User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 111
  2. Negative: 4 out of 111
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2015
    9
    Great game that has very distinctive factions and some excellent multiplayer. The campaign is also pretty good as well. Overall I'd highly recommend it.
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    Rise of Legends is everything the psuedo sequel to Rise of Nations needed to be. It was sharper, the visuals were better, the soundtrack was better, the art design is still gorgeous to this day and it trimmed the fat of the bloated resource system that bogged down its predecessor. The hero units were really implemented and the entire game is so startling different that I'm amazed at theRise of Legends is everything the psuedo sequel to Rise of Nations needed to be. It was sharper, the visuals were better, the soundtrack was better, the art design is still gorgeous to this day and it trimmed the fat of the bloated resource system that bogged down its predecessor. The hero units were really implemented and the entire game is so startling different that I'm amazed at the number of people who haven't heard of it. It was a rough year for Big Huge Games, as I expect they had trouble presenting it as any sort of "sequel" to Rise of Nations. Take one look at the box for the original PC release and you'll see the problem, "Rise Of Nations: Rise of Legends." Why on earth they featured this bizarre half-attempt at connecting it to their novice first title I still don't know. It doomed the game effectively, as I'm sure many who bought it were not clear how different the game was structured compared to the ridiculously popular "Rise of Nations" and "Rise of Nations: Patriots and thrones." The three factions in the game are all beautifully designed, though equally similar in terms of how they play. Their are only two resources now, which works out just perfectly for a such a fast paced real time strategy game of this kind. This is a game where matches can last just twenty minutes, so I'm sure the change-up from the lengthy Rise of Nations confused many new players. The Cuotl, the Vinci, and the Alin are all so enormously realized, that many should give it kudos for taking something entirely new and fresh for once. The combat system is much tighter this time around, the hero abilities and powers are the chief focus in most battles, which takes a lot of heat off the player constantly activating unit abilities alongside. Yet, what happened? The game had everything to offer to new players and still fell short. Who knows really. It was a bad year for Big Huge Games, but its been many great years since of falling in love with this wonderful world they've created set apart from the scourge of their beginnings. If you haven't played this game, you really aren't a fan of RTS games I'm afraid. It still has so much to offer and though lacking in a solid single player campaign, the skirmish mode is incredibly fun and their is no doubt in my mind- you will have a great time with this game should you play it. Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    3
    it is an awful game compared to the other ron games the only good thing about him was his graphics but all the other aspects of the game ar just some garbage it doesn't compare to the gameplay from ron throne and patriots it is a waste of time
  4. JG
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    In my opinion this game, that came and went like a flash, is a good successor to Microsoft's Rise of & Age of games. It truly combines the best features of all of them. It answers the question of, "What if Rome never fell, and Leonado had become the great inventor -- rather than Edison or Newton, etc.?" It answers the question of "What if the Age of Mythology existed & never ended?" In my opinion this game, that came and went like a flash, is a good successor to Microsoft's Rise of & Age of games. It truly combines the best features of all of them. It answers the question of, "What if Rome never fell, and Leonado had become the great inventor -- rather than Edison or Newton, etc.?" It answers the question of "What if the Age of Mythology existed & never ended?" Finally, it answers the question of, "What if we add some aliens into the mix?" Rise of Legends has gameplay that is very similar to Rise of Nations. It continues to use the concept of national borders. When enemy units cross these borders, they suffer attrition. In addition, one can't normally build any buildings outside these borders. This should be familiar to those that have played Rise of Nations. However, Rise of Nations also adds in a town center system similar to Age of Mythology's where you are only allowed to build a city after occupying an existing city. All cities not occupied by enemies or allies are guarded by neutral parties. In some cases, you can buy the allegiance of these neutral sites. In addition to cities there are also other types of neutral sites that have various benefits to your nation when captured. Another aspect of Age of Mythology that was incorporated into this game is that each civilization has three unique heroes that can be summoned during gameplay. If you play the campaigns, you might have even more than that at your disposal. The final aspect of the game that was borrowed from the "Age of" series, are some well written campaigns. There are three campaigns that have multiple scenarios, and a story in the background -- along with a final goal. Like Rise of Nations, you choose your scenarios from a larger world map. Unlike Rise of Nations, a story was developed that guides you through the map. The result is that each game has familiar characters -- even the "random map" games. There is enough variety in the technologies that you could play the same game over again a few times, and it wouldn't necessarily turn out the same. For one civilization in particular, you have to choose from three different technologies when you upgrade. You can only choose one. Random map games are also made more interesting, because occasionally, the map will be rotated. Not only might you start in a different location on the map, the orientation might also be different when you begin playing. I know this game is a little old now, but it is a game that I have found to be enjoyable, and I continue to find it enjoyable. The campaigns are nice, and they have some interesting cut-scenes. The story would probably never make it to the theater, but it is good for a computer game. It's enough to sustain the game and give one an excuse to keep playing, in my opinion. Expand
  5. C.W.
    Jan 24, 2008
    8
    Where Rise of Nations was a compelling hybrid between RTS and turn-based 4X games (particularly Civilization), Rise of Legends is just plain real-time strategy--which is both its greatest strength and its greatest weakness. The RTS aspects of Rise of Nations were undeniably the most entertaining part, which accounts for why Rise of Legends is still fun--and it IS still fun, especially for Where Rise of Nations was a compelling hybrid between RTS and turn-based 4X games (particularly Civilization), Rise of Legends is just plain real-time strategy--which is both its greatest strength and its greatest weakness. The RTS aspects of Rise of Nations were undeniably the most entertaining part, which accounts for why Rise of Legends is still fun--and it IS still fun, especially for more casual gamers (like myself) who want the thrill of watching waves of soldiers overrun enemy installations without any of the skull sweat involved in other genre gems like WarCraft 3 (ugh, micromanaging!) or Homeworld (ugh, 3D navigation!). But RoN was enhanced, not shackled, by the infusion of 4X elements; by taking the "Nations" part out of RoL, Big Huge has left us with a game that looks gorgeous but plays like a rather tame StarCraft. It's a better RTS, but a worse game--and, seriously, how many more of those do we need? Expand
  6. TJ
    Sep 22, 2007
    9
    A wonderful game! Amazing graphics, good story, fun campaigns, very unique factions and units, and some nice UI features. I highly recommend this game to any RTS afficionado.
  7. NateH.
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    Great use of physics. The campaign is great in the sense that you can choose what you want to do AND the fact that you can upgrade your heroes.
  8. CasperJ.
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Underrated game. I'm playing through the campaign and find the 3 uniques races very cool and fun. The 3 race design in a 'single time-period' is quite similar to starcraft. But I like Legends more than starcraft, (never finished starcraft, probably due to my 'total annihilation' fascination at the time). I'm surprised so many people compare this game to Underrated game. I'm playing through the campaign and find the 3 uniques races very cool and fun. The 3 race design in a 'single time-period' is quite similar to starcraft. But I like Legends more than starcraft, (never finished starcraft, probably due to my 'total annihilation' fascination at the time). I'm surprised so many people compare this game to 'age of empires' or 'rise of nations', because legends is not an 'advance through history' style game. Nations is closer to Command & Conquer Generals, Dawn of war, Warlords battlecry, Act or War etc. (games with 2 or 3 races, 2 resources and a single time period). Pros: No builder type units needed, yeah! Very Cool flying units. Pause and still give orders Excellent interface. Neutral buildings to capture for bonus Very Good AI Board game style strategic map. Territory boundries affect gameplay 2 resources (i don't like more than 2, ideally just 1) Cons: Online multiplayer is sparse. Need an above average computer to play. Weapon sounds could be louder Expand
  9. KDep
    Aug 21, 2006
    5
    Average game. A lot like the original RON, so the gameplay is solid. It's similar to AoE or Warcraft for those who didn't play the original. However, it can get tedious and boring fast. There is no really good way to get ahead fast, so a lot of time is spent waiting for resources or upgrades. After that, it basically becomes a trench war to see who can pump out the units Average game. A lot like the original RON, so the gameplay is solid. It's similar to AoE or Warcraft for those who didn't play the original. However, it can get tedious and boring fast. There is no really good way to get ahead fast, so a lot of time is spent waiting for resources or upgrades. After that, it basically becomes a trench war to see who can pump out the units fastest. Don't pay $50 for this game, wait for the price to drop to less than $30. Expand
  10. JohhnyR.
    Jul 20, 2006
    6
    not too bad ,but not too good,the original rise of nations was much better if you can compare them at all.
  11. princy
    Jul 5, 2006
    8
    Well it is an exciting game that you can't feel of the time as it goes by while playing this game, but sometimes it can be very silly and you wil say 'what the hell was that'.
  12. ChuckN.
    Jun 21, 2006
    5
    What can I say? Better graphics than starcraft, but way slower on the gameplay. They basically ripped off ideas from other RTS (protoss = cuotl, terran = vinci, zerg = alin) and put them together into a void, meaningless plot that you cant really get into. Cutscenes have poor animation, and the repetition of godlike enemy - kill godlike enemy - move on to another godlike enemy gets old. What can I say? Better graphics than starcraft, but way slower on the gameplay. They basically ripped off ideas from other RTS (protoss = cuotl, terran = vinci, zerg = alin) and put them together into a void, meaningless plot that you cant really get into. Cutscenes have poor animation, and the repetition of godlike enemy - kill godlike enemy - move on to another godlike enemy gets old. All in all, its like a step sideways for RTS in general. What really pissed me off was the fact that the conquer the world gameplay, which is the reason I bought it, is only available in campaign mode. I really would like to see more RISK/Starcraft integration here, but I guess thats up to LOTR Battle for MIddle Earth 2 and Rome Total War. Expand
  13. TehanuA.
    Jun 12, 2006
    9
    A very original game. It comes up with new consepts as well as taking old ones. This is a must have game for anyone who loves to play games. But i must admit that the storie line is a bit weak. Also, there really isnt many campains for you to do. Still it takes my vote for one of the greatest games of the year! It truley is something to behold.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    Creative, but it feels a little empty.
  15. EdgarS.
    May 18, 2006
    9
    In terms of gameplay for skirmishes and multiplayer, this game is a 10/10 as one of the best RTS games ever made, right up there with Starcraft. The unit balance and uniqueness is state-of-the-art and also the interface is probably the cleanest and most user-friendly of any recent RTS. The downsides are duly noted with a weak campaign and occasional sound problems for some users, but In terms of gameplay for skirmishes and multiplayer, this game is a 10/10 as one of the best RTS games ever made, right up there with Starcraft. The unit balance and uniqueness is state-of-the-art and also the interface is probably the cleanest and most user-friendly of any recent RTS. The downsides are duly noted with a weak campaign and occasional sound problems for some users, but generally these do not detract from the impressive elements of the game. If you play RTS because you like to play skirmishes and multiplayer, this is an absolute must-have. Expand
  16. Dan
    May 17, 2006
    9
    What is Gamezone talking about? the factions aren't different enough? What similarity is there between flying battleships and muskets; magic,swords, and bows; and Egyptian dudes with laser beams and shields? Answer: none. By the way, I think that the developers of the game are watching Sci-Fi's Stargate series, because the Egyptians w/lasers race is just like the Goa'uld. What is Gamezone talking about? the factions aren't different enough? What similarity is there between flying battleships and muskets; magic,swords, and bows; and Egyptian dudes with laser beams and shields? Answer: none. By the way, I think that the developers of the game are watching Sci-Fi's Stargate series, because the Egyptians w/lasers race is just like the Goa'uld. Both races have used their uber-tech to set themselves up as gods for the the other races, and their cultures are similar to the ancient Egyptians. Awesomely diverse. Each race uses an entirely different unit set and strategy. Expand
  17. MikeM.
    May 16, 2006
    10
    Amazing game visually, and great new gameplay for an RTS.
  18. TheBlade
    May 15, 2006
    10
    an RTS as addictive as crack rock cocaine. 1 part C&C, 1 part Rome:Total War, 1 part Warcraft 3, 1 part warhammer 40k = ridiculous fun. High system requirements however.
  19. GeorgeW.
    May 12, 2006
    10
    Amazing game, everything you could want in an rts, rise of nations was good but this takes it to a whole new level, best game ever.
  20. TMoney
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Best RTS since Command and Conquer Red Alert 2.
  21. MarkS.
    May 11, 2006
    9
    This is my take on the full version of the game, not either of the demos. This game is everything it was supposed to be. It is an engaging RTS. The demos didn't even scratch the surface of what is available. There are a sufficient number of maps to play in skirmish mode. The three races to choose from are all truely unique. I'm even enjoying the campaign, which is unusual for This is my take on the full version of the game, not either of the demos. This game is everything it was supposed to be. It is an engaging RTS. The demos didn't even scratch the surface of what is available. There are a sufficient number of maps to play in skirmish mode. The three races to choose from are all truely unique. I'm even enjoying the campaign, which is unusual for me. The graphics are great, as is the music. The overall sound design is a tad weak, but still OK. Even after playing nonstop for 10 hours, I haven't even put a dent in this game. It will take me a great deal of will power to go outside this summer. This game will have me putting away my copy of Age of Empires III. Fantastic job by Big Huge Games Expand
  22. WilfridW.
    May 10, 2006
    10
    I didn't enjoy Rise of Nations ... but this new addition Rise of Legends is immensingly fun. I love the story line which added purpose to the single player champaign.
  23. GiovanniG.
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    Tried the Demo and so far it has me HOOKED. This game literally has gotten me back to loving RTS games even more. After playing the Demo for countless hours of amazing fun i never once repeated what i did on the same level. Its fun and amazing and a complete whole new gameing experience then the orginal RON. Which is why this game is a must for RTS fans.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. It doesn't tamper too much with the underlying engine that made the first game so great but adds just enough novelty to justify a second iteration.
  2. PC Format
    90
    Intense strategy monster that almost lives up to its predecessor's legend. [June 2006, p.94]
  3. PC Gamer
    89
    Given Bug Huge Game's big huge ambition level when crafting Rise of Legends, some dents in the genie lamp are to be expected. But they don't come close to spoiling Legend's fabulous magic carpet ride. [July 2006, p.65]