Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Storm Legion is the first expansion to Trion World's MMORPG game Rift.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    91
    Chances are if you're a long-standing player of Rift, a lot of what I've said in this review is (while probably encouraging) not a surprise to you. Judging by the sheer amount of improvements I've seen since the last time I played, not to mention the content added over the course of the core game's many updates, I'm guessing Rift players know their MMO of choice is clearly handled with care and attention. But if for some reason you're a Rift player who has hesitated over whether to pick up this expansion, I'll sum up my take simply: it's fantastic. Go get it.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    91
    Storm Legion is a great add-on. It extends the strengths of Rift and has some groundbreaking new ideas like the awesome new housing system. Also the new souls are tactical and fit perfectly in the gameplay concept.
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    Although there's not much about this expansion to entice new players into the game, it does offer a big incentive for returning players to renew their subscriptions. If you like RIFT, you'll enjoy Storm Legion.
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    82
    Storm Legion isn't the most innovative of expansions, but the vast amount of content added makes it practically essential for Rift fans.
  5. Jan 5, 2013
    80
    Storm Legion provides more life and depth to the world of RIFT, which it needed badly. Bringing more souls, quests, dungeons and lands can only help RIFT possibly become the 'other' MMO option when finding an alternative to World of Warcraft.
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    Two new huge continents, four new souls and a ton of new quests will bring us back to Telara to fight against the new threat. Are we ready for Storm Legion?
  7. Dec 30, 2012
    60
    While technically a great expansion, the core game simply can't compete with its recent peers. [Jan 2013, p.74]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Rift: Storm Legion has a ton of added content. The new map is 3 times the size of the old map. The quests are more fun. They also added carnage quests which play a lot like guild wars 2 quests. You can now upgrade armor through different levels like upgrade a green cape to a blue item level cape, etc. More dungeons, content, etc. The only thing that is annoying is leveling again. It will take you about as long as it took you to get to 50 to get from 50-60. I really just wanted to jump right into the end game content. I guess its unavoidable though. Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Rift is a game that does everything right.

    The heart of Rift is the souls system, which enables one to configure not one, but THREE full
    talent-trees and use all three at the same time. Each talent-tree can be swapped out among a truly amazing multitude, and finding which you like the most and synergize the best is one of the best aspects of Rift.

    There's a huge amount of variety and diversity in the games mechanics, even if it does (to put it lightly) take a few pointers from WoW.

    It's an amazing game, and I highly recommend it. It's also free, so there's no reason to not check out what you've been missing.
    Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Alright, haven't played Storm Legion content yet, once I do I will update my score accordingly. I will say however that the change in gameplay from when I originally started to play the game to when I returned in these last few days and overall ability to do things in the world and the amount of stuff to do has been enhanced for the better, especially for those fans of WoW, and when I say fans I'm talking about the people who enjoy playing this type of gameplay style, not those who love just having max gear or being all powerful from the getgo. The soul system is a bit confusing at first but once you understand it, it is fairly simple. Same goes for the Rift systems. Protip, do NOT try to solo a major rift, and be careful trying to do it with minor ones. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Sound: Nice amazing themes, very soothing. 10.

    Graphics: Top notch graphics, although I think Guild Wars 2 takes it by a bit. 9.5.


    Gameplay: Same amazing gameplay, with newly added features, a new continent, and plenty of items for purchase. Rift went free to play during my adventure from 50-60 and I must admit, it’s still a superb title and now offers so much content. Newer dungeons add new mechanics, and Rifts feels like a traditional MMO with some of its own features. 9.5.

    Story: Not the best story but like WoW it has its lore, and it is interesting, but then again only the hardcore can experience end game content. 8.5.

    Replay Value: Plenty to do in Rift, I also enjoy how it has dungeon ques for older dungeons, and you can do them at a higher level. Seems they just implemented the feature that levels you down to equal you out with a certain dungeon, the good thing about this is that there’s less dungeon ques for everyone. 10.

    Overall Score: 9.5 out of 10.
    Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Storm Legion brings a host of new material and exiting new features, far more than the typical MMO expansion. While it has a ton of new content the real improvements are gameplay changes. New types of rifts and content means that you are literally spoiled for choice at endgame. The levelling experience has been vastly improved and quest lines are immersive, despite this questing remains a weak spot in the game. With different things to do during leveling (Carnage, Rifts, Quests, Instant Adventures, Dungeons, Onslaughts) the game does vary things up nicely. The game world and art direction is beautiful and detailed however still shows signs of poor optimisation as a result of the aging 'Gamebryo' engine, which isn't optimised for multicore support. Despite this, the game is more than competent and brings nothing but improvements to the game. The direction RIFT is heading in is truly exciting and is deserving of its subscription status. 9/10 Expand
  6. May 7, 2013
    8
    First review: 1 out of 10. (i had a lame machine). My PC upgraded and now game plays well. Well enough for an 8 out of 10. Awesome visuals, awesome combat, thousands of quests, never a dull moment. I'm humbled. Expand
  7. May 21, 2013
    1
    The game itself is only decent, which is why it received a rating of 2 instead of 1. What destroys this game is the supporting cast. Trion GM's and customer service have proven abysmal over the life of the game, and have only spiraled down into some of the worst experiences since the company layoffs. With the move to go f2p, I would hesitate to recommend this game to anyone based upon some seedy business and service practices. Collapse

See all 17 User Reviews