Project: Snowblind PC

Project: Snowblind Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience the dramatic intensity of the frontlines of a war through the eyes of the first of a new breed of super soldiers in this gritty and epic first-person action game. In the not so distant Future, Lt. Nathan Frost is challenged to stop a renegade regime from eradicating the civilizedExperience the dramatic intensity of the frontlines of a war through the eyes of the first of a new breed of super soldiers in this gritty and epic first-person action game. In the not so distant Future, Lt. Nathan Frost is challenged to stop a renegade regime from eradicating the civilized world. Hong Kong, 2065. 2nd Lt. Nathan Frost is just a regular grunt until he volunteers for a super-soldier transformation for an international army called the Liberty Coalition. A painful series of surgeries gives Frost extra-normal abilities via implanted enhancements, which place him on the frontlines of a war against a destructive regime. After a military coup leaves him stranded in hostile territory, cut off from command with only a handful of men, Frost must stop the militia?s secret weapon that threatens to plunge the world into darkness. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Play Magazine
    85
    The skillfully crafted Project: Snowblind calls on the best of what we enjoy about the genre, but the game feels nicely removed from the norm. [March 2005, p.52]
  2. PC Format
    84
    Not big and not clever, but lots of simple, high-paced fun while it lasts... The story fits the action: it's speedy, unchallenging, over-the-top yet quite entertaining. [Apr 2005, p.108]
  3. From a technical standpoint, how the framerate stays so smooth with all the action on screen is amazing, and the spot-on controls are icing on the cake.
  4. There was never a moment when I was playing this game where I was annoyed or frustrated, even as I crashed back to the desktop. I just wanted more and more.
  5. 80
    The solid mechanics within this neatly presented package still lack a certain degree of charm, but Snowblind more than makes up for its slight hint of the mundane with a diverse and extraordinarily well-paced sort of action.
  6. A decent first person shooter, that you can easily finish during a weekend, without being sorry for the time spent in his company, especially if you're a "Deus Ex" fan, like myself.
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    50
    A moderately entertaining, if staid, entry that, at least in its PC incarnation, will probably be left out in the cold. [Aug 2005, p.76]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. TonyL.
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    Pretty good game need a few online things fixing tho.
  2. Oct 31, 2015
    8
    This is a fun little FPS game. It was released back in 2005, and this is the first time I've played it and thought it was pretty fun. Don'tThis is a fun little FPS game. It was released back in 2005, and this is the first time I've played it and thought it was pretty fun. Don't expect a masterpiece or hours upon hours of gameplay, but if you like a short single-player focused sci-fi shooter with a cool setting, then give it a try.

    The setting is a near future and really reminded me of Deus Ex (from what I've heard, it was initially planned to be a sequel to Deus Ex, but later turned into a standalone title). You play as military commander who gets injured in battle and implanted with combat augmentations, which become available for use over time.

    This is what I really enjoyed about the gameplay. It's not just your bog standard corridor shooter relying on twitch reflexes. It has a bit of a strategic edge, as you acquire a number of interesting augmentations throughout the game, such as the ability to slow time, ballistic shielding (temporary protection from bullets), cloak, enhanced vision, and so on. In addition to augmentations, you also find some cool gadgets to use in battle too, such as spider bots to act as your little pets and aid you in combat, deployable force field to act as cover, a large variety of grenades (most of the ones from Deus Ex), and even a nanoboost, which is like your emergency revive that you can choose to use if you die in battle.

    The game seems to have only one difficulty mode (I didn't see how to change it), but overall it's paced really well. I didn't come across any difficulty spikes and the game never throws anything unfair towards you. In some levels it's just you infiltrating some facility, in others the combat takes on a large scale assault and you have many of your squadmates with you and witness battles between large groups of soldiers. It's all really well done, even if graphically the game aged a fair bit.

    I only have one big gripe. The game crashes from time to time for no reason. It only happened about 5-6 times for me during my playthrough, but because you aren't able to save anytime you like, at times you could lose chunks of progress. Saving can only be done in special save rooms and also at the end of each level.

    Overall it was a fun game. Aside from the crashes, I thought it was well done and would certainly recommend it if you like FPS games with a story and a bit of a tactical edge.
    Expand
  3. ChrisI.
    Jul 5, 2005
    7
    Positives: cool cutscenes, online, and huge arsenal of weapons negatives: bugs, not a lot of people are ever online, expected more from this FPS.
  4. TerryD.
    Apr 4, 2005
    5
    Let's see, overly complicated controls for an fast-paced shooter, cartoon-looking characters, and constant crashes. Not the worse FPS Let's see, overly complicated controls for an fast-paced shooter, cartoon-looking characters, and constant crashes. Not the worse FPS I've ever played, but not good. Some of the combat is not bad, but that's all it seems to be - one battle after another. Too bad, it looked like it might be good. Collapse
  5. Mar 12, 2011
    4
    Another Deus ex under different name.Still pretty boring besides the augmentations.
  6. PeterB
    Jul 13, 2007
    4
    I found this, on the whole to be an average to middling game. The interface and HUD were a chore at best and a serious bother at worst, the I found this, on the whole to be an average to middling game. The interface and HUD were a chore at best and a serious bother at worst, the plot line was fairly generic. This was supposed to be the "spiritual successor" to Deus Ex, but I found it to be just as disappointing as Deus Ex 2. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2013
    3
    This game felt like a very generic shooter, and a rather poor console port. Project Snowblind has nothing special to offer, and is at bestThis game felt like a very generic shooter, and a rather poor console port. Project Snowblind has nothing special to offer, and is at best mediocre in everything it does. Atmosphere and graphics are okay but not great, overall the singleplayer is too short. The whole game somehow seemed half-done and uninspired. I'm glad they decided not to brand this a "Deus Ex" game, it would have done the series more harm than good. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews