• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Oct 15, 2002
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Gives new meaning to depth. [Dec 2002, p.149]
  2. There's nothing breakthough, but RCT fans should shriek with pleasure. [1 Nov 2002, p.77]
  3. The colors look relatively poor, and the camera still cannot be moved in 3D; this is one of the worst flaws of the game as it actually affects gameplay.
  4. If this were a movie, it would be the same plot with perhaps an extra character or an added fifteen minutes thrown in.
  5. 80
    Just realize that when you go out and buy this game that you shouldn't expect a new game. You should expect to see a game that looks and plays like it was made 3 1/2 years ago.
  6. Fans of the original won't find much more here to interest them, but hopefully, like with me, it'll relight the flame and at least spark up their interest in the game itself once again.
  7. Long story short, if you own the first RCT and its two expansions, then you already own about 80 percent of RCT 2. [Holiday 2002, p.97]
  8. The most detailed and elaborate simulation of its type, a game whose sheer scope makes it compelling even if it hasn't changed much over the years. [Jan 2003, p.76]
  9. Fans should definitely indulge but more frugal souls who choose to meet Monica for the first time via a budget copy of the original game are certainly no fools.
  10. Doesn't really feel like a sequel to the great, addictive game that reached shelves more than three years ago. In fact, it feels more like yet another expansion to the title.
  11. True tycoons out there needn't waste their money. You've been on this ride before.
  12. 75
    A pretty fun game, but it essentially ends ujp being more of the same. [Jan 2003, p.67]
  13. The game hasn't changed much in three years, so the graphics are starting to show their age and players cannot "ride" their creations.
  14. You'll probably have a hard time believing that you waited so long for what the sequel has to offer: the same old graphics, the same old rides, and the same old objectives.
  15. It’s not easy to learn and it looks about as pretty as a doggy chew toy. If you’re a sim freak, you’ll love it.
  16. There's not enough new content here to justify a standalone release.
  17. A good game, if not ground-breaking like the original. [Jan 2003, p.108]
  18. It’s exactly the same effing game!
  19. A pretty good game in its own right, if you try to forget that it’s pig-ugly and meant to be a sequel.
  20. 60
    The scenario editor and coaster designer are nice, but don't expect an experience that looks or feels at all different from the first game because you won't find it here.
  21. RCT2 is going to disappoint fans, like myself, that wanted to take this game to the next level.
  22. If at first you succeed, don't change a thing. That could be the motto of Chris Sawyer's RollerCoaster Tycoon 2, a sequel that is essentially the exact same game as its predecessor.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    I remember playing the first RollerCoaster Tycoon game for hours back when I was younger. But RollerCoaster Tycoon 2 added more from RCT1 into this game. I love making coasters to build more excitement to my guests or just kill them. The only problem I have with this game is that a few things are missing for me and it is really similar to the first RollerCoaster Tycoon game. Full Review »
  2. May 4, 2013
    10
    It might seem out of date with the isometric viewing angle and cartoon graphics, but this is one of the only games that I can spend hours playing and not get bored at all! Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This is the best of the RCT collection! Very enjoyable, play it with the expansions for more fun. I miss games like this. I wish that they stuck to the original game (RCT 1+2) and didn't get too crazy on the actual rollercoasters (RCT3). Full Review »