Proteus PC

Proteus Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Proteus is a minimalist game of pure exploration and sublime discovery in a musical wilderness environment. There are no challenges and no goals other than those set by the player. A reactive audio mixing system allows the player to explore the environment as music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Feb 4, 2013
    100
    Proteus is beautiful, a beautiful thing. And it makes me happy – happy because it is so intrinsically interesting and emotional; happy because we live in an age in which things like this can be made and distributed to everyone with a computer.
  2. Feb 20, 2013
    85
    If you look at Dear Esther as a dark audio book Proteus is like looking at an interactive painting. Taking in every detail in this 8-bit world you realize the emotional power with which visuals and audio can create a poetic artwork.
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    80
    With a defined beginning, four distinct seasonal environments and an affecting, surprising conclusion, there's no question that Proteus is a game. But if there's one concern, it's whether this is an island that's worth revisiting once you've seen all it has to offer. In a way, its lack of progression – the absence of skill trees, difficulty levels and save points – works in its favour; you won't dive back in to mop up the last few achievements, or to climb leaderboards, but simply because you want to play Proteus.
  4. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    Proteus is beautiful. It's a different sort of interactive experience that needs to be seen.
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    Proteus is without a doubt not for everyone, because playing in the traditional sense of the word doesn't really happen. It does, however, deliver an enchanting experience through the harmony of images and sounds, which leaves enough room for your own imagination.
  6. Feb 12, 2013
    74
    While Proteus doesn't evoke a sense of lasting emotional impact, it provides a brief escape to zone out and let your senses soak in its world, whether you're following your nose in discovery or simply relaxing and watching the sunset.
  7. Feb 7, 2013
    60
    Proteus is very much a niche title. Without any real objective or storytelling hook, the open-ended nature will no doubt bore some. That said, its attempts at emergent gameplay are commendable and worth experiencing if this type of game appeals to you.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 59
  2. Negative: 29 out of 59
  1. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    It looks like the people posting the terrible reviews didn't manage to figure out how to progress in the game. That is not the game's fault,It looks like the people posting the terrible reviews didn't manage to figure out how to progress in the game. That is not the game's fault, but the user's fault, and in my eyes is the equivalent of someone calling a book terrible, because they can't figure out how to open the cover and get to the pages.

    If you require your hand constantly held through your games, and big flashing arrows pointing which way to go and what to do next, this game isn't for you. If you like an atmospheric, charming, exploration game that will provide you with an amazing experience, give it a try! I found it a very satisfying and relaxing experience, and on my second play through noticed things I hadn't previously, and was greeted with a new landscape to explore.

    I highly recommend this "relax-em up" (not sure what else to call it!) to anyone who wants a new experience and wants to get lost in an interesting world.
    Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This game is actually pretty intriguing. The goal is to immerse yourself really, put your feet up, relax take it in, and the world willThis game is actually pretty intriguing. The goal is to immerse yourself really, put your feet up, relax take it in, and the world will introduce curious things to you that will suprise you. I haven't had the same experience twice, and when it comes to a long stessful day, this is the perfect way to unwind. I absolutely love this game, and its truly special and unique Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    After the first 10 or 20 minutes of frustration, i feel strangely relaxing, and decided to just enjoy it. And then i found me discoveringAfter the first 10 or 20 minutes of frustration, i feel strangely relaxing, and decided to just enjoy it. And then i found me discovering little things like interactions with sounds through environments, that leads me to finally understand the different and curious gameplay.

    I wanted to tell you about it, but you have to experience for yourself. I found me smiling for nothing not rarely, with a mixed up feeling of excitement and joy. And it have a meaning - very simple and easy to guess - that you may discover till the end. I'll certainly replay it.

    Not recommended for those who don't like to experience new things, or those who like gameplay, controls and interactions complexity.
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2015
    5
    Proteus
    a pretty walking simulator
    Proteus is an exploration game that takes place on an island. There’s not much to say about this game.
    Proteus
    a pretty walking simulator
    Proteus is an exploration game that takes place on an island.
    There’s not much to say about this game.
    You just walk around, that’s it.
    Every time you start a game the island is different, all you have to do to beat the game is go through all 4 seasons, you go to a new season by waiting for night time and then going to these glowy white orbs, the colors and changing seasons are great pieces of eye candy, but only for like 12 seconds
    then your over it
    I found nothing engaging about this game at all beyond my initial introduction and trying to figure it out.
    The randomly generated islands are all solid, so there aren’t caves, or buildings to explore through, just hills to climb over, and musical animals to listen to as they hop around.
    There’s really nothing to explore here, get to the island, look at it for 10 seconds, this is all you need to see, game over.
    I do appreciate the ambient music, and could see the potential of someone going to proteus to just escape to a colorful land, but maybe I’m just saying that to find a positive, because there are games out there with tons more to do that you could get that same experience from like Minecraft.
    There’s nothing to do here but do mundane tasks like walk around the island, or follow the bath from end to end for trophies, that’s about it.
    Not worth exploring.
    There’s nothing to see here
    Proteus isn’t a bad game, it’s just not a good game either... it’s kinda just nothing.
    For what it is
    Exploration game 5.0/10
    overall: 5.0/10
    Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    3
    I'll grant that the game works, but it doesn't do at all what a game is supposed to do. The only feeling that was invoked from playing thisI'll grant that the game works, but it doesn't do at all what a game is supposed to do. The only feeling that was invoked from playing this was boredom. It's got the same problem as Dear Esther, where your only mechanic is to watch stuff and hope for the best. Proteus on the other hand is pixelated in that "I'm trying too hard to be retro" way. The game is about watching nature, but absolutely nothing interesting happens when you're plopped into the world. It's not scripted, and some would praise that, but the way I see it is that there is *nothing* for me to see unless I get lucky. I am not going to waste my time waiting to see the *true* side of proteus when I could be working for real money. I play games mostly to invoke happiness, and this didn't, sorry. Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2013
    1
    I've got to go low on this one. This is not a game. This is an interactive screensaver. Let me repeat: This is not a game. Worst $10 spent.I've got to go low on this one. This is not a game. This is an interactive screensaver. Let me repeat: This is not a game. Worst $10 spent. I'd rather get mugged. At least then it's an actual experience. Expand
  7. Jan 13, 2015
    0
    This is not a game. No gameplay, "beep-boop" level music, patheticly bad graphics, pretending to be "minimalist". Pretencious crap. Wouldn'tThis is not a game. No gameplay, "beep-boop" level music, patheticly bad graphics, pretending to be "minimalist". Pretencious crap. Wouldn't pay 1 cent for it, let alone 12$. Avoid like a plague. If you want an exploration game with actual gameplay and story buy "flower" or "journey" instead. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews