Quake Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 389 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rage through 32 single player levels and 6 deathmatch levels of sheer terror and fully immersive sound and lighting. Arm yourself against the cannibalistic Ogre, fiendish Vore and indestructible Schambler using letal nails, fierce Thunderbolts and abominable Rocket and Grenade Launchers. [id Software] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Satan, your game has arrived. It spits up blood and pisses vinegar. It sprouts horns from its head like the proud minion of evil that it is. It shoots lightning bolts, for cripes' sake. It's a game of pure evil. And even purer entertainment. It's also the best action game on the planet.
  2. After "DOOM" revolutionized first-person shooters, Quake raised the bar and set standards featuring improved visuals in a 3D environment, excellent controls, numerous monsters and a vast online experience.
  3. 100
    The essential 3D first person multiplayer experience of our time.
  4. Quake is not just another 3D shoot-em-up game. It's a whole new level of gaming. The amazing performance and features of Quake are the future of gaming. Whether you are new to this type of game or you are an old "Doom" hack, you will fall in love with Quake.
  5. Quake is fun. Quake is cool. Quake is the best game of its type I have ever seen. Quake won't let me sleep at night. However, Quake could be better.
  6. Quake isn't destined to revolutionize action games, but it's a very good first-person shooter from the guys who invented the genre. [October 1996, p.150]
  7. The shareware version before you buy this. Good, but it doesn't quite live up to the hype.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Why is ID soft. making the best fps/arcade fps games in the world? I remember Quake as the first FPS game with an awesome balanced multiplayer, great engine, lenghty and cool single player, high repetetive value. This game was so innovative back in the day, that you could easily call it a precursor (a great or even perfect one) to todays best arcade multiplayer fps games. Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    SIMPLY THE ONLY-KING-MASTER-AMAZING GAME OF ALL ETERNITY!!! i always tell people (after I say that i have been playing it for 12 years, and WILL NEVER gonna stop playing it (Quake World) that this game has 3 dimensions of SKILLs, you have AIM/SHOOT/WEAPONS skill, STRATEGY/TACTIC skill, and you have the THIRD skill dimension, that NO-FPS-GAME NEVER WILL HAVE: MOVEMENT/MOTION skill....... this is just the only explanation, the best reason, to confirm that this is BY FAR THE BEST GAME OF ETERNITY... Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    damn this game!! one of the best fps out there.. i rembember the panic the.. QUAKE it game to the gaming community... countless hours playing!! what can anyone say? the levels the dark atmosphere the sound the ferosity of the monsters, the worlds past and future embed together in a **** of awesomeness and unparelled adventure.... one of handful games that one must play in his life if real;ly cares about FPS's.
    just finished it again in nightmare skill 3 days ago. the new pack for better graphics darkplaces-tenebrae rock !! now going after the expansions.. i must play for everyone..
    Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    My first Love! Quake is one of the better FPS I ever played the old boys of ID, was greatest masters in balancing all the main elements that make a good game. the better quality is that was the first game to in giving you the feeling of diving in gameplay turning my monitor in 3d display. But-but-but... there are no word to describe the perfection of multiplayer side. One of the best of all time! Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Look at this game. Now look at the reviews. Now look back at my reccomendation. There are no scores under 6. Therefore this game is pristine and excellent. And the best part is that the download takes 20 seconds because of how old it is. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    Words simply cannot fully describe the perfection of competitive multiplayer that is Quake (so I'll be brief). No game has yet improved upon its gameplay, even nearly fifteen years later; I only found the game recently, within the last year or so, and even my knee must bow to the King of Deathmatch. It is tragic that the majority of the multiplayer FPS community has deemed to settle for so much less. Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2014
    7
    A classic game in its own right. Not the best, most awesome in my opinion, but it's a nice fun shooter. A little fustrating, but what game isn't eh?

    I did play this on GL Quake via steam, and the archaic way of resizing the window was just...eh. Not for me. Also, remember +mlook before you begin!

    So, game play wise the controls are tight. Ranger moves pretty fast, and responds well to your controls. Every control is also customizable as well, and I do have a slight complaint that you can't go "back" when cycling weapons, only forward.

    The enemies were alright. Though I wasn't too fond of seeing the Ogre, a foe that launches grenades, all over the place. Them bombs get annoying. But I never honestly got tired of them.

    The weapons were okay as well. The shotgun, Super/Double Barreled Shotgun and Rocket Launcher all make a comeback from Good ol' Doom, and new weapons like the Thundergun (or was it LIghting gun?) grenade launcher and nail guns (My personal favorite was the Super Nail Gun).

    Game comes with plenty of levels, 4 episodes plus the final boss level, and I like how you navigate to each episode instead of going through a menu like in Doom. Helps it be more immersive.

    All in all, count me in as seeing how this one is a classic game, this coming from one of those gamers that didn't grow up with quake.
    Expand

See all 59 User Reviews