Red Faction II Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Earth. Twenty-second century. Five years after the rebellion on Mars. For 15 years, Chancellor Victor Sopot has oppressed the people of the Commonwealth. His corrupt rule and a relentless war of unification with the United Republic has left the Commonwealth bloodied and impoverished. AsEarth. Twenty-second century. Five years after the rebellion on Mars. For 15 years, Chancellor Victor Sopot has oppressed the people of the Commonwealth. His corrupt rule and a relentless war of unification with the United Republic has left the Commonwealth bloodied and impoverished. As distant battles rage, sewage taints Sopot City's rivers, pollution smudges the sky, and wretched citizens huddle in crumbling ruins. Condemned to death by Chancellor Sopot, six super-soldiers unite to save their country, vowing to overthrow Sopot using the unique powers that nano-technology has given them. Join the squad as Alias, a demolitions expert. Fight side-by-side with Molov, Repta, Shrike, Tangier, and Quill--each possessing unique attributes and specialties. Battle through diverse environments using vehicles, an arsenal of specialized weapons, and explosives in a mission to overthrow the government. Defeat Sopot and restore the honor of the Commonwealth! [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. An entertaining FPS experience. It isn’t perfect; it’s not going to leave an impression on you like Half-Life 2 or FarCry did, but at the same time it will entertain you and keep you glued to your seat.
  2. 74
    Fun, certainly, but single-player is a bit too linear and bit too short, even if the combat is engaging, well-thought out, and generally intense.
  3. An above-average time-killer for stupid-shooter fans who won't miss multiplay. [July 2003, p.70]
  4. A pretty good shooter overall, offering up a short but sweet single-player campaign and a decent botmatch mode for a little extra lasting value.
  5. For those of you who are online multiplayer fans though, an offline botmatch may just be seen as unacceptable … and that’s what you get with RFII. That’s a shame since the first one was fantastic.
  6. Short is never good, no matter which context you put it in. And this game is short. It's penis-envy short. It's the shortest single-player FPS game I've ever played. A four hour gameplay experience for a retail product is like a 20 second sexual intercourse. It just doesn't feel right, and you feel cheated.
  7. Further compounding the game into sheer mediocrity is the downward spiral of the A.I. [Sept 2003, p.102]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 12 out of 22
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    This game was amazing for it's time. Yes it is short, yes it doesn't have multiplayer. But who cares? When you can just terrorize theThis game was amazing for it's time. Yes it is short, yes it doesn't have multiplayer. But who cares? When you can just terrorize the civilians? Or save them... The attention to detail is great. The music has some roots to the first game, but it has some of it's own tracks which are phenomenal. The story is interesting. The Geo Mod gives us nice looks, even though more scripted. I would recommend this only to people who like singleplayer experiences. People hate it for being less of the first game. But i played this one first and i know that the first game was bigger, but it laked detail and polish. While this is simply what the game probably should have been. I give it a 10/10 to keep the score higher then what it is. Expand
  2. J.W.
    Aug 21, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome, I have it on my PS2, my friend has it on his PS2, I play it every time I go to his house, he plays it every time he This game is awesome, I have it on my PS2, my friend has it on his PS2, I play it every time I go to his house, he plays it every time he comes to my house. How can the PC version be worse if it came out at a later date? You're all CRAZY!!! Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    7
    Pros:
    - Fast paced, excellent arcade shooter with large variety of standard and more interesting weapons.
    - Destructible environments - Fun
    Pros:
    - Fast paced, excellent arcade shooter with large variety of standard and more interesting weapons.
    - Destructible environments
    - Fun and intense game play
    - Cheats for a more over the top experience
    - You get to use a Mech
    - Offline Bot matches
    - Jason Statham is a voice actor in this

    Negatives
    - Too short, easily completed within 3-4 hours
    - Very linear
    - No ported co-op, even in offline local
    - Not much of a story

    Personal Preferences
    - It has a Helicopter and tank turret level
    - Outdated graphic - but has a charm to it
    - No actual reason for replaying the game apart from to use the cheats

    Conclusion:
    If you are looking for a quick, solid FPS game with loads of fast paced action and explosions, with a story that is good enough just to keep the ball rolling and don't mind older graphics and play style, then this game is for you. If you are looking for anything more than this, then you should probably look elsewhere.
    Expand
  4. TerryD.
    Apr 18, 2003
    4
    Red faction II starts off well with some pretty cool action, but then runs out of gas towards the end when things start getting repetitive. Red faction II starts off well with some pretty cool action, but then runs out of gas towards the end when things start getting repetitive. This is particularly a problem when you consider how short the game is - which is VERY SHORT. One other thing, the manual and the interface were sometimes completely incomprehensible. What does "Press the 2 key to exit" mean? In my case this was the action key, but other similar references were anyone?s guess. Also, which weapons had alt-fire and how were they supposed to be used? And why did the hints disappear from the screen before you could read them? Yikes!!! Expand
  5. JohnS
    Aug 13, 2009
    4
    Not worth a buy. Hardly ties into the 1st one, which was awesome for its time. To reply to J.W. - PC gamers tend to have pretty high Not worth a buy. Hardly ties into the 1st one, which was awesome for its time. To reply to J.W. - PC gamers tend to have pretty high standards when it comes to shooters, since shooters are like the PC's bread and butter. When a good console game gets badly ported over, it only irks us more. Collapse
  6. Jan 22, 2013
    2
    This game should not exist even logically. But logic aside, there's just nothing new, they just enhanced destruction physics a bit (andThis game should not exist even logically. But logic aside, there's just nothing new, they just enhanced destruction physics a bit (and there's not much different) and added Jason Statehem (is that right?). Rushed story with not really polished gameplay equals - unworthy of it's first game sequel that must be avoided by any FPS or Sci-fi fans. Seriously, i passed through it, like after 4 hours, A.I. is broken and it's hard to die even if you'll try to, It's one of the first games, that used regeneration and you're just invincible there. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2014
    0
    Utter tripe, by today's standards and back then too. Everything looks like a burn victim, the acceleration on my mouse meant I couldn't aimUtter tripe, by today's standards and back then too. Everything looks like a burn victim, the acceleration on my mouse meant I couldn't aim properly, the cross-hair is too big. The list goes on, steer clear of this garbage. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews