User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 139
  2. Negative: 29 out of 139

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    Wonderful Game. I enjoyed the story and the game play I've played the whole Series. But I didn't like the new look of the prince in this game compared to the previous parts.
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    Only 1 bug for me being stuck on a vase for like 2 minutes.Despite that it is a very nice aditiong to the prince of presia series with a decent story a nice gameplay and finally the game feels so natural to play.After the sands of time trilogy the camera seems just perfect in the forgotten sands
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    5
    Bad graphics on the prince. Good graphics on the bad guys. A typical POP game. No new stuff or advancements. The only thing I really love about this game is its ever-hard gameplay and strategic ways to escape obstacles.
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    the game is not so bad it is good but not like the first three parts it is hardly memorable but the final chapters in the game when u get to use all your powers in the game was the only good and fun to play the combat system is really good although i didn't like that you can't block the enemy's attack and the final battle was really awesome i loved in the end it is worth playing
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    5
    I couldn't wait to get it over with. Forgotten Sands is nowhere as enjoyable as its predecessors; the game has been stripped of combos, secrets and weapons in favor of a very much simpler combat system and level design, making it look like "Prince of Persia for Dummies" for long-time fans of the series. The storyline is rather shallow and linear, not much fun there either. On the other hand, the new game mechanics, while sometimes can be fun, are very confusing to grasp. The PC version is shot full of bugs and the controls are TERRIBLE, there are problems with pole jumps from left to right so you often end up falling your death, which made the game very irritating for me. I was forced to download savegames and skip whole chunks of the game because the controls and the camera made it impossible to leap through some spots. The camera is also a pain during some boss fights preventing you to see the barrels with energy. Why don't they leave the blasted camera free already?! Everything would be so much simpler! This uninspired game made me reinstall The Sands of Time, there was a lot more fun in there. Good thing I got it for €2,50 on Steam! Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    Despite being accompanied by a terrible, terrible movie, the game is quite good even when compared with the four other titles of the series. The controls and camera are FINALLY as good as those of the first title, succeeding even in making the movements more fluid. The story and graphics are okay although there is no clear artistic touch to the environments. The characters and animations are great. There are some annoying things the lack of proper gamesaves management (you only get one), the terrible ubisoft launcher (even on top of the steam layout) and finally the boring repetition of unchanging environments. All in all, it is still pretty fun, very well designed with no bugs at all and the best controls there are in all the PoP series. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    prince of persia the forgotten sands is a great game i bought im a month after it come out.and i very liked it.its a great game with a great story.i played it over and over.and now its just something like 10 bucks so buy it.
  8. Aug 28, 2012
    5
    Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands is a disappointment. While it haves great graphics, interesting story and some great puzzles, It is terribly easy and it haves some bad issues and glitches. Even the game launcher is a failure, a letdown launcher, because of some terrible issues while launching. POP: TFS would be great, without those issues. 53 out of 100
  9. Aug 2, 2012
    8
    This game is quite good. Good things - nice graphics, good engine of levels, good moving system, some nice puzzles and physycal challenges. Bad things - slow enemies, sometimes bad camera. I dont understand why so many players hate this game. There are lots of things what can you do. You have three magic spells: freezing water, special fight jump and rebuilding the walls. There is a lots of things to do in this game by this spells and i was not bored. Lots of people say this game is too short and easy. Dont believe them. Maybe is shorter than earlier princes, but some parts of this game was not easy. When i play this game, sometimes i am angry by mechanical traps and sometimes i am amazed, because this game has really nice atmosphere. Expand
  10. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    I'll put it in a nutshell:
    1) so called "connection with the trilogy of PoP" - none OR really small, the game does not reveal anything interesting about Prince life between Sands of Time and Warrior Withing - but it HAD TO. Truly speaking - no connection detected at all, yeapp, several known names and cases are mentioned, but it looks like a lame attempt to convince us in the connection
    with the well-known trilogy... Total facepalm.
    2) acrobatics - simply pathetic, especially after you've played any of Assassin's Creed games. It's 2010 - why the hell the acrobatics became even worser than on Two Thrones??!!!
    3) battle system... no comments... The best battle system was in Warrior Within.
    Expand
  11. Jan 5, 2012
    8
    Being a fan of the series I really enjoyed this latest chapter. Like the previous games, the weakest thing about this is the controls. It's still hard to plan certain moves based on some of the clunky angles and weird designs. Aside from that, The Forgotten Sands is an exciting, vibrant and entertaining game. The story is engaging with some good acting, the environment is lush and detailed, the engine runs smoothly, the music is beautiful and the AI is strong and smart. I only had the game crash on me once and the fact that the video options are outside the game make it very odd. The audio for whatever reason is too low and there is no way to raise the master volume level. All these kinks aside it's a great game with some very clever new additions to the Prince's powers and the leveling system is clean and simple. Expand
  12. Oct 3, 2011
    3
    No puedo dejar de hacer una opinion negativa sobre este juego, despues de jugar PoP: Las arenas del tiempo, uno de los juegos mas entretenidos que he jugado, esta nueva entrega me deja totalmente desepcionado cuando llego a una parte en la que no se puede avanzar y luego bscando en una solucion en internet me doy cuenta de que este juego no tiene un bug... tiene varios
  13. Aug 26, 2011
    8
    I haven't played many of the other 3D PoP games. I loved the very 1st one back in the day and my son plays the "HD" remake of it on the 360. From that perspective, this is a pretty fun game. Environments are nice, texturing is good, gameplay is solid. Maybe this game doesn't offer much over the other PoP/Assassin's Creed games, but that doesn't mean it's a bad game. I bought the PoP pack when Steam had it on sale a while back and I don't regret it one bit. Expand
  14. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands is a well made game deserving of the place it's been given as a game in the Sands of Time quadrilogy! It's combat consists of an attack button, quick attacks being a click and holding it does a power attack which is stronger, a dodge button, and a jump button. They obviously must have forgotten to add a block button. There are also four powers to get through the level up menu I'll talk about next but after mastering one of the powers you're pretty much unstoppable in your quest to destroy Ratash, leader of the Sand Army your brother Malik mindlessly releases upon his own kingdom to stop the invading army. The level up system consists of you getting exp points through defeating foes and every 50, 100, 150, 200 etc. you unlock one skill point which can be used to purchase one upgrade. There are 31 upgrades in all. The two major cons that made me very sad is that that you can't replay the game without deleting your complete game save and starting over from the beginning! The second is for Steam only and that is that the game requires Wi-Fi to play! Overall, a very fun game to play... As long as you have Wi-Fi! Expand
  15. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    From day 1, All the way back to its NES roots Prince of Persia has amazed people all over the world, the first of it's kind and the best too. The "Sands Of Time" Trilogy set the world on fire with it's unique game play and puzzles, it really made a milestone and kept it's throne "The Forgotten Sands" is part of the "Sands Of Time" Trilogy taking place between "Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time" and "Prince of Persia: Warrior Within"

    If you are into puzzles that make you think, and death defying jumps that make you doubt gravity exists, then any Prince Of Persia game is for you, Also if turning back time makes you happy... then also think about getting it.
    Expand
  16. Dec 27, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has presented some of the most uniquye obstacles I've ever seen. The level design is challenging, but I found myself going .."not this again.." many times. The last stage in the sky was amazing and the level where you scale the sides of the buildings made me sweat in anxiety. The combat system is easy to use but I found the monster difficulty almost too easy. You really only need a few points in your tech tree to win the game. Nothing new in terms of the boss monsters, there are really only 3 types of monsters. The acting was good particularly from the main character and the model animation was pretty well done. But I could care less for the Russian accent on the chick. Graphics are nice, but using the high quality texture option slowed my system down too much (C2D 8400 / 9600 GT). The game crashed consistently on one of the levels if I used the time function, don't remember which one. It also skipped the instructions when you learn air attack. I had no idea what to do until I googled around. It also skipped the part where Ratash escapes the first time so I don't know how I got away. There were many times when the game didn't know where I was jumping and made me use a time jewel. The controls are a bit laggy, but bearable.

    I would definitely play another version of this take on PoP, but give a little variety and options, not so much a linear boxed environment.
    Expand
  17. Oct 24, 2010
    8
    The game lives up to all you'd expect from "Prince of Persia". Insane acrobatics, dynamic fights with overwhelming crowds of bad guys, huge and terrifying "boss" monsters: the "Forgotten Sands" has a fair share of everything. I heard a few complaints about new combat system as being overly simplified. They don't seem well-founded. Fights are enormous fun. The list of combos has been reduced, but frankly I was never able to use most of the old ones in a meaningful way in combat, so good riddance.

    There are few neat surprises in acrobatics. New elements (i.e. "abilities" of the Prince) are uncovered gradually as one goes through the game, keeping player from getting bored. Some sequences are infuriatingly hard and may require flawless timing and a lot of practice to get through. Implementation of camera and controls is not exactly perfect. Occasionally, a sloppy camera movement may mess up some complex acrobatic combo, which is frustrating.

    Traditionally, as it gets closer to the end, the game goes completely crazy. It's hard to believe that what you see on the screen is possible even in a computer game. It's still fun though.

    The game features new DRM sub-system. Apparently, a substantial part of game "logic", e.g. which door is supposed to be open or closed, which lever does what, etc. is downloaded on the fly from remote server. That's why stable Internet connection is required to play. This is a cool technical achievement. It also seems to work: all "cracked" versions so far are buggy.
    Expand
  18. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    many bugs got stuck in many levels still combat and gameplay is good graphics could be better overall its a good game but they really need to fix those issies save feature is still the same give a manual save new powers are very cool and good but it makes you unbeatable was very easy
  19. Sep 6, 2010
    6
    I don't know what gamers are smoking, but this game is short, boring and uninspiring. I recommend playing PoP Sands of Time / Warrior Within / Two Thrones, and the spiritual successor Assasin's Creed 1 & 2 Short Review: Graphics - 7 - The 360 doesn't have PC horsepower, and the visuals are very good - 8 on the PC. Sound - 6 - Average at best. Gameplay - 6 - Repetitive gameplay - New mechanichs are forced and boring - Bad combat mechanics - Uninspiring Skills.
    Story - 4 - The story has ONLY 4 characters including PoP. Uninspiring & predictive. A 5 year old child could come up with a better story. The ending is a joke.
    Extras - 6 - It unlocks two extra modes, very short and not rewarding.

    Conclusion: I love PoP, and Assasin's Creed (they are VERY similar). The Forgotten Sands feels short, rushed, boring (it becomes VERY repetitive) and doesn't keep up to any old PoP game.
    Expand
  20. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    Thanks to the addition of several new gameplay mechanics, the platforming in this game is some of the most entertaining of the entire series. On that basis alone I think it's worth a purchase. On the negative side, the combat is still the worst part of the game, but thankfully this time around it's pretty easy and generally doesn't drag on for too long. Also, the story is pretty forgettable. Nonetheless the great platforming makes up for the faults. Expand
  21. TierceG
    Jun 14, 2010
    0
    The game is what you expect from prince of persia. But there is no way to save the game. You only can Continue or New Game overwriting the continue. Meaning your screwed if anyone else in your household wants to play the game. I'm pissed off enough I am going to try to return it.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Inoffensive, easy and relatively fun. [Sept 2010, p.60]
  2. Forgettable story, linear levels, some technical snafus, boss copy-pasting, combat issues... the list of bits that don't quite cut it is long and it is all over far too quickly, yet Forgotten Sands is a fine addition to the Prince of Persia storyline that plays well and manages to capture some of the platforming magic of Sands of Time.
  3. Button-mashing combat and new powers aren't particularly inspiring, but the large-scale level puzzles are rock solid. [Aug 2010, p.96]