Rochard PC

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 14, 2011
    90
    If you enjoyed the puzzle nature of Portal and the action of Shadow Complex, there is no reason why you shouldn't play Rochard. Even if you didn't particularly like those games, I feel that you should give it a shot. Not only is Rochard fun to play, it is incredibly well built and glistens with polish.
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    90
    Even if there was only one out of ten indie games like Rochard, then an indie scene would still have its meaning. After all, it is a good thing that mainstream has lost its interest in platform genre. Because of that we may now play games by people with their clear minds and their baskets of ideas.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    89
    When it comes right down to it Rochard is a fully enjoyable action game with plenty of puzzles to work through. While not overly challenging, though some took me a few second to figure out just what to do, I can tell you I missed the three hour speed run achievement by several hours, but considering all the hidden health and weapons upgrades as well as trophies that's one achievement that will have to come later.
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    85
    It's certainly not a game without its issues, but it's still a great title, and at $10, it's also a total steal.
  5. PC Gamer UK
    Jan 29, 2012
    82
    Rochard is just four or five hours long, but it has boatloads of charm and a surprising amount of character. [Feb 2012, p.99]
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    82
    Rochard is a good side-scrolling adventure game with inventive puzzles and fun visual style.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 27, 2012
    80
    Combine smart puzzles with adequate amounts of action and you get Rochard – great platform game appealing to all sorts of players. [Jan 2012]
  8. CD-Action
    Dec 27, 2011
    80
    A healthy compromise between forcing you to think and mindless shooting. Unfortunately it takes only 4-5 hours to finish Rochard and there's no replay value here. [January 2012, p.56]
  9. Dec 22, 2011
    80
    We liked this game a lot. It is not going to break any new ground in the genre but it is a very well designed game that is challenging and rewarding to play. Well worth getting from Steam and great value at less than $10.
  10. Dec 12, 2011
    80
    It's pretty much paint by numbers style of game, it does not grab you by the throat or anything but it is so darn well fun.
  11. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    The art style and concept of John Rochard is very interesting, and the story, while a little bland, will keep you going to the end. Give it a shot. There's some fun to be had.
  12. PC Master (Greece)
    Mar 1, 2012
    78
    A solid suggestion if you are looking for a pleasant, polished puzzler/platform game. It will not thrill you, it does not invent the wheel, but it displays some clever ideas that are correctly executed, humor and, additionally, its low price is another incentive for its purchase. [March 2012]
  13. PC Games (Russia)
    Dec 24, 2011
    75
    A good platform game which should be especially liked by children. The gameplay mixes puzzles with moderate amount of action. [January 2012, p.82]
  14. Dec 12, 2011
    75
    There's a lot of fun to be had here, sadly it's not going to last enough time.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    What an incredible experience! Rochard is a puzzle platformer that sucked me in for many hours. I was playing this at 5am and then by the timeWhat an incredible experience! Rochard is a puzzle platformer that sucked me in for many hours. I was playing this at 5am and then by the time I realised what I'm doing, it's after 10am! Played for a bit more in the evening and finished the game. This is simply one of the amazing games I've ever played. Wonderful puzzles, not to easy, not too hard, easy controls (I used a wireless xbox360 controller on my PC) and fun. Greatly recommend this to anyone who wants a puzzle platformer. Full Review »
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    8
    I picked up Rochard during the latest Humble Bundle sale not knowing anything about the game. I don't normally play platformers so I was aI picked up Rochard during the latest Humble Bundle sale not knowing anything about the game. I don't normally play platformers so I was a little skeptical that I'd enjoy it. After 1-2 minutes I was hooked (hah!) on this game. Firstly, the game looks great, the backgrounds are wonderfully done and the visuals always seem to be exactly right. As far as mechanics go, the gravity mechanics are flawlessly done. The puzzles are intuitive yet challenging. The combat mechanics/gun mechanics are also great. I played with a controller but I imagine that'd it'd be just as easy to use KB/M to play. Lastly, the voice acting and storyline are great. There's something definitely PG about the dialogue and the quests but you don't really care, you laugh along with Rochard's corny jokes and the campy dialogue. The only downside is not really a downside in my opinion; there's no sandbox mode, the zones are a tad short and I doubt the game has much replay value. This is not really a downside in my opinion insofar as not every game has to be an infinite task (Skyrim, Etc). This game starts and ends at just the right time, leaving you satisfied and you always seem to be perfectly frustrated when the game adds a new element to spice things up. This game is a breath of fresh air and likely unlike anything you currently have installed. Full Review »
  3. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    A decent little platformer. The gameplay actually reminds me a lot of Trine although the setting couldn't be more different. It has a goodA decent little platformer. The gameplay actually reminds me a lot of Trine although the setting couldn't be more different. It has a good story and some great voice acting. The length of the game is a bit short but in line with the price so you still get good value out of the game. Unlike another reviewer my chief complaint is the control system. Sometimes you have to perform actions with 3-4 keys at the same time and it gets too be a bit much on a keyboard. I tried playing it with an XBOX 360 controller and found the pre-configured settings to be extremely clumsy and the accuracy was a bit sloppy. The latest patch allows you to reconfigure controller settings so that helps a bit. Full Review »