Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 263 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rayman Origins is a comic adventure set in a lush 2D world brimming with unexpected secrets and outlandish enemies. The Glade of Dreams is overrun by the "nefurrious" Darktoons. The Fairy Council seeks Rayman's help to save the day. Rayman receives the aid of his best friend Globox as well as two crafty wizards, the Teensies. Together the world's most hilarious team of heroes sets out to restore peace to the Glade before their beloved home is destroyed. Rayman Origins supports four-player jump-in-and-jump-out co-op gameplay. The game offers a massive universe to explore, with more than 100 characters, 12 unique worlds, and more than 60 levels of platforming gameplay designed for all ages and play styles. Unlock new abilities and moves as you progress through the game. All members of your team will discover new unique abilities, including swimming, diving, slapping, and the sensational "HarilyCopter." Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 29, 2012
    95
    It's downright gorgeous and a total blast to play alone or with friends. A truly realized vision at the top of its genre, Rayman Origins is an extravaganza with plenty of action to keep it fresh from start to finish and beyond.
  2. Apr 13, 2012
    92
    Rayman Origins is an incredible piece of art, recommended for every gamer with no exception.
  3. 92
    Even so, Rayman: Origins is the best designed, most accessible, vast, gameplay rich and fun platformer that I've played in a very long time. It's nothing short of a Nintendo A-list (which I still think of as the best platforming game developer ever to have graced the market) and could be the beginning of a beautiful series.
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. May 16, 2012
    82
    Rayman Origins re-introduces an intense freshness to a genre that many gamers chose to remember by a couple of well-known brand names that monopolize interest… and the rest consider long dead. It delivers many hours of pure fun (and some discomfort for completionists) and does that in the best way possible. [May 2012]
  6. Apr 8, 2012
    80
    In lesser hands, the art design might have overwhelmed everything, leaving the levels to feel like an overly cluttered and repetitive mess. Instead, it's a wonderful platformer with its own unique style that's most definitely worth experiencing, and especially shared.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    80
    A well-written story could have transformed Rayman Origins into a beautiful fairytale. Without it, it's an incredibly fun ride and a great party game.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 48
  2. Negative: 5 out of 48
  1. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Beautiful art, no DRM, and works great with a gamepad. There are plenty of hidden easter eggs and the soundtrack always seems to be spot on. A must buy if you liked the original 2D rayman games. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Think back to your favorite childhood cartoon. That's what Rayman Origins is like. Beautiful visuals with a great art style and animations, music that fits perfectly into the audiovisual experience, quirky and entertaining characters, a level design that is easy to learn and hard to master (if you're after high scores) and an up to four player co-op mode to play with family or friends. And on top of that the PC version comes entirely without intrusive DRM, third party software or other annoying anti piracy measures and costs less than most other full size games. There are only a few games I keep in the back of my head to show my children if I ever have some, and this is definitely one of them. Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Brings Back childhood memories, I remember playing Rayman 2 thinking how can games produce these graphics they were mind blowing to me as a kid, Ubisoft has outdone themselves with this Rayman, from the vivid colors and mesmerizing artwork. A true masterpiece. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    A perfect game for families.

    I purchased this game at Christmas for my boys, who are 3 and 4 years old. They have been playing it for 4
    months now with no sign of getting bored of it. Because the game is cooperative, both of them are always playing together which means no waiting around. Throughout January I was getting past most of the hard stuff for them, but now my 3 year old has exceeded my skill level at the game... and I'm a gamer. At first I thought he was some kind of videogame savant, but I now realize that it's just an amazing game that keeps kids and adults completely engaged having fun together. The game also allows you to beat each other up along the way making for some hilarious mishaps.

    The game is the most polished platformer I've played since Donkey Kong Country and Super Mario World. However, I would dare to say that Rayman Origins takes the title as the greatest platformer ever created. The designers have included the kitchen sink, but it all melds together perfectly. It's difficulty ramp is perfect, the animations are mind blowing & blend together absolutely seemlessly, it's funny, the music is amazing, it's innovative, it's polished, the graphics are total eye candy, the painted backgrounds are beautiful, and best of all: it's somehow just as fun for adults as it is for children. In a world where video games have turned into a cult of the new, with sequel after uninspiring sequel, this game stands alone as something that game development houses used to stand for. Though the game has only sold a few hundred thousand copies, I strongly believe that it will still be selling 50 years from now, as it is honestly EVERYTHING that anyone could ever ask from a platformer and more.
    Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    Great for cooperative playing. I've been playing this game with my girlfriend (both of us with wireless gamepads) and we have had a blast!
    It's like a super Mario Bros with nice graphs, music, level design, etc. It is clearly a console-type game, with no intellectual aspirations, but runs great on the PC and is lot's of fun when playing cooperative.
    Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    I had a few smaller problems when playing with keyboard but honestly, anyone that regularly plays platformers that doesn't have a gamepad is a bit odd. It works perfectly with my 360 pad.
    The art is beautiful, there are lots of small secrets, and it's plain (/v/ would hate me for this) fun.
    Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2012
    0
    Piece of S**t, dont buy it..............i found it utterly boring, simple and mediocre. The soundtrack was just ok, and there are problems with character control. Overall the game doesn't worth it. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews