User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 71
  2. Negative: 8 out of 71

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Rift: Storm Legion has a ton of added content. The new map is 3 times the size of the old map. The quests are more fun. They also added carnage quests which play a lot like guild wars 2 quests. You can now upgrade armor through different levels like upgrade a green cape to a blue item level cape, etc. More dungeons, content, etc. The only thing that is annoying is leveling again. It willRift: Storm Legion has a ton of added content. The new map is 3 times the size of the old map. The quests are more fun. They also added carnage quests which play a lot like guild wars 2 quests. You can now upgrade armor through different levels like upgrade a green cape to a blue item level cape, etc. More dungeons, content, etc. The only thing that is annoying is leveling again. It will take you about as long as it took you to get to 50 to get from 50-60. I really just wanted to jump right into the end game content. I guess its unavoidable though. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I came back to RIFT for Storm Legion after I had reached endgame in the original. The new content and new ways of leveling are a lot of fun, and I feel constantly engaged by the world. From a lore standpoint, I like the fact that rifts have gone from being 'Oh no we're being invaded!' to 'Time to start taking the fight to the enemy!', which is appealing. And Dimensions! People who wantI came back to RIFT for Storm Legion after I had reached endgame in the original. The new content and new ways of leveling are a lot of fun, and I feel constantly engaged by the world. From a lore standpoint, I like the fact that rifts have gone from being 'Oh no we're being invaded!' to 'Time to start taking the fight to the enemy!', which is appealing. And Dimensions! People who want player housing are going to be thrilled with this, it's fantastic! All in all, I couldn't be more satisfied with Storm Legion and look forward to playing all the way through it. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Storm Legion brings a host of new material and exiting new features, far more than the typical MMO expansion. While it has a ton of new content the real improvements are gameplay changes. New types of rifts and content means that you are literally spoiled for choice at endgame. The levelling experience has been vastly improved and quest lines are immersive, despite this questing remains aStorm Legion brings a host of new material and exiting new features, far more than the typical MMO expansion. While it has a ton of new content the real improvements are gameplay changes. New types of rifts and content means that you are literally spoiled for choice at endgame. The levelling experience has been vastly improved and quest lines are immersive, despite this questing remains a weak spot in the game. With different things to do during leveling (Carnage, Rifts, Quests, Instant Adventures, Dungeons, Onslaughts) the game does vary things up nicely. The game world and art direction is beautiful and detailed however still shows signs of poor optimisation as a result of the aging 'Gamebryo' engine, which isn't optimised for multicore support. Despite this, the game is more than competent and brings nothing but improvements to the game. The direction RIFT is heading in is truly exciting and is deserving of its subscription status. 9/10 Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Tempest Bay is an amazing city. Dimensions are incredible. I was surprised by how many items are available and how versatile the system is. This is the best themepark mmorpg out there.
  5. Feb 1, 2013
    6
    When SL first came out, I liked it quite a bit more than a 6. The grind from 50 to 60, while long, had options. To a player returning to the game after a 9+ month hiatus, there was some lack of clarity on the other leveling options, balance issues not withstanding. Now that the honeymoon period has closed and I am fully back into the game in a casual raiding guild, it is clear that SLWhen SL first came out, I liked it quite a bit more than a 6. The grind from 50 to 60, while long, had options. To a player returning to the game after a 9+ month hiatus, there was some lack of clarity on the other leveling options, balance issues not withstanding. Now that the honeymoon period has closed and I am fully back into the game in a casual raiding guild, it is clear that SL was not quite ready for release. Besides the obvious locked zone (the Dendrome) that was supposed to be released in patch 2.1, instant adventures are pointless, carnages are just grinding with bonus experience tacked on, onslaughts are cheap power-leveling areas, gear progression is extremely flawed, experts are mostly moot, grinding for infinity stones and notoriety (reputation) is dull, and end-game raid progression lacks a second 10-man at least. While I understand from the forums that much of this content is on the way, it should have been ready with SL, or at worst with the following patch or two. It has now been almost 3 months and a majority of the issues with the release are still prevalent. That said, I really enjoy Rift over other MMORPGs, but I spend more and more of my leisure time playing other games and other genres. Expand
  6. May 7, 2013
    8
    First review: 1 out of 10. (i had a lame machine). My PC upgraded and now game plays well. Well enough for an 8 out of 10. Awesome visuals, awesome combat, thousands of quests, never a dull moment. I'm humbled.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Alright, haven't played Storm Legion content yet, once I do I will update my score accordingly. I will say however that the change in gameplay from when I originally started to play the game to when I returned in these last few days and overall ability to do things in the world and the amount of stuff to do has been enhanced for the better, especially for those fans of WoW, and when I sayAlright, haven't played Storm Legion content yet, once I do I will update my score accordingly. I will say however that the change in gameplay from when I originally started to play the game to when I returned in these last few days and overall ability to do things in the world and the amount of stuff to do has been enhanced for the better, especially for those fans of WoW, and when I say fans I'm talking about the people who enjoy playing this type of gameplay style, not those who love just having max gear or being all powerful from the getgo. The soul system is a bit confusing at first but once you understand it, it is fairly simple. Same goes for the Rift systems. Protip, do NOT try to solo a major rift, and be careful trying to do it with minor ones. Expand
  8. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Storm Legion takes the base game to a whole new level.
    The impressive feature list adds to and enhances RIFT in a plethora of ways.
    Dimensions offer tons of freedom and room for creativity. The new souls are interesting and fun. The new zones are gorgeous and well-built. Storyline quests are more interesting. Servers are packed with players. Essentially, Trion has delivered
    Storm Legion takes the base game to a whole new level.
    The impressive feature list adds to and enhances RIFT in a plethora of ways.
    Dimensions offer tons of freedom and room for creativity.
    The new souls are interesting and fun.
    The new zones are gorgeous and well-built.
    Storyline quests are more interesting.
    Servers are packed with players.

    Essentially, Trion has delivered exactly what a true expansion pack for a AAA MMORPG should be.
    Expand
  9. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Rift is a game that does everything right.

    The heart of Rift is the souls system, which enables one to configure not one, but THREE full talent-trees and use all three at the same time. Each talent-tree can be swapped out among a truly amazing multitude, and finding which you like the most and synergize the best is one of the best aspects of Rift. There's a huge amount of variety and
    Rift is a game that does everything right.

    The heart of Rift is the souls system, which enables one to configure not one, but THREE full talent-trees and use all three at the same time. Each talent-tree can be swapped out among a truly amazing multitude, and finding which you like the most and synergize the best is one of the best aspects of Rift.

    There's a huge amount of variety and diversity in the games mechanics, even if it does (to put it lightly) take a few pointers from WoW.

    It's an amazing game, and I highly recommend it. It's also free, so there's no reason to not check out what you've been missing.
    Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Trion never disappoints when it comes to adding content to the game. This expansion tripled the size of the world, added player-housing, more souls for the classes, and finally capes to wear. The new zones look beautiful and the artwork really sets them off. Still one of the best looking MMO's on the market if you have a good rig to run it on.

    The level cap was raised to 60 and can feel
    Trion never disappoints when it comes to adding content to the game. This expansion tripled the size of the world, added player-housing, more souls for the classes, and finally capes to wear. The new zones look beautiful and the artwork really sets them off. Still one of the best looking MMO's on the market if you have a good rig to run it on.

    The level cap was raised to 60 and can feel like a grind at times after 50, but its not too bad considering all that is available to do and your many options in getting XP in comparison to most games. Don't rush it, try and enjoy it without the itch to get 60 as fast as possible.
    Expand
  11. Aug 18, 2014
    9
    have a good comp. and rift is a great experience. the instant adventure is a great feature and when i first played tthe pvp i enjoyed it very much..the ftp doesnt make it buy to win it just sppeeds the process
  12. Dec 2, 2012
    7
    Rift: Storm Legion provides exactly what Rift's community wanted. Player housing, or dimensions, provides a whole new incentive for high level players. With an incredibly large landmass to explore and a new city to behold, Storm Legion is a hefty new addition to the MMO scene. However for players burnt out from the MMO genre, or players not looking to complete tedious levels to reachRift: Storm Legion provides exactly what Rift's community wanted. Player housing, or dimensions, provides a whole new incentive for high level players. With an incredibly large landmass to explore and a new city to behold, Storm Legion is a hefty new addition to the MMO scene. However for players burnt out from the MMO genre, or players not looking to complete tedious levels to reach Rift's glorious endgame, Storm Legion is not for you. Expand
  13. Dec 15, 2012
    2
    The game still suffers from major performance issues and TRION is not able - or willing - to do anything about it. The expansion feels empty and soulless. The new continents are indeed very large but they are poorly designed and boring. If I could at least say it's "more of the same" but no, it's not. It's inferior to the original game. Skip this one.
  14. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Piles of content, great stories, fun game. Sure it has it's own issues like every other game, and it's PVP system is abysmal at best, but overall Trion did a great job on this expansion.
  15. May 21, 2013
    1
    The game itself is only decent, which is why it received a rating of 2 instead of 1. What destroys this game is the supporting cast. Trion GM's and customer service have proven abysmal over the life of the game, and have only spiraled down into some of the worst experiences since the company layoffs. With the move to go f2p, I would hesitate to recommend this game to anyone based upon someThe game itself is only decent, which is why it received a rating of 2 instead of 1. What destroys this game is the supporting cast. Trion GM's and customer service have proven abysmal over the life of the game, and have only spiraled down into some of the worst experiences since the company layoffs. With the move to go f2p, I would hesitate to recommend this game to anyone based upon some seedy business and service practices. Expand
  16. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Sound: Nice amazing themes, very soothing. 10.

    Graphics: Top notch graphics, although I think Guild Wars 2 takes it by a bit. 9.5. Gameplay: Same amazing gameplay, with newly added features, a new continent, and plenty of items for purchase. Rift went free to play during my adventure from 50-60 and I must admit, it’s still a superb title and now offers so much content. Newer
    Sound: Nice amazing themes, very soothing. 10.

    Graphics: Top notch graphics, although I think Guild Wars 2 takes it by a bit. 9.5.

    Gameplay: Same amazing gameplay, with newly added features, a new continent, and plenty of items for purchase. Rift went free to play during my adventure from 50-60 and I must admit, it’s still a superb title and now offers so much content. Newer dungeons add new mechanics, and Rifts feels like a traditional MMO with some of its own features. 9.5.

    Story: Not the best story but like WoW it has its lore, and it is interesting, but then again only the hardcore can experience end game content. 8.5.

    Replay Value: Plenty to do in Rift, I also enjoy how it has dungeon ques for older dungeons, and you can do them at a higher level. Seems they just implemented the feature that levels you down to equal you out with a certain dungeon, the good thing about this is that there’s less dungeon ques for everyone. 10.

    Overall Score: 9.5 out of 10.
    Expand
  17. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Rift Storm Legion is awesome! If you are looking to raid Rift will fill that crave. Raiding content is challenging and rewarding. All of the bosses have multiple mechanics which makes each fight unique. At times the faction rep can be a grind. PvP content is improving. And with the Free to Play model you can't beat it. Trion Worlds listens to the community and makes the game betterRift Storm Legion is awesome! If you are looking to raid Rift will fill that crave. Raiding content is challenging and rewarding. All of the bosses have multiple mechanics which makes each fight unique. At times the faction rep can be a grind. PvP content is improving. And with the Free to Play model you can't beat it. Trion Worlds listens to the community and makes the game better and better. Do not miss out of this game it is awesome! Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    80
    Storm Legion provides more life and depth to the world of RIFT, which it needed badly. Bringing more souls, quests, dungeons and lands can only help RIFT possibly become the 'other' MMO option when finding an alternative to World of Warcraft.
  2. Dec 30, 2012
    60
    While technically a great expansion, the core game simply can't compete with its recent peers. [Jan 2013, p.74]
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    84
    Storm Legion is arguably the best expansion to come out in 2012 for any MMO. If you have not already played Rift now is a great time to give it a try. With the introduction of Dimensions Trion has set Rift up to have a lot of interesting and unique player created content to supplement Trion's internal development cycle.