Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 327 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Behold New York Zero. Prototype 2 extends the experience of becoming the ultimate shape-shifting weapon. A vicious viral outbreak has killed Sgt James Heller’s family and transformed him into a PROTOTYPE. Powered by revolutionary shapeshifting powers, you must hunt, kill and consume your wayBehold New York Zero. Prototype 2 extends the experience of becoming the ultimate shape-shifting weapon. A vicious viral outbreak has killed Sgt James Heller’s family and transformed him into a PROTOTYPE. Powered by revolutionary shapeshifting powers, you must hunt, kill and consume your way across the ravaged wasteland of New York Zero to take revenge on the man responsible: Alex Mercer. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    90
    On PC, Prototype 2 hums along nicely in the presentation department, but playing a game a game like this with a keyboard and mouse is ridiculous. It's not as accurate as playing with a controller, which this reviewer switched to after about 20 minutes fidgeting with the keyboard and mouse and finding them completely impractical at best and frustrating at worst.
  2. 87
    Like a lot of action games, the story needs a bit of work, but if you can overcome it's minor short comings, this game can be a whole lot of fun.
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    86
    Prototype 2 is not perfect and there are a few things which need to do a better job next game - like the lack of variation in missions - , but nonetheless this is one of the most visceral, spectacular and brutal sandboxes out there. A far better videogame than its predecessor.
  4. Jul 30, 2012
    78
    A solid conversion of a solid game, but the three months delay can't be justified in any way. A really poor treatment for the PC gamer.
  5. Jul 27, 2012
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Jul 26, 2012
    75
    Prototype 2 on the PC is almost identical to its console counterparts, which makes for a brutal and exciting adventure.
  7. Aug 30, 2012
    60
    By blindly copying the first game, Radical killed most of its original ideas and made a lot of mistakes. Prototype 2 is a derivative tale of a stupid superhuman who walks in a city made of shoeboxes.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 64
  2. Negative: 22 out of 64
  1. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Great game! Very good graphics animation physics, awesome gameplay. I played at full settings it looks gorgeous in fullhd AMAZING JOB! ShameGreat game! Very good graphics animation physics, awesome gameplay. I played at full settings it looks gorgeous in fullhd AMAZING JOB! Shame that the game dont come the same time as console verison maybe it would sell more and we would have NUMBER 3.

    + VERY GOOD GAME WITH EVERYTHING BETTER AND NICER THEN IN PROTOTYPE 1

    + LOOKS AWESOME ON PC IN FULL HD UBER
    Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    Totally an kick-ass game where vengeance is everything. The only thing that i hated is the storyline. Playing as Heller is not as fun asTotally an kick-ass game where vengeance is everything. The only thing that i hated is the storyline. Playing as Heller is not as fun as playing as Alex Mercer was. Side missions are also helpful for Heller evolution. Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    pretty **** epic a decent 2nd game i preferred the first one myself with being such a **** badass
  4. May 21, 2014
    6
    Although I enjoy leaping around the city with my near-invincible superpowers, I can only give Prototype 2 a 6 because of the totally crap AI.Although I enjoy leaping around the city with my near-invincible superpowers, I can only give Prototype 2 a 6 because of the totally crap AI. I can toss a car into a bunch of soldiers, destroy a tank, then run around a corner, disguise myself, and come back in less than 10 seconds, and the stupid brainless AI soldiers have forgotten it happened. Even with the fires still blazing. But other than that...it's a lot of fun. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    5
    if you liked the first game and got attached to it then you will hate this one.why?
    story is worse than the first game.gameplay is wosre than
    if you liked the first game and got attached to it then you will hate this one.why?
    story is worse than the first game.gameplay is wosre than the first.making alex mercer the exact opposite of the first game.final boss is a joke.alex mercer abilties are not the same as the first game.heller is just a black stereotype that you grow to hate.me personally if ever a sequel was to be made i am never playing it.THEY RUINED PROTOTYPE FOR ME
    Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2012
    3
    Though they increased the visuals and control, it feels as though they have taken a step backwards with not only the story but the overallThough they increased the visuals and control, it feels as though they have taken a step backwards with not only the story but the overall interest that made the original popular. The protagonist is in no way of the same caliber as Alex Mercer in Prototype 1 and you tend to get tired of his "man-pain" very quickly. If story and continuity are not something you think contribute to the overall greatness of a game, then you will probably love this game - but if you want more than just GTA on steroids ... look elsewhere. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    0
    this game is all about sucking money out of you.it took me 4 hours of play time then told me if you want to continue you have to go online andthis game is all about sucking money out of you.it took me 4 hours of play time then told me if you want to continue you have to go online and pay $4.99 for the next board. don't buy this game it will not make you happy. the game makers are greedy Expand

See all 64 User Reviews