Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    70
    What we have here is an incredibly long, incredibly flawed, and yet paradoxically engaging experience.
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    67
    Resident Evil 6 PC is arguably the definitive version of the game – best graphics, all-inclusive, best multiplayer backbone – and obviously worthy of a playthrough if you’re PC-only gamer. However, if you played the console version last year (our review here), it’s probably not worth double-dipping and it still handles best on a controller.
  3. Mar 31, 2013
    78
    Resident Evil 6 comes to the PC with the same flaws and the same strengths of the console versions, with some overall better graphics but awful textures.
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    80
    It's as long, intense and replayable as the console version, but there are few additions to this one. Still, if you didn't play it when it was first released, and if you don't mind the new path the series has taken, RE 6 is a great option.
  5. Apr 1, 2013
    85
    Fans looking to scratch the survival horror itch will likely still not come away impressed by the direction the series has taken. Resident Evil has become more of an action-horror game; a change I have welcomed with open arms.
  6. May 21, 2013
    45
    An apocalyptic disappointment that never rises above mediocrity, but often sinks into tedium. [July 2013, p.72]
  7. May 14, 2013
    49
    I didn’t think it was possible but the Resident Evil games have gotten as loud, dumb and tiresome as the Resident Evil movies. Overcomplicated mechanics, a confusing, schizophrenic campaign split four ways and a ridiculous plot that doesn’t just break suspension of disbelief but blends it into a smoothie make Resident Evil 6 a real chore to get through.
  8. Apr 9, 2013
    62
    I guess in the end, the problem with Resident Evil 6 is that it doesn’t have an identity. It wants to please its survival-horror fanbase, but seems to have forgotten how to walk that fine line between tense action and frustrating challenge.
  9. Apr 15, 2013
    81
    Sometimes great, sometimes infuriating (on PC, Chris's run from Haos is a game killer) but always entertaining and dare I say challenging (at least compared to Call of Duty, Gears of Wars and other casual handhelders).
  10. Apr 2, 2013
    70
    Resident Evil 6 is a long and funny cooperative action game, but you have to overlook the outdated gameplay and level design to fully appreciate it.
  11. Apr 2, 2013
    73
    It’s definitely a good game, one that shows promise for an action focused future in the Resident Evil franchise, but too many little annoyances add up to prevent it from being a great game.
  12. Feb 4, 2014
    80
    Perhaps it's still too experimental and difficult than the sixth entry in a series ought to be, but despite everything, RE6 offers top-tier cinematic action and series-high storytelling. For fans who've yet to try it, the PC version is the right choice.
  13. Mar 22, 2013
    59
    The PC version emphasizes why the once strong franchise failed to impress and rather disappoints in so many areas. Terror, Horror and suspense are gone, while the shooter parts that remain are way behind Crysis 3 or Gears of War Judgment.
  14. Mar 26, 2013
    72
    Resident Evil 6 for the PC is a step up in terms of content and visuals, but a considerable leap down in terms of controls. Give me the console version over this one any day of the week.
  15. May 7, 2013
    70
    Capcom did not repeat mistakes from RE4, so using keyboard and mouse is almost as comfortable as playing with a gamepad. PC edition was also enriched with some interesting bonus content and patched (but that didn’t save it from some technical issues). [CD-Action 05/2013, p.71]
  16. Mar 22, 2013
    69
    I respond to the countless explosions only with copious yawns. The action game is not really bad, but it's just not particularly good either.
  17. Mar 29, 2013
    70
    It’s a bit of a guilty pleasure – it’s like buying a birthday cake for no real reason and just eating the entire thing by yourself in one sitting. You’ll enjoy yourself more than you have any real right to, but you’ll probably feel a little bit ashamed. That’s Resident Evil 6.
  18. 80
    If we forget the roots of the franchise, we have ourselves a pretty awesome and addictive 3rd person shooter. [May 2013]
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 729 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 163
  2. Negative: 70 out of 163
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    2
    I'll be synthetic. The game is filled to the brim with entirely gratuitous scripted actions. I hate those. Many scenarios are likewiseI'll be synthetic. The game is filled to the brim with entirely gratuitous scripted actions. I hate those. Many scenarios are likewise gratuitously slow. I hate that. Zombies' reactions to attacks reek of brawler games. Tekken wasn't as clumsy though.
    The interface reeks of console design. It's insulting on PC.
    A lightly dressed guy in the opening scenario apparently holds a dozen different guns on him, with negligible amounts of ammo for each. Immersion: zero.

    It's amazing how a game which starts so similarly to say, RE3, fails to convey any basic feature which made such an old game fun. You can't feel alone (you're not), you can't feel lost (press the Q key), you can't feel in danger ("Continue?" As if it were Tekken), you don't feel scared. I'll never even try a RE game again after this.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I played enough of this game to recommend it to you. There's everything to love and nothing to hate. If we consider the last trilogy, ResidentI played enough of this game to recommend it to you. There's everything to love and nothing to hate. If we consider the last trilogy, Resident Evil from 4 to 6 this is easily the best of them all, the culmination of the action Capcom offers. You can do all sort of new moves which are awesome, you can slide, dodge, land on your back and shoot from the ground (which can be done when enemies drop you too), you can fight in melee with combos or switching to a melee weapon. I really like the fluidity of the game and it's even more fun with a friend. The coop of this game is great, you are not helpless per sé, you can counter enemies' grapples, you can even "stand up" for yourself if you survive long enough in a down state, but, of course, it's a lot easier if there's a team mate helping you out but that may not be always possible due to tactics gone wrong or levels where you have to stay apart for some time.
    There is much to explore, some campaigns have more exploration than others, graphics are really good for my standards (which may be low since I don't really care) and it goes at 60 fps even if the benchmark told me it would go at 20-30. The campaigns are a great idea, different enemies, different characters, different playstyles and it's a hard game too! I play at Professional difficulty, invested 23 hours in the game right now and I'm something as halfway through (I'm doing chapter 3 with Chris now after doing 3 chapters with Jake and Leon). I really can't find anything wrong with this game, it gives me the challenge I seek, the adrenaline, the fear (the fear of dying but there are some jumps too), the gameplay is perfect as I see it, this was much more than I anticipated, I'll definitely play this multiple times. I'm giving it a 10 because as I said before, I can't find much wrong with it and I didn't have such fun with an action game for a while.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    1
    Explosions, Quick Time Events, horrible AI. I grieve for the gaming industry, they only try to impress using visual effects and just forgetExplosions, Quick Time Events, horrible AI. I grieve for the gaming industry, they only try to impress using visual effects and just forget everything that made old video-games really fun. They try to compensate the lack of depth and atmosphere using cutscenes all the time. It just doesn't work for me, it is not a video game anymore just a generic hollywood movie like the Resident Evil movie franchise, a total failure. Full Review »