Ridge Racer Unbounded PC

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 79
  2. Negative: 26 out of 79

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    It takes elements from NFS, Split Second and Bournout. And that is a good thing! Oh this game is so cool with the oldskool Ridge Racer drifting in it! I really like it. Unfortunatly it is a bit simple and linear. And also does not feel very polished. But its fun in a box, just be sure not to pay more than 20â
  2. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    TL;DR Split/Second, not Ridge Racer

    This is far from a Ridge Racer game. Ridge Racer Unbounded's mechanics are solid (aside from the drifting), and it's just as much fun to frag other players and blow everything up. The problem is where the feel of the game fits the developer's other titles, and not a Ridge Racer one. It's a nice game coming from Split/Second Velocity, but if you've
    TL;DR Split/Second, not Ridge Racer

    This is far from a Ridge Racer game. Ridge Racer Unbounded's mechanics are solid (aside from the drifting), and it's just as much fun to frag other players and blow everything up. The problem is where the feel of the game fits the developer's other titles, and not a Ridge Racer one. It's a nice game coming from Split/Second Velocity, but if you've played and enjoyed previous Ridge Racer games stay away from this one.
    Expand
  3. May 24, 2012
    5
    I didn't like Ridge Racer Unbounded. First I'd like to say that I wasn't big fan of Ridge Racer brand so partially that was my fault because I expected to be more like Flatout serial (because of Bugbear). It runs smoothly, it has lots of content, but it feels somehow outdated at least for the PC. I hated that console menus and obvious lack of config options. Lighting effects can beI didn't like Ridge Racer Unbounded. First I'd like to say that I wasn't big fan of Ridge Racer brand so partially that was my fault because I expected to be more like Flatout serial (because of Bugbear). It runs smoothly, it has lots of content, but it feels somehow outdated at least for the PC. I hated that console menus and obvious lack of config options. Lighting effects can be annoying sometimes but generally they look cool. What about driving? It is ok - arcade like, when you get grip you can easily maneuver your vehicle. However I didn't like drifting, it's kind of unrealistic but as I have found out later it's main feature/characteristic of RR games in the past. What I expected to be better are car physics and car destruction, FO UC is much better in both and I thought that creators of that game can do only better, but I was wrong. So if you like to play Flatout stick to it, don't waste your time on RR, it's quite different game (as it should be). Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2012
    5
    A simple arcade game. Choose a race from the menu, choose your car, try to end the race in 1st place. They've tried to throw more aspects here and there but in the end haven't succeeded in creating something truly awesome or memorable. Nothing really special about this title: Ridge Racer Unbounded don't have serious flaws but it also don't present anything new or special. I would onlyA simple arcade game. Choose a race from the menu, choose your car, try to end the race in 1st place. They've tried to throw more aspects here and there but in the end haven't succeeded in creating something truly awesome or memorable. Nothing really special about this title: Ridge Racer Unbounded don't have serious flaws but it also don't present anything new or special. I would only recommend this game to people who have nothing else to play with. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2013
    5
    Interesting racing game with a god-awful driving controls. A truly unplayable mess.
    Get it on discount, its not worth it. There are far better racing games.
  6. Jul 9, 2012
    7
    If you want a definition for "Medicore" then ridge racer it that. Namco team has much more talent, skill & history to release such a disappointment
    Was a huge fan of Ridgeracer on PS 1; Ridge racer 7 was good. but unbounded........WHY? Namco WHY?
  7. Feb 9, 2013
    5
    Ridge Racer unbounded is a neat little game. Drifting is fun and the cars handles for the most time quite well. There is plenty of user made maps available in a convenient way and the map-creator should provide quite a bit of fun for those into that. It is also possible to control the game with your keyboard without getting a headache. The game do sadly have quite a limited selection ofRidge Racer unbounded is a neat little game. Drifting is fun and the cars handles for the most time quite well. There is plenty of user made maps available in a convenient way and the map-creator should provide quite a bit of fun for those into that. It is also possible to control the game with your keyboard without getting a headache. The game do sadly have quite a limited selection of game-modes and cars. The maps do also get kind of samey despite the map editor since its all based around the same map-buildlng blocks. The options menu is also quite bare and i have personally not been able to find any multiplayer opponent to race against so far( New maps are however added all the time). But there is still enough content in the game to satisfy and i would definitely recommend this game for racing fans. I should also mention that the game is quite tough for an arcade racing game which might scare some people away. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. May 16, 2012
    68
    If you love demanding arcade racing games, heavy on OCD, give it a chance, as soon as its price is lowered. Otherwise, you can find much better games of the genre out there. [May 2012]
  2. May 10, 2012
    85
    Unbounded is a part of a franchise strongly associated with consoles but somehow turns out to be average on X360 and one of the best arcade racing games in years on PC. On PC it just plays better (even with a keyboard!) and is extremely rewarding. [June 2012, p.66]
  3. 70
    A significant shift from previous installments towards a greater show and extreme drifting. If you prefer Split/Second type of racing the new Ridge Racer won't disappoint you. [May 2012]