Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 28, 2013
    85
    Revelation has some flaws - an imperfect controlling system, some short and too easy levels and really stupid story moments, that are typical for the Resident Evil series. Still, despite all this, the new RE is a great game. Episodic formula works great with telling a large, multithreaded story, the game has some real horror, great boss fights and a new game mode. It's definitely worth your time.
  2. May 23, 2013
    85
    Porting Revelations to make it readily available to millions of gamers was a smart move by Capcom, but if you have played the 3DS version already then there is nothing new here for you. For everyone else, Capcom has done console and PC gamers a favor in providing a thrilling and riveting addition to this truly evil series.
  3. May 20, 2013
    85
    It’s been so long since I could say, without any second guessing or qualifiers, that I like a Resident Evil game. I don’t just like Revelations — I adore it. Slower mechanics, scrounging for items, and marching headlong into the unknown are features not entirely lost in new RE games, but they’re rarely expressed as well as they were in pre-RE4 titles.
  4. May 27, 2013
    80
    Just like the zombies that the Resident Evil brand was built on, Revelations proves that there might be life after death (or at least severe downward spiral) after all.
  5. May 20, 2013
    80
    A great return to the series' roots. This is how you should do it, Capcom.
  6. May 20, 2013
    80
    Revelations takes the Resident Evil series back to its origin and delivers a true survival horror experience. It´s delightful to see that someone at Capcom still knows exactly what made the series so great in the first place. At a first glance it might not look so impressing, but this game is definitely better than the sum of its parts.
  7. May 21, 2013
    75
    Revelations is definitely reminiscent of the old school days of the series, and those craving that particular experience should not miss out.
  8. May 20, 2013
    75
    This HD version shares all the problems its predecessor has, including noticeably limited enemy variety and weak allied AI that can't hit the broad side of a barn.
  9. May 20, 2013
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. May 20, 2013
    74
    A high-definition PC port of a Nintendo 3DS game, Resident Evil: Revelations fails to offer any earth-shattering answers for longtime fans of the franchise. What they'll get instead is a modestly sized thriller with an annoying cast of characters and a completely nonsensical plot. On the other hand, it's still better than Resident Evil 6.
  11. May 21, 2013
    72
    Revelations hits a lot of right chords with long-time Resident Evil fans who pine for a return to the good old survival horror days of the franchise. But technical flaws, clumsy controls and too much action in the second half of its campaign ultimately prevent it being an excellent horror game, instead rendering it simply a fun ride with lots of minor issues.
  12. May 22, 2013
    65
    Revelations is a decent adventure, but it doesn't come close to reaching the heights the series has in the past.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 49
  2. Negative: 14 out of 49
  1. May 22, 2013
    4
    So i will start with the obvious, the graphics. Very sub-par especially for a pc port, very ps2 feel.
    The controls, i used both the mouse and
    keyboard and a controller and well....they are very clunky. Aiming has to be the worst its a combination of magnetic targeting and no real balance between camera speeding out of control to slow-mo.
    The dialog is awful, cut scenes are out of sync with the words and their expressions are linear.
    The challenge is there if you enjoy fighting the awkwardness of the controls vs. the camera other than that its a pass 4/10.
    Full Review »
  2. May 21, 2013
    10
    Challenging, fun, exciting, creepy,
    As Resident Evil fan (since Re/bio1)I like the way they brought back the old school "survival horror" and
    mixed it in with the new school look.
    But the Controlls are a bit annoying (at the first moment) and I wasn't happy about jill's look, not the best(preffe the design from re5) but it is okay.
    so um,
    9/10.
    Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2013
    3
    This game is... so annoying.
    All this is, is a third person shooter that is completely linear, telling a story 'revealing' untold bits to the
    resident evil saga. Only that the third person shooting-prat is atrociously done. I can not choose a sensitivity lower than 5 when I am using the mouse, because if I happen to put it lower than that and i want to aim accurately and aim just a little bit to a direction, it does not register, the crosshair will not move if you do not move your mouse enough or have the sensitivity high enough, so that defeats the point of a good 'shooter'. Also 3 hours into the game there is a slight variety of monsters which can all be defeated easily by just dumb shooting into their torso, hitting the head is an annoyance since they always wiggle around and you will miss half your shots then anyway. It seems this does not have the sweet vendor as in RE4, no, they solace you with you finding customization kits along the way and you can smack those gunparts onto whatever it fits. I mean.. RE6 was just horrible to play, it was one huge annoyance to go through the story, but this tops it with really not so nice at all graphics and dialogue that will make you want to tear your hair right out of your head (it is just brain-melting). On top of that, as long as you play singleplayer, your 'partner' will be almost absolutely useless. I've tested this and walked around, evading a monster, letting my partner shoot the monster, but after over a minute waiting I've had enough, I'm not sure if your partner does zero damage at all with their gun or just very few...
    The M1911 does have the exact same shooting sound as the M9... etc, etc I could keep nagging about more and more details that make me not like this game at all and i truly don't think it deserves a rating of 78 at all, because this game is way too superficial and drab/boring. Oh and you constantly get keys which will make you, if you're a completionist, run back on the ship all the time to collect gun parts, herbs, ammo etc... very annoying too, it just feels like they want to stretch the gameplay length as much as possible. (Though I don't think this deserves a zero or lower than 3, because that spot will be reserved for War Z)
    Full Review »