• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Primal Carnage is an asymmetrical online-multiplayer class-based game of humans versus dinosaurs. Choose to play as either side and prepare to engage in a heart-pounding, fun, and visceral experience of combat, stealth, strategy, and survival. Hunt and be hunted!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Feb 20, 2013
    80
    Lukewarm Media set out to do one simple thing with Primal Carnage: let people play, as and fight, dinosaurs. They hit that mark and then some. Even with no level progression, I still come back to it just to eat some humans. For $15, you get the closest thing there is to a Jurassic Park multiplayer game, and it also happens to be a lot of fun.
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    76
    It's good, stupid fun no matter which side you play on, although a questionable option to switch sides midmatch occasionally leaves too many players stacked on the dino side.
  3. 70
    The idea is great, but there's not a lot to this game yet.
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    70
    Parkouring dinosaurs, sub-horror moments of Velociraptor terror, and picking up a human as a Pteranodon and dropping them to their death are just a few reasons I love the concept and execution of Primal Carnage. It's just too bad that there's not more here to flesh out the more positive qualities and suppress the negative ones from seeping through.
  5. Feb 7, 2013
    68
    Just fun in a straight-forwarded way. Having dinosaurs is one of the key elements that makes it different and enjoyable, however, we think there's no enough content to keep us playing after a few hours.
  6. Feb 1, 2013
    65
    The result is a Jurassic Park worth visiting once, but not for a long stay. [March 2013, p.73]
  7. 50
    There is no single-player, only a handful of maps, and a relentless focus on deathmatch. There are no modern bells and whistles, no character customization, and no real thought past the concept of dinosaurs vs humans.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this game. It may not have a wide variety of game modes, but it's still pretty addicting. I mean, come on...dinosaurs, lol. You really have to have good team work in order to survive...or kill. In the end you'll be satisfied either way. Just try it out. Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    This game is fun as hell. Each class fits a role, and counters something else. It feels great to see how the classes work together. The levels are gorgeous and well set up. Playing as the humans is a tense experience and who doesn't love dinosaurs. I hope it continues to get support and maintains a healthy population, because I honestly enjoy this more than Team Fortress, Counterstrike or Call of Duty. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Primal Carnage is everything Dino beat down is not.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................. Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    Primal Carnage. This is a game that I was very skeptical about getting. When I saw the trailers for this game, I got really excited. It was the kind of game that I've wanted since I was very little: a game about humans fighting dinosaurs. I was excited because dinosaur games are few and far between, and also because this time you could actually play as dinosaurs. I was really excited about this game at the time, but then I looked at Metacritic and noticed it got a mixed reception. So I decided it might actually be better to hold off on getting this game. Then, cut to a little over a year after the game came out, and I finally decided to try it out. So, is this game the dinosaur shooter that you and I have been waiting for our whole lives? Or is this the kind of dinosaur that should've been trampled as an egg? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game may seem like your generic shooter at first, except for one very big difference, one team is humans, the other is dinosaurs. The human team plays very much like a class-based first person shooter. There are five classes total: Commando, Pathfinder, Pyromaniac, Scientist, and Trapper. They all have very good abilities that balance out the team perfectly. Commando is all about shooting every dinosaur you see, Pathfinder can throw flares to blind the dinosaurs, Pyromaniac sets everything around him ablaze with his flamethrower, the Scientist can snipe from a distance, and the Trapper can trap dinosaurs with a net, and then proceed to shoot them. As for the dinosaurs, there are five of those too. The dinosaurs actually play from a third person perspective rather than first-person. The classes are Tyrannosaurus (replaced with Spinosaurus in the Get to the Chopper game mode), Novaraptor, Dilophosaurus, Pteranodon, and Carnotaurus. These dinosaurs also have different abilities that supplement their team perfectly. The Tyrannosaurus and Spinosaurus can eat humans to regain health, Novaraptors rush into humans to take them down, Dilophosaurus can poison humans, impairing their vision for a time, Pteranodons can pick humans up off the ground and drop them to their doom, and Carnotaurus behave like bulls, charging into humans at high speeds. I know exactly what you're thinking, isn't this game completely unbalanced because the dinosaurs have too much health, and the humans too little? Surprisingly no! This game is actually very well balanced. Neither team is too powerful or too weak at all. You might think that with multiple Tyrannosaurus the game's balance would shift to the favor of the dinosaurs. However, because Tyrannosaurus is such a powerful dinosaur, it has been limited to only two players per match, and it's the only dinosaur with a player limit. This makes the game that much more balanced. Every class in this game controls very well as well. To tell you the truth, I'd say that I have only one major problem with the gameplay: there's not enough content in this game. There are only three game modes, and a small number of maps to play on. There also aren't any bots, so you have no choice but to play online. The good news is the developers are updating the game, and constantly improving it. However, as of right now, there aren't very many modes in Primal Carnage. As for the graphics, they are very beautiful and colorful. They were made with the Unreal Engine, and they make the game look as beautiful as it plays. It doesn't look as good as Unreal Tournament 3's did (not as much detail in the textures), but it is still a very beautiful looking game. As for the overall presentation, this is done very well indeed. It looks and behaves like a good first person shooter should. The main menu looks as though it is lacking content, just like the game modes, but it is still good nonetheless. Overall, this is the perfect shooter for anyone who loves dinosaurs. There may not be enough content, but it is still fun enough to warrant a recommendation. I recommend this game to everyone who loves dinosaurs, wants to play a unique first person shooter for a change instead of the totally generic Call of Duty, or just want to have an insanely fun time playing video games.
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Presentation: 8/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2013
    7
    I previously rated this a 3 due to lack of content but the developers have worked hard and added the new Get to the Chopper mode which has finally added some purpose to the game. The barebones team deathmatch mode was always just a contest to see who could switch to the dinosaur team fastest when one of them got bored and stopped playing, but with Get to the Chopper mode there's a reason to play the human team and actually work together. Expand
  6. May 24, 2013
    7
    Is Primal Carnage fun? Yes.
    Is it worth $15? No.
    The fun factor of this game is its gimmicks, but that doesn't make it bad (some classes
    feel really broken against others (Trappers against smaller dinos, for example)). But, if you wanna pick this up, wait for a Steam sale. In my own opinion, paying $15 for the whole thing is a waste. Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2013
    0
    I was ready to give this game higher rating, but this new mod "get to the chopper" kinda messed up the more popular map docks. I am so disappointed with this update that I rated this game a zero. Do not purchase! Expand

See all 43 User Reviews