• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jun 19, 2006
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. I love the combat skills of the general; it makes me feel superior in the battlefield. This game makes me want to know more about the Western Civilization.
  2. More lands to conquer, new challenges, and a chance to star in one of the greatest stories of all time. [Aug 2006, p.86]
  3. Alexander brings a lot to the table for its $14.95 price tag. Although the battlefield focus makes it a little too fast and furious for methodical conquerors who want their virtual empires to stand the test of time, this isn't what Alexander the Great was all about. So the expansion based on his exploits isn't about building something that lasts, either. Still, this is a must-play addition to the Rome: Total War family, especially if you're looking for a challenge.
  4. For just over eight measly quid, you get one of the most challenging Total War campaigns to date. [Sept 2006, p.58]
  5. A good expansion that lacks a bit of depth. [Aug 2006, p.94]
  6. 80
    Still, the limited nature of the expansion keeps it from being a "must have" addition for those who aren't quite as hungry as I am for new Total War content. Containing none of the breadth of new units and new strategies that the Total War expansions have been known for, Alexander feels more like a mission pack. Thanfully, the twenty-dollar price tag makes it a little easier to accept but, if you're like me, you'd rather have paid twice as much for content that would last a little longer.
  7. Will keep your historical appetite under control while waiting for "Medieval 2." [Sept 2006, p.81]
  8. Limited, but compelling. For a full-price add-on, you'd judge it more harshly, but for £8.50 (Plus an extra couple of quid if you want the "Download Insurance", which frankly sounds a little sinister), for some strategic challenges while we all wait for "Medieval 2" it's entirely acceptable.
  9. 60
    If you're looking for a brutal campaign requiring every ounce of military strategy and luck, one that requires you to throw your best general right into the thick of things while laying waste to everything you touch, you might want to give Rome: Total War -- Alexander a whirl.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    Takes away the time i enjoyed in previous games building my cities and sorting out trade agreements and instead forces you into a rush toTakes away the time i enjoyed in previous games building my cities and sorting out trade agreements and instead forces you into a rush to conquer provinces. Feels a lot more limited than RTW and i didn't enjoy it nearly as much. Full Review »
  2. Oct 13, 2014
    5
    Rome Total War but with one campaign, Alexander is merely a limited DLC item. Once again, the factions were not as profound as the originalRome Total War but with one campaign, Alexander is merely a limited DLC item. Once again, the factions were not as profound as the original Rome Total War.
    5/10 - Ben Hazelden
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    Good title for the price asked of it. Adds a decent amount of content to the base game and provides a totally fresh experience with the newGood title for the price asked of it. Adds a decent amount of content to the base game and provides a totally fresh experience with the new campaign. Unfortunately since there is pretty much only one way to go about the campaign, i highly doubt you will want to play through it again. Full Review »