Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale PC

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 153

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2011
    7
    Recettear is not just for entertainment purposes, the game also has educational value. The game teaches you on how becoming an entrepreneur is both a rewarding and frustrating experience. Fighting through randomly created dungeons for items to stock your inventory or purchasing them wholesale from the market, there is no end to the fun. The takeaway from the game is to never make dealsRecettear is not just for entertainment purposes, the game also has educational value. The game teaches you on how becoming an entrepreneur is both a rewarding and frustrating experience. Fighting through randomly created dungeons for items to stock your inventory or purchasing them wholesale from the market, there is no end to the fun. The takeaway from the game is to never make deals with loan sharks. The exponential increase in paying off the loan eventually doomed me to repeating from the beginning. Although the items stay with you on the next loop, having to run through the same events to unlock dungeons and characters is tedious. Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    6
    Quite a repetitive game after mastering all the basic. Could be made better by increasing the amount of time in a day. The Dungeon was not really great & could be made better. Overall game play was still OK for me. Many variety of items to sell and obtain. Although felt those random encounter where you character will talk to other people was a bit redundant. Good casual game.
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    6
    Recettear is a bit repetitive but will keep you engaged for some time. Its main elements are dungeon crawling and store management. The story might be a bit boring but the characters are fun. Visuals and soundtrack are OK. Definitely worth to try it out.
  4. Jun 14, 2011
    6
    It's presented well and is an interesting idea, but what keeps the game from becoming really good is variety. The dungeons are pretty boring for the most part, and store management is not complex enough to be compelling for more than say 4-5 hours. The graphics and visuals are lively and some (not all) of the character dialogue is amusing. This game is creative in its inception butIt's presented well and is an interesting idea, but what keeps the game from becoming really good is variety. The dungeons are pretty boring for the most part, and store management is not complex enough to be compelling for more than say 4-5 hours. The graphics and visuals are lively and some (not all) of the character dialogue is amusing. This game is creative in its inception but somewhat uninspired in its execution. I enjoyed playing it for a few hours but no more than that. However, I will be keeping my eyes out for a sequel. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    The gameplay itself is very unique. Definitely something you don't see in the markets today. What gives this score lower is the variety of the game. Simplicity is always good, but there is such a thing as repetition.
  6. Apr 23, 2012
    7
    7.5 would be my rating if I could give it. In Recettear you sell items you find in dungeons or that you bought from the store at a higher price to make enough profit to reach your goal every week. The game starts easy, but quickly ramps up the difficulty as you go. Unless you look up a guide or something, you can expect to fail your first playthrough. Fortunately when you fail you keep7.5 would be my rating if I could give it. In Recettear you sell items you find in dungeons or that you bought from the store at a higher price to make enough profit to reach your goal every week. The game starts easy, but quickly ramps up the difficulty as you go. Unless you look up a guide or something, you can expect to fail your first playthrough. Fortunately when you fail you keep anything that isn't story - related so the next playthrough will be much easier. The game is repetitive but also addicting. If you like Japanese style games or anime, etc you will feel much more at home playing this. If your a completionist when you play games, expect to play this for a very long time. If you quit once the story is done, I would suggest a different kind of game. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    Pros:
    - Easy to pick up
    - Can be played in sessions ranging from a few minutes to a few hours - Great progression system you're unlikely to replace the cool item you just got for a while (common in a lot of games) - Trading & adventuring & story is well tied together - Randomly generated dungeons provide replayability - Item limitation and death penalty during dungeon raiding adds
    Pros:
    - Easy to pick up
    - Can be played in sessions ranging from a few minutes to a few hours
    - Great progression system you're unlikely to replace the cool item you just got for a while (common in a lot of games)
    - Trading & adventuring & story is well tied together
    - Randomly generated dungeons provide replayability
    - Item limitation and death penalty during dungeon raiding adds difficulty and dynamic

    Cons:
    - Trading cannot be sufficiently automated (vending machines are not enough)
    - Gets grindy in lategame, especially with bad luck on some items
    - Hoarding money in lategame has no real benefit
    Expand
  8. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    A dungeon crawling RPG and "Average RPG Item Shop" clerk sim combined into one humorous game. No single part of the game is really amazing or innovative but put together you have a lot of things to juggle. It reminds me of Persona in how your day is broken up into time slots where you have to manage your store, shop at the market, do quests to recruit mercs, and dungeon crawl for more lootA dungeon crawling RPG and "Average RPG Item Shop" clerk sim combined into one humorous game. No single part of the game is really amazing or innovative but put together you have a lot of things to juggle. It reminds me of Persona in how your day is broken up into time slots where you have to manage your store, shop at the market, do quests to recruit mercs, and dungeon crawl for more loot to stock your store. The game's main objective is making weekly payments to clear your family's debt. They really ramp up in cost quickly which is where most of the difficulty comes from. However, the last payment is really high and most people don't manage it on their first playthrough. While there is a NG+ mode, the second time through was way too easy and got boring without the dungeon crawling. Despite some balancing issues, this is a great JRPG and worth picking up. Just try to remember to keep multiple save games. Oh yeah, and the boss fights are pretty cool. Expand
  9. Jul 22, 2015
    5
    I never enjoyed this game.So many things are so repetetive and dull.Every day is the same.The dungeons and mobs there are boring and uninspired.The game is cute at first but lacks too many things.Its just a timewaster with no reward and it is not really easy because you "have to pay of your fathers depth".That payment you have to do, its redicilous what amounts you have to pay in weekI never enjoyed this game.So many things are so repetetive and dull.Every day is the same.The dungeons and mobs there are boring and uninspired.The game is cute at first but lacks too many things.Its just a timewaster with no reward and it is not really easy because you "have to pay of your fathers depth".That payment you have to do, its redicilous what amounts you have to pay in week 3.And the customers are stupid too.I had a child that was so pissed that i couldnt sell things for 100% base price.I dont buy things and sell them for less, stupid ****

    Conclusion:I dont recommend this game.Its bugfree, nice, but its a simpel game, no chance to overlook bugs in such an simpel game i thing.
    Expand
  10. Jun 10, 2014
    7
    Jamás había visto un simulador tan claro del capitalismo, además es una vuelta de tuerca interesante al ámbito de los juegos de rol orientales. Horas de disfrute, aunque la historia es un poco plof.
  11. Feb 15, 2015
    7
    Super addictive! It is a bit outdated and old fashioned, but you really cannot stop playing regardless. Art style is cute and chirpy and slightly humorous. Combat and the dungeons need to be worked on and I admit I only played through the game once to completion with no temptation to return to it at the moment. Some may find it only fun for a few hours as it does get very repetitive, but ISuper addictive! It is a bit outdated and old fashioned, but you really cannot stop playing regardless. Art style is cute and chirpy and slightly humorous. Combat and the dungeons need to be worked on and I admit I only played through the game once to completion with no temptation to return to it at the moment. Some may find it only fun for a few hours as it does get very repetitive, but I managed to be amused the whole time as I played it through to the end.
    Fantastic game to continuously rave about? No.
    Enough to earn a decent score and respect for what it is? Yes.
    Expand
  12. Dec 25, 2010
    0
    A simple but fun game indeed. For a 10$ game (it's on sale on Steam by the time of this review) Recettear is worth your money than many downloadable XBLA or PSN with the same price point. If you like Japanese text adventure games (not the same as western text rpgs) this game is good for you. Sure, the mechanic is simple, you run an item shop, do trading, raid dungeon to find some rareA simple but fun game indeed. For a 10$ game (it's on sale on Steam by the time of this review) Recettear is worth your money than many downloadable XBLA or PSN with the same price point. If you like Japanese text adventure games (not the same as western text rpgs) this game is good for you. Sure, the mechanic is simple, you run an item shop, do trading, raid dungeon to find some rare loots while trying to make enough profit to pay back the debt and seeing some interesting story unfold... but that is the purpose of this kind of games anyway (to get involved in the story like reading manga or watching anime... if you want complex game mechanic you should go for WoW or something of that extent). The dialogs are cute and funny and have a lot of references to Japanese pop cultures (it made me laugh so hard when I saw the game made a homage to one most loved Japanese character) and the voices are nice. The only complain I have with the game is that the dungeon-crawling session of the game could have a little more actions players could perform such as jumping or blocking, now the limitation makes it feels like a really toned down version of Izuna or Shiren's... but overall this is one nice, cheap and interesting game to play. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 23, 2011
    70
    Although technically very outdated and quite repetitive game but still very funny and pretty original. [Issue#201]
  2. Jan 27, 2011
    80
    Recettear is perhaps one of the most unusual examples of a simulation game yet; with its engaging storyline, large ensemble of characters and action-RPG sequences, this is a game that really stands out from the crowd.
  3. Dec 26, 2010
    80
    One of Steam's best kept secrets and a cracking indie title that both pokes fun at and celebrates the charming absurdity of role-playing games.