Rush Bros Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rush Bros. is a unique platforming game which uses your MP3 collection as an integral part of the overall experience. Your music directly influence how the levels move, look, and feel. The entire world revolves around your music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    Rush Bros. came out of nowhere, but is a very polished game worthy of any gamer’s time.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    70
    Of course, with some better platforming and tighter controls, Rush Bros would be much more recommendable. But for what it is, a nine dollar indie game that provides some laughs, a few thrills, and some absolutely gorgeous art, it’s at least worth a look.
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    The core game itself and the platforming is still respectable enough to warrant a check though.
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    50
    It does show a couple original ideas, but they’re never fully executed, and it’s full of small, annoying bugs that sour the experience.
  5. Jul 30, 2013
    50
    Rush Bros. is a game with many good ideas. If only they'd been executed properly.
  6. Jul 24, 2013
    40
    Rush Bros has some good ideas behind it, but the execution leaves a lot to be desired; for a game that claims to be a blend of two genres, there’s surprisingly little content from either.
  7. Jul 3, 2013
    30
    Rush Bros. just isn't fun. The platforming is bland and uninspired, the multiplayer feels more like simultaneous single player, and the rhythm-based elements are almost an afterthought. Though the idea of a platformer that runs on custom soundtracks is a grand one, the execution here is extremely disappointing.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Only for the hard-core at heart. With a game that derives most of its design inspiration from Kaizo Mario and "I wanna be the guy" it's noOnly for the hard-core at heart. With a game that derives most of its design inspiration from Kaizo Mario and "I wanna be the guy" it's no surprise it's going to be hard. Problem is people are hitting that wall and suddenly they get scared. Rush Bros. is designed to help alleviate this problem by allowing two players to play side-by-side via split-screen play- a feature which is enabled for ONLINE play as well (Quite rarely is this kind of thing seen). The reasoning behind this is to that players can cooperate AND/OR compete at the same time! Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing, it changed my life. I love it, buy it now. It's amazing, it's just too good. Ian Boswell made a masterpiece and it'sThis game is amazing, it changed my life. I love it, buy it now. It's amazing, it's just too good. Ian Boswell made a masterpiece and it's called Rush Bros. Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing, it changed my life. I love it, buy it now. It's amazing, it's just too good. Ian Boswell made a masterpiece and it'sThis game is amazing, it changed my life. I love it, buy it now. It's amazing, it's just too good. Ian Boswell made a masterpiece and it's called Rush Bros. it cured world hunger. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    6
    Rush Bros has an interesting concept of platform meets rhythm game meets racing. But the delivery falls flat. While the visuals and soundtrackRush Bros has an interesting concept of platform meets rhythm game meets racing. But the delivery falls flat. While the visuals and soundtrack are very good, the gameplay was lacking flow. The main hook of traps moving to the beat of the music was barely noticeable and although you can add your own music it didn't necessarily make the game harder or easier. I wish the game had more time for better level design, tighter controls, and better implementation of the traps-move-to the-beat concept. Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    6
    Despite being downright frustrating at times, Rush Bros. is a fun little game that you may enjoy for a few hours at the most, before switchingDespite being downright frustrating at times, Rush Bros. is a fun little game that you may enjoy for a few hours at the most, before switching back to superior platformers. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    This isn't exactly terrible, but it doesn't come with as much as was let on in the trailers on Steam. The pacing seems very slow, levelsThis isn't exactly terrible, but it doesn't come with as much as was let on in the trailers on Steam. The pacing seems very slow, levels designs are a bit confusing, and the overall feel is not what one would expect. Granted, it is an interesting idea, but it really just needs some more work. Would I recommend you buy it? Not really, but with a bit more work, the game could be better. Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2014
    3
    Rush Bros. hmm, what can I say about Rush Bros.

    Either the developers who are developing/developed Speedrunners got bored and opened up a
    Rush Bros. hmm, what can I say about Rush Bros.

    Either the developers who are developing/developed Speedrunners got bored and opened up a new company and made a crappy version of their great game, or a developer felt like creating a game like Speedrunners and make music about it. Dunno, you can decide...

    So first, the controls... they are the worst control schemes I have ever seen (on keyboard) as far as I know, platformer games use the arrow keys to move, and x/z key to jump. Then why on earth did the people at XYLA Entertainment think it was great to make the controls WASD and the Spacebar, my fingers are apart and for a platformer it is extremely uncomfortable, let's see what else is bad in this "game"

    Oh yeah! THE LEVEL DESIGN, who on earth created these levels!?! They are either extremely easy or near impossible, someone must of been bored and felt like making the levels all confused and jumbled up. Great work! (He says sarcastically)

    Hmm, oh yeah, the animation, looks... ugly. Now normally I love Indie games, and I don't really complain about the graphics in great Indie games, but this "Indie" game, the animations and quality and also the presentation on the game looks ugly and not very professional

    Ok... what's next. OH YES, the multiplayer. The multiplayer... is a bag of dung mostly. Either the people who are playing with me have very bad internet and lag all the time, or I start playing and the other player couldn't give a toss and just stays their or the person who is about to play with me probably has brains and doesn't play this game.

    But... ThePCGamer101, you might ask, isn't their something good in this game, after all, you did buy this game didn't you?
    No, I actually was stupid enough to get it from GreenManGaming (they were giving it away, because probably people never bought it)

    The only good thing I say that is good in this game is that the game can actually play music from your personal libraries, which is kinda cool listening to great music while trying to play this disaster of a game

    Overall, this game is a mess, not a terrible mess, but it is not a great nor good game. If you get the game for free or something like that, play it for a while, then get bored, and as you can probably see from my playtime (15 minutes or so) I got bored REALLY quickly
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews