Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the second Puzzle Agent game, ace puzzle investigators will return to the snowy mid-west to help Agent Tethers solve the mystery haunting the realm.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Jul 6, 2011
    88
    a very enjoyable game. The puzzles will keep players on their toes, and the story is interesting and entertaining. The price is totally right and for what you get; it's definitely worth the price.
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    80
    Puzzle Agent 2 is by no means perfect but it does improve on the first Puzzle Agent and demonstrates the potential of the series.
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    75
    Puzzle Agent 2 combines brilliant story and clever puzzles – and that's the Holy Grail of adventure games. It does, however, recycle some of the challenges from its predecessor. [August 2011, p.50]
  4. 62
    There are only 35 puzzles, many of them are poorly designed, and the story isn't too impressive.
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    60
    Due to its comical demeanor, childish puzzles, brief length, and its absence of violence and crude language, Puzzle Agent 2 would be best enjoyed by the adolescent demographic, or by those looking for pure casual fun. For the more seasoned puzzle fanatic, or those who would expect more from a name like 'Puzzle Agent', may do well to spend their ten bucks elsewhere.
  6. Jul 6, 2011
    60
    FBI problem-solver Nelson Tethers is back for more of the same in Puzzle Agent 2.
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    40
    Releasing for a budget price doesn't excuse mediocre puzzle design, heavy repetition and a story with so little coherence.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    A fun sequel to the first Puzzle Agent game. Not only are the puzzles fun, but the story is engaging as well. I loved both of these games, and would recommend them to anyone who likes puzzle games. My boyfriend and I still quote Agent Tethers... Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    it's the plot! and the quirky drawings! same as the first game; the puzzles are easy, the game is short, and there's no replay value. it's $10 on steam right now, so for a budget-conscious gamer, it might not be worth getting (that's $5 an hour!). but if it's on sale, definitely check it out! Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2011
    8
    I have recently finished the game and I really enjoyed it. I fell in love with the art style, goofy characters, and over-the-top story. I do need to point out that the game ends the story a few scenes too soon. This maybe TellTale's way of leaving openings for a third installment (which I encourage). The puzzles were not that difficult but I don't find that as a bad thing. That is not to say I didn't get stomped once or twice. If your looking for some real head scratch-ers, you will not find them here. With that said, I would recommend this game to any of my friends Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2013
    7
    Enjoyable though not very challenging puzzle game. Most of the puzzles, though not very intuitive and some even being quite repetitive, are easy to solve with a bit of common sense. A few puzzles however are a bit trickier but this is mostly to blame on vague instructions. Hints will help you further in these occasions but it will cost you points.
    The story is a bit difficult to follow at times but i was still able to like it due to the quirky characters and atmosphere. The design of it all is quite likable.
    Is it enough to save the game? Barely. In the end it looks like it tried to be like the Professor Layton series but it doesn't even come close due to not having it's originality in puzzles.
    A shame. But as i said, i still enjoyed myself enough not to hate it. I even enjoyed it a little more than the first Puzzel Agent.
    Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    I thought it was just about as charming as the first one. I really enjoy the art and the story, although the story gets a bit carried away before it's over. The puzzles all felt familiar, but most were still fun. I have to disagree about puzzle directions being fixed, though; a few puzzles took one attempt (which counts against you) to determine some of the rules or behaviors. (I'm looking at you, electron puzzle and rock-throwing puzzle.) Toward the end of the game, the occasional typo or lack of clarity in puzzle directions and hints left me wondering if some puzzles had gotten the rush job on the editorial process. And at least one puzzle was downright frustrating to me, even after seeing all hints (*cough* racoons *cough*), and that's one too many to unreservedly recommend a puzzle game to friends (or be certain I'd buy another sequel unless the issues are specifically addressed). Collapse
  6. AWG
    Aug 14, 2013
    6
    I liked the introduction of achievements and the fact they continued the story from the first game, but everything is a little too random for my taste (and some puzzles are just badly designed). Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    4
    Puzzle Agent 2 is a completely lackluster experience. I get that the art style is trying to make it look like a comic, but it feels like i'm looking at a comic through a magnifying glass. It just hurts the eyes, and the framerate is god awful during cutscenes, i pretty much had to close my eyes and just listen to what the characters were saying. The gameplay itself has you solving puzzles. These puzzles are either extremely simplistic, or near impossible. The progression just isn't right, and the game suffers from it. The only real saving grace of this game is its relatively decent story. It's quite over the top, but I honestly was interested in seeing what happened in the end. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews