User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 67
  2. Negative: 24 out of 67

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2012
    2
    Imagine the silly explosions of Michael Bay movies mixed with the terrible lens flare and bloom visual effects of J.J. Abrams movies slapped on top of a really bad Burnout ripoff. This is what Ridge Racer Unbounded feels like. On the plus side it seems to be well optimized, and keyboard controls seem to work just "fine". At least I assume it wouldn't get any better with a game pad. And that's where the downsides begin. The cars all control like bricks, when you try to go around corners without drifting you go straight into a wall, when you try to go around corners drifting you go sidewalls into a wall, the "smash through things, big explosions" features do almost nothing about the actual race progression, and the races are either super frustrating (when you get stuck on a wall you thought you could smash though because there's no visual distinction between destructible objects and indestructible ones) or easy as cake (when you manage to take the corners in some way and you run kilometres in front of the competition) to the point where the last races in the game feel exactly like the first ones (including the difficulty level), only in a different district. The relative shortness doesn't help either, and the track editor is so unimaginative that you start assuming that the actual game race tracks were built in it. The icing on this bitter cake is a soundtrack that consists mostly of repetitive techno. If you want to see a game that does pretty much every single thing much better go and get Burnout Paradise.

    P.S.: As I long time Destruction Derby and FlatOut fan I can assure that it's absolutely NOTHING like these games (pretending that FlatOut Ultimate Carnage doesn't exist because it was almost as awful as this game).
    Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    It takes elements from NFS, Split Second and Bournout. And that is a good thing! Oh this game is so cool with the oldskool Ridge Racer drifting in it! I really like it. Unfortunatly it is a bit simple and linear. And also does not feel very polished. But its fun in a box, just be sure not to pay more than 20â
  3. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    For fans of flatout it is a perfect game ! Game is well optimized , for fact that it has so awesome graphic. It isjust good and funy arcade. i would recomended to all flatout players :)
  4. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    This racer is more of a mix of elements from Split Second, Blur, and Burnout (I haven't played the Flatout series so forgive the omission). The only thing "Ridge Racer" about this game are the light trails when boosting. Although RR:U does not match the quality of the mechanics from any of those games, mixing those mechanics ensures the game still reaches the same level of action that is still fast and NON-STOP (non-stop chains of drifting, environment destruction, and fragging - your mileage may vary). Watch the Steam trailer, because what you will see is actually what you will get. Even the music from that video is taken from the game. User created tracks ensure longer replay value, but multiplayer competition is, as of now, non-existent. It may not be unique like the games that it seems to emulate, but it's still a great addition to anyone's virtual racing collection. Oh, and it runs at a smooth 60fps with vsync on as long as your PC can handle it. Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    There is a lot of cars, races and cities in this game. The graphic is cool and mods are very fun. This game is better than Split/second so it is 9/10 for me. And I love like some races aren´t easy like in NFS. I mean you will have to restart them. I think I never pressed restart button in NFS. I expected a funny arcade game like Flatout 2 and I got it! And you can build your tracks. It is amazing. Expand
  6. May 24, 2012
    5
    I didn't like Ridge Racer Unbounded. First I'd like to say that I wasn't big fan of Ridge Racer brand so partially that was my fault because I expected to be more like Flatout serial (because of Bugbear). It runs smoothly, it has lots of content, but it feels somehow outdated at least for the PC. I hated that console menus and obvious lack of config options. Lighting effects can be annoying sometimes but generally they look cool. What about driving? It is ok - arcade like, when you get grip you can easily maneuver your vehicle. However I didn't like drifting, it's kind of unrealistic but as I have found out later it's main feature/characteristic of RR games in the past. What I expected to be better are car physics and car destruction, FO UC is much better in both and I thought that creators of that game can do only better, but I was wrong. So if you like to play Flatout stick to it, don't waste your time on RR, it's quite different game (as it should be). Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    Very addictive. Hard to put down. You drift, boost, frag opponents, and drive through buildings. The AI is very aggressive. Graphics and audio are good and there are plenty of cars. The Bugbear development team have made an excellent game, again. The only caveat on this review is the multiplayer lobby. I am yet to find a well populated online race, and the options for letting you find them are inadequate. RR Unbounded is a fun arcade racer, but if you really want to race against other people then chances are you might be disappointed. Expand
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    Brilliant game.The graphics and controls are fantastic. Its up there with Burnout, Split Second, Blur, NFS, and Flatout Ultimate Carnage and maybe even better than some of those.
  9. May 15, 2012
    10
    It's not a 10 game but I find that superficial reviews need some balancing. The actual note is 8 for this. Really fun but it's a bit weird when you first play it. Expecting the following games : Burnout, Flatout, NFS even Ridge Racer is a mistake. The combined elements make for a unique experience that begins to be rewarding after some plays. When you get around the game mechanics you'll have fun I promise you! Expand
  10. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    TL;DR Split/Second, not Ridge Racer

    This is far from a Ridge Racer game. Ridge Racer Unbounded's mechanics are solid (aside from the drifting), and it's just as much fun to frag other players and blow everything up. The problem is where the feel of the game fits the developer's other titles, and not a Ridge Racer one. It's a nice game coming from Split/Second Velocity, but if you've
    played and enjoyed previous Ridge Racer games stay away from this one. Expand
  11. Apr 18, 2012
    5
    A simple arcade game. Choose a race from the menu, choose your car, try to end the race in 1st place. They've tried to throw more aspects here and there but in the end haven't succeeded in creating something truly awesome or memorable. Nothing really special about this title: Ridge Racer Unbounded don't have serious flaws but it also don't present anything new or special. I would only recommend this game to people who have nothing else to play with. Expand
  12. Jun 14, 2013
    5
    Interesting racing game with a god-awful driving controls. A truly unplayable mess.
    Get it on discount, its not worth it. There are far better racing games.
  13. Jul 9, 2012
    7
    If you want a definition for "Medicore" then ridge racer it that. Namco team has much more talent, skill & history to release such a disappointment
    Was a huge fan of Ridgeracer on PS 1; Ridge racer 7 was good. but unbounded........WHY? Namco WHY?
  14. Feb 9, 2013
    5
    Ridge Racer unbounded is a neat little game. Drifting is fun and the cars handles for the most time quite well. There is plenty of user made maps available in a convenient way and the map-creator should provide quite a bit of fun for those into that. It is also possible to control the game with your keyboard without getting a headache. The game do sadly have quite a limited selection of game-modes and cars. The maps do also get kind of samey despite the map editor since its all based around the same map-buildlng blocks. The options menu is also quite bare and i have personally not been able to find any multiplayer opponent to race against so far( New maps are however added all the time). But there is still enough content in the game to satisfy and i would definitely recommend this game for racing fans. I should also mention that the game is quite tough for an arcade racing game which might scare some people away. Expand
  15. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    I have not played any ridge racer game before this, but this game actually makes me want to know more about the series. At first I was a little annoyed at the fact the the drifting was utter crap and the game itself was WAY too hard, but then I started to understand how to play it properly, I stopped thinking the drifting was horrible, I realised it was a game that needed patience to play, because it takes a while of getting used to. When you get to the point of winning races, it is quite a fun game. Expand
  16. Aug 2, 2013
    4
    I just can't like this game. The graphics are good, the idea is interesting, the explosive objects are fun, the building destruction is enjoyable but the controls are horrible, and the way the implement everything is horrible.

    You need to destroy things or tailgate to boost your nitro which you can only use when it is full. But if there is nothing to destroy, no one near you and no big
    turns to drift, you have nothing you can do.

    And then there is the frag detection on you and the other guys. It seems to just decide randomly it seems. I can be going full speed into something that would get destroyed if my nitro was on but a millisecond after it runs out and I crash into it instead of drive through? How is this fair? It should be based on speed not if my nitro is still running. Also, when I ram into another car and they have nitro on but I am the one doing the ramming, why do I get destroyed?

    On top of all that, the drifting is horrible. This is a staple of the Ridge Racer games, is it supposed to be arcade style drifting? I don't get it. I tried really hard to understand it but if I can take a turn without drifting a lot better than if I did drift, or if the other cars can turn on a dime while I have to drift directly into a wall to make the turn every time, that just isn't good.

    Maybe I am missing something but that drifting problem alone kills the enjoyment for me. Top it off with those dead zones where there is no possible way to get boost... Forget it.
    Expand
  17. Feb 1, 2014
    1
    I wouldn't even begin to associate this....game (not the word I'd use for it)..with anything remotely 'flatout' related. Instead I see it as being Namco/Bugbear's horrible attempt at trying so hard to be another Burnout that they thought they'd include the buildings and everything else almost within some kind of twisted logic or reason - Burnout didn't do half as much to promote bad driving as this game does though, smash into everything you like when you like but for some odd reason, you will hit a wall and come to a stop. Yet you can destroy pretty large targets - like stationary lorries, or even an entire petrol station, which completely negates any comment about logic.

    Not the best Ridge Racer I've ever seen. In fact, I would not even begin to think about recommending it.
    Tries to be a lot of fun, but I didn't think it was a lot of fun, not least because I thought it perhaps wasn't intended for gamers of my spritely age (no I'm not telling you, yes I'm probably old enough to be your dad or your grandad).
    Graphically, it was okay, I wouldn't say it was the best I've ever seen, but it was presentable.
    In terms of control, well.....keyboard control always seems to be a...bugbear ?...with what look to be obvious console ports, and this is no exception, you either ARE hitting space to drift, or you are NOT. And then what ensues is a maddeningly horrible display of skidpan chicanery. I would really not buy this game if you are too seriously into the 'grown up' version of racing (NFS Shift 2 / F1 Twothousandandwhatever) but if you really do like just having fun and don't mind losing an immense number of races to get anywhere because you don't have a gamepad, or simply because you aren't that great at it, then 'Shatter Bay' (hardly imaginative title), is probably a good place to be, but I wouldn't bank on it.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. May 16, 2012
    68
    If you love demanding arcade racing games, heavy on OCD, give it a chance, as soon as its price is lowered. Otherwise, you can find much better games of the genre out there. [May 2012]
  2. May 10, 2012
    85
    Unbounded is a part of a franchise strongly associated with consoles but somehow turns out to be average on X360 and one of the best arcade racing games in years on PC. On PC it just plays better (even with a keyboard!) and is extremely rewarding. [June 2012, p.66]
  3. 70
    A significant shift from previous installments towards a greater show and extreme drifting. If you prefer Split/Second type of racing the new Ridge Racer won't disappoint you. [May 2012]