Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1508 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An action game set in a post-apocalyptic landscape jam-packed with driving and shooting, created by John Carmack and the rest of the Doom crew.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    In terms of RAGEs story, there is a lot of wasted potential in this otherwise brilliant shooter. The same could be said for the technical side of things, as RAGE undoubtedly looks good, but far from brilliant, "thanks" to its multiplatform-roots. Nevertheless: id's newest IP offers great atmosphere, spot-on gunplay, cool weapons, funny vehicle-combat and solid graphics; that leaves us hoping for Carmack's promised texture-patch.
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    86
    A must have for both fans of FPS and sandbox games because it succeeds in both genres. An addictive and furiously violent videogame that will be breathtaking for every action fan.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    85
    It may lack the open-world versatility of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallout 3, the weapon diversity and sheer madness of Borderlands, yet it manages to provide thrilling corridor action and surprisingly well crafted racing that reasserts id's lofty position in the studio charts.
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Technically, Rage excels. The shooter mechanics are fantastic and the enemies vary in their tactics. However, the game starts to drag towards the (sudden) end, and the save system irritates.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Rage won't change the FPS landscape, but it's beautiful to see in motion and a bombastic delight to play. [Dec 2011, p.52]
  6. Oct 21, 2011
    70
    I wasn't expecting miracles - the word "revolution" hasn't been associated with id Software for a long time. But still I was expecting an 8/10 game and even during E3 it seemed Rage would be just that. Unfortunatelly sometimes things simply don't work that way. Various flaws of the game - beginning with a fairly short single player, ending with technical issues - don't allow me to call it a well made product. I had fun, but that's not enough to praise a game that doesn't belong on a shelf labeled "hit".
  7. 45
    The threadbare story is filled with pointless motivations, poorly realised characters and bad dialogue - so cross out 'wanting to know what happens at the end'. The way the game challenges you is by simply sending more of the same at you and hoping you run out of ammo. It doesn't have story, it doesn't have gameplay - so why would you keep playing?

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the gameA thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the game with all the possible side quests. John Carmack has given one more winner. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Gameplay:
    - For me its very much fun, nothing to complain against.
    Graphics: - They look awesome, after a Driver-Update, before it was a
    Gameplay:
    - For me its very much fun, nothing to complain against.

    Graphics:
    - They look awesome, after a Driver-Update, before it was a mess, but hey, they simply "forced" this opengl-support (which was always a mess in ati drivers, people knowing "fglrx" will know), instead of listening to ati which tells "why should we fix this, when everyone is using the old tech?"

    Sound:
    - Making a realy nice atmosphere

    Multiplayer:
    - Didnt check this yet

    All in all:
    - A little delay after release, however not that much that i would call it a fail. After reading through this new tech, it woul dbe amazing seeing future games using this, when it the opengl-implementation in drivers is finaly as solid as directX. Furthermore: a linux-client (which would be possible cause of the opengl), a SDK, a 64bit executable, and the original 150GB texture-pack (maybe shippable on blu-rays, or large download), would be awesome and giving this the glance it needs.
    So, when looking at the Addition: Yeah, i was in rage about rage (funny :D) at first... But: im writing a review for this game, not for the driver-problems in the first 24-hours after release. So i CAN understand people who are very upset, but imagine they got it working 100% for everyone in the next 2 days, i bet people dont realy give this product the chance then, and maybe edit the absolutely stupid reviews here, which are simply based on their emotions, and do not realy reflect the game itself.
    Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    I'm going to preface this review by saying that I absolutely HATED Doom 3, and thought Quake 4 was insanely boring. I am no id fanboy. II'm going to preface this review by saying that I absolutely HATED Doom 3, and thought Quake 4 was insanely boring. I am no id fanboy. I laughed at how virulently people railed against this game when it came out and thought "Yeah you tell 'em, fans! Developers can't get away with this trash any more!" Then I actually played it. I picked it up on sale for $5 or something ridiculous, and once I fired it up, I was fairly well blown away. This game will invariably be compared to Borderlands, but they're not even close to the same type of game. Borderlands is an open-world, sanbox-shooter. Rage is a much more linear, story-driven shooter. Granted the story is sort of lame, but that's the genre Rage fits in. The graphics are absolutely gorgeous. Sure, zoomed in all the way on certain textures makes it look ugly, but the scenery and level design are absolutely top-notch, and there were quite a few times in the game where I paused to simply admire the view. I like it when that much love goes into designing the environments. The character models are EXTREMELY well-done as well, and their animations are amazing. The characters have pores, individual chest-hairs, skin blemishes, and you can see their irises (they even make minute little movements when they're looking at you, just like a real person does). The game is very well optimized, too. My laptop has a 2.2GHz C2D processor with a 1GB mobile 9800GTS, and it ran absolutely fine for the entire game. I had most of the graphics options (of which there are not very many) turned down, but it still looked awesome (and ran way better than games like Dungeon Siege 3). If the game weren't almost 25GB, I'd be inclined to download it again on my new gaming desktop and try it out with the options maxed. Anyway, a lot of the praise I've heard of this game is aimed at the racing portion of the game, but I thought the driving aspect was rather annoying. Thankfully there are only a few required races in the story, and they are INSANELY easy. Seriously, when I was racing the "best racer in town," I was ahead of him by an entire half-lap at the end of our 3 lap race. Speaking of which, this whole game is rather easy. I played it on Normal, but am now wishing I played it on hard. I had to use the defibrillator thing exactly 1 time outside of the little training thing. I have a feeling the higher difficulties would be annoying though, since the game will throw wave after wave after wave of the little weak grunt guys at you. I'm not sure if the designers thought that would make it challenging, or were merely trying to make you waste ammo. There were a few parts in the game where I shouted at my screen "Alright! ENOUGH with the stupid little guys!" One last thing, the guns look/behave amazingly. The shotgun model is one of the coolest-looking guns I have ever seen in a video game, and thankfully (unlike other id games) when you pull the trigger, the guns go BOOM! No more of that stupid toy sound like Doom 3 had. This is a game you will want to crank up the video and sound. The ending is abrupt and rather anti-climactic, but you know it's coming. It's not like Halo 2, where there was just suddenly not a next level. Speaking of endings, this review's ending will be right after this period. Expand
  4. May 14, 2012
    5
    Nice shooter with terrible/laughable story, flat characters and empty world.There was a lot of potential for a great Mad Max esque game, butNice shooter with terrible/laughable story, flat characters and empty world.There was a lot of potential for a great Mad Max esque game, but it was all squandered.My rating: 5/10 Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2011
    2
    Are you fecking kidding me.. the whole DLC for New Vegas being a nightmare.. Brink sucking now this pos.. AND i am running a GTX275 core i7Are you fecking kidding me.. the whole DLC for New Vegas being a nightmare.. Brink sucking now this pos.. AND i am running a GTX275 core i7 920 , 6 Gigs RAM.. so its not ATI its another **** game from Bethesda whatever changes Bethesda made they better hurry the hell up and change them back because thier rep is in the toilet. This game blows.. Borderlands is better than this. graphical glitch galore.. buggy and you cant even walk off the main area.. its linear as all hell. thanks Bethesda you #$%^&*(!!! Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    1
    Sorry, forget the engine, forget the graphics for a minute, forget the texture issues ok? Its ok if you have the hardware after some patches.Sorry, forget the engine, forget the graphics for a minute, forget the texture issues ok? Its ok if you have the hardware after some patches.

    But lets get down to it, because i CANNOT believe ANYONE on this planet gave this game a score over 5. Have you not played it? did you finish it? Ok, its not that short if you are one of those people that like to get out the car look around and stop and smell the roses kind of guy like i am. I love looking at the universe of everything and taking everything in in a game. A game like COD which is really short, will still take me a little longer because i read everything and kind of stop and smell the roses.

    The game starts your in an ark, you leave, go to nearest town attack some stuff, do a couple of missions check a sewer leave town, go to next town do a couple of missions do a few races fight the bad guys called Authority, open a satalite beacon thing, some things come out of the ground, that i guess have been in the earth for ages and its over. Ive gamed for a LONG long time, but i have to say what happened? Did they run out of money? it took 7 years to make this.

    But the biggest question is, how did the guys at gearbox make Borderlands in 3-4 years with MASSIVE amount of content, tons of towns, heaps to do and tons of characters, monsters, interesting stuff and RAGE took 7 years and ......

    Ok seriously, if you want this game, buy it for the IDSoftware deal on STEAM or something, RAGE will likely be included in the IDSoftware complete package at Xmas or something. But i warn you you will play it, get to the 2nd town and then get to the end and think, right the 3rd town(whatever it is, must be the last town and i'll get a finale.

    YOU WILL BE SHOCKED when you get to the end.

    IM saying this now, CALL OF DUTY the Modern warfare trilogy 1-3 was a MILLION times better than this game. Im serious. this has probably been really incoherant, because im still shocked at the ending of RAGE. People that say they werent surprised. DOOM had an ending ok? Even just the text at the end of Doom 1 or 2 was a better ending than this. Im serious.
    Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    The game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I'veThe game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I've been stolen, we should all bring them to court and get our money back, you can't get stuff that doesn't work on the market and steal peoples money like that, this should not be legal... Expand

See all 663 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.