User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 288

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Prince of Persia is a game I simply had to write a review about, because the movie somewhat made it look bad.... It one of the best games I have ever played, the story drew you in, the characters were developed well, the level design was gorgeous, the soundtrack was brilliant, the acrobatics were great, turning back time was just freakin awsome... But if I just had one gripe, it would bePrince of Persia is a game I simply had to write a review about, because the movie somewhat made it look bad.... It one of the best games I have ever played, the story drew you in, the characters were developed well, the level design was gorgeous, the soundtrack was brilliant, the acrobatics were great, turning back time was just freakin awsome... But if I just had one gripe, it would be the fighting mechanics. It didn't annoy me too much, but after a while you get over how cool the Prince is as he continnously jumps obver enemies, it wasn't as refined as Warrior Within's freeform fighting system alloying you more freedom in using the environment and style of play (that was the only good thing about WW). But this dosen't tarnish POP:SOT, it is still one the most brilliant games I've ever played. Expand
  2. IzZo
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    God Bless Ubisoft,Damn this is a heck of a game!! i was literally playin it with my jaw wide open! its bloody beautiful, and di Gameplay is sooo incredible, i cant get enough of runnin on walls,i'm tellin u, this dude is a monkey! its amazing wat u can do in this game,this game has 2 b the greatest game i've seen yet,the camera a problem? meh, its nevah really bugged me, guess God Bless Ubisoft,Damn this is a heck of a game!! i was literally playin it with my jaw wide open! its bloody beautiful, and di Gameplay is sooo incredible, i cant get enough of runnin on walls,i'm tellin u, this dude is a monkey! its amazing wat u can do in this game,this game has 2 b the greatest game i've seen yet,the camera a problem? meh, its nevah really bugged me, guess its coz i've seen worse, normally just press the X key and center the camera or use the mouse to rotate it 2 ur viewin pleasure, if that does'nt help, well...GET OVER IT!but seriously i think ur missin owt if u have'nt tried this game yet, and if u've played it and u dont like it,there has got 2 b somethin wrong with u!Overall very well done game, great music,graphics,story and gameplay,wat more could u ask for from a game? Expand
  3. AnalogueB
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    An incredible game that simply doesn't put a foot wrong. Story, combat, puzzles, atmosphere, visuals etc are all perfectly realised and elegantly packaged. And the innovative 'rewind' gameplay mechanic not only works brilliantly, but also fits well with the story and doesn't feel at all gimmicky or tacked on. Provided you're not an impatient gamer, you should An incredible game that simply doesn't put a foot wrong. Story, combat, puzzles, atmosphere, visuals etc are all perfectly realised and elegantly packaged. And the innovative 'rewind' gameplay mechanic not only works brilliantly, but also fits well with the story and doesn't feel at all gimmicky or tacked on. Provided you're not an impatient gamer, you should consider this is an essential title. Expand
  4. UsmanT.
    Nov 26, 2003
    10
    This is very great game and i hope that you also make its 5th part on all platforms.
  5. JayS.
    Dec 11, 2003
    9
    Beautiful gfx, smooth intuitive gameplay, excellent sounds and a half decent story. I played the original game years ago on the Amiga when it was cutting edge so expected something a bit different and sands of time certainly delivers. The only downer here is a dodgy camera and length of game but all in all it is a superb game highly recommended, give it a try I think you would be Beautiful gfx, smooth intuitive gameplay, excellent sounds and a half decent story. I played the original game years ago on the Amiga when it was cutting edge so expected something a bit different and sands of time certainly delivers. The only downer here is a dodgy camera and length of game but all in all it is a superb game highly recommended, give it a try I think you would be pleasently surprised. Expand
  6. HashamA.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Excellent from the start to the end,should have been the game of the year.excellent combat system,jaw dropping graphics & a heroic Prince.never played anything like it.tired of FPS & pumping badguys full of lead,try this for a change.you'll never regret it.
  7. ReluctantFanatic
    Feb 3, 2004
    10
    PoP is the most involving, genuinely fun, fluidly controlled game I've ever played. The designers must have sat down with a few hundred tomes on Indian and near-East architecture to design the interiors and exteriors of the palace chambers. This title blurs the line b/n gaming and art. The story is also unusually compelling; manipulate time to correct a curse you unleashed yourself. PoP is the most involving, genuinely fun, fluidly controlled game I've ever played. The designers must have sat down with a few hundred tomes on Indian and near-East architecture to design the interiors and exteriors of the palace chambers. This title blurs the line b/n gaming and art. The story is also unusually compelling; manipulate time to correct a curse you unleashed yourself. Good stuff. I found myself relishing both the puzzle-solving and the combat. The power of Haste was incredibly fun to use. Expand
  8. H.JW
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    This game is damn near perfect . Jump around , slice and dice enemies , or maybe rewind time . It will make you wonder how you could pull off all those impossibly cool moves with just a push of a button . It just never gets old .
  9. GregF.
    Dec 10, 2003
    10
    This game is great, but apparently on the PC version you can't get any of the cool secrets like on the console versions. Plus, this game wasn't much of a challenge. All in all though, it's one of the better games that I've played recently.
  10. JouniM.
    Aug 18, 2004
    10
    Just brilliant hop'n'jump game!! Me like it a LOT :D
  11. PhilipD
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    You just know a game's going to be good when the only two bad metacritic ratings are from people reviewing the wrong game. This game has intelligent gameplay and story. The wind-back-time system is perfect for games like this that rely on making dodgy jumps. There's one bit in the game where you can't use it and it makes you appreciate it so much more. It's almost as You just know a game's going to be good when the only two bad metacritic ratings are from people reviewing the wrong game. This game has intelligent gameplay and story. The wind-back-time system is perfect for games like this that rely on making dodgy jumps. There's one bit in the game where you can't use it and it makes you appreciate it so much more. It's almost as if that section of the game mocks all other platformers! I had several happy nights drinking apple cider and playing through this game. It's magical and you really grow to like the characters. Just like Final Fantasy or Call of Juarez, this game's story actually stayed with me. Most games don't manage that. 10/10 Expand
  12. CDonCotton
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    This game is one of the best games i have played this year it has a great fighting system and the environments are cool as hell and the best part about this game is the puzzle solving but it aint no lame puzzles its full interactive environments that are the puzzle. This game is the shiot and totally buyable.
  13. IlyaT.
    Dec 14, 2003
    10
    Amazing game, its only downside is that its so great it seems short....
  14. ThomasF.
    Dec 28, 2005
    10
    This game truly captures the essence of it's original 2D predecessor. One of the best games of the year. A must own game!
  15. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Outstanding game to say the least. I liked the puzzles, movement and action of this game. I look forward to playing all the rest of the PoP games now. Well done Ubisoft. Still a great game to play in 2011.
  16. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    A great game even by today's standards. There aren't many issues with the game. The combat is fun despite its lack of depth, but if you look at more modern games like Assassin's Creed, even PoP SoT does a much better job at making the action feel lively and fluent. Rewinding is also a a feature which was years ahead of its time, and was to be adopted not by action-adventures orA great game even by today's standards. There aren't many issues with the game. The combat is fun despite its lack of depth, but if you look at more modern games like Assassin's Creed, even PoP SoT does a much better job at making the action feel lively and fluent. Rewinding is also a a feature which was years ahead of its time, and was to be adopted not by action-adventures or platformers, but racing games. Graphics for this game's genre at the time remain unmatched too. The level design deserves high praise too, with innovative challenges that don't take a genius to work out what you're meant to do. The gameplay elements are well-balanced so you won't get bored, and will want to keep playing to find out what happens next in the story. This is well-done because cutscenes aren't too long and the story is told gradually to keep your interest. This game to the genre in 6th generation is what Batman Arkham Asylum is to 7th gen. Truly a well-designed, market-leading game in every aspect. Expand
  17. Jun 5, 2013
    9
    Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time stands out for almost ten years as one of the most entertaining and enjoyable games ever released to a game console, thanks to an amazing soundtrack, very good pacing, interesting story and gorgeous scenarios.
  18. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    I took only one issue with this game, and for me it was a pretty minor thing. The combat in this game can be a tad repetitive. Other than that, I found the story engaging, the puzzles challenging and fun, the levels well put together, and the characters were even well developed. In other words, I really don't think the combat ruins the game, or even lessens it. It just doesn't make itI took only one issue with this game, and for me it was a pretty minor thing. The combat in this game can be a tad repetitive. Other than that, I found the story engaging, the puzzles challenging and fun, the levels well put together, and the characters were even well developed. In other words, I really don't think the combat ruins the game, or even lessens it. It just doesn't make it better. Still a favorite game, and definitely one everyone should play. Expand
  19. [Anonymous]
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    Though it can become repetitive at times, I think this game is one of the best games I have played. The acrobatic puzzles and the fighting are great. And the graphics: F..kin awsome.
  20. RyanC.
    Jun 15, 2004
    10
    It kicks so much ass, that you can't really say more about it then that it kicks so much more ass then any other game had ever kick ass before.
  21. UsmanT.
    Nov 26, 2003
    10
    This is very great game and i hope that you also make its 5th part on all platforms.
  22. :);)
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Great!!!
  23. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    The very idea of what a good game must be. The controls and camera are perfect, waaay better than in the other games of the series though it is the most ancient. Graphics haven't aged much but the game doesn't support HD resolutions. The story is amazing too. Instant favorite.
  24. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best action games i've played. Great story, great combat, great visuals. The game has some very nice sad and happy moments. If you haven't played it yet, go get it :)
  25. AnonymousMC
    May 8, 2008
    9
    U know...It's not like that that that game is boring or sth like that (:-D). I mean... If U R looking 4 some fighting game with some puzzles, than Pronce of Persia Warrior Within is just perfect for you... And if you wanna some puzzle game, than that one and Pronce of Persia The 2 Thrones are ideal 4 U. I like puzzles and some fighting so it's a very good game IMO. I played PoPU know...It's not like that that that game is boring or sth like that (:-D). I mean... If U R looking 4 some fighting game with some puzzles, than Pronce of Persia Warrior Within is just perfect for you... And if you wanna some puzzle game, than that one and Pronce of Persia The 2 Thrones are ideal 4 U. I like puzzles and some fighting so it's a very good game IMO. I played PoP WW too, but I think taat 1 is better like T2T/ The animations are wonderful and it helps people to realax a little bit. So, overall, it's a fabolous game!!! Expand
  26. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    this game has an story that is fun to follow with excellent written characters (basically 2 characters but better 2 great character then a million horrible ones, yeah elder scrolls I am calling you out) anyway the gameplay is very smooth mostly because you can rewind time when you die, which will happen a lot the combat is a little repetitive but it is okay. overall an amazing game
  27. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    The Sands of Time, the magical game that brought the Prince of Persia series back to life. Undeniably one of the greatest adventure games ever made. The game has everything you need for an epic adventure; battle-ling ancient monsters, evading death traps, and solving some tough puzzles. If you screw up, no worries, you have quite a few chances to correct yourself. But that doesn't make theThe Sands of Time, the magical game that brought the Prince of Persia series back to life. Undeniably one of the greatest adventure games ever made. The game has everything you need for an epic adventure; battle-ling ancient monsters, evading death traps, and solving some tough puzzles. If you screw up, no worries, you have quite a few chances to correct yourself. But that doesn't make the game any easier. The story line is top notch and makes room for some light hearted humour. No matter what way you look at this game, its an epic adventure. Expand
  28. May 18, 2012
    10
    In the Prince of Persia series this game is a legend with superb story and amazing fun gameplay.
    A true persian feeling , great environment and never forget the heart touching music. As a game it has everything that make you addicted of persian legends and arabian nights.
    Though movie changed the story, the game features real love story with miracles and magic. Its a great adventure. As
    In the Prince of Persia series this game is a legend with superb story and amazing fun gameplay.
    A true persian feeling , great environment and never forget the heart touching music. As a game it has everything that make you addicted of persian legends and arabian nights.
    Though movie changed the story, the game features real love story with miracles and magic. Its a great adventure. As they say, " A story like none of your ever heard."
    Expand
  29. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    prince of persia is a true masterpiece i loved this game so much i can't even remember how many times i finished it but the best part about this game is the ability to use time i found that really cool the game play is really fun but it gets repetitive after a while but climbing and walking in the walls using the dagger to slow time and so never gets old and you'll for sure enjoy it thisprince of persia is a true masterpiece i loved this game so much i can't even remember how many times i finished it but the best part about this game is the ability to use time i found that really cool the game play is really fun but it gets repetitive after a while but climbing and walking in the walls using the dagger to slow time and so never gets old and you'll for sure enjoy it this game is a must have Expand
  30. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    The game has enchanting graphics. Each room and area has a gorgeous design and the platforming has been done well. The combat can get repetitive once you are long in the game even though they have tried to keep it fresh by introducing new enemies as we progress in the game. The story line is romantic, charming and gripping with its sense of adventure and loneliness. The puzzle solving isThe game has enchanting graphics. Each room and area has a gorgeous design and the platforming has been done well. The combat can get repetitive once you are long in the game even though they have tried to keep it fresh by introducing new enemies as we progress in the game. The story line is romantic, charming and gripping with its sense of adventure and loneliness. The puzzle solving is downright fun and the voice acting is awesome. This is one the best games ever to grace the consoles and PC. The score is extremely good with the Persian chorus and music; will have the gamers immersed completely in the game forgetting about the real world. A must play game. A classic forever.... Expand
  31. Apr 6, 2015
    9
    The game is an exciting ride with awesome climbing, jumping, wall running, puzzle solving,... and a mysterious yet undeniably amazing story. Nevertheless, though these problems are just tiny things in the wonderful world of Persia, the bad camera angle and some frustrated fights can be serious pains.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 88
    Ubi Soft Montreal has captured everything we loved about the first game without sacrificing the kinds of things we expect from games these days.
  2. Thrillinng acrobatic action, though the controls and camera could be better. [Mar 2004, p.88]
  3. The freedom of movement requires a new level of spatial imagination. Before Prince of Persia, platform games were like playing Tetris with only the blocks and bars. [Christmas 2003, p.100]