User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 254

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 15, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest Resident Evil games ever made made even better. Although more love and attention could have been given to improving the textures and character models, the fundamental game still looks, and plays, great.
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    I was debating getting this on Steam, and I am glad I did. Controls a little clunky at first, but got used to it pretty quickly - just a fun game, has to be one of my top ten favs. If you liked this game on other systems, you won't be disappointed - well worth $20.
  3. Nov 1, 2015
    10
    I played the original Resident Evil on PS1 and loved it. Briefly messed with RE5 on the 360 before getting in to PC gaming. So Resident Evil 4: Ultimate HD Edition is the first RE game I've truly played since the original. I cannot believe both that I haven't come back to the franchise sooner and that I missed this game until now. I can fully appreciate why many say it's one of theI played the original Resident Evil on PS1 and loved it. Briefly messed with RE5 on the 360 before getting in to PC gaming. So Resident Evil 4: Ultimate HD Edition is the first RE game I've truly played since the original. I cannot believe both that I haven't come back to the franchise sooner and that I missed this game until now. I can fully appreciate why many say it's one of the greatest games of all-time. An awesome, highly immersive experience with graphics that are slightly dated but have still look great (particularly with the HD re-touch). Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    I'm a fan of the old Ones, and yes this is different but it is AWESOME the last good RE.

    everything is good on this game !

    Multiple storylines (games), I love it !
  5. Mar 19, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this game .best story and grate gameplay sounds and graphic!!!!!!!!! This game best enjoy on pc.good luck capcom and thanks for remaster this game Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    The best Resident Evil gets a Remake in a franchise that has since lost its way.

    Resident Evil has been trying many things but this is the first attempt away from the original games 1,2 and 3 where the camera and combat was all constrained and fixed. Resident Evil 4 is the best because combat is fluid and dynamic, characters and set pieces are worked well and story is well written. HD
    The best Resident Evil gets a Remake in a franchise that has since lost its way.

    Resident Evil has been trying many things but this is the first attempt away from the original games 1,2 and 3 where the camera and combat was all constrained and fixed. Resident Evil 4 is the best because combat is fluid and dynamic, characters and set pieces are worked well and story is well written. HD release looks good as well and considering how bad the PC port of this game was it was pretty easy to top that. Whatever happens to the series we hope that it tries this once again and not the way they did with Resident Evil 6......

    Please note this was done on a 1-5 cell processor at 3.1ghz with a 7k Radeon series video card if you have this spec or better it will run with no issues.
    Expand
  7. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    Finalmente tenemos un port digno para nuestra plataforma PC de este juegazo que ha día de hoy sigue impresionándome. Esta nueva versión HD ultimate edition tiene mejoras sustanciales en las texturas y resolución a mas de 1080p, 60fps, desenfoque de movimiento, AA y unos filtros para cambiar las paletas de colores al juego, y lo mejor que finalmente tiene soporte para ratón aunque no esFinalmente tenemos un port digno para nuestra plataforma PC de este juegazo que ha día de hoy sigue impresionándome. Esta nueva versión HD ultimate edition tiene mejoras sustanciales en las texturas y resolución a mas de 1080p, 60fps, desenfoque de movimiento, AA y unos filtros para cambiar las paletas de colores al juego, y lo mejor que finalmente tiene soporte para ratón aunque no es perfecto pero es jugable solo hay que acostumbrarse, en mi caso personal ya me lo paso de mantequilla con teclado y ratón pero si seria bueno una mejora, que estaré al tanto de nuevos parches para corregirlo un poco, que ha propósito de otros fallos este puerto tiene un problema de lag cuando se ejecuta a 60fps que es injugable pero poniéndolo a 30 ya es mucho mas jugable aunque a veces se le siente el lag pero es jugable. así que a la espera de que Capcom corrija la optimización del juego y ajustar un poco mejor el ratón. Lo demás es total satisfacción supera mis expectativas, gráficamente se ve superior a las versión de GC/Wii y mucho mas que la aberración del puerto original de PC que no quiero recordarlo jamás. Algunos dirán que con mods se arregla y se ve mejor que esta nueva edition, lastimosamente para mi sigue siendo una infamia, con mods y todo no deja de ser un insulto y fuera de que sigue con la ausencia del ratón y cuando una vez quería jugarlo otra vez era inestable con las nuevas versiones de Windows que en ese caso la comunidad no puede arreglar. Conclusión recomendado para aquellos que quieran revivir la experiencia inolvidable de Resident Evil 4 en HD o como quieran llamarlo se siente como un juego nuevo y es innegable la calidad que tiene este titulo en todos los aspecto, ha día de hoy sigue impresionándome lo bien que se ve gráficamente hablando. Expand
  8. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    Arguably the best Resident Evil game made so far brought to Steam with Achievements, high defiition textures and the same ass-kicking factor as the game had on its release for only 20 god damn dollars? I say hell **** yes.
  9. Feb 28, 2014
    8
    As a previous reviewer has mentioned, not much needs to be said about Resident Evil 4 itself. To me RE4, although a signal of a complete change in Resident Evil, is simply one of the best survival horror games there is.

    The previous PC port however, many would say, is one of the worst examples of PC port there is. So has Resident Evil 4 suffered another injustice with the Ultimate HD
    As a previous reviewer has mentioned, not much needs to be said about Resident Evil 4 itself. To me RE4, although a signal of a complete change in Resident Evil, is simply one of the best survival horror games there is.

    The previous PC port however, many would say, is one of the worst examples of PC port there is.

    So has Resident Evil 4 suffered another injustice with the Ultimate HD edition, or has it finally been presented the way it deserves?

    Well for starters the game looks and feels much more like a Resident Evil game - when i look back at Resident Evil 1, 2 and 3 one of the first things that comes to mind is the fantastic atmosphere that was set in the game. I didn't get that same feeling with the original RE4 port - the graphics were blurry, bland and fuzzy and the lighting didn't help either. This version certainly, in most ways, successfully remedies that and makes the games atmosphere much more imposing. Not to mention that everything simply looks much more vivid and smooth. It's not up to scratch against the visuals of much more recent games of course, but it is a huge improvement over the previous offering. The smooth (in my experience) 60fps performance definitely changes the way the game feels too, especially in combat. These encounters just feel more fast paced and it certainly increases the tension as well as making the game look better. You can also now change the graphics settings to meet your own preferences.

    Does anything ruin all of this? Well for, for me, the "mouse support" is a big disappointment. You seem to only be able to use the mouse to look (although you are able to ready, aim and shoot using the mouse) not to turn, it often leads to the camera not moving in motion with you, but worse it means that you still turn slowly (although you can easily do a 180 using the keyboard) and doesn't bring the quickness and accuracy that, to me, is the whole point of bringing mouse support to the game. If you're using an Xbox 360 controller this won't bother you - but even when using this the controls still seem somewhat stiff and clumsy - it seems they didn't work much on this area at all.

    To summarise, the improvement in graphics and performance this updated version brings are very welcome and is closer to what this legendary game deserves. But if you were hoping for an improvement in the controls you may be disappointed.
    Expand
  10. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    This will always be the best game ever, there isn't really much else to say. The graphics are starting to show their age, but what do you expect for 8 years.
  11. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    Yahoo! I've been waiting for RE4 to come to the Xbox 360. I have it on the WI but that controller/numchuck combo is a pain to use. The level in RE4 where you fight the zombie with the white spots you have to shoot in the lab is still the scariest moment in gaming history, IMO.
  12. Jul 8, 2015
    9
    This is an updated review: at first this port was kinda broken, a bit. But now im happily able to confirm that it is absolutely fine, its an absolutely amazing port and I can definitely recommend it to almost all pc resident evil fans. The controls, are a bit awkward, if yur not use to tank controls, but other then that it is every thing you loved from resident evil 4 with all the bonusThis is an updated review: at first this port was kinda broken, a bit. But now im happily able to confirm that it is absolutely fine, its an absolutely amazing port and I can definitely recommend it to almost all pc resident evil fans. The controls, are a bit awkward, if yur not use to tank controls, but other then that it is every thing you loved from resident evil 4 with all the bonus content. I love it, and im glad that i brought it. Thank you Capcom for bring back a classic for all the pc gamers. Expand
  13. Aug 13, 2014
    9
    My favorite Resident Evil now in full HD and runs at 60fps! I loved it on GameCube and I love it even more on PC! Despite its minor issues and lack of Wii-like mouse support that some had expected it to have, it's well worth the price. Some of the textures have been redone and look as good as L4D2's textures at best, so not modern standard HD at all, but nonetheless, better than previousMy favorite Resident Evil now in full HD and runs at 60fps! I loved it on GameCube and I love it even more on PC! Despite its minor issues and lack of Wii-like mouse support that some had expected it to have, it's well worth the price. Some of the textures have been redone and look as good as L4D2's textures at best, so not modern standard HD at all, but nonetheless, better than previous ports. While aiming with the mouse is inferior to the Wii version, it's superior to the analog stick (depending on how much practice you put into it). Sniping heads is a breeze and the merchant's shooting ranges is laughably easy, though it's a lot more convenient to just plug in a 360 gamepad and be on your way.
    Most of the cut-scenes are in real-time, but some are low quality videos. If your PC is weak and struggles to run older games like HL2 or Portal, I don't recommend you play this, because its speed is actually tied to the frames-per-second, meaning if you use the game's locked 60fps setting and you're running 30fps, the game will run at half speed. Luckily it doesn't take a NASA computer to get 60fps. So... good port, runs great on mid hardware, looks the best, epic nostalgia, worth the 20 bucks, could use a patch for the minor issues though.

    EDIT: Mouse aiming has been patched to be responsive like other shooters. I actually prefer this over the Wii aiming. Nice! Mouse acceleration is on by default, but you can disable it via a config file.
    Expand
  14. Apr 8, 2015
    9
    Controls arent bad, but they take getting used to. Once you're used to them, it turns out to be a fantastic experience. i personally find this version to be the best, yet I've only play the GC version. Definitely check it out.
  15. May 30, 2016
    8
    Ok, lets be honest, the graphics are already outdated, even in this HD edition. But considering that the game was originally released in the early 2000', I think this is not a big thing.

    I did like RE1,2,3 back then when it came out for the PlayStation, but I think I really started to love this series when it changed to a 3rd person shooter with this RE4. Definitely worth trying out,
    Ok, lets be honest, the graphics are already outdated, even in this HD edition. But considering that the game was originally released in the early 2000', I think this is not a big thing.

    I did like RE1,2,3 back then when it came out for the PlayStation, but I think I really started to love this series when it changed to a 3rd person shooter with this RE4.

    Definitely worth trying out, if you haven't yet.
    Expand
  16. Dec 30, 2016
    10
    El mejor resident evil por muy, muy lejos. Los que dicen que resident evil debería volver a sus raíces que daban "miedo", igualmente se asustarían con moscas y con oxígeno. Los primeros 3 resident evil no daban miedo en lo absoluto, lo que si me daban era aburrimiento.
    Este fue el primer y el único resident evil que logró mezclar a la perfección el survival horror y la acción. Fue el
    El mejor resident evil por muy, muy lejos. Los que dicen que resident evil debería volver a sus raíces que daban "miedo", igualmente se asustarían con moscas y con oxígeno. Los primeros 3 resident evil no daban miedo en lo absoluto, lo que si me daban era aburrimiento.
    Este fue el primer y el único resident evil que logró mezclar a la perfección el survival horror y la acción. Fue el primero que realmente valió la pena.
    Expand
  17. Feb 22, 2017
    10
    This game is awesome , best resident evil game i played so far. I finished the game several times, not this one. The original one that i played only using keyboard, i got so good at it , i felt like a total noob when i played it with controller. The story is great , the puzzles are great. It has the perfect balance of puzzles and action. This deserves better score. The only downside is iThis game is awesome , best resident evil game i played so far. I finished the game several times, not this one. The original one that i played only using keyboard, i got so good at it , i felt like a total noob when i played it with controller. The story is great , the puzzles are great. It has the perfect balance of puzzles and action. This deserves better score. The only downside is i had a lot of trouble with the HD edition on PC, unlike the original non-hd version. I give it a 10 tough Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. May 14, 2014
    60
    Sadly the final score has to be lower than originally expected, at least until the developers can fix the issues. Resident Evil 4: Ultimate HD Edition is essentially the great PC version we've been waiting for all these years, it is priced quite reasonably and, under normal conditions, I would recommend the game wholeheartedly to fans of the series and newcomers alike, but not until all the bugs have been squashed. Until then, keep your money in your pockets.
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    90
    If you haven’t played Resident Evil 4, it’s still absolutely worth playing. It’s a definite classic that stands along with the likes of Half Life 2 as one of the best games of its generation.
  3. Apr 24, 2014
    88
    Resident Evil 4 is still one of the best games ever made, but less-than-ideal mouse and keyboard controls and a barely noticeable texture upgrade keep this PC port from being the ultimate version of this masterpiece that it could have been.