User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 31
  2. Negative: 15 out of 31

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    A lot of these reviews aren't even true, for example I can join online servers with people who are not my steam friends so I don't know what the fck that guy was talking about that reviewed this game earlier. This is not a triple A game but that doesnt mean its not worth buying. I personally think the great was a great deal and a ton of fun. its like a lax diablo 3 with guns and zombies. Definitely a fun game for great casual co-op play with friends. anyone who likes over the top torchlight like gameplay games with a more casual setting (for example no skill tree) then this is a game you definitely want to pick up. Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    No online servers i bought this game cause it had co-op but you can only play with your added friends on steam....very dissapointing because this game seems very fun "if you are playing with people" too bad they made this diffacult for people that are new to steam or dont have many friends on steam..
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    Primal Fears is a huge improvement upon its predecessor Dead Horde. I enjoyed the first game but not without a ton of frustration as it was not optimized to say the least the lag was horrible even on lowest settings. However Primal Fears was a joy to play. Don't listen to the haters this is a fun little game. Not perfect but fun.
  4. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    The absurdly low reviews are completely undeserved. Its direct predecessor, Dead Horde, had good concepts, but was fatally flawed. Primal Fears kept the good concepts and fixed the fatal flaws. It's a simple game with little depth, but it's fun to play and it has a nice amount of tension (though Dead Horde did tension slightly better). I've never been a fan of the checkpoint system I think it's a very lazy way to design games but at least it works in Primal Fears. It was one of the severely broken pieces in Dead Horde. Now, it's true that it isn't innovative, but sometimes you just want more of something you like and I don't mind having a bit of new scenery in the zombie/alien isometric shooter genre. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2014
    6
    Simple run gun with nice varied creepy environments and atmospheric music. Not really much variety to the mutated enemies. Though encountering more and more of the stronger/faster ones becomes more common while progressing through the different levels. The default weapons are satisfying but the special weapons have such a low ammo count. So they are really for last ditch scenarios and not for general usage. Some weapon customization but not much, such as relating to clips size and damage ratio. Finding cash to buy weapons, ammo and upgrades is the main motivation for some minor exploration. Health kits can be found through the levels and some enemies drop health kits occasionally. Controls are simple and easy to game on with both M/K and gamepad. I tend to like SP post apocalyptic survival horrors ( better for immersion factor IMO ) but this game can support upto 4 player co-op. Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2014
    7
    Considering games like The Stanley Parable got 88 rating, while much more enjoyable and nice games got lower ratings, I'm thinking this game deserves more. The graphics are not that bad and the action is enjoyable. Most games nowadays have few people online to play with, unless they're cheap stuff like GTA or COD or Dota
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 6 out of 6
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    45
    A generic top-down shooter that fails to deliver anything novel. [CD-Action 03/2013, p.76]
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    40
    Primal Fears does come with functional co-operative play, which isn't the worst time-killer if you and a friend are bored, but otherwise it's a disappointingly lacklustre title.
  3. Jan 28, 2013
    40
    If you played games like Alien Breed or Dead Nation you know what to expect. But be aware that even though the lighting and sound effects are nice, virtually everything else is below par.