Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 311 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Behold New York Zero. Prototype 2 extends the experience of becoming the ultimate shape-shifting weapon. A vicious viral outbreak has killed Sgt James Heller’s family and transformed him into a PROTOTYPE. Powered by revolutionary shapeshifting powers, you must hunt, kill and consume your way across the ravaged wasteland of New York Zero to take revenge on the man responsible: Alex Mercer. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    90
    On PC, Prototype 2 hums along nicely in the presentation department, but playing a game a game like this with a keyboard and mouse is ridiculous. It's not as accurate as playing with a controller, which this reviewer switched to after about 20 minutes fidgeting with the keyboard and mouse and finding them completely impractical at best and frustrating at worst.
  2. 87
    Like a lot of action games, the story needs a bit of work, but if you can overcome it's minor short comings, this game can be a whole lot of fun.
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    86
    Prototype 2 is not perfect and there are a few things which need to do a better job next game - like the lack of variation in missions - , but nonetheless this is one of the most visceral, spectacular and brutal sandboxes out there. A far better videogame than its predecessor.
  4. Jul 30, 2012
    78
    A solid conversion of a solid game, but the three months delay can't be justified in any way. A really poor treatment for the PC gamer.
  5. Jul 27, 2012
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Jul 26, 2012
    75
    Prototype 2 on the PC is almost identical to its console counterparts, which makes for a brutal and exciting adventure.
  7. Aug 30, 2012
    60
    By blindly copying the first game, Radical killed most of its original ideas and made a lot of mistakes. Prototype 2 is a derivative tale of a stupid superhuman who walks in a city made of shoeboxes.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 62
  2. Negative: 21 out of 62
  1. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Great game! Very good graphics animation physics, awesome gameplay. I played at full settings it looks gorgeous in fullhd AMAZING JOB! Shame that the game dont come the same time as console verison maybe it would sell more and we would have NUMBER 3.

    + VERY GOOD GAME WITH EVERYTHING BETTER AND NICER THEN IN PROTOTYPE 1

    + LOOKS AWESOME ON PC IN FULL HD UBER
    Expand
  2. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best Action games I have ever played! What did you expect when you were buying Prototype 2? Ponies, rainbows or detective adventures with plot twists and unexpected reveals? NO! YOU WERE BUYING BLOODY DISMEMBERMENT OF EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING! A gorgeous mosh pit with body parts of people and creatures! 9/10! Don't whine lil' **** This what I expected and this is what I got with its awesome action and gameplay, nice graphics and audio! One exception is sometimes unexpectedly difficult challenges! But this doesn't matter CUZ WE ARE MEN! MEN LIKE DIFFICULTIES! AAAARGHHH! *censored* 9 out of 10! Bloody massacre in its apocalypse! Hell will be surprised! Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    People with bad computers and no gamepad are going to red their user scores with hate.

    Prototype 2 has one flaw. The storyline from the
    first and into the second doesn't make any sense. Plain and simple doesn't matter.

    The missions are fun, the sandbox is a joy to fly around in and the battles are pretty epic even if you are able to follow a map and exp up before later game missions there is some fun to be had. Rent this. Buy it on sale but don't give it a red review just because you couldn't run it.
    Expand
  4. May 21, 2014
    6
    Although I enjoy leaping around the city with my near-invincible superpowers, I can only give Prototype 2 a 6 because of the totally crap AI. I can toss a car into a bunch of soldiers, destroy a tank, then run around a corner, disguise myself, and come back in less than 10 seconds, and the stupid brainless AI soldiers have forgotten it happened. Even with the fires still blazing. But other than that...it's a lot of fun. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    5
    If you LOVED the first one, don't get this. Unless you want a mediocre story and nothing else. If you never played the first Prototype and do not care about the story then pick this up. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    3
    New character? Checked! New powers? Checked! Same old boring story? Checked! Same gameplay? Checked! Add some new characters? Checked! Tentacles? Checked! Collapse
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    0
    this game is all about sucking money out of you.it took me 4 hours of play time then told me if you want to continue you have to go online and pay $4.99 for the next board. don't buy this game it will not make you happy. the game makers are greedy Expand

See all 62 User Reviews