Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale PC

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 153

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    6
    It's presented well and is an interesting idea, but what keeps the game from becoming really good is variety. The dungeons are pretty boring for the most part, and store management is not complex enough to be compelling for more than say 4-5 hours. The graphics and visuals are lively and some (not all) of the character dialogue is amusing. This game is creative in its inception butIt's presented well and is an interesting idea, but what keeps the game from becoming really good is variety. The dungeons are pretty boring for the most part, and store management is not complex enough to be compelling for more than say 4-5 hours. The graphics and visuals are lively and some (not all) of the character dialogue is amusing. This game is creative in its inception but somewhat uninspired in its execution. I enjoyed playing it for a few hours but no more than that. However, I will be keeping my eyes out for a sequel. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2011
    6
    Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale is despite its childish and outdated appearance a game for a mature audience. You play the role of Recette, a girl whose father ran off to make a fortune but instead left his relatives with a debt that has to be paid in full or else Recette will lose her place of residence. In order to pay off this debt, Recette is helped by a fairy called Tear who suggestsRecettear: An Item Shop's Tale is despite its childish and outdated appearance a game for a mature audience. You play the role of Recette, a girl whose father ran off to make a fortune but instead left his relatives with a debt that has to be paid in full or else Recette will lose her place of residence. In order to pay off this debt, Recette is helped by a fairy called Tear who suggests turning her house into an item store. The player takes command of Recette and has to make choice that will lead to generating more profit at the end of the day. In order to do so, the player can go to the market to buy and sell goods, they can buy and sell items from and to shoppers that visit the store or they can go dungeon-crawling by hiring a hero and bring back items for use in either "fusion" (Read "crafting", it creates an item that's usually worth more than the sum of its parts) or simply to sell for a profit directly Each day is divided in 4 time-slices. Opening the shop costs one time-slice, going dungeon-crawling costs two. Going to the market and back to the store also costs one. Since you have to pay off a certain amount of your debt each week, time management is important. Just going on dungeon-crawls won't net you any cash unless you can sell off the stock you found. Should you not be able to pay off your debt any given week, you will lose the game. But do not despair: your hero-progress, merchant-level and stock will remain with you. It is only the money that you lose (And the story will be set back to day 2). The game refers to these play-throughs as "loops". Unfortunately, after a few loops, you've pretty much seen all there is to the game whether you've ever made it to the end or not. Higher merchant-levels allow you to do a few more things such as taking orders, changing the carpet of your store, reach higher "fusion" levels and you'll meet a few more endbosses in different types of dungeons but that's all pretty meager stuff. You'll still have to dig through countless of messages and constantly adjust the price-counter for even the cheapest of items and you'll spend at least 10 minutes of dungeon-crawling without certainty of getting out alive. There's a lot of repetition in this game and at some point, you might just bored enough to start making mistakes such as not paying attention to whether you're selling or buying an item or being too impatient during a dungeon-crawl. Dungeon-crawling can be rewarding but also incredibly punishing; you are only allowed to carry twenty (20) items and if you manage to die (Which isn't all that hard given how unlikely it is that you'll get a healing item drop at higher levels) you will only be allowed to carry one (1) item with you back to town, making dungeon-crawling a huge waste of time. There's also a problem with the heroes: the first hero (Louie) is the strongest, most easiest to control but he's not fast enough to deal with some of the end-bosses later on requiring you to fall back on other heroes, which are always weaker than Louie is but they might be faster or have a ranged attack which might be necessary to deal with an endboss. Playing with these heroes is like russian roulette: whereas Louie has no problem surviving the regular dungeon levels, the other heroes have a huge problem staying alive during dungeon runs because of their inherent weaknesses and reliance on special powers that it is never certain if you'll make it to the endboss or not. I think this title would be less repetitive if they had put more time into graphics and made the whole item management more complex and perhaps automated it a bit but perhaps the charm lies in its simplicity. After all, it's not a big-budget title.. Personally, I got tired after loop 3 because I found an exploit which would allow me to generate a lot of cash without really doing a lot for it: simply dump all the money you have during pay-day into items, go bankrupt and sell the stock. Suddenly you have a lot more days with stock already worth close to (or more than) the amount you owe for that week. You can also do this if you think you won't make the dead-line because the only thing that isn't transferable to a new "loop" is your bank-account. Then there's the trick where you first open the store and then go dungeon-crawling. If you go dungeon-crawling directly, you won't be able to open the store any more. I'm not sure if this is a bug or a feature, but it seems sort of lazy on the developer's side to allow for such oversights. I don't cheat in games but this is just such a big loophole that it pretty much makes me wonder why I'd try very hard to reach a deadline several times when I can just fail once and sail through the next time. I'd recommend this game to 90's RPG fans and people looking for a simple game that involves some dungeon-crawling and inventory management every now and then. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    6
    Recettear is a bit repetitive but will keep you engaged for some time. Its main elements are dungeon crawling and store management. The story might be a bit boring but the characters are fun. Visuals and soundtrack are OK. Definitely worth to try it out.
  4. Apr 5, 2011
    7
    Recettear is not just for entertainment purposes, the game also has educational value. The game teaches you on how becoming an entrepreneur is both a rewarding and frustrating experience. Fighting through randomly created dungeons for items to stock your inventory or purchasing them wholesale from the market, there is no end to the fun. The takeaway from the game is to never make dealsRecettear is not just for entertainment purposes, the game also has educational value. The game teaches you on how becoming an entrepreneur is both a rewarding and frustrating experience. Fighting through randomly created dungeons for items to stock your inventory or purchasing them wholesale from the market, there is no end to the fun. The takeaway from the game is to never make deals with loan sharks. The exponential increase in paying off the loan eventually doomed me to repeating from the beginning. Although the items stay with you on the next loop, having to run through the same events to unlock dungeons and characters is tedious. Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    6
    Quite a repetitive game after mastering all the basic. Could be made better by increasing the amount of time in a day. The Dungeon was not really great & could be made better. Overall game play was still OK for me. Many variety of items to sell and obtain. Although felt those random encounter where you character will talk to other people was a bit redundant. Good casual game.
  6. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    The gameplay itself is very unique. Definitely something you don't see in the markets today. What gives this score lower is the variety of the game. Simplicity is always good, but there is such a thing as repetition.
  7. Apr 23, 2012
    7
    7.5 would be my rating if I could give it. In Recettear you sell items you find in dungeons or that you bought from the store at a higher price to make enough profit to reach your goal every week. The game starts easy, but quickly ramps up the difficulty as you go. Unless you look up a guide or something, you can expect to fail your first playthrough. Fortunately when you fail you keep7.5 would be my rating if I could give it. In Recettear you sell items you find in dungeons or that you bought from the store at a higher price to make enough profit to reach your goal every week. The game starts easy, but quickly ramps up the difficulty as you go. Unless you look up a guide or something, you can expect to fail your first playthrough. Fortunately when you fail you keep anything that isn't story - related so the next playthrough will be much easier. The game is repetitive but also addicting. If you like Japanese style games or anime, etc you will feel much more at home playing this. If your a completionist when you play games, expect to play this for a very long time. If you quit once the story is done, I would suggest a different kind of game. Expand
  8. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    Pros:
    - Easy to pick up
    - Can be played in sessions ranging from a few minutes to a few hours - Great progression system you're unlikely to replace the cool item you just got for a while (common in a lot of games) - Trading & adventuring & story is well tied together - Randomly generated dungeons provide replayability - Item limitation and death penalty during dungeon raiding adds
    Pros:
    - Easy to pick up
    - Can be played in sessions ranging from a few minutes to a few hours
    - Great progression system you're unlikely to replace the cool item you just got for a while (common in a lot of games)
    - Trading & adventuring & story is well tied together
    - Randomly generated dungeons provide replayability
    - Item limitation and death penalty during dungeon raiding adds difficulty and dynamic

    Cons:
    - Trading cannot be sufficiently automated (vending machines are not enough)
    - Gets grindy in lategame, especially with bad luck on some items
    - Hoarding money in lategame has no real benefit
    Expand
  9. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    A dungeon crawling RPG and "Average RPG Item Shop" clerk sim combined into one humorous game. No single part of the game is really amazing or innovative but put together you have a lot of things to juggle. It reminds me of Persona in how your day is broken up into time slots where you have to manage your store, shop at the market, do quests to recruit mercs, and dungeon crawl for more lootA dungeon crawling RPG and "Average RPG Item Shop" clerk sim combined into one humorous game. No single part of the game is really amazing or innovative but put together you have a lot of things to juggle. It reminds me of Persona in how your day is broken up into time slots where you have to manage your store, shop at the market, do quests to recruit mercs, and dungeon crawl for more loot to stock your store. The game's main objective is making weekly payments to clear your family's debt. They really ramp up in cost quickly which is where most of the difficulty comes from. However, the last payment is really high and most people don't manage it on their first playthrough. While there is a NG+ mode, the second time through was way too easy and got boring without the dungeon crawling. Despite some balancing issues, this is a great JRPG and worth picking up. Just try to remember to keep multiple save games. Oh yeah, and the boss fights are pretty cool. Expand
  10. Jul 22, 2015
    5
    I never enjoyed this game.So many things are so repetetive and dull.Every day is the same.The dungeons and mobs there are boring and uninspired.The game is cute at first but lacks too many things.Its just a timewaster with no reward and it is not really easy because you "have to pay of your fathers depth".That payment you have to do, its redicilous what amounts you have to pay in weekI never enjoyed this game.So many things are so repetetive and dull.Every day is the same.The dungeons and mobs there are boring and uninspired.The game is cute at first but lacks too many things.Its just a timewaster with no reward and it is not really easy because you "have to pay of your fathers depth".That payment you have to do, its redicilous what amounts you have to pay in week 3.And the customers are stupid too.I had a child that was so pissed that i couldnt sell things for 100% base price.I dont buy things and sell them for less, stupid ****

    Conclusion:I dont recommend this game.Its bugfree, nice, but its a simpel game, no chance to overlook bugs in such an simpel game i thing.
    Expand
  11. Jun 10, 2014
    7
    Jamás había visto un simulador tan claro del capitalismo, además es una vuelta de tuerca interesante al ámbito de los juegos de rol orientales. Horas de disfrute, aunque la historia es un poco plof.
  12. Feb 15, 2015
    7
    Super addictive! It is a bit outdated and old fashioned, but you really cannot stop playing regardless. Art style is cute and chirpy and slightly humorous. Combat and the dungeons need to be worked on and I admit I only played through the game once to completion with no temptation to return to it at the moment. Some may find it only fun for a few hours as it does get very repetitive, but ISuper addictive! It is a bit outdated and old fashioned, but you really cannot stop playing regardless. Art style is cute and chirpy and slightly humorous. Combat and the dungeons need to be worked on and I admit I only played through the game once to completion with no temptation to return to it at the moment. Some may find it only fun for a few hours as it does get very repetitive, but I managed to be amused the whole time as I played it through to the end.
    Fantastic game to continuously rave about? No.
    Enough to earn a decent score and respect for what it is? Yes.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 23, 2011
    70
    Although technically very outdated and quite repetitive game but still very funny and pretty original. [Issue#201]
  2. Jan 27, 2011
    80
    Recettear is perhaps one of the most unusual examples of a simulation game yet; with its engaging storyline, large ensemble of characters and action-RPG sequences, this is a game that really stands out from the crowd.
  3. Dec 26, 2010
    80
    One of Steam's best kept secrets and a cracking indie title that both pokes fun at and celebrates the charming absurdity of role-playing games.