User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 327 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 327

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    i found pc version to be bit smooth i could get handle on it frankly my pc in my bedroom could not handle the power of this cool game i play it on my laptop which so fast i found it good game texture brilliant i got my ps3 version even that bit better but i prefer both of the game

    i think you should play it over again again
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    3
    Prototype 2 is one of those braindead games that will just have you destroy stuff while being overpowered and nearly invincible. The only fun I had was jumping from rooftop to rooftop, but they made this game so dull and uninterresting and the main character just so overpowered that he'll leave the Hulk crying in a small dark corner.
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    3
    Let's start by saying that Prototype 1 is one of my all time favorites and Prototype 2 one of my all time worst sequels. I play PC games and clearly this is a bad console conversion. Apart from various crashes, the game has an awful frame rate which makes it completely unplayable. I don't have a ninja PC, but I could play every other game I tried. For me it is simply a matter of bad game design.
  4. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    Ironically, I bought the first Prototype game and experienced all of the lags described in the other reviews. With Prototype 2, the game ran perfectly on my I7 processor, 64 bit, 8gb, and GP200 graphics card. The game itself is exciting with alot of different powers and moves that are unique to this game. Story line was kind of boring, but the missions and fights more than made up forIronically, I bought the first Prototype game and experienced all of the lags described in the other reviews. With Prototype 2, the game ran perfectly on my I7 processor, 64 bit, 8gb, and GP200 graphics card. The game itself is exciting with alot of different powers and moves that are unique to this game. Story line was kind of boring, but the missions and fights more than made up for the shortfall. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2012
    7
    Finally came the long awaited sequel to one of the most underrated games. She came with a new character, a better story, better with new features, more interesting missions. It is a pity that the designers practically have not changed too much, the story remained the again the graphics are not great, this optimization is rubbish, and generally a lot of items in the game has changed for theFinally came the long awaited sequel to one of the most underrated games. She came with a new character, a better story, better with new features, more interesting missions. It is a pity that the designers practically have not changed too much, the story remained the again the graphics are not great, this optimization is rubbish, and generally a lot of items in the game has changed for the worse. Too bad, because I expected better after a really good single room. My rating - 7/10 Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2013
    6
    Garbage compared to the previous part. Worse controls (not a very good console port), graphics look silly and too colorful but still dated, story was cool in the 1st one here it is really dumb with an extremely unlikable protagonist. Terrible progression model based on fu....ing collectibles!!! REALLY??? Great progression from 1st one ripped and turned into turd.
    Good things? Some new
    Garbage compared to the previous part. Worse controls (not a very good console port), graphics look silly and too colorful but still dated, story was cool in the 1st one here it is really dumb with an extremely unlikable protagonist. Terrible progression model based on fu....ing collectibles!!! REALLY??? Great progression from 1st one ripped and turned into turd.
    Good things? Some new features compared to the first one like tearing miniguns of choppers.
    Not recommended for fans of Prototype 1 but for those who want action-packed game on their screens and don't want to get first one yeah go for it it gets 6/10.
    Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    0
    The story of the game is excellent and the characters are greatly written. However if you level up too fast, like I did, the gameplay can become very bland before you reach the third island (red zone). I didn't do this on purpose, I just thought I need the extra power and did all side missions before the main missions. The dialogues between Blackwatch and Heller are extremely amusing someThe story of the game is excellent and the characters are greatly written. However if you level up too fast, like I did, the gameplay can become very bland before you reach the third island (red zone). I didn't do this on purpose, I just thought I need the extra power and did all side missions before the main missions. The dialogues between Blackwatch and Heller are extremely amusing some times, this helps not getting to worked up about the mediocre AI. You can even turn your enemies into living bombs, but they wont get alarmed if you do that in disguise (poke a sting in the back of the neck of an enemy). Most of your actions won't cause any counteraction by your enemies. Hell, even the pedestrians are smarter: They get distressed and panic when you act strange. Took the time to do side and main missions and finished just after about 12 hours with 95%. That's a good bang for your bucks if you can get it cheap. Once you're finished there's freeroam mode wich gets boring real fast. The activities and side missions can be replayed, but they are less fun that the core game. Almost every important character is an infected (called evolved) which is annoying after a while. The consolized controls and low-res textures however ruin everything. Expand
  8. May 9, 2013
    8
    prototype 2 is a really fun game. the gameplay is great, though its a little repetetive. the combat uses one of the greatest combat systems i have ever played. the bad stuff is the story is OK and not more than that. the characters are flat and boring. the graphics are OK as well though they are a bit outdated. some animations and effects look really bad, especially explosions.
    overall
    prototype 2 is a really fun game. the gameplay is great, though its a little repetetive. the combat uses one of the greatest combat systems i have ever played. the bad stuff is the story is OK and not more than that. the characters are flat and boring. the graphics are OK as well though they are a bit outdated. some animations and effects look really bad, especially explosions.
    overall this is a really fun game!!!!!! just dont buy it for the story or graphics. you should buy it if you want really awesome gameplay!!!!!!
    Expand
  9. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    The best thing about Prototype is the freedom of destructive action. You can dropkick a helicopter or tear off a tank's turret then smash it dead with that very turret. Pity you can't tear down buildings. And that destruction (and a new power) is the only high point of the game. The rest is worse than in the original.

    The plot is completely an excuse one and the protagonist is extra
    The best thing about Prototype is the freedom of destructive action. You can dropkick a helicopter or tear off a tank's turret then smash it dead with that very turret. Pity you can't tear down buildings. And that destruction (and a new power) is the only high point of the game. The rest is worse than in the original.

    The plot is completely an excuse one and the protagonist is extra stupid with a side of macho man pain, which really lowers the amount of care given.

    The graphics are rather outdated, too. With no real innovation and a reduced array of fun activities this might be worth buying at a sale but only if you've completed over 90% of the original and desperately want to see a couple new enemy types.
    Expand
  10. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    pretty **** epic a decent 2nd game i preferred the first one myself with being such a **** badass
  11. Feb 6, 2013
    1
    Another definition of mediocrity. It's yet another poorly done console port with bad graphics (especially textures) and abysmal performance on PC. The gameplay is as mediocre as it can go. Button masher that is poorly executed with no feeling of impact or momentum, backed by more shallow, forced RPG elements that are linear and bland character upgrades. Run up walls, jump 15 meters, glideAnother definition of mediocrity. It's yet another poorly done console port with bad graphics (especially textures) and abysmal performance on PC. The gameplay is as mediocre as it can go. Button masher that is poorly executed with no feeling of impact or momentum, backed by more shallow, forced RPG elements that are linear and bland character upgrades. Run up walls, jump 15 meters, glide through the air, rip tanks apart with your hands, thanks YET ****ING AGAIN TO A MAGICAL VIRUS! Story is just uninteresting, mainly due to the poor writing, as it consists purely of cliches and a common profanity after every 3 words. This silly game feels unfinished and was entertaining for about an hour. Expand
  12. Apr 8, 2013
    7
    This game definitely has its problems, but I don't really see why so many people hate it. I actually thought it was a pretty decent game. The powers are fantastic and otherworldly, and by the end of the game I wanted those powers myself. The minigames were quite fun too. Travelling around the city didn't feel like a chore, as you can run at race car speeds and jump over any obstacle inThis game definitely has its problems, but I don't really see why so many people hate it. I actually thought it was a pretty decent game. The powers are fantastic and otherworldly, and by the end of the game I wanted those powers myself. The minigames were quite fun too. Travelling around the city didn't feel like a chore, as you can run at race car speeds and jump over any obstacle in your way. It was actually quite fun just pressing the sprint button and seeing what will happen. This game makes you feel like a serious bad ass.
    There were a couple downsides. Graphics are just mediocre, and the story was dull. In fact, the story felt kind of nonexistent. The game felt more like an open world experience, with the story sort of like the main minigame.
    Expand
  13. Aug 3, 2012
    0
    I was so excited to play Prototype 2, but I just can't play it because of how much of a horrible **** console port it is.
    The PC controls are horrible. But the worst of all is that it doesn't matter if I run the game on highest settings or lowest settings the game will always run on ~30 FPS with many huge lag spikes when I glide around the city, why is that? My Computer can handle the
    I was so excited to play Prototype 2, but I just can't play it because of how much of a horrible **** console port it is.
    The PC controls are horrible. But the worst of all is that it doesn't matter if I run the game on highest settings or lowest settings the game will always run on ~30 FPS with many huge lag spikes when I glide around the city, why is that? My Computer can handle the game just fine, why Activision WHY WHY WHY??!?!?!
    Expand
  14. Nov 5, 2012
    3
    New character? Checked! New powers? Checked! Same old boring story? Checked! Same gameplay? Checked! Add some new characters? Checked! Tentacles? Checked!
  15. Nov 16, 2012
    2
    This is a terrible game, with plenty of technical that renders it unplayable. Although I have a PC capable of running all current games at maximum settings at over 60fps, this game runs with lots of stuttering and several performance drops, that turn the game into a mess.
    The level of incompetence to make such a bad conversion to PC of a console game is just astonishing.
    A game to avoid.
  16. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    Pro of Prototype 2

    -Much much better graphic -Storyline is better -The ending is epic -It is very fun to messing around in green zone Cons of Prototype 2 -Prototype 2's mission focused on sneaking to consume some your target sneaky,Prototype 1 focused using the special ability on most of mission -Heller run slower than Alex -Alex's power is better than Heller's power -Shield
    Pro of Prototype 2

    -Much much better graphic
    -Storyline is better
    -The ending is epic
    -It is very fun to messing around in green zone

    Cons of Prototype 2

    -Prototype 2's mission focused on sneaking to consume some your target sneaky,Prototype 1 focused using the special ability on most of mission
    -Heller run slower than Alex
    -Alex's power is better than Heller's power
    -Shield too OP,it is possible to complete a mission by deflecting bullet and rockets
    -After you complete everything,Prototype 2 is getting very boring
    -Why do they make Alex became very evil person?
    Expand
  17. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    People with bad computers and no gamepad are going to red their user scores with hate.

    Prototype 2 has one flaw. The storyline from the first and into the second doesn't make any sense. Plain and simple doesn't matter. The missions are fun, the sandbox is a joy to fly around in and the battles are pretty epic even if you are able to follow a map and exp up before later game missions
    People with bad computers and no gamepad are going to red their user scores with hate.

    Prototype 2 has one flaw. The storyline from the first and into the second doesn't make any sense. Plain and simple doesn't matter.

    The missions are fun, the sandbox is a joy to fly around in and the battles are pretty epic even if you are able to follow a map and exp up before later game missions there is some fun to be had. Rent this. Buy it on sale but don't give it a red review just because you couldn't run it.
    Expand
  18. Mar 10, 2013
    5
    though it has impressive graphics and visuals, but the game is just boring and very repetitive.. the story is dumb and james heller is consensually obnoxious.. Side missions are almost all the same.
  19. Dec 6, 2012
    8
    Quite fun to play game but still lacks a good base...it has lot of errors on the pc port and mostly it provides nothing..Textures are very often blobs of blurry color mixed together
  20. Oct 16, 2012
    5
    Prototype 1 with a different protagonist. The only thing that makes this game worth playing is the fun you can have by destroying things and killing people using your powers. The problem is this can't be fun for a long time.. 2 hours? maybe 3? After spending some time killing and destroying everything and everyone, you just realise that there's nothing else worth playing this game for. ItPrototype 1 with a different protagonist. The only thing that makes this game worth playing is the fun you can have by destroying things and killing people using your powers. The problem is this can't be fun for a long time.. 2 hours? maybe 3? After spending some time killing and destroying everything and everyone, you just realise that there's nothing else worth playing this game for. It could have had a great story that sucks you in, but that's not the case. The story is boring and the only thing you'll want to do while watching a cut scene is to make it stop so you can go back to destroying sh*t. If you enjoy that, then maybe you'll like the game, but I got bored after 1 hour of gameplay. Expand
  21. Oct 29, 2012
    3
    The story is an insult to everyone who actually enjoyed the plot in the first game. The fact that you need to read a comic that bridges the gap between the two games to understand why Alex acts the way he does now is ridiculous (and what's worse: the comic is quite bad). The camera is extremely unresponsive (and it's even worse in the indoors sections). Gameplay improved since the firstThe story is an insult to everyone who actually enjoyed the plot in the first game. The fact that you need to read a comic that bridges the gap between the two games to understand why Alex acts the way he does now is ridiculous (and what's worse: the comic is quite bad). The camera is extremely unresponsive (and it's even worse in the indoors sections). Gameplay improved since the first installment (which I enjoyed a lot more though) but it could have been a lot better, it's like they were afraid to add more animations or give you more than 5 powers. A game like this driving me away because of its plot is new for me. Expand
  22. Oct 29, 2012
    0
    WARNING! SERIOUS! Do not get this game. I installed it, every time I loaded it crashed my pc. I tried turning threading optimization on, only have 1 or 2 cores on. Finally I got a blue screen of death and said "Ah hell no!" Uninstalled the game for good. No game developer should release this crap. Anything with this many problems and this severe problems is NOT acceptable. I'm not some botWARNING! SERIOUS! Do not get this game. I installed it, every time I loaded it crashed my pc. I tried turning threading optimization on, only have 1 or 2 cores on. Finally I got a blue screen of death and said "Ah hell no!" Uninstalled the game for good. No game developer should release this crap. Anything with this many problems and this severe problems is NOT acceptable. I'm not some bot trying to stop you from buying this. I am a concerned gamer. Look me up on steam if you have to Twitch375 Is my tag. If there was a negative score, I would give it one. Please take heed. Expand
  23. Aug 24, 2012
    6
    Meh, i don't know. On one side it was fun to run around jumping and just experiencing the incredible smoothness of the animations, but as with Prototype 1 the missions are very generic and there is no real story. On the other hand the interactions with the people in the streets are nicely done, the way they react, run away, bump into each other and everything was nice to see. Also theMeh, i don't know. On one side it was fun to run around jumping and just experiencing the incredible smoothness of the animations, but as with Prototype 1 the missions are very generic and there is no real story. On the other hand the interactions with the people in the streets are nicely done, the way they react, run away, bump into each other and everything was nice to see. Also the combat was pretty good, especially liked the battles with the giant monsters, there is a real feeling of superiority every time but you still need to put the right moves together which made for a strangely stress-less gaming experience. The length is just right for me, i was getting a little tired of the generic missions so i stopped doing the altogether after a bit and just rushed the main story. So i don't know, this game has very good gameplay and looks very good, but has a very poor story and non-existant replayability. But still it was more or less enjoyable. Expand
  24. Aug 17, 2012
    2
    I'm a BIG fan of the frist Prototype game. But this secound game is just horrible. And here is a few reasons.
    1. Heller (the main new character) is one of the most overdone and stereotyped black man in video games. 2. Ruined the story of Prototype 1- no conspiracy-ex- Pariah, Greene, etc. 3. HEY KILLED OFF MERCER FOR NO REASON.
  25. Aug 9, 2012
    5
    In a few words.... Prototype 2 is Prototype 1 with a different story, and a couple new features.... Pretty sure all the character animations were just ripped straight from the first one... Don't get me wrong. I enjoyed the game. But the game was just a bunch of lazy. Developers just waiting till Prototype died out then re-releasing it with a different campaign and fancy new black and whiteIn a few words.... Prototype 2 is Prototype 1 with a different story, and a couple new features.... Pretty sure all the character animations were just ripped straight from the first one... Don't get me wrong. I enjoyed the game. But the game was just a bunch of lazy. Developers just waiting till Prototype died out then re-releasing it with a different campaign and fancy new black and white cut-scenes...

    As far as graphics go, they are EXACTLY the same as the first one..... Gameplay is a 7-8, but I have to dock it for being so lazy

    Invest in a gamepad (like a wired 360 controller) for best results

    This game is a straight port of a console game so playing with a controller is best
    Expand
  26. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    Gameplay is fantastic, just as I expected. Story is not as good. The protagonist, James Heller, is too simple minded. Playing as Heller is not as fun as playing as Alex Mercer, who underwent from avenger to redeemer. I don't think Alex from Prototype 1 would turn into the villain in 2, based on his character: He hunts down the runners, he saves the city, he cares about his sister, heGameplay is fantastic, just as I expected. Story is not as good. The protagonist, James Heller, is too simple minded. Playing as Heller is not as fun as playing as Alex Mercer, who underwent from avenger to redeemer. I don't think Alex from Prototype 1 would turn into the villain in 2, based on his character: He hunts down the runners, he saves the city, he cares about his sister, he doesn't easily trust others (why would he recklessly give so many random people with shapeshifting powers in 2?), etc. Alex Mercer from 1 is my favorite protagonist of all time. The team shouldn't have made him the villain. Expand
  27. Nov 19, 2014
    9
    This is a truly fun game. You feel bad ass all the way with the powers you get. I have played for hours without getting bored at all. I didn't experience any issues on my PC. The feeling of freedom as you hover over towering blocks and choose different powers to use makes this game one of the more enjoyable games I've played lately. I personally believe Prototype 2 is more refined thanThis is a truly fun game. You feel bad ass all the way with the powers you get. I have played for hours without getting bored at all. I didn't experience any issues on my PC. The feeling of freedom as you hover over towering blocks and choose different powers to use makes this game one of the more enjoyable games I've played lately. I personally believe Prototype 2 is more refined than Prototype 1. I didn't enjoy 1 as much as I did 2. Recommended. Expand
  28. Aug 7, 2012
    8
    An awsome game,great graphics better than prototype 1....i get that people having high resolution pc are having issues playing dis game such as game crashes hard drive being locked........it is mostly due to too much high performance computers.....i have 4 gb ram 1 gb asus graphics card and core i3 3.66Ghz processor and prototype 2 is running great on mine......for high performance pcAn awsome game,great graphics better than prototype 1....i get that people having high resolution pc are having issues playing dis game such as game crashes hard drive being locked........it is mostly due to too much high performance computers.....i have 4 gb ram 1 gb asus graphics card and core i3 3.66Ghz processor and prototype 2 is running great on mine......for high performance pc users...try to lower or performance such as removing external graphics card and ram card.... Expand
  29. Jul 28, 2012
    7
    An acceptable plot, cutscenes not overlong, voice acting not cheesy. The only thing about the satisfyingly gory gameplay is that it can be a bit repetetive when you think of it as "do mission - cutscene - run there - cutscene - end mission - cutscene - run somewhere else - repeat". Of course, like every other PC game this year, from a technical point of view, it's terrible. The game hasAn acceptable plot, cutscenes not overlong, voice acting not cheesy. The only thing about the satisfyingly gory gameplay is that it can be a bit repetetive when you think of it as "do mission - cutscene - run there - cutscene - end mission - cutscene - run somewhere else - repeat". Of course, like every other PC game this year, from a technical point of view, it's terrible. The game has broken mouse support, I played through it with a PS3 controller. I found, although i amlucky enough to be able to play the game, that after every 30 mins or so my frame rate had slowly dropped to such an unplayable level I would have to quit the game and restart whatever mission i was playing - the game has an obvious memory leak.

    Aside from the now common problems that PC users face with cheap, rushed, console ports, (even though this game was delayed for 2 months or so) if you can see past these problems, the game itself is quite good.
    Expand
  30. Jul 30, 2012
    3
    In short, if you liked the first one, avoid this hacked together, amateur mess.
    Even if we are kind and ignore the plague of technical issues that this game shipped with (I only experienced the mouse issue and enabling vsync fixed it for me) this is still a terrible game.
    The graphics are simply dire: no shadows, no reflections, muddy textures and extremely low detail all throughout - it
    In short, if you liked the first one, avoid this hacked together, amateur mess.
    Even if we are kind and ignore the plague of technical issues that this game shipped with (I only experienced the mouse issue and enabling vsync fixed it for me) this is still a terrible game.
    The graphics are simply dire: no shadows, no reflections, muddy textures and extremely low detail all throughout - it loks like a DX8 game. Running this at max details I get a very high frame rate (though it constantly bombs up and down for no reason) and it looks like a game from 10 years ago. It is a flat, boring, featureless world.
    The controls are vague and fairly unresponsive and generally you never really feel as though you are in control of the (utterly hateful and idiotic) protagonist. He is happy to bomb around, doing as he pleases, attacking what he wants, jumping where he fancies and generally ignoring the hell out of you while you miss target after target, normally as arbitrary and pointless countdowns expire meaning you fail the mission.
    The one thing I could have noted as a good point for this game is the ability to save whenever you like, rather than the usual console auto-save nonsense, but even that is broken. Saving produces a pointless replica of the previous auto-save, utterly ignoring anything you did since.
    Even if all the technical issues are fixed, the graphics will remain far below par (even for an xbox game), the port will remain horrible and utterly bereft of care and attention and the story line will be pallid and uninteresting. Do yourself a favour and install the first game - you'll be a lot happier.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 70
    Prototype 2 lets you feel like a hungry predator among defenseless chickens and it feels great. Only pity is you hit the same hennery over and over again. [Sept 2012]
  2. Sep 7, 2012
    60
    It could have been great, but this gruesome and ridiculous power fantasy is spoilt by a disgracefully shabby port to PC.
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    82
    Prototype 2 (the swan song of Radical Entertainment) is a decent open-world action game, that does not invent the wheel, but it does manage to offer solid amounts of entertainment, splattered with generous servings of blood and mayhem. [September 2012]