User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 14 out of 32

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Feb 23, 2006
    0
    I beta-ed this game and I won't be buying it. It was fun for the first few hours, but it quickly lost its appeal. Quests? Kill 20 of this, 20 of that. Combat wasn't that imaginative. Not much content or real story line once in the game.

    Beta was buggy (as to be expected), then shut down all of the sudden. That was weekend of 2/17. I'm not confident that they fixed
    I beta-ed this game and I won't be buying it. It was fun for the first few hours, but it quickly lost its appeal. Quests? Kill 20 of this, 20 of that. Combat wasn't that imaginative. Not much content or real story line once in the game.

    Beta was buggy (as to be expected), then shut down all of the sudden. That was weekend of 2/17. I'm not confident that they fixed that many things in that short of time.

    Game isn't ready for prime time. Wait a few months if you're really interested.
    Expand
  2. JulietteWalters
    Feb 25, 2006
    4
    I took part in the stress-test of this game. It moves well enough and has moderately decent graphics. However, there is really NOTHING to it. There's no sense of story, no ownership of the characters (which all look the same). The beginnings are muddled and you really have no reason to play on. That is, unless you really like just killing the same monster over and over by hittingI took part in the stress-test of this game. It moves well enough and has moderately decent graphics. However, there is really NOTHING to it. There's no sense of story, no ownership of the characters (which all look the same). The beginnings are muddled and you really have no reason to play on. That is, unless you really like just killing the same monster over and over by hitting the "attack" key and walking away. From what I could see, this game is a level treadmill.
    To make matters worse, it is all mouse driven. There are few keyboard controls for the main part of the action. Not all of the controls transferred well to my track-ball controller either.
    I give it a 4 only because it moved smoothly and was relatively pretty...
    Expand
  3. EdgarD
    Mar 3, 2006
    2
    Believe it or not I love mindless killing ( grinding if you like ) i have a life so logging on and getting getting to the point of lvl'ing and or pvp'ing is just fin for me...but...

    In addition to the above comments. You cannot change your mouse sensitivity, you need to hack the game to change your keyboard setup... and worst of all this game does not have Inverted mouse and
    Believe it or not I love mindless killing ( grinding if you like ) i have a life so logging on and getting getting to the point of lvl'ing and or pvp'ing is just fin for me...but...

    In addition to the above comments. You cannot change your mouse sensitivity, you need to hack the game to change your keyboard setup... and worst of all this game does not have Inverted mouse and there is also no way to hack it to do so.

    If you require any of the play styles i stated above and love PVP or RVR whatever you want to call it. going into pvp/RVR with a unconfortable keyboard setup is pretty much a a waste of time... you end game would be to go to RVR land just to die!!!!!!!

    stay away from this game.

    seriously the game DEV's as well as the so called beta testers are really that ....( fill in the blank )
    Expand
  4. EzzerHadden
    Jun 1, 2006
    2
    I found it to be rather low in quality overall. Every element from graphics to gameplay just doesn't stand up to today's production standards. Tedious combat, sub-par PvP, terrible community. After playing to 35 in the UK/US beta then going to 25 on a friend's account we both decided that time would be better spent watching paint dry. Stay clear if you are looking for aI found it to be rather low in quality overall. Every element from graphics to gameplay just doesn't stand up to today's production standards. Tedious combat, sub-par PvP, terrible community. After playing to 35 in the UK/US beta then going to 25 on a friend's account we both decided that time would be better spent watching paint dry. Stay clear if you are looking for a game with challenge or depth. Players 15 years of age or higher need not apply. Expand
  5. TouaY.
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    The game is great! It's worth giving a try.... I loved it since buying it... another great online RPG game! Very addicting and what more can you ask for!?
  6. AlanR.
    Feb 23, 2006
    2
    Buy this game if you like mindless killing of the same creature over and over again to see marginal gains in your character Buy this game if you like to run your computer 24/7 in the game having your character automated mining. Buy this game if you like your PvP to be reduced to whoever brought the most potions winning. This game is a complete waste of space on the MMO Market. While good Buy this game if you like mindless killing of the same creature over and over again to see marginal gains in your character Buy this game if you like to run your computer 24/7 in the game having your character automated mining. Buy this game if you like your PvP to be reduced to whoever brought the most potions winning. This game is a complete waste of space on the MMO Market. While good looking, that's all it has going for it. Expand
  7. KarisH.
    Feb 25, 2006
    2
    Decent Graphics bad gameplay. Can't say i'm surprised that a korean mmo is a grind-fest. If you want to grind play RO it is a much better game, Zero real quests, no story to be seen. The game feels the same as it did in beta, nothing was changed. The chat filter is horrible, the chat system all together is horrible. The kill/quest system is bad also, it only awards the kill to Decent Graphics bad gameplay. Can't say i'm surprised that a korean mmo is a grind-fest. If you want to grind play RO it is a much better game, Zero real quests, no story to be seen. The game feels the same as it did in beta, nothing was changed. The chat filter is horrible, the chat system all together is horrible. The kill/quest system is bad also, it only awards the kill to the person who got the final blow, so in your party you have to kill the same mobs exponentially compared to the number of people in your group. Of course we can't forget the potions! This game is a potion spam fest, you literally have to AKF mine all night to be able to afford the potions for the next day of leveling or grinding PTs. Last but not least is the killstealing, (just like any other korean mmo) is highly irritating. People can snipe your quest mobs off by a well timed hit and steal the entire mob you spent 100k on potions to kill. There is one final thing, thats the lack of skills. As a ranger you have 1 attack skill till 30.. Yes 1! 2 buff skills and thats it for 30 levels. Talk about boring. I recommend you not play this game unless you are an avid grinder, go pick up EQ1/2 or Guildwars they are both better games. Not to mention this game is $15 a month! $15 for this game should be a crime! Expand
  8. Derek
    Feb 26, 2006
    9
    The game is a great change from WoW! So far, it has been an exciting adventure if you exclude the few bugs due to how new it is for the US market.
  9. BrianB.
    Feb 27, 2006
    1
    un-resposive, grind fest, no where near as enjoyable as other mmorpgs around, control system sux, quests are same old boaring. Avoid at all costs, complete waste of cash.
  10. Kraig
    Mar 4, 2006
    8
    Pros: The skill based growth system is customizable. While the skill caps are class/level based, you choose the skills you want to train. There are no healing/support classes, each class has a set of buffs (some usable on others) and potions for healing. Upgrade options - you can upgrade every weapon or piece of armor with a variety of abilibities. PvP - The pvp portion of the game is the Pros: The skill based growth system is customizable. While the skill caps are class/level based, you choose the skills you want to train. There are no healing/support classes, each class has a set of buffs (some usable on others) and potions for healing. Upgrade options - you can upgrade every weapon or piece of armor with a variety of abilibities. PvP - The pvp portion of the game is the center of attention. This why you will keep playing. The chip wars occur every 8 hours, and inbetween there is a lot of oppertunity to fight eachother. Cons: Repetitive gamplay - you only have a small number of skills that level up as you use them. Depending on your personality type this can get boring. Quests - They are instant receive, instant reward kill tasks. Very little depth/ World - It's not very large, a lot of reused monster models, few dungeons. Overall - It's enjoyable if you don't mind hack and slash style gameplay. It not a deep game, but there is something staisfying about designing the type of character you want. There are a lot of options with the class and cross class skills, choosing which skills to develop and seeing how it works in PvP. If you don't mind the grinding, and like to war with other players you'll enjoy this game. Collapse
  11. MarkF.
    Mar 17, 2006
    9
    Personally I get fed up with all the people banging on saying "It's not WoW". Doh, no it's not - it's different, and for some people different will always be a problem. Graphically it's great. I like the Sci-Fi/fantasy mix (cf the run-of-the-mill medieval/trolls and orcs type fantasy). The user interface gets a bit of getting used to (and understanding) at first but Personally I get fed up with all the people banging on saying "It's not WoW". Doh, no it's not - it's different, and for some people different will always be a problem. Graphically it's great. I like the Sci-Fi/fantasy mix (cf the run-of-the-mill medieval/trolls and orcs type fantasy). The user interface gets a bit of getting used to (and understanding) at first but grows on you. Yes it's a bit of a grind, but then it's better than getting to a high level quickly and then sitting around thinking "what do I do now". The chip wars are a neat idea, and the control for the mine, mining, quests, and battle dungeons (as well as levelling up) mean there is always something to do. The different races give a good twist to things with the Bellato "Mechs" (MAUs), and the different weapons and skills (and trying to level up whilst avoiding gimping your character) a more complex and involved challenge than other MMOs. Many other MMOs tend to be more one player playing individually amongst thousands, and you can do this, or group up in a guild or even as a race to get a different perspective and type of game. Its not an "instant gratification" MMO, and maybe more of a sophisticated/acquired taste than WoW but that's no bad thing for those who want something different. Just because it's not WoW doesn't mean it's bad. Expand
  12. Mr.Moby
    Mar 20, 2006
    2
    Good looking but boring and tedious, you can tell that this game was created for the korean market because its just lv grinding with a tedious battles. the european markets want more story and a reason for being in that game world. the other big problem here is that you have to subscribe to this drivvle,, take my advice and go and get Guild Wars instead( online MMORPG with no Fees)
  13. BetaW.
    Mar 24, 2006
    0
    Eurogamer said it best: "RF Online is like playing an endless game of slow-motion whack-a-rat, without the entertainment of the fairground surroundings. "
  14. JornF.
    Mar 31, 2006
    0
    When you get to level 20 you need to be in a group to level up, the game is just WAY to party focused. And as usual, Korean games got bad coding (client side) and a lot of grapic glitches. No kind of physics, even the jump is animated 100%. I bought it and thats the most stupid thing i have ever done. Go out and buy Auto Assault or World of Warcraft, RF just isn't play able.
  15. Isaac
    Apr 14, 2006
    5
    There is an interesting setting and theme. The models are well done while the animations are not exceptional. The environments are poorly executed. Very hardcore character mechanics and requires a bit of persistence to figure out. In general the play is very repetitive, the localized (i.e. the english translation) text is amateurish and the quests completely uninteresting. In all of the There is an interesting setting and theme. The models are well done while the animations are not exceptional. The environments are poorly executed. Very hardcore character mechanics and requires a bit of persistence to figure out. In general the play is very repetitive, the localized (i.e. the english translation) text is amateurish and the quests completely uninteresting. In all of the ways an MMORPG can be made to be enjoyable by anyone but die-hards, RFO fails. Expand
  16. QAZzzz
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    Great MMO that starts slow but the PvP action and character skillset (After qquite a bit of training) are all fantastic features. It isn't a game for the faint hearted and will require alot of personal time to progress through it. It's not for WOW fans and is very raw but the core gameplay is extremely fun and engaging.
  17. J.M.
    Apr 25, 2006
    0
    A frightening glimpse into the future of MMORPGs as producers continue to farm them out to Korea. The game plays identically to free alternatives such as Kal Online and FlyFF as well as other alternatives like Rose Online. There is a complete lack of pathfinding, poor localization (the game asked me to install the Chinese text pack to play properly), and there isn't even a competent A frightening glimpse into the future of MMORPGs as producers continue to farm them out to Korea. The game plays identically to free alternatives such as Kal Online and FlyFF as well as other alternatives like Rose Online. There is a complete lack of pathfinding, poor localization (the game asked me to install the Chinese text pack to play properly), and there isn't even a competent word wrap. The world is tiny and cramped with a multitude of players fighting over the same spawning grounds. The art style is boring (ie. same as all the other Korean MMORPGs) and the character models have nil in the variety department. Monster, character, and place names are as if someone pounded on the keyboard and added vowels where needed. There is a complete lack of physics and the quests are monotonous "kill X number of Y monster". RF Online is a true step backwards in the MMORPG genre. Ultima Online has more technical competence and variety, and it is 10 years old. Expand
  18. JazzMine
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    This game is actually great compared to other MMO in the market. The plots and gameplay is quite different. Imagine to choose on which of the three race to side with, then from there battle with the other race, which I think is not present in other MMO. And guys, you've only seen the 1st episode of the game....wait till you get a glimpse of the succeeding episodes. EP1's This game is actually great compared to other MMO in the market. The plots and gameplay is quite different. Imagine to choose on which of the three race to side with, then from there battle with the other race, which I think is not present in other MMO. And guys, you've only seen the 1st episode of the game....wait till you get a glimpse of the succeeding episodes. EP1's plot=planet Novus.....EP2...etc's plot=intergalactic wars (yet only a teaser for now). Which MMO offers this gameplay? None of the moment I think. This game also the Archonship thingy...one ruler for eaver race....do other MMO have this feature? All in all, this is a very addicting and enjoyable game. Dont discourage others, let them try first. Expand
  19. Metalgeorge
    Dec 14, 2006
    10
    nice game!!! it isnt the best game but is good and besides which mmo can you use and android thingy eh? its original and lacks the stupidity of other games quests of just talking to NPCs and then bringing them items (rf just cuts that redious things). And story lines has quite enough just that you dont have to search for it, it shows it for in an report which seems to come from an nice game!!! it isnt the best game but is good and besides which mmo can you use and android thingy eh? its original and lacks the stupidity of other games quests of just talking to NPCs and then bringing them items (rf just cuts that redious things). And story lines has quite enough just that you dont have to search for it, it shows it for in an report which seems to come from an satellite and saves you time ( its just that some people dont read), this is good so that novices players dont get so lost. There are few games like this one its your chioce or play something different to check it out or you can play WOW just because someone tells you to play it,and wow it has so many to offer....warriors paladins, rogues,dwarfs and a bit more of same races and jobs....is like all the same. Like i say back then its your choice but first dont take my word for granted just play games to check them. Expand
  20. SteveL.
    Apr 17, 2007
    0
    Repetitive,boring,Potion-Spamming, typical korean grinding MMORPG. You rely on your potions more than your strength on winning the battle at chip wars or PvP and you must be a high level(level 30+ not recommended because that's still a low level now when most players in chip wars are 40+ or 50) in order to participate in these events or your quickly killed by 3-5 hits by other races. Repetitive,boring,Potion-Spamming, typical korean grinding MMORPG. You rely on your potions more than your strength on winning the battle at chip wars or PvP and you must be a high level(level 30+ not recommended because that's still a low level now when most players in chip wars are 40+ or 50) in order to participate in these events or your quickly killed by 3-5 hits by other races. the quests are a joke every quest there's kill certain number of monsters.There are no exploration whatsoever here and there are no physics here either. The boss battles here are boring it's the same normal monster but bigger and they do normal attacks or critical hits and that's about it. If you say RF is better and worth it than WoW then you're screwed. RF doesn't compete with the likes WoW,Guildwars, FFX and Everquest. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 7 out of 23
  1. 80
    RF Online delivers an MMO that focuses more on battles and less on stories and quests. For those who lust after solid plots and definitive quests, they can stick to their "World of Warcraft" and "Final Fantasy XI." For those who just want to log on and kick butt, RF Online is the prescription for you.
  2. Somewhat shallow, somewhat lacking in content, but a decent diversion for MMO fanatics if they’ve got no other online addiction at the time.
  3. RF Online is like playing an endless game of slow-motion whack-a-rat, without the entertainment of the fairground surroundings.