Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Jul 6, 2013
    45
    The idea of running and jumping on your own music library sounds exciting, it is to bad Rush Bros doesn't deliver what it's promising. The levels lack inspiration and the music you play seems to have little effect on Rush Bros. Also the controls are to stiff for a game like this.
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    40
    Rush Bros has some good ideas behind it, but the execution leaves a lot to be desired; for a game that claims to be a blend of two genres, there’s surprisingly little content from either.
  3. Jun 7, 2013
    40
    A music reactive platform that fails in all his objectives. The levels doesn’t really react to music, the controls are laggy and the visuals fail to impress. If you really want to try it, at least wait that the price goes down.
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    40
    Stretched out levels, punishing design, and imprecise controls make for an experience best avoided. It is a shame because there are some great ideas here, they just need a little more time and development to become consistently fun.
  5. Jul 3, 2013
    30
    Rush Bros. just isn't fun. The platforming is bland and uninspired, the multiplayer feels more like simultaneous single player, and the rhythm-based elements are almost an afterthought. Though the idea of a platformer that runs on custom soundtracks is a grand one, the execution here is extremely disappointing.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. Jul 26, 2013
    6
    Despite being downright frustrating at times, Rush Bros. is a fun little game that you may enjoy for a few hours at the most, before switchingDespite being downright frustrating at times, Rush Bros. is a fun little game that you may enjoy for a few hours at the most, before switching back to superior platformers. Full Review »
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Only for the hard-core at heart. With a game that derives most of its design inspiration from Kaizo Mario and "I wanna be the guy" it's noOnly for the hard-core at heart. With a game that derives most of its design inspiration from Kaizo Mario and "I wanna be the guy" it's no surprise it's going to be hard. Problem is people are hitting that wall and suddenly they get scared. Rush Bros. is designed to help alleviate this problem by allowing two players to play side-by-side via split-screen play- a feature which is enabled for ONLINE play as well (Quite rarely is this kind of thing seen). The reasoning behind this is to that players can cooperate AND/OR compete at the same time! Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    Overall, I believe the game was fun for me due to the fact that I played it with a friend.
    There are two maps or so in there which force you
    Overall, I believe the game was fun for me due to the fact that I played it with a friend.
    There are two maps or so in there which force you to start from the very beginning when you die and the maps were punishing causing us to take more than 17 minutes of retries in order to get past them.
    I believe that they can definitely improve on a little bit of everything. Sometimes the jumping felt a little frustrating and not smooth enough, wish the music was a bit more interactive (overall, it wasn't too noticeable, perhaps this was due to me shouting at my deaths because i was racing with a friend). Definitely needs a tiny bit more variety. And doesn't respond very well to your music, it would be nice if they had a sort of allowing you to send files within the lobby so that you didn't have to waste time outside the game sending each other music files in order to play the same song.
    Overall, I would not classify myself as a platform gamer, I almost hate the genre, but by the game having multiplayer with a friend it made the whole game a lot more fun for me since i especially like coop games.
    Full Review »