameplay, its a great game to have in your Steam library! Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2013
    0
    I was ready to give this game higher rating, but this new mod "get to the chopper" kinda messed up the more popular map docks. I am so disappointed with this update that I rated this game a zero. Do not purchase! Expand

See all 46 User Reviews