Rome: Total War PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 912 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 912

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PatrickT
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    One of the greatest Strategy games of all time
  2. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    I had played Medieval total war and Total war Shogun II before I this game. I heard from some people that it was the best total war game, so I got it on steam. This game is awesome. The unit strategy is complex, the time period is interesting, the imperial campaign is fun, and Spartans are immortal lol
  3. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    Rome: Total War has many, many faults. However, I have still played it for many, many hours. Why? Because it is a great game considering the engrossing enjoyment factor. Yes, the enjoyment it provides trumps in baskets its sometimes ridiculous faults. I certainly hope Rome: Total War II is a marked improvement over the first installment. That notwithstanding, I imagine I will get a vastRome: Total War has many, many faults. However, I have still played it for many, many hours. Why? Because it is a great game considering the engrossing enjoyment factor. Yes, the enjoyment it provides trumps in baskets its sometimes ridiculous faults. I certainly hope Rome: Total War II is a marked improvement over the first installment. That notwithstanding, I imagine I will get a vast amount of enjoyment from it. I give Rome: Total War a 10. It deserves a ten. Video games are not about technical perfection. (They could be and should be.) But most importantly, they are about enjoyment. However, when faults destroy the possibility of enjoyment or seriously lessen enjoyment, then the game deserves to be panned and not purchased. It is going to be a long hard wait until Rome: Total War II is released. I cannot recommend Rome: Total War highly enough. I hope to be able to say the same thing about Rome: Total War II. Expand
  4. May 27, 2013
    10
    The greatest strategy game of all time. Amazing mods out there too. The only game I've ever given a 10/10 for. I look forward to the true sequel Rome II.
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    Ha, You could spend 500 hours completing the long term campaigns and still be doing new races. this game will always be one of the best games i have ever played in a very, very long time
  6. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    this game is excellent
    Turn based strategy combined with amazing real time battles, all well crafted and mixed with amazing voice acting, music and help system.
    this game is a must buy.
  7. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    2013 and it still the best strategy game eaven after the release of the crapy Rome 2 total war this one still own them along with shogun 2 and napoleon
  8. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Super fun strategy game. Hard to pick up as a beginner, but really easy and fun once you get the hang of it. Some pretty unbalanced factions as well, but just adds to the difficulty. Also, Better than the second one... unfortunately.
  9. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    My personally greatest strategy franchise of all time and the best strategy game of all time.Rome:Total War is one big masterpiece of strategy games!!
  10. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    An excellent game. If you haven't seen it yet or played other games in the Total War series, be sure to check this one out. I played the grand campaign at least 3 times, and played for non-roman ones (including those you can unlock by editing a config file) everything is just great. In multiplayer, there are slight disbalances (e.g. overpowered berserkers) but if you abide to "CWB" rules,An excellent game. If you haven't seen it yet or played other games in the Total War series, be sure to check this one out. I played the grand campaign at least 3 times, and played for non-roman ones (including those you can unlock by editing a config file) everything is just great. In multiplayer, there are slight disbalances (e.g. overpowered berserkers) but if you abide to "CWB" rules, the game will be pretty balanced. Expand
  11. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Rome Total War- is the best strategy game yet. In my opinion, RTW is much better than C4, C5 and HoMM. It's just my opinion.
    Rome Total War- самая лучшая стратегия на данный момент,
    Rome Total War- is the best strategy game yet. In my opinion, RTW is much better than C4, C5 and HoMM. It's just my opinion.
    Rome Total War- самая лучшая стратегия на данный момент, на мой взгляд Рим лучше Цивилизации и Героев Меча и Магия. Чисто мое мнение
    Expand
  12. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    this game is so good i would buy it over and over again
  13. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time what is saying allot this is the game that got me into R.T.S. after i exterminated my first village i never looked back ive dumped so many ours into this game its amazingly ridicules how fun and addictive it is. I highly recommend using the mod darthmod for making every battle an epic fight AND LEAVE NO ONE ALIVE. This is the perfect game to bring outThis is my favorite game of all time what is saying allot this is the game that got me into R.T.S. after i exterminated my first village i never looked back ive dumped so many ours into this game its amazingly ridicules how fun and addictive it is. I highly recommend using the mod darthmod for making every battle an epic fight AND LEAVE NO ONE ALIVE. This is the perfect game to bring out everyone's inner world conquer and this is the best game in the series even if your not an R.T.S. fan this is the place to start after you've watch the millions of levy's you've drafted fight and die for you from Greece to Egypt there no turning back Expand
  14. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    A great game with awesome climate, also even today quite appealing to the eye. The strategic options are wide and enjoyable and battle simulation, when it came out, was absolutely amazing.

    The amount of factions and huge differences in troops they can field make it a little unbalanced (especially when it comes to late-period roman troops, obviously [and somewhat realistically]
    A great game with awesome climate, also even today quite appealing to the eye. The strategic options are wide and enjoyable and battle simulation, when it came out, was absolutely amazing.

    The amount of factions and huge differences in troops they can field make it a little unbalanced (especially when it comes to late-period roman troops, obviously [and somewhat realistically] overpowered), but makes the whole thing even more interesting and make you use different strategies, when using different troops or facing different foes.

    The main downside is the amount of micromanaging that will bore less patient players, especially when combined with slow troop training and pretty slow army movement. If you don't mind that, the game can give you hundreds of hours of enjoyable gameplay.
    Expand
  15. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I became addicted to all Total War games because of this one. For a history and strategy buffs this game is amazing. The battles are epic and the nation building is fun. Can't wait for Rome II
  16. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    this game, apart from the mediocre ai and movement, the medieval feel soundtrack and american voices. This game is generally great, ive only been playing for a few hours and ive already fell in love, i bought the game off steam with the money i had, knowing it would be well spent. i whent onto multiplayer and had no problems getting on. For a 2004 game this really out did itself, but imthis game, apart from the mediocre ai and movement, the medieval feel soundtrack and american voices. This game is generally great, ive only been playing for a few hours and ive already fell in love, i bought the game off steam with the money i had, knowing it would be well spent. i whent onto multiplayer and had no problems getting on. For a 2004 game this really out did itself, but im not talking about the graphics. The way they immersed the best strategic feeling and one of the best 'rule your own land and stuff like that' was amazing for its time. The people that say this game is too slow and boring are wrong. that is infact the whole reason why strategy games are so good! you actually have too strategically think about things like will it help your economy or will it increase your defenses but make your town smaller. if thats the only reason why you hate this game. You shouldnt play strategy's Overall in the few hours ive played this its been the best strategy rts game i have ever played. i hope MOST of you agree with me that it is the best strategy of its days and infact now. Expand
  17. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    A true classic never to be challenged or bested worth re visiting time and time again. Prepare for a experience like no other as you carve your empire out in the most brutal era of human history.
  18. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    the greatest Strategy games of all time

    people who played since rome 1 is just came out

    they know how great it was

    it was reavolution of Strategy game
  19. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    I do not judge RTW by todays standards. The graphics and IA are obviously outdated. However even today, this game feels great, with many different ways of winning, many fight styles. By todays standards, it would be but 7 or 8. Even today, this game is way more pleasure to play than rome 2 tw.
  20. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    Wow, after 9 years this is still the best Total War game. Rome 2 was just....I don't want to start with that again. In short Rome 2 was a rushed failure. This game is far more in depth and filled with features. If you love the Roman era like me then you will feel totally immersed as I was for each campaign.
  21. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Great game. I unlocked the Carthaginian and Greek cities factions, but I wanted to unlock the faction of the senate. The games that I had were epic, in grand campaign, and I was more administrator, than warrior. It seems, that I took care of my faction territory, and advanced in the culture aspect, and the military. I reached Egypt, was the first faction to do so, but there was no use forGreat game. I unlocked the Carthaginian and Greek cities factions, but I wanted to unlock the faction of the senate. The games that I had were epic, in grand campaign, and I was more administrator, than warrior. It seems, that I took care of my faction territory, and advanced in the culture aspect, and the military. I reached Egypt, was the first faction to do so, but there was no use for trade as the civilization was far away. I did have a trade treaty though. The Praetori and the Urban Cohorts can win a lot of wars. It seems, that if Rome can influence the other factions to not increase territory, but to trade, then there would be great advancement and prosperity. Apparently, the S. P. Q. R. faction that is the senate, was afraid that the factions would turn on each other and on Rome itself, and that is why they wanted foreign conquests. The faction members were made members of the senate, for this reason, it appears, and also apparently, they were originally from Rome. Every faction wanted to rule Rome. Expand
  22. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    The best strategy game ever made; ingenious in every way. This game is streets ahead of it's sequel nearly a decade later. If you want a good Rome-themed strategy; reinstall this or buy for a pittance as it's one of the most in-depth and engrossing titles produced in any genre.
  23. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    This an amazing game, far superior than Rome2 which I'm playing since it's release, without getting bored at all! IT ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  24. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    There is just nothing I can say that is bad about this game... Must be one of the, if not the best Stat game of all time.
  25. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This is undoubtedly the best game of the year. With well-written script, amazing graphics which stuns you, especially when you're in battle mode with thousands of soldiers, literally, crashing and fighting for their own factions, and most importantly, impressive AI in level "hard" and "very hard" that catches me on surprise numerous times, Rome Total War earns it's place to be one of theThis is undoubtedly the best game of the year. With well-written script, amazing graphics which stuns you, especially when you're in battle mode with thousands of soldiers, literally, crashing and fighting for their own factions, and most importantly, impressive AI in level "hard" and "very hard" that catches me on surprise numerous times, Rome Total War earns it's place to be one of the greatest Real-time strategy game of all time. Expand
  26. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. It is a great game highly recommend it too series fans and newcomers alike. This is Way better then Total War Rome 2. If you want to play rome in this series play this one not Total War Rome 2. It macks Total War Rome 2 look like it was made by noobs
  27. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    A true classic in gaming history. I'm one of the most strategic gamers out there, and I can glady say that I played this in 2014 and was astonished at how I never bought it before (too busy playing Civ 5). If you think this game is old, think again. True, the graphics are not on par with many newer games, but you have to go in-depth and appreciate the tremendous amount of effort andA true classic in gaming history. I'm one of the most strategic gamers out there, and I can glady say that I played this in 2014 and was astonished at how I never bought it before (too busy playing Civ 5). If you think this game is old, think again. True, the graphics are not on par with many newer games, but you have to go in-depth and appreciate the tremendous amount of effort and artistry put into this game. The campaign makes you think you've seen it all, that your a super power and can't get wiped out by your opposing roman families. Wrong. They strike with a venegence, your enemies return in strength, and then...new units are revealed. This was a shock to me, as I've never seen that happen in a game without some hint of the upcoming units.
    If you like strategy, if you like fierce battle, if you like commanding a max of 2500 units (all shown), then this is the game for you (can't speak for Rome II, haven't played it, but if you tune in to local chats you'll hear its buggy).
    Expand
  28. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    For me, this has to be the definitive Total War Game.

    Rome Total War is in many ways a much better game than those that followed it. The combat and mechanics are fairly straightforward, while not being overly simplified and the campaign management is streamlined and not overly burdensome (completely unlike RTW2.) While not perfect in all ways, it is fairly easy to mod things
    For me, this has to be the definitive Total War Game.

    Rome Total War is in many ways a much better game than those that followed it. The combat and mechanics are fairly straightforward, while not being overly simplified and the campaign management is streamlined and not overly burdensome (completely unlike RTW2.)

    While not perfect in all ways, it is fairly easy to mod things yourself, in order to change things around a bit. Want to give barbarian tribes paved roads and stone walls? Easy to do and takes less than five minutes.

    Roman units and hoplites are a bit OP and the IA can be a bit stupid at times, but all in all, the game provides many hours of enjoyable play, while the combat animations are far more realistic and weighty than those using the more recent Total War Engine.

    In the ten year since its release, I'd have easily played well in excess of 1000 hours on this game and after briefly grappling with the disaster that is still RTW2 (even after the Emperor Edition), I can see myself enjoying this gem for many years to come.
    Expand
  29. May 26, 2015
    10
    personally LOVE this game even ten tears later.i will however say this,it seems to me that ever since i began running the game through steam power it seems like there are ALOT more glitches and bugs especially when trying to capture settlements.for instance i played a battle three times over routed the enemy army in the city but wanted to kill the rest for the extra xp but found that apersonally LOVE this game even ten tears later.i will however say this,it seems to me that ever since i began running the game through steam power it seems like there are ALOT more glitches and bugs especially when trying to capture settlements.for instance i played a battle three times over routed the enemy army in the city but wanted to kill the rest for the extra xp but found that a portion of the remaining enemy army had somehow managed to get in between multiple buildings where i could not get to them to do this.i reiiterate 3 TIMES OVER!!!!!!!!! this was not an issue when i had the actual disc itself at times it really is an UNPLAYABLE game but again i only ever had the issues when running through steam i will however say that it is still a very fun game, particularly using the berserker units the germans get,it can be a bit tough when you get to the end of your campaign 50 settlements are tough to control simultaneously but over all i would say the BEST most fun game ive ever played Expand
  30. Aug 18, 2015
    10
    In my opinion not only the best Total War game, but the best strategy game to date. Probably the most addictive game I have ever played and definitely the one that has kept me in front of my computer screen for the most hours. Not only is it fun to play, but you also learn much about the antiquity period, which is a bonus if you're interested in history like me. I still pick it upIn my opinion not only the best Total War game, but the best strategy game to date. Probably the most addictive game I have ever played and definitely the one that has kept me in front of my computer screen for the most hours. Not only is it fun to play, but you also learn much about the antiquity period, which is a bonus if you're interested in history like me. I still pick it up sometimes and get sunk into Europe 270 BC. Expand
  31. Marcus
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Rome total war has two types of strategy gameplays, turn-based and real time. The other games in series, which came out before Rome, had certainly the same construction as Rome, but the last game is far better with improved graphics, sound and gameplay. The game is not only fun to play because there are instructive things too; examples the names of the different states and leaders, the Rome total war has two types of strategy gameplays, turn-based and real time. The other games in series, which came out before Rome, had certainly the same construction as Rome, but the last game is far better with improved graphics, sound and gameplay. The game is not only fun to play because there are instructive things too; examples the names of the different states and leaders, the map of Europe which results in a better knowledge in the geography, some important moments in times and, of course a brain-trainer (you must use the brain to reach success!). Expand
  32. DevanG.
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    There is and never will be a better game than this. alot of people complain about game play but ive never played with better. just look at the graphics(the best graphics in pc history.
  33. JakeK.
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    OMG this is deff. 1 of the best games ever. i love to fight huge battles and its still fun even if u lose them. if anyone gave this game lower than a 9 is really dumb because this game is just amazing.
  34. DanielT.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Wow,wow,wow! This game is definately worth the money. There is nothing more fun that pitching a massive Roman army agains a hoard of Gauls. Watch th blood (and men) fly. The graphics did almost kill my computer but it was well worth waiting for the lag to pass befor the climax of your battle. I recommend a pretty good computer or you may have to switch off your flaming arrows.
  35. JoelB
    Dec 7, 2008
    10
    STILL HOOKED AFTER 2 YEARS I pre-ordered Empire total war on steam, then realized i got Rome total war Gold edition with it. I thought this is a welcome surprise. And i can just say.AWESOME. The graphics arnt spectacular but its an old game, plus it got all the more exited bout Empire.
  36. LokiH.
    Jun 25, 2004
    10
    The best game ever.
  37. Chimp
    Aug 24, 2004
    10
    I was a huge fan of shogun and medieval, but this game is simply out of this world, and redefines strategy. For the first time in any strategy game, the way units fight looks PERFECT. Elaphants charge through units and literally THROW them with their tusks, and the units go flying. its not like medieval or shogun where they all stood there and had a general attack animation while the game I was a huge fan of shogun and medieval, but this game is simply out of this world, and redefines strategy. For the first time in any strategy game, the way units fight looks PERFECT. Elaphants charge through units and literally THROW them with their tusks, and the units go flying. its not like medieval or shogun where they all stood there and had a general attack animation while the game calculated stats and units suddenly fell over and died. The best part is, it runs at 70+ FPS on my computer, which for some reason was running slow with MEDIEVAL TW! I mean, perfect! i can play call of duty and UT and stuff, but this game never slowed down for one second on very high settings and everything, and it zoomed across the map without a hiccup. I only have enough money for one game this fall, and instead of half life 2, this is gonna be it. Expand
  38. J.Knight
    Sep 25, 2004
    10
    I Have been a fan of of the total War Series since the beginning. I have also played the "other" strategy games that are out there. Age of Empires, Command and Conquer, etc., etc.. But compared to even the first total war, Shogun Total war, they shouldn't even be able to compete. But the most amazing thing, Is that Each one has gotten better. I have just picked up Rome, and it's I Have been a fan of of the total War Series since the beginning. I have also played the "other" strategy games that are out there. Age of Empires, Command and Conquer, etc., etc.. But compared to even the first total war, Shogun Total war, they shouldn't even be able to compete. But the most amazing thing, Is that Each one has gotten better. I have just picked up Rome, and it's gameplay is just outstanding, It's AI is scary at moments, being to take your troop movements assess the battlefield, send in the first wave, see you repositioning your troops to reinforce the line, withdraw it's troops to try what it has determined to be a weaker point in the line, and re-engage in the battle. This games gameplay is just beyond what I had ever imagined. I have been waiting on this game to be released since I heard about it last fall, was dissappointed when it didn't come out in January, dissappointed again when it didn't come out in June, but found the wait well worth it when I played just played it for the first time on Thursday, and when it kicked my ass on the first battle, I knew they had one hell of a great game on their hands and fully expect it to exceed not only their expectations, but their hopes for the popularity of this game. Expand
  39. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    This is how today's Total War games should be: Simplified. Rome Total War is certainly one of the games that i spent most my time playing with. I was the Julii, Brutii,Scipii, Selucid Empire and more. Its strategy map music is heavenly so is the credits music.Good ol' days... I hope that Creative Assembly sees what really makes fans love this game because i'm not contend with the newThis is how today's Total War games should be: Simplified. Rome Total War is certainly one of the games that i spent most my time playing with. I was the Julii, Brutii,Scipii, Selucid Empire and more. Its strategy map music is heavenly so is the credits music.Good ol' days... I hope that Creative Assembly sees what really makes fans love this game because i'm not contend with the new direction they are taking with Empire, Napolean and Shogun 2 Total War. They contain so much details. I find them very confusing, so many flashy buttons everywhere... Just give me Rome Total War's interface and features and update graphics CA, that's all i'm asking. Expand
  40. Jan 21, 2012
    8
    A great game, along with Shogun 2 the best of the Total War series. What's unique about this game compared with the rest of the series is that it is actually quite balanced.
  41. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Don't listen to all the idiots giving this game a 6 or 7 or lower, since they obviously lack any real understanding of gaming as a medium or as a game of the mind. Rome Total War is probably the greatest of the total war games in my professional opinion, although my favorite would have to be Empire. Rome offers what many other games fail to do, give you unparralelled strategy game playDon't listen to all the idiots giving this game a 6 or 7 or lower, since they obviously lack any real understanding of gaming as a medium or as a game of the mind. Rome Total War is probably the greatest of the total war games in my professional opinion, although my favorite would have to be Empire. Rome offers what many other games fail to do, give you unparralelled strategy game play of the ancient Roman/Greek age. It's one thing to command armies on the campaign map, strategically positioning them to ambush your enemy or block routes, using diplomats, spies and assassins to your advantage, deceiving your allies or enemies, managing cities and towns, but it's another thing completely in the battle map. In the battle map it's a no-holds-barred kinda match, anything goes, it gives you totally complete freedom to setup your units as you wish, in formation how you wish and use them however you want. If you ever wondered what it would feel like to siege a Roman city as an invading Carthaginian army, feel free to do so in campaign or in a custom battle, you can use siege towers, battering rams, ladders, siege weapons like catapults, trebuchets and more to batter through your opponents defences. There is nothing quite like Rome Total War in terms of content and mere polish. Expand
  42. PaulD.
    Sep 25, 2004
    10
    Simply put -- the best game I've ever played.
  43. VladimirLenin
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    Spectacular, simply put. A terrific game that I would highly recommend.
  44. ApostelesLightbringer
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    This game is an instant classic. There is nothing not worth loving. Respect!
  45. EricDeLaurent
    Sep 23, 2004
    10
    I have handed in my resignation at work, broken up with my girlfriend, bought 50 cases of Power Sauce, paid the rent and bills for 4 months and put up boards over my windows and doors....

    ...I'm really worried about myself....

    I LOVE ROME: TOTAL WAR!!!

    Is there a rehab for Total War addicts?
    Now.....is that
  46. JonasH.
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Many hours worth of gaming. Great combo of RTS and Turn-Based Strategy. And Jeff-D, it's logical, that if you play as the same nation over and over again and you don't fight your battles on the map: The game gets boring, cause it's what makes the Total War series so awesome!
  47. HansV.
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    As a big fan of the Total War series, owning both Shogun and Medieval, with expansion discs, this game was one of the most awaited games this year for me, as for many of you too. I have to say, R:TW lives to my expectations and more. The graphics and gameplay engine is unbelievable in this type of game, when thousands of models march to the battlefield and clash with each other. I smile As a big fan of the Total War series, owning both Shogun and Medieval, with expansion discs, this game was one of the most awaited games this year for me, as for many of you too. I have to say, R:TW lives to my expectations and more. The graphics and gameplay engine is unbelievable in this type of game, when thousands of models march to the battlefield and clash with each other. I smile eveytime when my succesfull cavalry or elephant charge breaks my enemys lines, like a hot knife on butter. And the new 3d-strategy map is great too. There is nothing to complain about in this game, 'cause we as players can feel the love Creative Assembly has put to it. Old Total War-series players feel like coming to home with this title. Expand
  48. THARNS.
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    I usually don't comment on games, because I think most online reviewers do a fine job. I just needed to speak up a bit to offset the (zero) that was given to this title. Rome Total War is by far the best and deepest strategy game ever made. The only reason I'm not saying it's the most unique is because the Total War series has been out for about 5 years now. With RTW, the I usually don't comment on games, because I think most online reviewers do a fine job. I just needed to speak up a bit to offset the (zero) that was given to this title. Rome Total War is by far the best and deepest strategy game ever made. The only reason I'm not saying it's the most unique is because the Total War series has been out for about 5 years now. With RTW, the makers have obviously taken the time to make a game for not only themselves, but the fans of strategy and History. I rarely shell out 50$ for a game. I can honestly say that I do not regret my purchase one bit. I am guessing that the 0 given was based on the demo and not the full title- The only thing I can say could use some adjustment is the AI given to the 'Generals': they tend to charge headlong into the fray and get themselves killed-leaving their men to get mopped up by the opposing force- This, I do believe will be addressed. Yet over-all this game is fun and challenging. RTW can easliy vie for the Game of the Year title! Expand
  49. BobR.
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    If you look down at the 0 rater, he says some idiotic things about the graphics. He's completely wrong about the animation and visual quality. The animation is absolutely gorgeous, that dope just has some compatibility issue or is too dumb to troubleshoot. Wonderful game.
  50. [Anonymous]
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    This is a really great game that has issues but what game does not on release? Most of the issues will be fixed in patches. This is probably the best game I have ever played all time. I can't wait for the expansion. It is fun trying to beat it just on medium diffuculty with all the different factions. (have only beat 50 plus regions and beat the roman arimes with Cathage thus far) This is a really great game that has issues but what game does not on release? Most of the issues will be fixed in patches. This is probably the best game I have ever played all time. I can't wait for the expansion. It is fun trying to beat it just on medium diffuculty with all the different factions. (have only beat 50 plus regions and beat the roman arimes with Cathage thus far) This is the first game I have played in a long time that holds my interest for hours on end. This game isn't for someone of low intell. or has a very short attention span. There is always one who will rate a game ZERO just so they can be different. Don't listen to them! Expand
  51. BatmanMonkey
    Sep 17, 2004
    10
    Played the Demo...Buying it for sure!!! best and most realistic RTS game ever...just wish it ran faster on my computer.
  52. LokiH.
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    The best game ever.
  53. LeeH.
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    Extraordinary strategy game ever so far! After 2 years, still reinstall back this game even after formating my pc so many time... Yes! this game is top of all strategy game!.... I could said thank you RTW u did a wonderful game for us.
  54. Christopher
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    My rate for this game is a 10 plus! A freelancing game which you are capable of going anywhere on the map. Fun, adventerous and addictive. I have this game for so long now and I still play it due to its graphics the plot of the game and because its a strategic game. But, I wish they could of did something about improving the battles in sea.
  55. KingethJ.
    Sep 4, 2007
    10
    Amazing! Nearly flawless! The depth of this game is amazing, tedious negotiations, rebellious citizens, and many many people to conquer. The battles are reallistic (if not, then turn up the difficulty) and very controllable with a simple to use interface. The makers did an excellent job of fusing the campain map and the battle fields to the point that in the first week I had this, I Amazing! Nearly flawless! The depth of this game is amazing, tedious negotiations, rebellious citizens, and many many people to conquer. The battles are reallistic (if not, then turn up the difficulty) and very controllable with a simple to use interface. The makers did an excellent job of fusing the campain map and the battle fields to the point that in the first week I had this, I believe I logged over FORTY hours on one campain. You truly face highs and lows of your millitary strengh and strategising. When I first started playing this game I wished to make peace with the surrounding nations and build my armies up, but several backstabbings later I felt no mercy for those who broke their allegances to me as my troops trampled them underneath their feet. This is honestly the first game I actually lost myself in. With constant audible explanations of anceint terms, strategies, and history, it is definately worth 20, 30, 40, even 50 dollars. Plus the historical battles make it even more worth while! Expand
  56. TR
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    Although it begins to get a little crazy nearer to the end of a campaign game (The Romans had ninjas? Pigs > Elephants???) Rome: Total War is one of the best strategy games i have ever played. Not just RTS, that means ALL strategy. People complain about the graphics, but on with the graphics set on low i can still see the nose of each individual soldier. Not only is it fun, but I learned Although it begins to get a little crazy nearer to the end of a campaign game (The Romans had ninjas? Pigs > Elephants???) Rome: Total War is one of the best strategy games i have ever played. Not just RTS, that means ALL strategy. People complain about the graphics, but on with the graphics set on low i can still see the nose of each individual soldier. Not only is it fun, but I learned more about world history from bits of information they throw at you (245 BC, such and such happened this year) than all of the last 8 years of History class/American revolution propaganda. If you like to play real time strategy, turn based strategy, or even risk, then you owe it to yourself to at least try out Rome: Total War (note: I officially rated it a 10, but it would have been an 8 or 9 if not for those who think they can hate on a game because it has graphics that look like they're from around 2002) (note: Rome: Total war IS from around 2002). Expand
  57. RobertM.
    Oct 12, 2004
    10
    Demnads patience och comp. power, gives back a really complete strat. game.
  58. JamesP.
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    A MASTERPIECE!!! This colossal game takes strategy into a new level, spectacular battles, excellent graphics and wonderfull AI. I am a bit annoyed with the guy that gave 0, he probably hasn't even played the game so he is just make things up. What an idiot.
  59. GordonF.
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    Cool game...Exactly what Charles said...and you can have 10,000 people on the field!!!!!!!
  60. AmmarK.
    Sep 23, 2004
    10
    This is a very good game.
  61. TomS.
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    I wet myself... literally. Then I stripped off all of my clothes and danced around naked. Then, I made my wife, Amanda, pretend to be my conquered Greek Sex Slave and showed her my Roman War Elephant. Enough Said - go get this game!
  62. JoeSmith
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    What an idiot this guy giving Rome a 0. Clearly a moron of the higest order. This game owns... clear and simple. The reviews are spot on. This is the best RTS ever made. A must have for any PC gamer.
  63. CharlesP.
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    I have been waiting for this game for years now, hoping that it wouldn't dissapoint like so many other games I have waited for that didn't live up to expectations. This is one that has delivered. R.N. doesn't know what he is talking about. The graphics in this game are superb, as are the animations. I think he fails to realize that this isn't your average RTS. You I have been waiting for this game for years now, hoping that it wouldn't dissapoint like so many other games I have waited for that didn't live up to expectations. This is one that has delivered. R.N. doesn't know what he is talking about. The graphics in this game are superb, as are the animations. I think he fails to realize that this isn't your average RTS. You don't have 20-100 models in your army, like in a game such as Dawn of War or Warcraft. Instead, you have 100 soldiers in each Unit, and you have many many units in your army. So while other RTS's might be more detailed, because there are less models, R:TW can't have quite that much detail. But it is no slouch. In fact, it beats a lot of RTS's in terms of detail. And we haven't even gotten to gameplay. R:TW is half Turn Based Strategy, half Real Time Strategy. I'm sure you can read about both in all the reviews, but they are both excellent and work toegether wonderfully. The new 3d Strategy map is excellently done. The interactions between units in the RTS portion are great. Cavalry charge and knock models over, axemen barbarians yell and charge forward doing leaping attacks. Straight up, this is in my top 5 best game of all time. Any fans of the series will like, and newcomers don't be put off by its depth. Once you dig in you won't regret it. Oh, and R.N... you can turn off the "character guides." There is a big option where you can set level of advice "low, medium, high, NONE", but apparently you need more than a 2nd grade class room level of education to figure that out... Expand
  64. BobbyR.
    Feb 22, 2005
    10
    This is a good game. I play it for hours.
  65. TheButcherAndjelic
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    So realistic,so fun, so great, so interesting.This is the best strategy i have ever played.
  66. CormacG.
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Enthralling, infuriating, beautiful to watch and addictive to play.
  67. ThomasA.
    Mar 27, 2005
    10
    Rome total war is without a doubt the best PC game ever released. It has completely revived my faith in the PC genere. The graphics are top of the range with only Half life two to compare to it, but the real brilliance of this game is the Campaign map where the player is in complete control with no fixed objective and totaly immersed in uncountable options on how to run his Empire. Apart Rome total war is without a doubt the best PC game ever released. It has completely revived my faith in the PC genere. The graphics are top of the range with only Half life two to compare to it, but the real brilliance of this game is the Campaign map where the player is in complete control with no fixed objective and totaly immersed in uncountable options on how to run his Empire. Apart from this the realism is unbelieveable. Battles are fought in unique maps all over Europe reflecting the terrain in the Map overview. If you have a good PC there is no reason why not to get this game. Expand
  68. AugustoE.
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    It's a 9.5. The game is almost perfect.
  69. Neskire
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    Don't believe all those negative comments! There is no "hype". This is genuinely one of the best games with a mix of strategy and action ever to be created. I have played computer games since 1981 and must say that this is one of the most immersive games. The music is excellent. Download a demo and try it for yourself. Yes, not every game will appeal to everyone. But do not prejudge Don't believe all those negative comments! There is no "hype". This is genuinely one of the best games with a mix of strategy and action ever to be created. I have played computer games since 1981 and must say that this is one of the most immersive games. The music is excellent. Download a demo and try it for yourself. Yes, not every game will appeal to everyone. But do not prejudge it based on a handful of negative reviews. Expand
  70. Demonbm86D.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    I love this game.
  71. JohnS.
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    Maybe not for strategy beginners, but stunning tactics & graphics! buy it and try it!
  72. LordCeasar
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    I'm getting no sleep and get a thrill from chansing down routed foot soldiers!! Great great game!!!!
  73. TimmyL.
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    Oh man i cant believe the detail this game goes into. like if u attack a city u will see all the buildings they built. it is really unbleavable.
  74. Scipii
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Perfection. The best strategy game ive ever played. Much better than dawn of war or any of the other very good strategy games that have come out this year. Really good replay value too, with different tech trees for factions and excellent multiplay.
  75. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    The breakthrough in RTS-gaming being the first that offers: Smooth graphics, solid gameplay and fitting music. By now the price should be around 10 bucks for the gold edition. If you are a fan of RTS games, like managing and conquering an empire, give this game a try. It's well worth your time.

    Must-have
  76. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    The words 'epic' and 'legendary' only start to describe Rome Total War. The game is trully the greatest i have played and the shining best in the revolutionary Total War series. Rome Total War comes with online battles, custom battles, campaigns and historical battles. Rome total war covers such a grand scale of history. There are tons of factions to play as such as the Romans (thatThe words 'epic' and 'legendary' only start to describe Rome Total War. The game is trully the greatest i have played and the shining best in the revolutionary Total War series. Rome Total War comes with online battles, custom battles, campaigns and historical battles. Rome total war covers such a grand scale of history. There are tons of factions to play as such as the Romans (that consist of the Julii, Scipii and the Brutii and the Senate) Gauls, Britons, Parthians, Macedonians, Egyptians, Scythians, Thracians, Dacians, Germans and so forth . RTW has never failed to bore me and i have been playing it for at least 4 or 5 years now. The game is excellent for strategists, those who love ancient history and who adore turn based campaigns. The soundtrack for RTW is also brilliant. 10/10 without any doubt. Expand
  77. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    An excellent game. Despite coming out half a decade ago, the massive MODding community and continued online support keeps this game fresh. A must-have for history buffs or RTS fans alike. That said, don't go into this expecting a fluffy Warcraft or Age of Empires-like experience. This game requires quite a bit of micro-management and real-world tactical acumen. If you possess the abilityAn excellent game. Despite coming out half a decade ago, the massive MODding community and continued online support keeps this game fresh. A must-have for history buffs or RTS fans alike. That said, don't go into this expecting a fluffy Warcraft or Age of Empires-like experience. This game requires quite a bit of micro-management and real-world tactical acumen. If you possess the ability and desire in these aspects, you'll love it. Otherwise, you'll probably find it tedious! Expand
  78. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    My most played game ever, and I have played thousands upon thousands of hours of PC games, 10/10, without a doubt. My one and only complaint about this game is the diplomacy AI. It could be improved - allies will attack when it is of no advantage to them, after a century of you paying them, trading with them, and assisting them.
  79. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    The battle and recruitament system is so good, the interpretion of the Romain imperial time during the before christ years is completly awesome, all is too cool in the game.
  80. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The Excellent play! I from it in delight! Advise all. Simply stunning strategy in 3D. Even in 2011, after so much years after its output, with pleasure play!
  81. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    If I had to play one game for the rest of my life, this would be it. This game has more re-playability than any other and is amazing at everything it does.
  82. May 15, 2012
    9
    This is such an amazing game! I have always been obsessed with strategy games and Rome: Total War is my favorite. After reading a couple of the mixed and negative reviews I felt compelled to write my own review stating why this game is awesome! I understand the people complaining about the mutliplayer, it isn't very good. The game wasn't created for multiplayer, it was created for singleThis is such an amazing game! I have always been obsessed with strategy games and Rome: Total War is my favorite. After reading a couple of the mixed and negative reviews I felt compelled to write my own review stating why this game is awesome! I understand the people complaining about the mutliplayer, it isn't very good. The game wasn't created for multiplayer, it was created for single player campaign. Enough said about multiplayer. Gameplay is easy and self explanatory. Take over the world. If you happen to be interested in the finer points of strategy you can manage everything in every city. If you just want to fight the battles you can set the computer to do everything while you fight. If you don't want it like that, don't be stupid and play how you want to play. Its simple and quite easy if you just use your brain. The campaign is can be changed in many ways to fit your style of gameplay, unless you want nothing to do with strategy games, which should be the only reason people don't like this game. I don't know why you even played this game then. If you were looking for a good strategy game with good gameplay, you got exactly that. Rome: Total War is almost eight years old which should cut it just enough slack for its graphics. Compared to other games of 2004, it had pretty solid graphics. If you're wanting to see the general's scars on his face, you should play an RPG. Zooming in on the battles lets you see the fighting up close. Sure some of the hit boxes are off, but it's still decent. The best part is when there is explosions! Great job of having the infantry flying through the air. Some negative reviews said that the game is repetitive and the exact same when you play it through. I have beaten the campaign well over 20 times and I have never experienced the same thing. The replay value of this game is amazing! I always have to try to think of a new strategy. Again the only semi bad thing is the lack of online play. I didn't buy this game to play online, I bought this game to conquer the world. Expand
  83. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Awesome game for it's time and even now. I still play it even a decade past it's release. Can't wait for Rome 2 coming Sept 3rd 2013! I have no doubt they will make a game worthy of the original.
  84. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    A very good strategy, which contains many new and matched solutions. Score on Metacritic is most suitable. I play more than 9 will leave not because there were a lot of minor errors, which, however, do not want to replace.
  85. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite Total War games. It combines nice graphics (Although they are a little outdated now) with exceptional gameplay and replayability. I have spent hours playing this game,and it still doesn't get old to me. I played the Egypt campaign a few times now, and all the Rome factions at least once. Sure, some of it IS repetitive, but it provides a certain feeling that I just cantOne of my favorite Total War games. It combines nice graphics (Although they are a little outdated now) with exceptional gameplay and replayability. I have spent hours playing this game,and it still doesn't get old to me. I played the Egypt campaign a few times now, and all the Rome factions at least once. Sure, some of it IS repetitive, but it provides a certain feeling that I just cant back away from. I keep coming back to the game, every time I can say I had fun. Expand
  86. LukeP.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This game has such a special place in my heart. I had to have beat this game about 1000 times by now. With a strong moding data base, there is still fresh content even if you think this game will ever get boring. after four years, im still playing all the time
  87. MorganC.
    May 24, 2005
    10
    This is really the best strategy game ever.
  88. Morgan
    May 3, 2005
    10
    Without a doubt the best game I have ever played.
  89. AndrewH.
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    i came , i saw, i got addicted !! any rts fan will enjoy this game. Wether they be a newcomer or a hardcore veteran. It excedes all excpect for a sequel to medievil total war.(but wat is with the size of the trees??)
  90. GregA
    Sep 25, 2004
    10
    Another leap ahead in the series. Simply a fantastic game - hope to see more like!!!
  91. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    This game is the best RTS and TBS in my opinion and is the reason why I'm a total war fan to this day.
    It has amazing real time battles,awesome graphics for it's time and just so much content that you can
    literary be hooked to this game for a year.Also it has some awesome soundtracks to.I recommend this game to any gamer especially for RTS and TBS fans.
  92. MJR
    Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This game is an easy 1110 and the only reason is that I rated Shogun 2 first with a 10 but I still like this game better. Solution: do the impossible and give Rome an 11. I said that I LOVED Shogun 2 to death! but I LOVE ROME MORE!!!! While Shogun 2 is the absolute refinement of the series the era of the rise of Rome and then the expansion in which it is the fall of Rome is just...better.This game is an easy 1110 and the only reason is that I rated Shogun 2 first with a 10 but I still like this game better. Solution: do the impossible and give Rome an 11. I said that I LOVED Shogun 2 to death! but I LOVE ROME MORE!!!! While Shogun 2 is the absolute refinement of the series the era of the rise of Rome and then the expansion in which it is the fall of Rome is just...better. It may be a slight case of nostalgia because it was the first in the series I played and truly fell in love with but I owe it a lot. I found my passion for history because of this game. It means a lot to me and while its not perfect in its build it is beyond perfect in my eyes for how a strategy game should be. I don't know if someone today can pick up this game and appreciate it like I do, but believe it is truly a gem as is its barbarian invasions expansion. Expand
  93. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best game in the whole series and i have enjoyed this game the most, I only hope that they release a Rome 2 total war with improved graphics etc.
  94. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is quite frankly the best strategy game I have ever played, if not, the best game I have ever played period. The game just doesn't get old for me. It just doesn't. I have played many games in my life, but this one is special. The amount of vast diversity between the units and factions is just too great, the amount of strategy required for this game is immense, the music isThis game is quite frankly the best strategy game I have ever played, if not, the best game I have ever played period. The game just doesn't get old for me. It just doesn't. I have played many games in my life, but this one is special. The amount of vast diversity between the units and factions is just too great, the amount of strategy required for this game is immense, the music is just awesome, gameplay is very easy to understand and the fighting on the battlefield is too overwhelmingly epic, even if this game came out in 2004. Speaking of 2004, people STILL play this game to date since its release. I have started playing this game in 2010, and I regret buying all the games in the past (including CoD) when all I had to do, WAS GET THIS GAME. Yes, people still play this game online and you can easily find people to play with, but I think we need a tad bit more people to join us. I say, go google and download steam, buy it for $10 (completely worth it) and enjoy most epic game of your life. Sure the graphics, they are outdated, and people say "buy Shogun 2" just because it is newer. But I have bought Shogun 2, I only invested 130 hours into it, and I'm bored with it already. Rome on the other hand, has made me invest almost 400 hours into it and still going strong. And I am not even a big Real Time Strategy gamer, but this one turned me into one. This game is so good, I am almost scared for a Rome 2 Total War because of what Creative Assembly has done to their series after Rome. Their Total War games were good, but missed the special ...something that Rome had. And I fear that they will change Rome 2 too much, like Shogun 2. But overall, this game is outstanding, and I highly recommend it to ANY gamer. Expand
  95. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    The most epic and incredible strategy game, still being played and will survive for decades! With epic mods such as Europa Barbarorum (the most original total conversion for any game out there) and Lord of the Rings : Total War this game really deserves a 10.
  96. ChrisB.
    May 13, 2005
    10
    One of the best games i have everplayed.
  97. AlexC
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    An truly incredible game with unprecedented depth that first kindled my love for strategy games. I still find it worth playing five years on!
  98. AverageAddict
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    If Shogun was "Dune2", this Game is "C&C Generals". The Real-Time Combat is so far away from stylized toy-like "average RTS", with it's superb and easy-to-use interface. You can literally command thousands of single soldiers, and see the single swords and how they fight man-to-man. In the same scenario the buildings and city-walls and everything are in the right scale (except the If Shogun was "Dune2", this Game is "C&C Generals". The Real-Time Combat is so far away from stylized toy-like "average RTS", with it's superb and easy-to-use interface. You can literally command thousands of single soldiers, and see the single swords and how they fight man-to-man. In the same scenario the buildings and city-walls and everything are in the right scale (except the trees). What I'm talking about, just swatch some screens. And it all fits in, wonderful combination of the tb-strategic map and the real-time combats. You have Generals with Skills that affect the RTS-battles, OMG this is just the best Strategy-game out - ever !!! Expand
  99. LokiH.
    May 26, 2006
    9
    The best game ever.
  100. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    This review is my opinion, and you might not agree with me.
    if you do not enjoy this game then too bad for you, because the joy i have gotten out of this game is not something you would want to miss, but i am sure there are other games out there for you.
    Rome: Total War has the city managing of Civilization and real time battles with thousands of soldiers. if you enjoy slow paced turn
    This review is my opinion, and you might not agree with me.
    if you do not enjoy this game then too bad for you, because the joy i have gotten out of this game is not something you would want to miss, but i am sure there are other games out there for you.

    Rome: Total War has the city managing of Civilization and real time battles with thousands of soldiers.
    if you enjoy slow paced turn based strategy games, but also enjoy fast paced battles where you command thousands of troops like the roman legionaries, greek Hoplites, carthagian war elephants or hordes of barbarian warriors this is the game for you, if not then you shouldn't get this game.
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 58
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 58
  3. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. An epic game in terms of both visual execution and longevity...Campaigns can last for several hundred turns, so prepare for the long haul.
  2. Many games are excellent world-builders, and many are deep real time strategy war games. Rome: Total War sets out to be both and pulls it off wonderfully.
  3. The tactical battles are better than ever thanks to an improved engine and significantly smarter enemy AI. You can now take up to 400 units into battle, leading to some impressive large-scale scraps.